Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Coleman Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Enjoy a dry, warm dwelling in the great outdoors with the Coleman Evanston 8-Person Tent. This 12' x 12' tent features the exclusive WeatherTec system, which keeps damp and rainy conditions safely outside the tent. The dome structure of the Coleman Evanston Tent is easy to transport and simple to set up — continuous, color-coded pole sleeves and shock-corded poles make the job easy. It's great for weekend car campers, short backpacking hikes, or first-time campers.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%10 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Great Tent!

08/15/2012
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent! set up and instructions are quick and easy to follow. very roomy and tall inside. my husband is 6'1" and he can fully stand in the tent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Excellent tent for any camper.

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easily my favorite tent, (ive had quite a few over the years) I loooooove the door! its on hinges!!! Its quite big on the inside, we used a king size airmattress and still had room for a queen and a full or 3 twins even!!! It also has a porch style awning and it rained the entire first day of camping, we had 6 people under the porch no problem! My husband and I like alot of room ( we keep all our supplys and cooler in the tent with us) this tent is perfect. We loved camping in it so much that even though we just got back from camping, we are planning on going again as soon as a two day weeking pops up!!!!! It is very easy to put up, we only looked at the directions once, and that was for the door. Take-down was eaqually as easy, if you follow previous fold lines and make sure to roll out the air it goes back in the bag no problem! thank you coleman, this tent is great. p.s. EVERYONE loved the door!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Use it for Boy/Cub Scout camping

11/08/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this tent for about two years. I’ve used it 20+ times so far and really like the tent! It’s very roomy inside and being 6’2” I can stand up and change my clothes. I usually pack a double stack queen blowup bed and have enough room for a chair, my junk, and a twin cot. It’s a booger to put up the first time and it’s best to have an adult to help with it. The rain fly is hit or miss if I get it on correctly. It will never look like it does in the pictures but I really like the “solid” door and the wings on the side. It’s BIG! It’s something I have to remember when BSA camping. Sometimes there is just not enough room for the tent but when there is it’s a great tent to have! Only problem – once you unpack it you will never get it back in its bag. I ended up using an old duffel bag for the tent and a duffel bag for the rain fly and poles. That makes packing up time go a lot quicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Getting the thing back in the original bag
Posted 06/25/2014
We have the 12 person w/ screened porch, we live in Florida where "screened" is important. But we also have taken this tent for California camping traveling by air and you can get the thing into the original bag. It takes careful folding on the ground and some tight rolling but it does fit on the first try, given you are obsessed with getting it rolled tight and free of air.
Setting up is a challenge to be sure. You need two adults, one pushing on each of the opposite ends of each pole, and doesn't hurt to have the six-year-old inside lifting the center at the same time. That said, it can be erected in about 15 minutes. Taking it down is a little longer if you want to get it anywhere near a tight roll.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Great Tent

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a smaller tent for camping. This tent would fit more than my husband and I but I love this as I need my space! Put our queen blow up mattress right in the middle and it was quite nice! Set up was easy and I love the front overhang.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Great Tent for a family

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I love this tent! Very roomy it fit our cots and everything else we brought a long for a family of 6 to go camping and the rain fly has a porch part that kept things shaded that we wanted outside. I do recomment buying a large bag to put the tent back into as they are always hard to fit back in the one that it comes with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

great tent

09/28/2013
By ,
lake city, florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was great. My wife and me went camping for a month in this tent, we did spray it twice ahead of time before we went, but I always spray my tents and tarps. We went camping first for a week in the Grand Canyon, then a week in Yellowstone, then a week in Glacier National Park, and a last week in Mt Rushmore. We had rain and strong winds at different times on the road trip and the tent held up great. There was a lot of room for the two of us and it did not leak at all. I did have a tarp to go over it but we did not use it at all. We are going to use it again next summer for another month long road trip. It will be home again with the bears in Wyoming, Montana, and North Carolina this time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Very happy with this tent

06/05/2012
By ,
Gainesville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this tent twice. The first time I was able to set this tent up by myself and I prepped it with seam grip and a water repellant spray. It rained for the next 2 days and did not leak at all. The next camping trip, the winds were 40mph the first day. Some of the stakes started to pull out of the ground and bent under the winds but fortunately I had some of the large yellow stakes on hand and replaced the stakes on the side of the tent that was facing the winds. I like the awning the rain fly makes over the door and the door design. The tent is roomy inside (about 12x12). Overall we are very happy with this tent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

poor quality, does not hold up, no customer svc

06/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this tent about 2 years ago, used it 5 times. main zipper broke on last trip, rendering it useless. called coleman to see what they would do...got absolutely no satisfaction. they offerred us 30% off a new tent since it was over 1 year old. So there you go. poor quality tent with no customer service. i will never buy another coleman tent and strongly advise you to think before you purchase this. the people giving it 5 stars are probably very recent purchasers. i too loved the tent...when it kept the bugs out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Best tent money can buy

03/23/2014
By ,
Dela where. ??
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent retails over. $700
Amazon wants $275
Walmart $ 137
Need I say more. ????
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Tent for eight

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent sets up fairly easy, holds up great in the wind, and has plenty of room for eight people to sleep comfortably. Coleman makes quality products!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Evanston 8-Person Porch Dome Tent

Great tent

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tent was easy to setup and has the room we wanted. We have used it several times and have not had any problems with it. We have not used it while it is raining, so I am still waiting to see how it holds up during the rain.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.