Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

The Coleman Cimmaron 14' x 8' Modified Dome Tent has room to stand up and move around, with only a 15 minute set up time. This Coleman 8 person tent can fit two queen sized airbeds. Its WeatherTec System ensures dryness for all occupants. This Coleman instant tent uses ground vents to improve air circulation. For maximum ventilation, simply remove the rainfly to expose the back window of your Coleman Cimmaron Modified Dome Tent.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation81%44 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Very Nice!

08/04/2011
By ,
Geneva, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Nice Tents, we ordered 6 of these for our Boy Scouts. Nice Large Size, easy to put up, great fabric! I ordered them on a Thursday morning & the next day they were on my front step. Very Happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great price, great size, great height!

06/14/2012
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I was searching and searching for a tent that we could stand up in, without it being so humongous that it would take up our entire campsite!! I was between a couple tents and this one just seemed like it had a better design.
PROS 1) There's room to stand up and walk throughout the tent. 2) It is still a dome styled tent (which many taller tents are not) so rain and whatever else will slide right off the top without creating pools on top like a flat top/or sharply angled tent would. 3) The structure of the dome is wide but still high. With the curvature of the dome being higher to the top, there's even more usable standing space. 4) Fully lined zippers, bathtub welded floor, great stitching & rain fly = no rain or water leaks! 5) great ventilation, provides a big open back window (without zipper closure) which is covered by the rain fly for privacy when completely down, or the rain fly can be tied off to the sides for partial window, or rain fly can come off to allow open mesh window to be completely exposed and open. side windows with zipper closures still remain partially private with the rain fly on, and are high enough that outsiders can only see your head anyways. door provides excellent ventilation as well! 6) comes with door mat. I don't think it was mentioned in the product listing, and i really didn't think we would use it, but i'm glad we did... it kept the inside of the tent grass/dirt free! 7) Was just me, my boyfriend, and our dog, but there was a ton of room in there. We had a queen bed, and a dog bed with ample room on all sides of us for our belongings. We even turned the bed after we woke up for the day so we had even more open space to walk around and get dressed ect. (the foot of the bed was on the door side of the tent and the head was by the back window.) 8) I liked the fact that we were able to put our outside belongings inside the tent, just so our things weren't on display while we were gone.
CON (AT FIRST THEN PRO): My boyfriend was hung up on the fact that the tent was going to be huge. WRONG. Any bigger and I think it would take up too much room. The tent is rectangular so it is long, but not too wide (It's as wide as a queen mattress is tall). So it is the perfect size without over doing it, and without taking up the whole campsite!!
BOTTOM LINE: great tent and easy setup! glad I got this one!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

One Tough Tent

03/26/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this tent for a weekend camping trip to a coastal Island only accessible by boat. The tent was compact and light enough to easily fit in the bow of a 10' Kayak.
Set up was quick and simple for 2 people, all the components were of good quality (for beach camping I would recommend some longer stakes). Tent is very roomy and also airy without the rain fly. The true test came on our last night when severe storms rolled up the coast. This tent rocked!, literally. We were buffeted by 40 - 50 mph winds with torrential rain fall and small hail. Even though the stakes weren't holding the tent held it's integrity. The wind was coming out of the south which was where the door of the tent was facing. The tent rocked violently as it was hit broadside by heavy gusts. Considering what was thrown at it I'd say it was pretty tight. The only visible leak was a tiny drip from the tie that secures the door window when open. We did spray the seams with a water proof sealer before the trip.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent...

07/01/2013
By ,
Mays Landing, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tent...Bought it 2 yrs ago, used it 3 times already. Didn't do the review right away bcause we didn't test it yet with the wind and rain. First time we used this the weather was nice, 2nd time it rain and was windy (Memorial weekend 2013) and was cold. It held up the wind with no problem, as for the rain, we didn't get wet inside but it was not a heavy rain ( just a little rain). 3rd time was just last week (June 2013). We went to Cherrystone in VA our site was right at the bay. It got windy at night, but out last night there was a thunderstorm. Good thing the people next to us warned us about it and told us to prepare as it gets very windy when there's a thunderstorm and we were right at the chesapeake bay. And boy we did not expect it to be that intense, about 40-50mph and it lasted about an 1hr. It was scary and I thought the tent was going to be blown away. But thank goodness it held up. and no tear..
As for the size, we're a family of 5, 3 kids (10,8,4) we have 2 airbeds (queen & full) and still have space to walk inside and have some space for our stuff. Love love this tent. Highly recommend
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great deal on a very large tent!

06/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a tent to fit our queen air mattress, plus a twin mattress and two dog crates in for our son and two small dogs. This tent will definitely fit all of that and a Rubbermaid tote for clothes too. It took both myself and my husband to set it up and it says a 15 minute set-up but it took us 25 minutes, however that was the first time we took it out of the container. It was also very easy to get back into the bag and the bag is very light with the tent and poles in it. I bought this tent on sale for $97 and am extremely happy with the price I paid for the size of tent I received!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Easy set up and No leaks!

