Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

The Coleman Evanston 8-Person Tent with Screened Porch, 15' x 12', has an exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry. This 8-person tent features a modified dome structure that is easy to transport and simple to set up. This tent with screen porch is great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation85%22 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

All good

08/21/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent is well constructed, easy to put up and at a good price. Negatives, screen area is open so if a good rain comes down the floor in that section can get wet but only in that section. Could use a double door as well, it has one that zips open and a screen portion on the other side. Bit difficult to get a queen size mattress in if you already had inflated it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Nice tent and a solid value.

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was pretty easy to set up which was good because there wasn't a lot of fine detail in the instructions. When you first lay it out it seems huge but once you're inside it seems reasonable. I can stand up inside easily and I'm 6 foot which was a selling point. The screened porch is nice for storing things you want to keep drier and it adds another barrier for bugs to get through.
The floor is a heavy duty waterproof tarp material so I don't know that a ground cloth is needed but I will probably pick up a sheet of Tyvek in any case. The interior is basic with two small pockets and a ring in the ceiling for a lantern. The side and front screens have covers that zip shut and the door can be either a screen or fabric. The back window and ceiling are just screen but covered by the fly.
I can fit my family of 5 (2 adults, 3 kids) inside comfortably on air mattresses but it would seem a stretch to fit 8 adults inside even without mattresses.Overall this is a good 2 season (late spring to early fall) family tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Excellent tent for a family of four.

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very spacious but cozy. Could hang a headlamp from top loop for light. What sold me was the screened porch. The adults can sit and chill while the kids wind down and fall asleep inside. Great windows and position of the open areas. We love to walk in and out without crouching, so this dome tent really rocks. Very very easy to put up, and take down. Left the sprinklers on during the trial run setup in the backyard and everything stayed completely dry inside. Very easy to roll it all back up and put into the bag. We fit four full size sleeping bags, 2 full size air mattresses with plenty of room to spare. Little concerned on the footprint for the standard 10x10 tent pads, but we can always have the porch area hang off a bit if needed. Comparing to other tents, price per square inch you get the most for the dollar and space with this one. Coleman wins on this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Wonderful!

08/09/2011
By ,
Central NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have always been backpackers with small lightweight tents, so I was in new territory with a "family" tent. It was surprisingly light overall, packs small. Lots of room inside for Queen air bed and two sleeping bags with pads, plus all our stuff. It did not rain so unsure of leaking, but we did seal the seams of the fly based on previous experience with tents and camping. Easy to set up. Even though it was hot, we were comfortable inside. Only problem was one pole had a frayed end, but my friends assure me based on their experience with Coleman that they will replace it without question. One unexpected surprise was that the screen room had a floor in it... most other models we looked at did not. I can see how there are pros and cons to this feature, but it sure made the inside of the tent stay cleaner, and gave us extra space to store things up off the ground.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great tent - withheld CRAZY storms

06/19/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, we bought this tent because we are frequent festival goers and the tent we had been using had had enough. When we first set it up before traveling out to Arkansas for Wakarusa Festival, we were concerned because the back of the tent is a complete open window with just a rainfly covering it, and no way to close the window. We had heard there was going to be rain and were concerned, but decided to give it a try.
Little did we know, it wasn't just rain, it was a lightning thunderstorm that completely encompassed the entire festival grounds with 70 MPH winds and lasted nearly all night for about 12 hours. We were told to evacuate the main venue and seek shelter in our cars. The storm was so bad that we couldn't even see out of the car to make sure our stuff wasn't being blown away.
By morning time we decided to get some sleep in our tent and were worried that there would be water everywhere. There was little to NO water in our tent. Not only that, it didn't even move an inch off the ground, while other peoples tents and canopies had been completely demolished.
I will say that if you are having reservations about getting this tent, take it from a frequent camper, that it is WORTH it. No other tent I have ever been in could have withheld what we went through that weekend. You will not be disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Easy setup and LOTS of space!!!

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently bought this tent for a camping trip with my wife, my sister, and her boyfriend. Oh and can't forget my new puppy (yellow Lab). The tent was easy to setup, less than 15mins, including the rain fly. I could not believe the room inside, it was big enough for 2 queen beds, and these were the tall box spring type. The tent stayed nice and clean due to the porch having a floor. I was surprised how big the porch was. We were able to fit a full size dog crate and coolers on the left side (facing tent looking from front). We still had plenty of room for some bags and shoes on the other side of the porch. I am 6'3" and was able to stand in the tent.
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Excellent for up to 4 people Screen porch GREAT

06/11/2014
By ,
Lakeland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, it's as easy to erect as a 4 person tent!
Second, stand up room no crawling into a tent for me!
Third , excellent ventilation .
Con...... The provided 6" tent pegs are useless unless your on solid rock! I bought 12" pegs. Last thing you want is for your tent with you in it to turn into a bounce house in a storm.
You will not be disappointed if your looking for a super comfortable size tent for up to 4 adults. Forget 8 people in this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great tent, well built. Love the porch!

