Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Coleman Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

The Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent has an exclusive WeatherTec system that keeps you dry. The modified structure of this dome tent is easy to transport and simple to set up. This dome tent features a front porch and wings, along with reverse angle windows and an electrical access port. This Coleman Montana tent is great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%21 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
14
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Will be returning it.

09/20/2012
By ,
Southern Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Although this tent has good reviews, we apparently did not have the same luck. setting the tent up was a breeze (took me about 20 minutes the first time, by my self), and it looks good, but we had a mild 1/2 night rain, and the only parts of the tent that stayed dry was were I threw a tarp over the rain flap. It was a little chilly so the windows and flaps were all closed, both ends puddled up and the inside of the walls got wet. We ended up cutting our trip short by 3 days and headed back home. We did not spray it with any sealant, but they advertise that it is already rain resistant.
It is definitely a summer tent, the way the venting is set up, the wind(however mild it was) comes right in under the front porch and into the tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great tent for the price!

08/30/2013
By ,
St. Clair Shores, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a seasoned camper and needed a new tent. I looked around for quite a bit before purchasing this tent also. This tent pretty much met all of my expectations. My kids and I truly love this tent! The only thing I would say negatively about it is that even though it says "8 person tent"...it would really only fit 4 people comfortably. It sets up very easy....took me and my 8 year old son about 15-20 minutes. I love the way Coleman designed the door....works so well with kids! You have to be careful with the tent poles while setting up and taking down because they seem like they could snap, but I honestly didn't have any problems. Always remember to seam seal your tent and you wont have any problems when it rains. We stayed completely dry! Great tent for the price. I would definitely recommend this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Best choice!

04/04/2014
By ,
Queen Creek, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought a couple Ozarks around the same size and took them back because the quality was pretty poor. We camp a lot and wanted a tent that would last us! We ordered online(on sale) for aprx the same $$ as the Ozarks. The fabric, the bottom, and the rods were all good quality. We were concerned about the door...it's great once the kids realize you don't have to unzip it everytime. Really roomy, could fit 3 queens in it. Stand up and change! There was a storm and it rained really hard and you could see the rain rolling off! Never got wet inside! It was also really winding for 2 days and I never once worried about it. (Our gazebos didn't stand up to the winds, flew up and broke.) Awesome purchase! The husband even patted me on the back! I just want to set it up to set it up! Good tent! Very happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great product!

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent, we purchased this for my 10 year old sons campout party. Easy setup and 9 10 year old boys slept in it with room to spare. It's much roomier than I expected. Very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Sweet Tent, Roomy and Sturdy

08/30/2011
By ,
Burnsville, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I bought this tent from another local store that had it on clearance. The tent we got did not have the vent in back, and from reading other ratings of the tent we found out that rear vent was discontinued. Anyway this tent feels huge. My wife and I lay a queen air mattress on one end and put up a small 2x4 ft folding table on the other end, as well as two camp chairs. It feels like a small house bedroom when you sit in the chairs. We're very happy with this tent. We waterproofed the rain fly and seam sealed the whole tent even though we don't think it needs it. We've slept in it a couple times in the backyard. Never yet when it's been raining. I'll have to update this review when we go for labor day weekend. It's supposed to rain the first night.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great Beginners Tent!

07/24/2011
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setup time is almost exactly right... the more you do it the better you get... Tent holds up well in rain. Bucket bottom design really keeps the tent floor dry. Vents and windows keep the tent cool on the really hot days. Great value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great tent!

01/26/2014
By ,
sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tent for a weekend camping trip. Didn't even take it out of the box before arriving at campsite. It had easy to follow instructions and was easy to set up. Plenty of room inside and my 6 foot tall husband could stand completely up in the tent. Loved the door. No issues with wind - cover worked great. Definitely would recommend this product. I felt it was a good value too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

So far so good

10/30/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
- Coleman products have a good track record. This tent seems to be well-made and durable (after one use) - it was windy and the tent(s) held up (bought three). Love the door - uses a flexible rod to support the door edges for easy opening and closing - like a real door. Makes it easier to zip - don't get the fabric caught in the zipper. The tent(s) is spacious and simple to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great Tent For the Price!!

06/12/2013
By ,
Wales, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I laughed when I saw the instructions state, "15 Minute Setup". Well, with two people it was about a ten minute setup!! Real easy to manage even if two people were not available. Huge on the inside, I had no problems with queen size mattresses fitting. Hinged door is an awesome feature and the overhang in the front was priceless in the rain!! Another great Coleman product!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Not good in wind

08/06/2012
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not even last the weekend. We had a pretty strong breeze coming in from the lake, snapped one of the poles. Not a good wekend. Will return this tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Easy Set Up / Good Price

08/23/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent on the spur of the moment needing an additional tent for family members. Set it up in the back yard a couple of days prior to the actual camping trip. The directions were easy to understand, the setup process was quick. At the camp site my daughter & I set up quickly as it started to rain (she had not been available for the back yard setup) around 20 minutes or less. Love the vestibule in the front & the door. Holds 2 queen airbeds snuggly, holds 4 single cots comfortably. No leaks, but no heavy rains. Nice height inside. As with all tents the stakes are not made for Colorado soil; neither long or strong enough. Overall very pleased with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'
09/24/2013
By ,
Chicago, Il
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great price for the tent and great value. However , when I set it up the first time it was very clear that that poles were recycled from another tent; they all had chips and dents in them and it was obvious that they had been used before. As long as they don't break I'm ok with it but it was clear that they were not new from the factory. Overall a great tent and easy to set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'
09/08/2012
By ,
Pleasant Hill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
large tent very roomy. easy to set up and take down! has large windows and open roof with a good fly to cover roof!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Coleman Tent

09/09/2012
By ,
Bear Creek Twp, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived earlier than expected in great condition. Set the tent up in the yard to make sure it is complete and of sufficient size. Tent is not quite an 8 man but is sufficient size for the family. Kids are small and don't take up much space yet. They don't even need an air mattress but no doubt that 2 queen sizes will fit with a little room left over for gear.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
metro boston
7 man
Posted 07/27/2013
16' by 7' =112 sq# ft# divided by the generally accepted 16 sq# ft#/person = 7 man.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'
09/24/2012
By ,
Cary, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took us almost 2 hours to put up the tent. The campsite for the tent had a tightly packed gravel base. We were not able to hammer in the metal cylindrical stakes. All the stakes bend with pressure. I wonder if having pointed stakes would have helped. One side of the tent was not staked in properly so when it poured the whole night the water seeped in.
Love the door/color. Comfortable for 5-6. Are pointed metal stakes available?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

The tent is large and well built.

11/28/2012
By ,
New Braunfes, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tent is exactly what I researched and expected it to be. I loved the fast service. The tent was shipped to my local store and ready for me to pickup in only a couple of days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Excellent Family Tent

08/29/2012
By ,
Shelby Township, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of room - fits two queen size air mattresses with room to spare. Easy set up and take down.
Did not use in rain, so can't comment on that. Overall, very pleased with purchased and don't regret the purchase. Would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

This is a nice tent.

08/15/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this tent for a camping trip - it is really spacious inside. It can fit three queen size airbeds in it. We used two airbeds and had plenty of space for the rest of our stuff and to move around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great Tent

11/11/2012
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. Very roomy, would recommend for any 4 person family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Montana 8-Person Modified Dome Tent, 16' x 7'

Great tent

08/02/2012
By ,
Presidio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent, rained for two days and it stayed dry inside.Nice and roomy too;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next