Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Black & Decker Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

The Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer is ENERGY STAR-qualified and features a space-saving flat back design for easy placement in your kitchen or garage. Holding approximately 175lbs of frozen food, this small chest freezer is equipped with heavy duty spring hinges for years of durable, reliable use. The removable vinyl-coated basket gives you the option to compartmentalize your frozen goods, and the front thermostat control helps you keep an eye on the temperature. This chest freezer is perfect for stocking up on meat, fish, vegetables or anything else you'd like to freeze for future use. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.281 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(299 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
72
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation89%267 out of 299reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
182
4 stars
72
3 stars
14
2 stars
9
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Fantastic Compact Freezer for the Price

12/23/2011
By ,
Sugar City, Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I are thrilled with this little freezer. It has an amazing amount of food storage capacity, and the basket insert is great for small items. The price was phenomenal for a top quality appliance. The controls are easy to access as well as the drain plugs. We bought this little freezer, because there are just the 2 of us now, and we are blessed with access to a lot of organic game and livestock meat. We just needed an additional small freezer to safely store all of it. This little freezer suits our needs perfectly. Getting it delivered for free with Wal-Mart's Site-to-Store was an added bonus.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 2 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Bottom right hand corner was damaged.

03/10/2013
By ,
Sikeston, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bottom corner was damaged. I called the B&D office, and I reported the issue.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Great Freezer for a Great Price!

09/16/2012
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Damaged Freezer :S

04/17/2012
By ,
Rochester
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After I placed the order and paid, I continued on reading the comments about this freezer, I was shocked by the amount of people that received this same freezer damaged. I was hoping mine will arrive safely.
When I got the package I started taking pictures before I unpacked. Everything was fine on the outside. After it was all unpacked, my worst fear became true.... It was bent from two locations (VERY BAD), the back left corner and back left side (It seamed like it was damaged on 2 separate occasions).
I called to complain, and I got $30 credit back, I couldn't deal with the hassle of returning.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

I wish I could tell you how well it works.

04/13/2012
By ,
Racine,Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ship to store sent me a smashed freezer in a very nice undamaged shipping box.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 6 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Great Value, Great Condition!

12/28/2011
By ,
Omaha
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was apprehensive about purchasing this product as I had read the reviews saying it was damaged. The review which said customer service stood behind it and made it right was enough to have me purchase this freezer for my Christmas gift from my husband!
My husband picked it up and I unpacked it. PERFECT! Considering that the other freezers in this price range were considerably smaller and have only a one year warranty on compressor, condenser and evaporator, I was pleased to discover that this one has a 5 year warranty on "sealed parts", ie condenser, compressor and evaporator. For an additional $20 I purchased the two-year warranty from WalMart which covers for two ADDITIONAL YEARS, after the factory warranty runs out, so this is covered for 3 full years but 7 years on the compressor, etc. Also, I noted that the warranty from WalMart also covers "normal wear and tear" so if the gasket wears out, this is covered. Considering that the "big box stores" warranty does not cover normal wear and tear, I am quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+100points
Review 7 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Perfect Chest Freezer

09/08/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this chest freezer as a backup to my fridge/freezer that's not freezing well enough anymore. I also bought it for more space for extra freezer food, delivery was quick! I ordered it close to midnight on 8-1-11 and it stated in my confirmation email that it would be delivered to me by 9-13-11, I got it 9-6-11!
When the delivery guy brought it in and when we opened it, it was upside down, we gently turned it right side up and let it stand for 18hrs, I know the manual says to let it stand for 24hrs if on it's side or in my case upside down to let it stand for 24hrs. But I was so excited and couldn't wait any longer to use it, I went out and bought A LOT of ice cream and bottled water. It has kept everything nice and frozen so far. So it's working great!
It's not that noisy at all unless you're focused on what sounds it makes, the temp control is easy to use, I think i'm going to leave it at 4. It's a very nice sleek chest freezer and spacious! for it's small perfect size. It's just what I needed as a backup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Not bad

