Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pandigital Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pandigital Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Introducing Planet by Pandigital, a light easy-to-carry multimedia tablet powered by Android", perfect for at home or on the go. Within the sleek thin design is the performance power to deliver seamless interactivity to countless features; Take photos and capture videos. Listen and download your favorite music. Connect effortlessly with your social networks. Access and manage your email. Browse the full interactive internet. Download and play the hottest games. With direct access to the Barnes and Noble eStore your world is open to over two million books, newspapers and magazines to read or lend. And, with the power of Android", browse thousands of applications with instant access to the Android App store.
Average Customer Rating:
3.496 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation65%71 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Pandigital Planet R70A200 Android 2.2 Tablet

07/09/2011
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pandigital Planet is a step up from its predecessor the Pandigital Novel. This one runs at 800 mhz, and the touch screen while still resistive is alot more responsive. It has dual cameras, although not the greatest quality but adequate. It is fairly fast, taking into consideration that it is a single core processor and not dual core like on alot of the newer more expensive tablets running Honeycomb.
I do not recommend installing the 6.17.2011 firmware update, since many people have reported that this rolls back the processor speed from 800 mhz to 600 mhz which in turn causes it to run slower. There is no explaination as to what benefits are gained from updating the firmware to this version.
Overall, this is a very nice entry level Android tablet for a first time user, or someone that is familiar with Android tablets but wants a nice inexpensive tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+469points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Aurora, Colorado
Firmware update does not cange processor speed
Posted 05/11/2012
I have this tablet with the updated 2.3 android system and doing a firmware update does NOT change the processor speed. Pandigital told me that is impossible. I also couldn't find any reference to your claim online.
0points
Customer Avatar
Hanover, PA
Pandigital Planet R70A200 Android 2.2 Tablet
Posted 08/24/2011
This is basically an android tablet with the Barnes and Noble ebookstore just like the Nook has. If you want a Kobo, then why did you buy one that runs Barnes and Noble? It never said in the description or on the Pandigital website that it ran on Kobo's ereader software.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Mason, OH
Very Limited
Posted 08/18/2011
This is not a good choice if you have already used a reader that works off of Kobo. You cannot download the Kobo reader or the Android Kobo app. Although this unit uses the Android operating system, it does not allow you access to the Android MarketPlace, where you could download the Kobo app. I assume this is due to their connection to Barnes and Noble. I find the B&N interface to be somewhat "klunky" in that it is not really user friendly; especially when you try to do a search.
I have had my unit a week, and still haven't downloaded any books: not by choice, but out of frustration. Unit probably isn't running right anyway. I had it on the charger all night, and it still shows almost empty. So, I'm probably going to return it this weekend.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Not happy

08/18/2011
By ,
Mason, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this unit with some level of caution. I know it's not going to perform like an iPad, so I don't expect that. I also know that it is inexpensive, so I kept my expectations in line with the price. That being said, I just don't think this unit has lived up to what I would have expected, even for a unit under $200.
First, just because it is an Android O/S, don't expect to get Android apps at the Android Market Place. I have an HTC Android smart phone and have been spoiled by the excellent selection of good, high quaility apps. So naturally I expected to have access to them with this unit. WRONG. The app store with this tablet seems well stocked with less than adequate (translated junk) apps. There are a few good ones, but if they require Flash player, forget it. Flash doesn't work, and when I tried to download it, the message from Adobe said they cannot download to my unit because of restrictions from APPLE!!!!!! What's that all about?!?!
YouTube is horrible. Picture quality looks like something from a cheap video card from the late 1980's. Horribly pixelized and choppy, even though this unit has an 800 Mhz processor.
Prior to this one, I had an ereader that used Kobo for it's standard provider. I really liked the Kobo interface, but cannot download from Kobo to my unit. If it would allow me to access the Android Market Place, I could download the Kobo reader, and all would be well. But alas, my books are stuck in my Kobo library and I cannot get them to my new unit. Yes, I tried saving them to my computer and transferring to the micro-S/D card and then putting it back into my unit. However, all I got was ASCII text and symbols.
The screen is not easy to use by touch. I am a typical sized man, and don't have overly large fingertips. However I am finding it very hard to find the "sweet spots" when typing in a url; thus, having many misspellings along the way. Also when I touch a "button" on screen, it may work and may not. Sometimes I find myself having to touch below the button to get it to work.
I am no novice to computer operations. I have been using PC's since 1987. However, this unit has me stumped. I sent an email to customer service last night. We'll see if/when they respond if they can give me some answers to rectify these problems, and others I haven't mentioned here. If they cannot, then the unit will go back, and I'll probably just get a Kobo reader and be done with it. After all, I already have a computer.
I just want a unit that works, and does what it is supposed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+235points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Middletown, OH
Rooting this makes it AMAZINGLY USABLE.
Posted 12/17/2011
Go to the SlateDroid forums and look for the OpenPDP REFRESH 2.3.4-v1.1-BETA thread. This rooted Gingerbread ROM COMPLETELY makes this tablet worth every penny! FULL Android App Store to start, ability to install your own alternate launcher (Go Launcher Pro or ADW recommended), Netflix, Amazon App Store, Angry Birds, Fruit Ninja.... all work and work well! COMPLETELY DIFFERENT BEAST WHEN ROOTED!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
norfolk va
not happy
Posted 08/24/2011
received this yesterday was told to charge for 4 hours so i did, used it for 1 hour screen said it had low battery had only 15 percent. so before i went to bed i charged it 8 hours later i turned it on and it still said to recharge it because it had only 15 percent charge.... returning it today. don't waste your time
-2points
Customer Avatar
Hanover, PA
Pandigital Planet R70A200 Android 2.2 Tablet
Posted 08/22/2011
In regards to the youtube app bundled with the Planet: Yes, it isn't that great. Try Amazon.com, they have an app store. Just follow the instructions on the website, and you can download the Amazon.com app store to your device. Once completed, do a search for a youtube app called FREEdi YouTube Downloader. This app works very well on the Planet and the video is not choppy.
Trying an older version of flash might work, and you have to make sure that it is a apk file or it will not download to your device. I also managed to get a version of Netflix to work on mine. So with that being said, with a bit of work it is a nice tablet for the price. I hope that this helps you and others who own the Planet. Try this before you give up on it.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Pandigital products

