Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Kent International Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Kent International Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

The Genesis Saber Dual Suspension Mountain Bike kicks it up a notch from the V-2100 mountain bike. A lighter frame with reinforced top tube plus a 24-speed Shimano Drive Trail set this bike apart from the competition. A 26" full suspension aluminum MTB frame with 4 bar linkage means this 26" men's mountain bike is ready to roll over even the toughest terrain. Full suspension, alloy rims, knobby mountain bike tires, steel handlebars, and rear shocks round out the Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike and will make this your go-to choice for hitting the trails. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your bike(s) will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.659 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation75%33 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Best deal for the price!

03/19/2012
By ,
Angeles Forest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this product before making the purchase, I knew to expect some of the components not to be of the quality I was looking for and was ready to upgrade them as they failed.
I ride my bikes up mountains and free ride back down, and always make sure to take on some of the more technical trails, so far only the threads on the stem shredded off, I replaces with a Q2 stem at $40. and next I will be upgrading the forks, they look good, but only 60MM travel and are not solid, they have survived some hard runs, steep declines, and caught a little air time, but this item needs to be replaces for my safety.
So far no other problems, great performance for the money, expect to replace some components, excellent frame geometry, performs good at high speeds down hill, make sure to adjust the tire pressure according to the train you ride in, the rims are holding better than I expected, if the bike gets muddy it clears up from the derailleurs after it picks up some speed and bumps in the road. The brakes are average, but they do work when you need them to.
The only thing I could not take off were the stickers, I tried the blow dryer with WD40, only the stickers on the rim come off, not the ones on the frame, I guess I have to paint over them.
This bike met more than my expectations, so far.....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Awesome bike!

09/19/2012
By ,
NW Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I had a v2100 till I saw this. V2100 is good for light trail use and running around town, great for it. But if your more into actual trails this bike is the way to go. Its basically an upgraded v2100 with lower weight but stronger frame, better components throughout. Has tabs in rear to upgrade to full disc brakes (requires different rear wheel) and rear derailleur hanger is replaceable style (they do get broke sometimes when trail riding). I personally ran into several assembly issues but its walmart, their employees dont care about assembling a bike properly. But since i know how to do my own work didnt bother me in the least. and not going to take points off the bike for poor assembly. LBS near me if I had needed would have checked over the bike for me very cheaply so wasnt worried.
Only downside is rear wheel doesnt except disc rotor and that the fancy wheels are kinda heavy, especially the rear, the 8 speed unit is a modified freewheel hub (supposed to only go to 7 speed) and its heavy duty, and HEAVY.
Over all, great bike, accepts any upgrades you wanna do, very well built, put a decent rear shock on, front forks if your like me, and you got a NICE mountain bike that can run right along side more expensive bikes on the trails. Genesis outdid themselves on this bike!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great bike for the money!

09/18/2012
By ,
Budd Lake, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bike a month ago and has put 300 trail miles (20 -30 miles each ride) on it without any problems. I am 5' 8" medium built and it's a great fit for me. Don't know much about bikes so I was concerned about some of the negative ratings, enough to pay a bike shop $60 to have the bike checked out after I assembled it (had it shipped to my house), waste of money as they did not find anything wrong. They did adjust the handle bar and seat quick release. There is a seam line on both wheels but the bike shop's mechanic said that it was not a concern. I would definitely recommend this bike for the type of riding that I have experienced; mostly flat trails with gentle inclines/slopes with loose stone areas nothing bigger than a couple of inches in size. The seat was very uncomfortable the first 2 or 3 rides but had become livable once it softened up and I started using a bike shorts.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Good riding & Good Looking!