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was able to set up the Cimmaron alone in 10 minutes. The continuous pole sleeves eliminate hang-ups while feeding the poles through. The entire top is made of mesh. At 5'11, my husband can walk around the full length of the tent without ducking. There is plenty of room for 2 queen beds, gear, and room to walk around. It has been through two days of rain with no leaks. The floor was damp even with a ground cloth, but no puddles. I would definitely purchase this one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Solid equipment

07/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 person is a stretch. Two queen air mats with room for some accessories. First weekend spent in two nights of storms and tent stayed dry internally
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Good tent at a decent price

08/02/2013
By ,
Dexter, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this as a replacement for an older Coleman tent that we had used for the last 10+ years.Our other is a Cabin style tent. The Cimmaron tent has more cubic ft. but has an odd layout and because of the sloping sides does not feel as big as our older tent. It was more difficult to set up also. Not bad, just make sure you have two people. The rain fly is un-necessarily difficult to set up. It has string ties and hooks that you have to undo and then put away once you don't need it. It is hard to get back in the original bag too. It served it's purpose and we were dry after a nice solid rain overnight.I did seal the seams before using. We had room for our queen size air mattress and two cots for sleeping.It also had room for our gear. At most you could sleep six in this tent in sleeping bags but would not have room for your gear. We are a Family of six and slept six in our other tent. We did not this time. We used two tents instead. Good value,j ust not as big as expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent, very roomy

06/23/2014
By ,
I live in Gilbert, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter and I really love the tent. Very roomy. We put 2 cots and a chair in it with a tent heater. One thing I'm very unhappy with is the door zipper. After using the tent three times, the door zipper separated after zipping it half way, it separated at the beginning of the zipper. Should have been more heavy duty zipper for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

great tent wish I would of found this tent sonner

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the rear vent is a great add works well for a small AC unit, ,thanks Coleman !!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

So easy to set up and lots of room!

07/08/2014
By ,
Mishawaka, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it! Used it for the first time this weekend and it was perfect. Lots of room, easy to set up and I really liked a the vent features. Being red does make it hold in the heat a little bit too much but being about to take the roof cover off really helped. Would definitely recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

great tent

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great size a not difficult to setup
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

I really like it!

07/30/2011
By ,
Puyallup, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this one day before our camping trip, so I had no time to test run it. We camped on the Washington Coast and of course as soon as we got there it started to rain, drizzle, but still wet! When we started to go to bed it started to pour, poured all night! Not one drop of water go into the tent and this was without water sealing it. Very impressed, because the rain was relentless. Super easy to put up and nothing was missing with ours and we had no stitching errors at all. This was a replacement tent that had two rooms and was way to big for us. Did not like having two rooms, like the idea of one big room much better. We had one queen and one twin mattress in the tent with plenty of walking room. Highly recommend! Happy camping to you.....
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Could be better, could be worse

07/16/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the price, this is a good value. If you combine the cryptic directions with looking at the picture on the box you can figure out how to assemble it. I assembled it alone in about 20 minutes, they said it would take two people. In order to get ventilation you really need to remove the rain fly but that is also your shade so not real good in the hot sun. Older tents all had "window panels" that unzipped from the inside & were designed better. This tent has three small panels that can be unzipped from the inide but they are not enough for hot weather. The zipper around the door is cheap and looks like it will break easily. The bottom of the tent is also very thin and looks like it will get holes in it after a few uses. It stood up well to wind but I have my doubts that it will stay dry in any sort of rain. The bright colors seems to attract all manner of insects. For the money, though, it is a huge tent with room to spare. The dead center is the only place I can stand without bending over but that is good enough. I placed a queen sized Aero-Bed at one end and had a few inches to spare on both sides (I placed it the long way, not as shown in the advertisements) and had enough room for all my camping gear and several totes on the other end plus ample room to move around. It is a large tent and for the affordable price its probably the best thing going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Love it!!!!

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would definitely recommend this tent. Very roomy.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great design - poor quality!

07/17/2011
By ,
White Bear, MN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I loved the features on this tent after extensive 'on-line' searching. After I bought it I decided to do a 'test run' set-up before my big (5-night) camping trip. I was really impressed with the design, especially the little ventilation window on the floor. Problem was, the tent was very poorly constructed! There has to be four gromet holes for the two cross rods on the ceiling and there were only three (missed one at the factory)? The stitching around the doors and windows looked like a third grader did it (croocked and uneven everywhere)! The last straw with this was after I had the 'test model' fully set-up I was standing in front of it and I heard a big POP! One of the rear legs ripped off (stitching missed the flap)! I will admit that I was so impressed with the design that I did bring this one back and exchanged it for a new one. I set up the new one and it was much better, but still poor construction. I will strongly recommend that you "seal the seams" (should on any tent) with this model because I could see light through the stitching on all four corners. I am excited to put this design to the test as I wiggled the heck out of it and am convinced this will hold up (dry I hope) to 30+ MPH winds!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Did not like... returned

07/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am sure this tent will be great for someone, but it did not offer the amount of mesh that I had hoped. The side vent mesh panels were really small and did not add much to the flow through of the breeze.
It also did not feel like 8 people could comfortably fit and have even a little room to move around. My wife and I decided to return.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great product, roomy

06/17/2014
By ,
Bradford pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Must bigger than antisipated. Very durable and decently priced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent
07/07/2012
By ,
Iron River, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I camp alot....I am not your one week or weekend camper.....Last summer spent 3 1/2 months in a tent on 2 separate lakes for the US Forest Service.....I test all my tents prior to use....I do not want surprises.......We had Major Storms in our area.....High winds......I put this baby out for the last 3 days......put my gear inside to see what it would look like after 3 days of storms......this tent did not budge......not one drop of rain got inside.....I still wish though coleman would improve the thickness of their floors......they go first......if alot of traffic.....this tent should last years.....I highly recommend though most coleman products.....they are a staple in camping gear.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Cimmaron 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

I like it but it's not exactly what I ordered.

07/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't taken it out of the box yet. My only disappointment is that the height is not 80" as stated in the on line description. The dimensions on the case says 6ft 2 inches. I am tall and was looking for a tent that I could stand up in. There was also a discrepancy about the width. It said both 8 and 9ft. I didn't care about the width as much as the height. I am looking forward to trying it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next