Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

The Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent has an exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry. The modified structure of this dome tent is easy to transport and simple to set up. This dome tent features a front porch and wings, along with reverse angle windows and an electrical access port. This Coleman Montana tent is great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation90%38 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Will be returning it.

09/20/2012
By ,
Southern Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this tent has good reviews, we apparently did not have the same luck. setting the tent up was a breeze (took me about 20 minutes the first time, by my self), and it looks good, but we had a mild 1/2 night rain, and the only parts of the tent that stayed dry was were I threw a tarp over the rain flap. It was a little chilly so the windows and flaps were all closed, both ends puddled up and the inside of the walls got wet. We ended up cutting our trip short by 3 days and headed back home. We did not spray it with any sealant, but they advertise that it is already rain resistant.
It is definitely a summer tent, the way the venting is set up, the wind(however mild it was) comes right in under the front porch and into the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Huge & easy to set up

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me a little less than an hour to set this up on my own the first time. I put 2 queen air matresses in it and still had a nice amount of space in the middle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent for the price!

08/30/2013
By ,
St. Clair Shores, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a seasoned camper and needed a new tent. I looked around for quite a bit before purchasing this tent also. This tent pretty much met all of my expectations. My kids and I truly love this tent! The only thing I would say negatively about it is that even though it says "8 person tent"...it would really only fit 4 people comfortably. It sets up very easy....took me and my 8 year old son about 15-20 minutes. I love the way Coleman designed the door....works so well with kids! You have to be careful with the tent poles while setting up and taking down because they seem like they could snap, but I honestly didn't have any problems. Always remember to seam seal your tent and you wont have any problems when it rains. We stayed completely dry! Great tent for the price. I would definitely recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ann Arbor, MI
question
Posted 05/02/2014
Hi, what does it mean to seam seal your tent? new camper here :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Best choice!

04/04/2014
By ,
Queen Creek, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought a couple Ozarks around the same size and took them back because the quality was pretty poor. We camp a lot and wanted a tent that would last us! We ordered online(on sale) for aprx the same $$ as the Ozarks. The fabric, the bottom, and the rods were all good quality. We were concerned about the door...it's great once the kids realize you don't have to unzip it everytime. Really roomy, could fit 3 queens in it. Stand up and change! There was a storm and it rained really hard and you could see the rain rolling off! Never got wet inside! It was also really winding for 2 days and I never once worried about it. (Our gazebos didn't stand up to the winds, flew up and broke.) Awesome purchase! The husband even patted me on the back! I just want to set it up to set it up! Good tent! Very happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Don't waste the money or time

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent is getting returned! ! I still have Coleman camping gear from the 70 ' s that I still use all the time. So I didn't think twice about getting a new Coleman tent. Try to set the tent up in a little wind and the poles wouldn't stay on the pins causing the tent to fold in on its self. Once it was all up it still it still wanted to fold in on it's self. We end up not using the tent and borrowed a tent from friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

good size & good price!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is huge! I love it. I have a family of 4. Went camping with family & friends and got lots of compliments from it. Good size & good price. Cant argue with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

My problem is with the company

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad weather ruined just the rainfly. Emailed Coleman and was told I could not buy just the rainfly, had to buy another tent.
Very poor customer service!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Easy to set up.

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My air matress would not fit from front to back(without touching the sides) like shown in the picture. Aside from that I was very pleased with the tent and I really liked the hinged door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Good Purchase

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for another tent for my son and I to enjoy since my wife and two girls ran us out of our cabin tent. I was very pleased when this tent withheld about 5 hours of very steady hard rain the first night in use. Not one drop of water inside the tent. It was very roomy inside as well. A perfect tent for the two of us. Now my two girls want the same exact tent. Oh what a dilemma!! The only reason it doesn't get a perfect rating is because it really isn't an 8 person tent. No more than 5 or 6 comfortably. Other than that I would recommend it to anyone. Very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Sweet Tent, Roomy and Sturdy

08/30/2011
By ,
Burnsville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I bought this tent from another local store that had it on clearance. The tent we got did not have the vent in back, and from reading other ratings of the tent we found out that rear vent was discontinued. Anyway this tent feels huge. My wife and I lay a queen air mattress on one end and put up a small 2x4 ft folding table on the other end, as well as two camp chairs. It feels like a small house bedroom when you sit in the chairs. We're very happy with this tent. We waterproofed the rain fly and seam sealed the whole tent even though we don't think it needs it. We've slept in it a couple times in the backyard. Never yet when it's been raining. I'll have to update this review when we go for labor day weekend. It's supposed to rain the first night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

High quality, very spacious

05/29/2014
By ,
West Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this tent for our family of four for memorial weekend. We received it within four days of ordering. We were able to put it together within 20 minutes and were surprised how big it was! It easily fit our two large queen air mattresses, dog bed, all of our bags, and we still had room to walk around inside. We loved the swinging door. It was really useful for the kids. The only downfall was that it was extremely cold the first night and it felt as if there was a wind tunnel of cold air blowing through all night. We were prepared on night two!
We love our new tent and can't wait to use it again! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Just the thing

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy material. Easy to set up. Stayed dry in a pouring rain. I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

great tent for a 3 season camper.

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tent a week ago and camped in it 10 times. i recommend this tent to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

i like this tent :)

07/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
tall enough for a tall person to stand straight up and pretty easy to set up comepare to its size
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Awesome tent. Great value. Happy.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tent was used for the first time this weekend. It is spacious, well-designed, and sturdy. The set-up was more than 15 minutes (it may take 15 minutes after 2 or 3 times of setting it up) but taking it down was a piece of cake. We had a queen size air mattress with two people on it and a German Shepherd in the tent. I know it says 8 person tent, but that would be everyone in a sleeping bag, side-by-side with your bags stored outside the tent. Two queen size air mattresses would be fine in this tent, not three.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great family tent

07/25/2014
By ,
maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A bit hard following the sewed in instructions, they could have been clearer and more detailed, but all in all, a great tent and one I will undoubtedly have many great experiences with the family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Nice tent as are all Coleman

08/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only bad thing I can say is that the hinged door has a high threshold. I tripped the first couple of times getting in until I caught on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

great for sunny and rainy weather

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very satisfied with this tent especially after checking it in the all day long rain cats and dogs. We were surprised that it only leaked a little bit along some side seams, which didn't interrupt our vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great Beginners Tent!

07/24/2011
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setup time is almost exactly right... the more you do it the better you get... Tent holds up well in rain. Bucket bottom design really keeps the tent floor dry. Vents and windows keep the tent cool on the really hot days. Great value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Coleman tent

04/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent was very easy to put up. Have not camped in it yet. It will fit two queen air mattress easily. You will not have very much extra room if you place mattresses long ways. With no air mattresses you could probably sleep eight people.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next