04/07/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike had pretty much everything I was looking for except a rear Disc brake. Alot of compliments from people on this bike, Thinking I paid more then $199. Like some have said the front forks are a bit soft but this would only bother you if you were always off road or on trails. For me I use it as mostly as a street & park bike for crusing and the forks hold up great. I had a little issue with the front sproket gears so I called the Manufacture of this bike(Kent) and let me just tell you the customer service was nothing short of amazing! They took care of all problems and stand by their customers 100% ! I was pretty amazed that the tires say only inflate to 40psi but hey seem nice and hard at the 40psi so it must be the advanced force rims! Pretty amazing. The shumano gears shift smoothly. This bike has quarter welds through out the frame which usually can only be found on bikes over $500! I was shocked to see this! The only reason I gave this bike 4 out of 5 stars is the seat and handlebar grips are unconfortable after 45 minutes of riding but easily replaced! Overall great bike!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Nice Ride

09/04/2011
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am not a Bike expert, I believe that this was a good value. All the shopping around that I did online showed me I could have spent alot more for a bike. It does exactly what I expect of it. Good ride, smoth operation, easy to make adjustments to. The additional $50 over the Genesis V2100 was worth it to me as previously stated by others. The better seat, pedals, and quick adjustable seat is worth it.
Now I believe a pricier bike also will deliver a quality that a cheaper bike can not but for an end user like myself which will be using it on a casual basis and not going through the roughest of terrain, this bike is perfect for me and the price was good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great Mountain Bike - Value Plus Upgradeable

09/01/2011
By ,
Columbia, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am into trail riding. I first had purchased the Genesis V2100 from the local Wal-Mart Store. This was alright but not suitable to any true riding. I found that this bike (actually built by Kent Inc) was offered online and had many upgraded features for only $50 more. I bought it and they shipped to my home for free.
Assembly was no problem (although fine tuning took a few hours) and I am not very mechanically inclined. Most bike shops will only charge $25 - $45 to assemble and tune it.
This bike is great for the value, it comes with many standard features including full metal pedals, upgraded professional seat and upgraded Shimano Altus rear derailler. The frame is light enough but superbly sturdy. This bike is a great base bike that will easily allow for future upgrades. Even though the look of them is not for my taste, the triple wall wheels/tires are great for serious trail riding. The only difference that I have seen between this bike and the more expensive "GMC Topkick" that is also made by Kent Inc is that this bike does not have the rear disc brakes.
The only reason it does not get a 5 star rating is that the front forks have a little bit too much play in them for my taste. Although I have certainly put them through some tough rides, the play takes a bit from the confidence in the bike. I will be upgrading these soon.
In summary this bike is an excellent deal. Even if I had $600 - $1500 for a more expensive bike, I would still go with this bike and simply upgrade a few things. Even out of the box at $200 this bike performs very well. Adding another $200 - $300 in upgrades would make this bike easily comparable to bikes being sold for $1000 - $1200.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Nice bike

07/17/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this off the rack, made a few minor adjustments to fit me and took off. It shifts very smooth and quiet up and down. Light weight and easy to handle. Looks good( I like the colors)and rides pretty comfortable other than seat. The only thing I did'nt care for was the play in the front suspenion (front to back) it was'nt that much and maybe I was being to picky. Overall I like the bike and plan on running the wheels off it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Good enough for me

10/18/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'll start off by saying that I'm just a casual bike rider for exercise and not an expert or serious enthusiast. 99% of my riding is on paved trails, sidewalks, and the street, so I didn't need anything too rugged. I did want something that had some extra features from the regular low end bikes. I wanted something that looked good, but not obnoxious or loud in its paint scheme. The Genesis Saber seemed to fit my requirements, so I purchased it.
This bike has met all my needs. It shifts smooth and I love the Shimano gear shift mechanism. The brakes have worked well with no sqealing or vibrations. I have only done very minor adjustments. Overall, I am quite pleased with the bike. I would echo the comments made about having a loose front fork. It was a little disconcerting the first time I felt it, but it seems to be fine otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Wheels cracked in two block on pavement