08/19/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is very important, before purchasing pandigital products, that everyone reads the return policy, related specifically to Pandigital products. I purchased a 9" version of this product which was very slow, and froze up continously. The software used throughout these ereaders, made by Pandigital is horrendously deficient. I went through a humiliating experience, with one of their associates on the phone, in an effort to troubleshoot it and solve the problems of malfunctioning, only to be told I may receive a new one in the mail after a month. This product is about as efficient as their customer service policy. If you are willing to endure such an experience, enjoy your purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+138points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Pandigital products
Posted 02/18/2012
I agree with this person. I bought a Pandigital Novel and am very dissatified with there customer service. After being told I was going to have to send it in for repair, since I had only have had it for 5 months and it was still under warranty, and the several call backs to there customer service department, I ended up having to complain to the Better Business Breau in California where Pandigital's home office is before I could get any help in getting my Novel replaced.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Pandigital Planet

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall, I've found this unit to be quite reliable. While not in the class of an iPad, it does allow me to check my email, watch videos, read Kindle & eBooks, and overall is a nice little tablet. While you do not have access to the Android Marketplace, you can install the Amazon Android Store. I've found quite a selection of good apps there for a reasonable price (or free). Overall, the Planet is a good, low-cost, introductory tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+49points
Review 5 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Great tablet for the low price

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Pandigital Planet is a step up from its predecessor the Pandigital Novel. This one runs at 800 mhz, and the touch screen while still resistive is alot more responsive. It has dual cameras, although not the greatest quality but adequate. It is fairly fast, taking into consideration that it is a single core processor and not dual core like on alot of the newer more expensive tablets running Honeycomb.
I do not recommend installing the 6.17.2011 firmware update, since many people have reported that this rolls back the processor speed from 800 mhz to 600 mhz which in turn causes it to run slower. There is no explaination as to what benefits are gained from updating the firmware to this version.
Overall, this is a very nice entry level Android tablet for a first time user, or someone that is familiar with Android tablets but wants a nice inexpensive tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+93points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Westfield MA
Pandigital Planet
Posted 09/11/2011
My 10 year old daughter would like this tablet. She is pretty proficient with the home computer. I'm not and I'm scared that this is over her head and mine? What do you think. Would there be additional costs beyond the purchase and about what would this cost be??? Is this appropriate for a 10 year old? Thank you for taking the time to help me.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Very Bad Buy

08/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had to return it to the store because it was not able to do anything. It was slow and you couldn't even play games on it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 7 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS
08/29/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this to have easy access to email, facebook,my bank and as a tv.
I am able to access my email and facebook but with difficulty because of the small screen and as for accessing my bank and getting tv stations forget it as apple will not allow you to get adobe flash which is required to access and play the video.
The price of $178 seemed like a good price but since it only does half of what i wanted it to do not so much any more.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Review 8 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

HORRIBLE!