02/06/2013
By ,
canton, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just received this freezer. I read reviews by others before I bought this product. I did not see why people made so much fuss. This is not to say that the one that I received a week ago now, will not display the problems other cited. The packing was nice. No damage. It works just fine. Only issue I have is that has a low hissing noise that I can hear if I sit close to it during the day, and at night from my bedroom. Given the freezer is just outside my bedroom, no wonder I hear it from my bed. The reason I am mentioning is that I thought that was not a normal sound. Feels like the coolant movement is making that noise, kind of like a little noise, drops off, starts again, when the motor runs. Very low and faint. Hope it gets better. Even with that noise, I like the freezer so long it does not break down. After reading the bad reviews, I also bought a three year protection plan for an additional $19 or so. Hopefully, I made a good choice. As of now, I think its great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White
11/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as an extra freezer to help me when I needed to defrost my big one. It took no time at all to get cold enough to start packing. I decided to leave it run with some things in it to see how it affected my electric bill. Surprisingly I can't even tell on my bill that its running. I have had this about 2 months and i think its a great little freezer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+203points
Review 10 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White
05/25/2012
By ,
French Lic In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this freezer 8 months ago,it stopped working,manufactor sent a repairman to repair, he stated it needed to be replaced,black and decker will not replace although it is under waranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Review 11 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Best choice

09/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The review I read that made me purchase this was correct, I have to put my ear close to make sure that the freezer is working cause it is very silent. I have $300 worth of Grocery in it and I still have space. I couldn't find better. I'm happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 12 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Perfect for my needs

08/15/2011
By ,
New Port Richey, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I needed! I can stock up on frozen foods (lots of room!) and keep the kitchen fridge/freezer for the handy frozen snacks that everyone craves this summer. Definitely refer it to anyone who needs to stock up on meats, etc, as it is compact enough for my kitchen, yet big enough to fill er up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+140points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MissLou Region
Feature question
Posted 05/08/2012
Does it have a lock & key?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White
08/15/2011
By ,
Upstate, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect size for my needs. Plenty of capacity for a month of frozen grocery items which allows me to take advantage of sales and buy alot of what I use!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+87points
Review 14 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Great freezer for small spaces!!

08/29/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the freezer, it fits perfectly in my extra room. Works great and looks good. It was delivered promplty and packaged so that it wasn't affected by the shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 15 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

A little on the lightweight side & dented/ bent up

07/08/2014
By ,
Wetumpka, AL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Probably a good little freezer but disappointingly dented and bent on bottom corners like others reported. Probably due to savage fork lift drivers and poor packaging. It did actually startup and got colder quickly. It fits in a small space which is the very reason why I chose this model. I hope it lasts a while. I've not had it long enough to comment more positively. Scoots around too easily and too easy to jar the unit. We'll just be careful and hope it works as stated and lasts. We bought the extended warranty just in case. I would have paid more money for a little heavier unit if B&D makes one in the 5.0 Cu Ft range..........
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Great freezer for the space.

10/26/2011
By ,
St. George, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipping was outstanding, but as some other reviews have stated, the box arrived with a minor dent. The freezer itself does have a small dent in the front which does not seem to affect the performance. I did wait the 23 or 24 hours, turned in on and it cooled down very fast. Has been full since then with no problems (about 3 weeks).
Would recommend and definately buy again for the cost and the size for a small family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 17 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Bigger than expected

12/30/2011
By ,
East Hanover
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this freezer for my elderly parents. My mom likes to cook soups and freeze them. They needed extra freezer space. This little freezer was much bigger than I expected and can hold quite a bit. The price made this purchase even better. If you are in need of more freezer space this little freezer is an excellent choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 18 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Lasted 2 days

06/06/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This deep freeze lasted 2 days before it just stopped working for no apparent reason. We followed the manual and tried trouble shooting. It died and ruined a lot of good food. I will be demanding a refund as well as reimbursement for the lost food.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 19 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

Doesn't Freeze

09/01/2012
By ,
Hartland, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even on the highest setting, it is cold, but doesn't freeze. It looks great (no dents or damage), but the compressor kicks on for only ten seconds at a time and only runs every ten minutes. It took two days full of frozens to even get cold. (I kept cycling the food through my regular freezer to keep everything frozen.) I'm really bummed, I bought it in store far from my home. The store near me doesn't have it in store so I don't think I'll be exchanging it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 20 for Black & Decker 5.0 cu ft Chest Freezer, White

The right price for me

08/26/2011
By ,
Johnstown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was just what I expected it to be, and it was easy to use just uppack and plug it in. All my food fit just like I wanted it to for a 5.0cub freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
1-20 of 226 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next