11/28/2011
By ,
So Cal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Really great, great Frame! Loose front shock, would clunk when you hit the front brakes. Not repairable. Got on the bike after filling tires with air, went for tuneup and adjustment ride. Tweaked gear adjustments nice and smoot. Noticed the front tire low again, went home to fill up the tire and noticed a crack in the front wheel. real bad on one side and wrapped around to the other. Only got to ride it about 2 blocks. Called the factory and they said exchange it. Bike is rated at 250#'s. Took another look at the bike and wife noticed a crack in the rear. Not as nasty but bad enough. Looked at a new one in the store. They improve in their QC on the forks, but the wheels had an obvious seam on both front and rear wheels which is where mine gave way.
Also has cheap stamped metal front sprockets. several bad teeth characteristic for this type of crank. They went to cheaper pedals. Seat ok.
I would sure liked to have been able to keep the frame, it was nice. I would not recommend this product unless you feel like adding several hundred dollars worth of parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Not worth the money, in the long run.

02/05/2014
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this bike right from out local store. At first, it was a great bike but after two years of riding on our local concrete greenway, I have had to have the derailleur's adjust several times, the tires are junk ~ several flats. The crank began to "crunch" and I was told it is not a sealed unit. It is at the bike shop right now getting the derailleurs' adjusted, a new rear tire (the stock tire wore out) and it is getting a brand new SEALED crank unit. I have NEVER had this much trouble with any bike I have purchased before this one. I will give kudos for the frame and handle bar but that is about it. I ride about 700 miles a year but I had a cheap Roadmaster that I rode over 2,000 miles and the only thing I replaced were the pedals.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Awesome Bike needs upgrades for serious riding.

04/11/2012
By ,
Sarasota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bike is a large part of my transportation/recreation time. If i want to go to the gym or fishing or wherever i jump on the bike and save some gas money, why drive a car to the gym? I ride a lot on sidewalks along the side of roads that i don't want to be on with the cars. I also go off road sometimes. Sidewalk riding can get to be a rough ride, so i picked a bike with full suspension. Its a great bike but there are a few issues. With 50 miles on the bike i am replacing the front suspension because it is simply not a good system. Its developing play due to wear play makes the front end sloppy. I'm replacing it with an air shock system worth more than i paid for the bike. It took me all night to adjust everything. The steering tube and wheel bearings on both wheels where over tightened. The brakes were over tightened, the front and rear gears had to be adjusted. So! if you don't work on bikes have it shipped to the store and let them put it together for you. I like the bike and plan to continue to upgrade it till i have exactly the bike i want. great handlebars, great shifters, great seat, great rear suspension, great pedals, great frame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike
08/04/2011
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice looking lightweight bike. It rides very nice. There are a couple of things that need to be said about it. It needs adjusted before use. The front disc brakes and the gear shifters need tuning by a professional bike mechanic, otherwise the brakes don't provide much braking power and the chain will jump off of the gears.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Bad Manufacturing

05/29/2012
By ,
Surprise, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My wife purchased me this bike for my birthday and the front disc brakes would disengage when the brake was applied. The front rotor for the disc brakes was also warped so the brakes could not be adjusted correctly. I exchanged the bike at the store for another and when I arrived home noticed that the front forks were installed backwards and the brake cables were all twisted. Once I reassemled the front forks I noticed that this bike also has a warped rotor so I can not adjust the front brakes correctly without them rubbing on the pads. STRIKE TWO! I dont think I'll be going for three
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

very good bike for the price

04/12/2012
By ,
louisville. ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this bike offers options that usually can't be found at this price tag. The suspensions work fine, although the front one can be a little loose. I bought the bike directly from the store, where I found three of them and I picked the one which didn't have that problem. I have the bike for two months now, and I've been to trails a couple of times and the bike behaved very good. My only complaint is that the front wheel can't be adjusted to be perfectly true (I took it to a bike repair shop and they couldn't help). Tightly adjusting the front disc brake become problematic in this case. Overall, I'm very satisfied with this bike, given the price I paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great bike for the price

10/09/2012
By ,
Belleville, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before buying this bike I had done tons of research, seem some good record and seen some bad ones. my advice to everyone is that you can't go off what others are saying. You have some folks that expect everyone to be able to afford a specialized bike. with that being said, this isn't one of those bikes..... have taken my bike on the trail and so far I only have about 30 miles on it, but I have had no issues with.this bike has many pluses and in glad I purchased this bike and didn't spend a penny more! I would definitely recommend this bike to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great Bike

