Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

The Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent has an exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry. You can control airflow in this Coleman Sundome tent with adjustable Variflo ventilation. The dome structure of this 4-person tent is easy to transport and simple to set up. This Coleman Sundome tent is great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation95%53 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 59 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great Tent For Casual Campers

06/25/2012
By ,
Avon, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this as our first tent, mainly for casual camping near the car or in the backyard. It is super easy to set up and has a nice cross breeze as well as easy to close windows/door. It fits a queen size blow up mattress but with no room for anything else so in that respect it's more a two person tent than four. You could presumably fit a double bed or two sleeping bags with a dog bed as an alternative to the queen sized mattress.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Excellent tent for amateur campers!

05/11/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for a weekend camping trip with my boyfriend. We had a tent before that had ripped and was extremely difficult to set up. We got to the campsite with this tent and it was set up within about 10 minutes. It will probably be even less next time now that we know what we are doing. The materials were fine for the price. I would recommend using the coleman water-proofing applicator with this tent, we used it when we first got there and there was a heavy frost that night and everything in our tent stayed dry. We used the rain fly (it's just vents on top otherwise) and it got down to about 40 at night and was windy and we were alright (bundled in sleeping bags, but warm!). The tent says 4-person but we had two people and a couple of bags and while it wasn't too small, I wouldn't want to sleep more than two if you have any bags. I will attach a few pictures below.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great tent for a short trip.

08/14/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tent for a week long camping trip and it was a very reliable tent. Very spacious in the inside and its about 5ft. tall. The only bad thing I have to say about the tent is that when in constant rain, the tent walls will get moist inside. During my trip it rained for about a day and a half and towards the end of the rain the walls started to get moist. Keep in mind that having a tarp underneath the tent would be best for raining days. Overall great tent for dry weather. Very ventelated and also has to clip for a light or fan on top of the tent for summer nights, would definatly be used again for future trips.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
western washington
camping in the rain
Posted 08/24/2014
I know it sounds weird but when camping in the rain and winter have your rain fly up and windows open it helps the moisture that's in the tent leave to avoid condensation building up in your tent and stealing your heat and sticky walls
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great tent!

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went on a late April camping trip with this tent. Unfortunately, I did not get the expected weather for that time of year. This tent held up through rain, 30+mph wind gusts (granted, it would begin to fall over, then pop right back up. I ended up having to tie it to the car just to be safe), frost, and snow. With the vents staked to be as closed as possible, it was keeping the inside at about 45 degrees, when the outside was around 30 degrees. It was also easy for me to set up by myself. The only things that I did to improve this tent was to make a groundcover for underneath it (cheap tarp from Harbor Freight cut down to size) and buy some longer stakes for the corners. So, it cost me an extra $10 to have a tent that had extra protection.
Overall, I was extremely happy with this tent. This site asked me if I'd recommend this tent to a friend, and I can honestly say that I already have recommended it to several.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Works like a charm

05/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was my first tent purchase, and overall it exceeded my expectations. The electrical access port was a life saver when I accidentally zip tied myself and dog in the tent. Someone was able to fit a pair of scissors in through that little opening so I could cut the zip tie and get out without ruining the tent in any way. The bottom was a little thin though. The last morning I was there it rained, and I had put a tarp underneath it. The inside of the tent remained dry, but the bottom of the tent was still a little damp, and I think had it rained more or I stayed longer it would have been bothersome. Set up was easy, and sewing the directions into the tent bag was brilliant. Set up definitely requires two people and took about fifteen minutes the first time. Overall, with the rain fly and window, it was a perfect tent. I fit myself, large dog and two nieces comfortably. Great purchase overall!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

excellent bang for the buck

04/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great tent, easy to set up and excellent bang for the buck. i can attest to the rainworthiness that other reviewers have stated. coleman has definitely pulled it off w/ this tent.
i have all sorts of tents (not quite an expert but definitely experienced), and like i said above, for a roomy 4 person tent, this is great.
+price
+space is good (i'm 6 ft tall, and no i'm not standing in it, but it's not horrific)
+good gear loops, and flaps present
+zippers are solid, my 5 yr old can open and close reliably
- no vestibule, but it's less then 70 bux!!!
-sideways rain might, MIGHT be a problem due to the some of the vent configurations, but seeing some of the other reviews here doesn't seem to be that big of an issue
i didn't have any condensation issues.
it keeps 2 adults and 2 children nice and warm. sub 35 degree weather, good sleeping bags are a must of course!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Perfect 2 person tent*

