Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Coleman Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Make your next outdoor adventure trip more memorable with this Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent. It takes only a minute to put up or take down with the pre-attached poles, allowing you to spend more time hiking, exploring or boating. This waterproof tent has ample room for up to 4 people, so you can share the space comfortably with family and friends. It has a center height of 59" to accommodate your gear and other equipment safely inside. This shelter features an exclusive WeatherTec system, making it a wonderful choice for all seasons and weather conditions. This 8' x 7' Coleman instant tent is waterproof and comes fully taped without the need for a separate rainfly for convenience. The heavy-duty 75D fabric is twice the thickness of standard models, so you can rest assured that it will hold up against the elements year after year.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%23 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Not for serious campers

06/30/2012
By ,
Ontario
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My neighbor bought this tent and I was anxious to see how it fared as I am looking for a tent with a little more head room than my old pup tent. It rained a light but steady drizzle the day after he put it up in his back yard and the next morning the truth was evident as the kids emerged from the house instead of the tent.
This tent makes an ok backyard tent where you can seek shelter in the house if the weather turns on you during the night. I would not however recommend this tent (or any other tent without a fly) for serious away from home camping. Sealed seams do not last long and wear with just packing and unpacking. A darn shame that they didn't include a fly as it would be fairly easy to incorporate one onto the external frame that folds up with the tent or even just include one with the tent that can be used when needed. Back to the drawing board Coleman... very disappointing. My old 10 year old 4 man pup tent w/fly also goes up in less than 5 minutes and it still keeps me dry to this day. The hunt for headroom continues...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Excellent

06/20/2012
By ,
East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the tent for an overnight canoe/camping trip with my 8 year old daughter. Watched the video before I purchased it and it functions as advertised. Actually I think I got it up and secured faster than Coleman expects. It appears to be well constructed. I bought a string of mini Coleman LED lights to hang on the front of the tent and it made for a very nice camp site. I recommend this tent!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Love this tent -- But i need bigger

08/30/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had seen the larger one at a local expensive store and loved the idea of it. I looked online for videos and they do not do the set up justice. I had my wife, who is a skinny 130 lb woman set it up and it took her a minute ans 7 seconds, thats only cause she didn't click in one of the poles all the way. We went camping and it cold and rained the entire night. We had some condisation on the inside of the tent but that is expected with a single wall tent. Other than that it held up awsome to the very strong winds, more so than i expected. We use larger cots and they pushed out slighty on the tent walls and you could not even tell the next morning when we packed up. I love the easy set up and just as easy take down. We just got a dog so this is too small for us now. Its perfect for two people and some gear to fit in the tent.
I am absolutly going to get the same tent in the next size up so we can fit us and the dog. I highyl recommend this one or the series in general.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

It's easier than you think

10/17/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old son arrived on our camping site, I threw the tent to him and told him to set it up. I was unpacking the rest of the supplies when 2 minutes later, he says to me, Dad, I am done setting up the tent and even put the stakes in the ground...can I go play with my friends? It's that easy. The cool thing is when I broke down the tent the next day, the bag it comes with is about 30% larger than the tent. So even with the tent broken down not perfectly, it fit back into the bag in 30 seconds. My other buddies are dealing wiht poles, trying to figure out which ones go where. Mine has the instructions on the bag. The exo-skeleton system is the way to go and I would recommend to anyone who doesnt want to spend 20 minutes setting up a tent and get on with camping. We had 20 mph winds with some rain, no worries. And for the price, bro, dont kid yourself. You will laugh at yourself when you discover how easy it was and how much time you spent dealing with your last tent. I threw my last tent away! Yeah, I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Worlds coolest tent.

08/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can put up and take down this tent by myself in under two minutes. This tent is phenomenal. As a tip of advice if you are super excited to try out your new tent, when you look at the weather forecast and it gives you a 40% chance of high winds and a thunderstorm don’t do like I did and decide odds are in your favor. Though on the bright side your tent will last through the storm and keep you dry your relationship with your significant other might not fare as well.
And the instant setup and takedown is a lifesaver. It started to thunder the second time I took it out and my two year old got pretty nervous. I had it down in under a minute, threw it in the car and avoided spoiling a lifetime of camping enjoyment for him and didn’t have to come back later to collect it.
As far as the four person thing is concerned I don’t think this statement applies to people harboring from North America. A fatbody like me and one other person is about all I would feel comfortable with in this tent unless it was mid-winter and we were huddling for warmth… even then I’d probably build a fire and drop the money for a six man tent.
I would also recommend keeping this permanently packed in any 96 hour survival kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

5 stars when used for intended purpose

04/27/2012
By ,
metro boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i gave this tent 5 stars but it fills a niche.for a couple car camping with unknown expected weather conditions there is no other tent like this.this tent has so many unique attributes!with the optional 150 denier 600mm fly this thing is almost bombproof.the 150denier body is unique,the 68 denier screens are heavier than most,the tubular telescopic 16mm&20mm steel frame is unique,because its single wall and completely closable it really should be considered a convertible,unbelievable heat retention!and at the same time in favorable weather conditions the best ventilation.good tent for scenic panoramas(with the exception of rear wall with no window).the first time i set this tent up i couldn't believe it took till now for someone to design this!less than 1 minute.it is heavy for this size tent but at 10 lbs. not extraordinarily so.i cant think of 1 con.love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Is not weather proof