09/02/2011
By ,
Wheeling WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have an iPod and had no problem whatsoever with downloads and getting good games. This tablet is not user friendly and the downloaded games are HORRIBLE. I would return it but my husband is already addicted to the size of the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-8points
Review 9 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Quality, User Experience and Performance

09/06/2011
By ,
07747
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is not bad for the price, But dont expect an Apple Ipad performance and speed , The random access memory (RAM) is low in this devise so certain programs will either freezes or closes, but you have to have a real logic brains to search and load the apps for this Planet, since this is new to the market and there are many incompatible issues with the apps. The pre-loaded apps are like sometime will not satisfy you the real expectation you have. The touch screen is having the less accuracy and you have to first get use to hold the device and scroll the screen lol.....
I did this device more friendly myself after many struggles, but one you start using the device , you will feel better.
wifi is very poor, it catches only very strong signals, but if you thing using your neighbor free wifi, then better drop the idea buying this device.
Camera are good for video chat, but not good for pics, so dont think you can take good still pics with this device.
Battery is not very good and not bad, if u r a regular user, better keep ur charger next to you..
for best battery charging leave the devise in off condition and charge it for atleast 4 hrs for full charge.
Weight is little heavy compare to other tablets, and the poor design does not allow you to hold the device ergonomically and accidental you may press the buttons that are placed in the bottom of the device while holding.
I am writing my user experience since i am Product design Engineer.
Thanks Mahen
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 10 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS
09/30/2011
By ,
Owensboro,Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use.battery life is not great.had to convert video to mpeg4 to see my old videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Nice tablet but poor signal coverage.

11/02/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this for my teenaged daughter. There is nothing wrong with it except for the wireless connection is poor due to the antenna on the inside. It will not pick up a good connection, not even outside in the yard. This is definitely not worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS
11/19/2011
By ,
Collierville,Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
so far my pandigital planet 7 work good
it has way more on it than i realized
i'm happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 13 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

please don't buy this product

11/25/2011
By ,
georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased received this tablet on a saturday and by monday it frozen up and it would not turn on. I tried everything, this product is worthless. I had to return this product back to the store and get my refund. I will not recommend me this product to my enemy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 14 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

Pandigital Products are JUNK!!

12/18/2011
By ,
Winnabow, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered two of the 7" pandigitals and they both had something wrong with them in less than a week. I will never order or recommend their products!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 15 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

The Worst !

12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item for my 14yr old son. i was better off getting the Kindle Fire for his 1st tablet he already has an Android phone so...this was out the box for approx 24hrs and its FROZEN and the TOUCH SCREEN is like you have to punch it or use stick or something! Mind you the manual is inside the Tablet ! the worst i have ever seen in an electronic... DO NOT BUY !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 16 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS
01/01/2012
By ,
grapevine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought two of these for my girls one never worked the other was great for about 4 days then would never turn on again my girls were very upset their santa gift did not work. I returned both for a full refund.
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

overall great tablet for the price

01/04/2012
By ,
redford,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I shopped at Walmart for the holidays.She purchased a really nice digital camera and I purchased a Pandigital Planet on line.The unit was easy to set up to get e-mails and the Apps are great to access.The unit works very well and the screen is easy to see and touch screen is excellent.Would reccomend this item to friends
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 18 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

A great TABLET for children of all ages.

01/06/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a fine product. I purchase it for my grand daughter, She really love it. Taking pictures which she love to do. Speaking Spanish and find words out of the dicitionary. It is a great learning tool.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 19 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS
01/06/2012
By ,
somerville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this product she is 13 years old and loves it........Its very easy to use...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Obviously no Quality Control.
Posted 01/22/2012
I have a Pandigital Novel and bought the Planet as a christmas gift. It is obvious that Pandigital has no Quality Control. The first thing I had to do the novel was an OS update. What a mess - took many emails back and forth to get it working again. Now it is fine and does everything it is supposed to. When I bought the Planet I decided to use it for a couple of weeks and make sure all was well. It didn't work at all. Couldn't find wifi when right in front of router. Soooo, I returned it and bought another. The second one was great ! ! ! I was able to download the kindle app so now it has both B&N and Kindle on it. It is fine for on-line surfing and my son just loves it. I recommend using a stylus when using the keyboard. Also, make sure you calibrate the screen - your life will be much easier.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Pandigital Planet R70A200 7" 800MHz 2GB Android 2.3 (GingerBread) OS

No good

01/06/2012
By ,
Romeo mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not made to do anything I was suppose to be able to go on fb and mail ANd whatever else I wanted and it just kept freezing and loading very slow. We returned it.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
1-20 of 95 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next