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
*I say two person tent because although it claims to fit 4 and I'm sure it might, very tightly, I think it's perfect for two people to fit comfortably and still be able to move around and keep things inside the tent. It would have fit a third person just fine as well. I think it's made from very durable material and is very easy to assemble between two people. Could I have built it by myself? Maybe. But between two people, we built it in less than 10 min. Amazing. The only thing I wish it had was a bigger carrying bag. It was difficult to fit everything after disassembling the tent. But I'm sure it'll come with practice :) overall 9 out of 10.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent
10/10/2012
By ,
Cumming, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a bedroom to base camp at established campsites and fit a full sized bed into the tent and still had room for storage between the bed and the tent walls. (Ozark Trail Queen Airbed, also from W-M, which is full size despite the name.) Easy and fast one-person set up. I trashed the stakes that came with it and bought bigger ones. Right out of the box, without seam sealing, it withstood 2 days of heavy, continuous rain and gusty winds with only a little water on the floor and that may have come through the door when I left it open since I didn't see or feel any drips. The electrical cord inlet is a nice touch. Lots of mesh, good ventilation with the back lower vent staked open. Good sized mesh pockets on tent sides. Tight fit but it did all go back into the original case. Overall it was comfortable, kept me dry and I would order it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Love this tent!

04/26/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Coleman tent is great! I set it up indoors before I took it camping, so I could learn the steps. It was pouring rain at the campgrounds when I set it up, and was still pouring rain when I took it down. Not a drop of water got inside the whole weekend! There was a small amount of condensation on the walls in the mornings, but I think that is to be expected. I used a twin air mattress, and there was plenty of room for all my gear, and my dog's large bed. There would not have been much room at all, had I used a queen air mattress. The pockets on the sides were very handy for keys, glasses, cell phone, etc. The loop at the top worked perfectly to hang my tent light. I did put a heavy duty tarp underneath it to protect the flooring from any sharp rocks, etc. Happy camping!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great tent!

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent, worked just fine, no leaks, no flaws.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Nice Tent for the Price

04/14/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered this tent with free "Ship to Home". It arrived a day earlier than date given. Nice!
Have not been camping yet, but have set it up in the backyard to seal the seams.
Set up was easy with one person - the "continuous pole sleeves" are a big improvement.
Poles slid through easily all the way to the other side - no searching for the 2nd one.
A lot of tents now have the tub floor made from the tent material - I don't trust it, not to mention it's so thin. This tent has the Polyethylene floor - much better IMHO.
This tent will be for me & a small dog. There will be plenty of room with the single air mattress. I can't see using a queen size in there, wouldn't be much room for a couple of duffel bags.
My only concern is the rain fly. My last Coleman tent had a much longer fly, covering a lot more of the side walls. But many of the reviews stated that the tent did great in rain & storms, so I'm taking the chance.
Just waiting for some nice weather to try it out!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

4 Person ?

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only way four adults could fit in this tent would be for everyone to lay on their side and even then it would be a tight fit. Great ten for two campers and some of their gear. Easy to set up and take down. Not sure how it would perform in a high wind. Good ten for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great Tent - Super Price

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Roomy, dry and warm.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Love it!

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is roomy and great for my Son in Boy Scout.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Rainproof!

03/26/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I sent this tent with my son on a Boyscout camping trip. It poured buckets the entire weekend - I mean it rained and rained and then rained some more. Tent stayed bone dry the entire time! This tent is simple to setup and very roomy inside with a nice high ceiling. Highly recommend this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great value

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used once but it is a great value for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Easy

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great. Easy up and easy down.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Leaky tent

05/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The rain fly is too small. The rain runs off the edge of the fly and hits the tent near where the base is sewed on and it leaks badly in the rain.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Great tent!

08/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was just what we needed - 2 adults and 2 kids on a camping trip. The setup was super-easy - about 10 minutes with 2 adults and 2 preschoolers "helping". Slept in it all night during a huge thunderstorm and woke up all dry :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Sundome 4-Person Dome Tent

Good tent for the price

05/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Awesome tent. Only problem is when it rains a little bit of water will blow under the rain vent. Not a lot though.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next