06/28/2012
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Highly disappointed. Received the tent today. Out of box, easy set up. Did not stake so that may make it more taught than saggy. While ads profess it to be thicker than standard tents, I didnt find it so. After zipping all windows, I subjected it to a total of 5 minutes of rain via garden hose on flat nozzle setting [gentle rain]. The tent is definitely not rain proof. It leaked from the top seams and side seams were wet. Also when opening the door, all water will run in a funnel into the tent. 4 person would be extremely tight. More along 2 and personal effects. I am 5'9" and I found the height for a smaller size tent pretty good. I could almost stand up in it.
rating:
1) durability 0 do not find it thicker than my standard tents
2) ease of setup 1
3)with standing elements 0
4) size [while small for 4 man, sufficitient for 2-3 tops] and height was OK .5
5)design door awkward, rain not a consideration on desigh 0
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New York
Optional Rain Fly?
Posted 08/20/2012
I noticed that this tent has the option to buy a rain fly. Do you think a rain fly would have helped prevent some of the leaking you reported?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Great tent!

08/13/2011
By ,
RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 seconds up, 30 seconds down, perfect smaller size I needed. Fit a queen mattress and had over a foot spacing on the edges for several small bags, shoes, large duffle etc. Loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'
09/02/2011
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the easiest tent to set up and take down that I have ever owned. It is not quite as tall as I would like but since I'm 5'3" it is okay. I do find it hard to believe that this tent would sleep four people unless they were packed in like sardines. The tent has room for one queen mattress or two singles.
I have only used this tent one time so far but I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Quick set up and take down

08/05/2011
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only set up and taken down at home, and it is as easy as shown on Coleman video. Will be using at least once a month, so I hope it holds up with use and can't wait to see how it does in the rain. I will be using sturdier stakes than those supplied, but I never use any stakes supplied originally with any tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

This tent leaked.

07/14/2012
By ,
Seattle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Admittedly, it was a downpour all night, but I don't think a tent should leak, at all.
True to their word, it was EASY-PEASY to put up and take down.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NM
Seal the seams.
Posted 01/02/2014
Read the instructions and the reviews, you need to seal the seams! Your expectations are 100% correct. No tent should EVER leak, but you need to seal the seams with silicone. The WeatherTec fabric is 100% waterproof, the seams are not. Use Atsco silicone spray (the flourescent orange can) sold at Walmart.
All tent manufacturers recommend sealing the tent seams.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Great Buy

09/16/2012
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it because I travel alone and wanted something easy to set up. I put this tent up in less than one minute, minus putting in the pegs. The only way you could sleep four people is for them to all be under the age of 6, but it is great for just me. If your looking for easy set up this is the one. They do need to add a rain fly just to allow for ventilation in case of rain.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Tent is great GOT HERE LATE 3 days

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart should consider other shippers. FedEx picked it up in Kansas, took it to Memphis, where it was delayed, took it to Ontario, Ca, then to Bakersfield ,, Late, and would not deliver to Lake Isabella (home) until Monday WEEKEND GONE I paid to have it delivered on Friday. Tent is great. I used it the following weekend, and it held up under 30 mph wind. Quick set-up and take down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

So easy to set up!

07/08/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned a tent before and needed one for an upcoming scout camping event. Since I have never camped before I wanted something that was easy to set up and take down for me. I not only put the tent up all by myself I also took it down before a huge rain storm within a minute of it hitting. I can't wait to use the tent again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Great Tent

03/31/2014
By ,
Grand Prairie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took the tent to a camping trip this weekend. It was easy to set up and put down. My husband and I did it within a minute or so. It would be better if it came with a rainfly, but u can find one for about $30. Would definitely recommend this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Great - wish i had this 5 years ago!

09/12/2012
By ,
cromwell CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was told it does Not need a rainfly - but just to be on safe side during downpours i purchased one, really think it should have come with the tent to begin with - as a option.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

08/25/2011
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is indeed very easy to set up. I have had it set up in my back yard for about 3 weeks now and it hasn't leaked yet. I did treat it with Scotchguard as a preventative measure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

super for grandkids

04/16/2014
By ,
west sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my grandkids 12 and 14 put up this tent in one minute. staking the tent took a little longer but as advertised easy up and just as easy to take down and bag.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'
08/15/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perhaps I am jumping the gun for I haven't put it into use yet, but I have set it up and it sets up INSTANTLY and easily. Can't wait to actually use it! Also, for a "4 person" it is bigger than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Instant Set-Up 4-Person Tent, 8' x 7'

A great tent for quick setup

07/13/2012
By ,
Hillsboro, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was assembled in 5 minutes. Great for summer camping. Lightweight. Has air vents and screening for good air circulation. This size is perfect for two adults. Four kids would fit fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next