10/10/2011
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried out several tents and this is by far my favorite. Large open area inside and tall enough to stand up in. We had a queen size air mattress in the center with a lot of room left over for gear. I'm 5'10" and able to stand up straight to get dressed around the outside edge of the air mattress. This was very important to me after the last tents I had that claimed to have high ceilings.
Another incredible feature is the screened off porch. I didn't think I would ever use it, but within minutes I was proven wrong. We set the tent up during a light sprinkle of rain mixed with snow and by the time we finished, the snow was really coming down. We set our camp chairs in the porch and found out quickly that we had a nice place out of the weather to kick off our mud-covered boots before we entered the main cabin area of the tent. With some of the worst weather conditions I've ever camped in, the tent was the cleanest I'd ever had. I give all the credit to the porch area.
The tent is large enough to put a queen size air mattress and a twin size air mattress in with gear. I am very impressed with the overall quality and features of the tent. It was very easy to set up.
Oh, and one last thing... NO LEAKS! We used this on the elk hunt in Utah this year in the Uinta Mountains. There was 4 inches of snow on the ground when we got there and in the morning another 2 inches on top of the tent. But wait, it's Utah... The snow turned to rain and by Sunday afternoon, all the snow had melted off. Two days of camping on the tent's first outing and we got rain, snow, sunshine and wind. The tent worked great regardless of the weather. Even with all the snow on top of it, it held true to form and didn't leak.
This tent is definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

All round good tent.

10/16/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used for the first time. All round this is a good tent. Sets up quickly and is straight foreward. Screened portion is nice for storage of things you might not want to get wet from dew, like a folding chairs and such. I seriously doubt it would keed dry during the rain. Did not rain so I'm not sure of leaks. Do note that the back wall is 80% sreened. Sometimes a good breeze did find it's way into the tent. Used heater, but still recommend heavy bags for cold weather. Many compliments on tent and I have no plans to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

The screen porch is a problem.

06/05/2012
By ,
Gainesville, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The main part of the tent (without the screen porch) is about 12 x 9. It was large enough for our queen cot to slide over to one side and still be able to stand in the middle. This left the other side open for our 2 dogs and other items. We also had a small space at the foot of the bed for our personal items. We set the tent up and it rained hard for 2 days. The tent held up very well in the rain. Some rain did leak through the sides into the main part of the tent, but I believe it could be fixed with a little water repellant spray. However, the screen porch was a problem. While it is a good idea in theory, the slant design of this screen porch opens this area to all the elements. There isn't a way to keep the rain out of the screen porch and it leaves large puddles that you have to traverse to get into the main part of the tent. The porch isn't large enough to be used for anything more than storing your (waterproof) personal items. And it is inconvenient to have two doors to go through to get to the main part of the tent.
We returned this tent and purchased the exact same tent without the screen porch. We tested this one in the rain also. The new tent did not leak at all. It has a small awning above the door so you can stay dry when entering the tent. The door also works like a hinged door so you have an option on zipping it when you enter or exit. The design without the screen porch gives you more room inside. It measures about 12 x 12. The weekend we camped, the winds were 40mph the first day and the tent stood up very well. We are very impressed with the new tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Steer Clear

08/02/2012
By ,
Nashua, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The living quarters of this tent are exceptional! I sealed the sent using a spray sealer (no seam sealing) and experienced a night or torrential rain with lightning/thunder and high winds. We did take on some water (small amount) but anyone outside in a tent that night would have.
However the screened in porch is very poorly designed and the reason I can't grade this tent any higher. It is slanted back which exposes the whole area to the elements. If it rains at all you will wake up with puddles at your front door (size dependent on amt of rain) that you will have to maneuver through to get out. Also because that portion of the rain fly is somewhat flat, water pools above and begins to drip down into the porch adding to the amount of water.
If you are really interested in this tent there is a model that doesn't include the porch that I would suggest looking at instead. Sure you wont have the screened in area (which isn't really usable anyway) but you won't have a floor there to collect the water and it will have a chance to dry out.
I am in the process of requesting a return for this product and will not recommend it to anyone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great tent, very easy to set up.

