Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

The Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent has an exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry. The modified structure of this dome tent is easy to transport and simple to set up. This dome tent features a front porch and wings, along with reverse angle windows and an electrical access port. This Coleman Montana tent is great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%43 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Will be returning it.

09/20/2012
By ,
Southern Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this tent has good reviews, we apparently did not have the same luck. setting the tent up was a breeze (took me about 20 minutes the first time, by my self), and it looks good, but we had a mild 1/2 night rain, and the only parts of the tent that stayed dry was were I threw a tarp over the rain flap. It was a little chilly so the windows and flaps were all closed, both ends puddled up and the inside of the walls got wet. We ended up cutting our trip short by 3 days and headed back home. We did not spray it with any sealant, but they advertise that it is already rain resistant.
It is definitely a summer tent, the way the venting is set up, the wind(however mild it was) comes right in under the front porch and into the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent for the price!

08/30/2013
By ,
St. Clair Shores, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a seasoned camper and needed a new tent. I looked around for quite a bit before purchasing this tent also. This tent pretty much met all of my expectations. My kids and I truly love this tent! The only thing I would say negatively about it is that even though it says "8 person tent"...it would really only fit 4 people comfortably. It sets up very easy....took me and my 8 year old son about 15-20 minutes. I love the way Coleman designed the door....works so well with kids! You have to be careful with the tent poles while setting up and taking down because they seem like they could snap, but I honestly didn't have any problems. Always remember to seam seal your tent and you wont have any problems when it rains. We stayed completely dry! Great tent for the price. I would definitely recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ann Arbor, MI
question
Posted 05/02/2014
Hi, what does it mean to seam seal your tent? new camper here :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Huge & easy to set up

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took me a little less than an hour to set this up on my own the first time. I put 2 queen air matresses in it and still had a nice amount of space in the middle.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Best choice!

04/04/2014
By ,
Queen Creek, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought a couple Ozarks around the same size and took them back because the quality was pretty poor. We camp a lot and wanted a tent that would last us! We ordered online(on sale) for aprx the same $$ as the Ozarks. The fabric, the bottom, and the rods were all good quality. We were concerned about the door...it's great once the kids realize you don't have to unzip it everytime. Really roomy, could fit 3 queens in it. Stand up and change! There was a storm and it rained really hard and you could see the rain rolling off! Never got wet inside! It was also really winding for 2 days and I never once worried about it. (Our gazebos didn't stand up to the winds, flew up and broke.) Awesome purchase! The husband even patted me on the back! I just want to set it up to set it up! Good tent! Very happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Sweet Tent, Roomy and Sturdy

08/30/2011
By ,
Burnsville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I bought this tent from another local store that had it on clearance. The tent we got did not have the vent in back, and from reading other ratings of the tent we found out that rear vent was discontinued. Anyway this tent feels huge. My wife and I lay a queen air mattress on one end and put up a small 2x4 ft folding table on the other end, as well as two camp chairs. It feels like a small house bedroom when you sit in the chairs. We're very happy with this tent. We waterproofed the rain fly and seam sealed the whole tent even though we don't think it needs it. We've slept in it a couple times in the backyard. Never yet when it's been raining. I'll have to update this review when we go for labor day weekend. It's supposed to rain the first night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent for weekender

09/22/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is perfect for 4 people with 2 queen mattresses. Plenty of room for your baggage and still have room to move around in. Was leery about the way the windows are set but worked very well. Good ventilation and even though it got rather chilly at night, we were fine in the tent. The rain fly really helped out there. The hinged door is such a clever idea; really liked that feature. Quite easy to set up and I think the more we use it the more likely we will be able to set it up in 15 minutes. It took longer since it was our first time. Didn't rain but I did drench the tent with water from the hose and no leaks (still seam sealed just in case). I do have to say that there was a small hole where the seams met and were not sewn together properly but under warranty so not a problem. Doesn't deter me away from the tent. It really is a great tent for us. Can't wait to go out again this weekend!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great Beginners Tent!

07/24/2011
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setup time is almost exactly right... the more you do it the better you get... Tent holds up well in rain. Bucket bottom design really keeps the tent floor dry. Vents and windows keep the tent cool on the really hot days. Great value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Easy to set up.

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My air matress would not fit from front to back(without touching the sides) like shown in the picture. Aside from that I was very pleased with the tent and I really liked the hinged door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

good size & good price!

07/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent is huge! I love it. I have a family of 4. Went camping with family & friends and got lots of compliments from it. Good size & good price. Cant argue with that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Good Purchase

06/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for another tent for my son and I to enjoy since my wife and two girls ran us out of our cabin tent. I was very pleased when this tent withheld about 5 hours of very steady hard rain the first night in use. Not one drop of water inside the tent. It was very roomy inside as well. A perfect tent for the two of us. Now my two girls want the same exact tent. Oh what a dilemma!! The only reason it doesn't get a perfect rating is because it really isn't an 8 person tent. No more than 5 or 6 comfortably. Other than that I would recommend it to anyone. Very happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

High quality, very spacious

05/29/2014
By ,
West Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this tent for our family of four for memorial weekend. We received it within four days of ordering. We were able to put it together within 20 minutes and were surprised how big it was! It easily fit our two large queen air mattresses, dog bed, all of our bags, and we still had room to walk around inside. We loved the swinging door. It was really useful for the kids. The only downfall was that it was extremely cold the first night and it felt as if there was a wind tunnel of cold air blowing through all night. We were prepared on night two!
We love our new tent and can't wait to use it again! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

buyed for mine boy scout

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Espectacular product for camping. Easy, strong and beauty.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

My problem is with the company

07/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad weather ruined just the rainfly. Emailed Coleman and was told I could not buy just the rainfly, had to buy another tent.
Very poor customer service!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Don't waste the money or time

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tent is getting returned! ! I still have Coleman camping gear from the 70 ' s that I still use all the time. So I didn't think twice about getting a new Coleman tent. Try to set the tent up in a little wind and the poles wouldn't stay on the pins causing the tent to fold in on its self. Once it was all up it still it still wanted to fold in on it's self. We end up not using the tent and borrowed a tent from friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Easy Set Up / Good Price

08/23/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent on the spur of the moment needing an additional tent for family members. Set it up in the back yard a couple of days prior to the actual camping trip. The directions were easy to understand, the setup process was quick. At the camp site my daughter & I set up quickly as it started to rain (she had not been available for the back yard setup) around 20 minutes or less. Love the vestibule in the front & the door. Holds 2 queen airbeds snuggly, holds 4 single cots comfortably. No leaks, but no heavy rains. Nice height inside. As with all tents the stakes are not made for Colorado soil; neither long or strong enough. Overall very pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Great tent for a larger family

10/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent is very spacey and durable. It will fit 3 queen size airbeds. I loved it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Just the thing

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy material. Easy to set up. Stayed dry in a pouring rain. I am happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Coleman tent

04/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tent was very easy to put up. Have not camped in it yet. It will fit two queen air mattress easily. You will not have very much extra room if you place mattresses long ways. With no air mattresses you could probably sleep eight people.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

great tent for a 3 season camper.

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this tent a week ago and camped in it 10 times. i recommend this tent to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent

Lots of space but rather time consuming set-up

10/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a tent with lots of room that did very well in a rain storm the first night we used it. The set up time was longer than usual for a tent. I expect the set-up time will be less in future set-ups but still take a bit of time. The door was very unique for a tent and worked very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next