11/24/2011
By ,
Penrose, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike has lasted me almost a year and it is holding up great but there are so cheep parts that I replaced like the peddals, the brake pads in the back, and the front brake set those were a joke but now it is like my 2000 dollor bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great dual suspension at a low cost

03/06/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike is a great buy!!!! Since dual suspension bikes are real expensive. its a solid bike that will need to be upgraded for those who are serious about trail riding, such as the fork and the rear suspension, but in the end you have a bike that is worth the $1000 dollar price range without spending the cash. Remember even the guys who buy the real expensive mountain bikes upgrade components. Or if you just want to ride around the city its a great riding bike that is Shimano equipped..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Great bike & very good value.

11/01/2012
By ,
San Antonio Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike about 2 weeks ago and really love it. I made a few minor adjustments (front disc brake, gear shift controls on the handle bars and some air in the tires). I've logged about 15-25 miles so far. Shifting is smooth and quiet. Pretty light weight (about 40lbs) and easy to handle.
The seat is a little hard so you may want to consider a memory foam seat pad if you plan on longer rides. There's some play in the front suspension but not much to worry about for normal to semi rough hard surface riding. Overall it's a real nice bike and a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Still undecided...

03/23/2012
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike because it has a lot of the same components of those offered by my local bike store at a fraction of the cost. I was told that the bikes at the bike stores have components a few steps above what is offered on this bike and you're mostly paying to get the bike fitted to your body type. Nevertheless, I just cannot afford an entry level bike priced at $500.00 right now and the rep at the store told me that if I get into the sport, I would want to upgrade to a more expensive model very soon(REALLY!!! Pay for a $500 bike and then decide I want something better??? Why not just buy a cheaper bike and make that kind of decision??). Anyway,my thoughts to begin with was to buy this bike and over time upgrade it with better components as I go (and who cares if the bike is 10-15lbs heavier than those at the bike store...that's why you have more gears to help you on the trail!) The bike comes with metal pedals, the front disk brakes work well, it has an upgraded seat, the front forks give a little (they don't make the loud noises like others have complained about), the wheels seem like they're good, the rear derailleur isn't the best but can be upgraded later, the front derailleur is good, the rear cassette and chain isn't the best, and the rear shocks work surprisingly well and can be adjusted for stiffness. Now I'll go into why I'm still undecided about the bike. It began when it came a little dinged up when it arrived, but nothing that couldn't be overlooked. As everyone else has stated, it needed some brake/shifting adjustments (if you aren't sure how to do it, take it to your local store and they will assemble it or watch some youtube videos). I took the first bike out for a test ride on one of the premier MTB trails in my area and the rear cassette came apart within the first 1/4 mile on the trail. I was able to make it the rest of the way through the trail on the higher gears, but it was pretty sketchy. I returned the bike to Wal-Mart and got one off the shelf fully assembled. I have put this one through some tough trails and it has held up so far. I am going to continue to test it before I make a final decision on the bike. I feel like I got a bad cassette and it was just a fluke. Regardless, I do recommend this bike for the price but do yourself a favor and purchase the two year warranty so Wal-Mart will pay for broken parts or replace the bike if something breaks three times in a row! I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newburgh, Indiana
I'm undecided on whether or not to get it
Posted 06/14/2012
Does the handle bars raise ?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Genesis Saber 26" Mountain Bike

Nice Bike for the Price

07/23/2012
By ,
Chelsea, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't know much about bikes but did some research and came across this one. I think its manufactured by Kent, which is a nice bike manufacturer, and for the money is a great bike. It has front disc brakes but no rear. That would have been the only improvement. Everything was easy to put together and the shipping was faster than expected. I would rather spend $200 on a bike that in New York, I can ride during the summer and the rest of the time sit in my garage. Happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next