05/15/2012
By ,
Sterling, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really love this tent. We do feel it would fit 5-6 comfortably with some space to put some of your things. We have 6. The smallest is 4, he doesn't take up much room, so we were fine. I am very happy with this tent though. It was extremely light weight, easy to set up and take down. Love the front porch feature. This really helps keep the inside cleaner and make taking on and off your shoes easier as well. I highly recommend this tent. It didn't rain while we used it the one night, but the rain guard covers alot of the tent. Also I love the color of it. I did a lot of research on tents and for the price this is the tent...look no further, buy it and try it out!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great tent

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Big inside and screen porch good to take shoes off before getting in tent.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Only one thing I found wrong

02/27/2013
By ,
Noth Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The porch let rain in is why I gave it only 4 stars other then that, found no other leaks
and had no complaints other then also the door was zipperd leading into the tent would have been better if it had been the hinged type
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great Tent

06/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty of room and easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Happy Campers!!!

08/28/2011
By ,
Brampton, ON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent rocks... roomy! I've gotten so many compliments on this tent! Used it for 2 nights and love the porch screen. I used to have an old coleman tent and used it for more than 10 yrs. and I know Coleman products last long and very durable. We needed more space for family of four and this tent is just perfect. Highly recommend Coleman products for camping gears and nothing else!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Excellent Tent for Longer Camping Trips

10/27/2012
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent for a 10 day camping trip to the Smokey Mountains and were extremely pleased with it's performance. We had fully sealed the seams and completed two test run set ups so we were prepared for anything and weren't disappointed. We didn't have to set up in the rain but we did have two nights of wind and rain but stayed completely dry...not a drop penetrated the tent. There was a bit of mist that came into the screened porch area but considering the amount of rain received, it was minimal. We were able to wisk out the couple of small puddles and the floor area dried in no time. This screened area is great for storage of gear and anything you don't want left out overnight at your site. I love this tent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Leaky seams, wet, dirty front screen porch

08/25/2012
By ,
Niskayuna, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I currently own 4 different style tents including this one. The tent was an easy set up like most tents now days. It's spacious, fits a queen mattress and a twin mattress with room to walk in/out without a problem. There are 2 side windows under awnings, and 1 front door on the right. The left door is fake, and just a screen window. One advantage to the screened porch is to keep the main cabin door open while we slept. Nice air flow! No problems until it started raining lightly. Just a simple rain, not even a storm. The rain accumulated on fly cover forming puddles on top of the tent. The fly cover is attached to the poles so when it empties, it channels the rain into the same area near the seams. We awoke in the morning to find small puddles inside all corners of the tent. Upon exiting, I was even more disappointed. The screen porch turned every little spec of dirt to mud, and multiple puddles accumulated. The screen zipper also absorbed the water and the dirt stuck to it making the zipper difficult to open/close. The screen itself also held the water so if you brushed up against it, you also got yourself wet/dirty. Overall, a NICE TENT IN DRY WEATHER. When it rains tho... the screen porch is not a good thing to have. I'll seal the seams with another product, but this is also the first tent in 20 years that I had to use any type of waterproofing sealer.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Good dry weather tent

08/07/2012
By ,
gainesville, Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We road tested this tent during a long weekend of camping in the South East. It was spacious enough for our family of five. However, the 8 people it is suppossed to sleep would have been uncomfortably close. Set up was easy and quick. The venting seemed adequate even for the record heat temperatures we were experiencing. I read a review that encouraged seam sealing, so we did. It held up well to water from the ground and the roof over the sleeping portion. Not sure if that was due to the seam sealer or it's own construction. The one ABYSMAL failure is the fly covering over the screened porch. All the points gained for water repelling on the sleeping portion were completely lost for the lake that was once our screened porch. The fly is completely inadequate. In addition, the tent is constructed to jet out at an angle from the roof. So every possible drop of rain gets right in. There is absolutely no cover for it. Coleman incldued a vent of sorts along the floor's edge. Good idea, except it was wholely inadequate for the task. We were never able to fully get the water out so it became a muddy mess. Luckily it rained on our last night. I'd have to say that the one major drawback is the fly. Next time we'll pack a tarp to rig over the screened porch. For the price and Coleman's reputation I would have expected a more appropriate fly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Screened Dome Tent

Great huge tent with chill spot

07/11/2013
By ,
Palm desert, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is great realy big I'm over 6 foot and stand just fine. My concern was the windows for some reason I got the idea that the windows didn't close but the side two do, the back is wide open but closes with the rain cover, I'm fine with that. I have not used it yet to camp but took to park to see it in action and I'm impressed, can't wait to go camping and put this baby to use. The screened in area is nice it has zippers on bottom and middle if you want it open but why would you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next