Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

VTech VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Take learning to the next level with the InnoTab Learning App Tablet by VTech! This multi-functional tablet combines interactive animated e-books, tilt-sensor learning games, creative activities, and a rich collection of applications into a sleek and durable toy that kids will want to play with. VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet cartridges with your child's favorite licensed characters are sold separately and teach essential skills in reading, logic, and creativity. Featuring a 5" color touch screen and tilt-sensor, kids can tap, flick, drag, and pat their way to learning fun. On-board applications such as an MP3 Player, Video Player, Art Studio, Interactive Globe, Friends List, Calculator, and Clock engage kids for hours as they develop their skills with this electronic learning toy. Additional content can easily be uploaded to the InnoTab through VTech's Learning Lodge Navigator where parents can also see their child's progress on a variety of educational milestones and lessons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.177 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%99 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Big Disappointment

01/03/2012
By ,
Midland, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this online in November for my 6 year old daughter. It was her Santa present. She opened it Christmas morning and we put batteries in it, and Wham it tried to load up and then just had lines going across the screen. I tried it several more times then it would not even turn on. I tried calling Vtech, 25 minute hold to talk to some guy that said someone would call me back about the problem. So I just returned it to the store, but of course they are out of stock so I can't get another one. Wal mart really dropped the ball on this one. Try explaining to a six year old how come her present from Santa is broken and that we can't get another for months when I ordered it early.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 2 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Learning Lodge Navigator is full of errors

12/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Innotab itself is a cool looking toy, but I have spent 5 hours trying to get the online learning lodge navigator to run correctly and even with customer support, I cannot make mine work. I can't even add things to my cart to purchase, and I also cannot get my free v coins. Sadly, with 3 days until Christmas, I think I have to return mine and find a different present to give. :( This toy has been a complete headache. Half of the appeal of this toy was the downloadable games, but if that doesn't work I don't see the point.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-4points
Review 3 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Not as advertised & costly

03/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed with the InnoTab which, as opposed to the VTech Tote & Go Laptop Plus for younger kids, came with very few free games and/or apps. The product itself had a minimal number of games built into it (though the advertisements make it seem as if there are lots) and we were given only three free downloads. My 5yo was bored with the product after barely a week. If we wanted him to continue using it, we'd have to purchase additional downloads and/or cartridges (as well as lots of batteries, which have needed replacing several times in just a few uses).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 4 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Waste of Money!

06/16/2012
By ,
New Orleans, La
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After lots of research..I chose the VTech Inno Tab over the LeapPad! Turns out, I made the wrong choice. We purchased 2 tablets as gifts for our 3 & 4 year old sons. We have had a list of issues from day one! Both have been returned to VTech within the first 30 days of owning this tablet. Shortly after, the same issues occured with the new replacement tabs. This tablet is NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

DO NOT BUY!

12/26/2011
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tablet for my 4 year old son. He opened it up yesterday for christmas and I have gone through 3 - 8 packs of batteries. That is enough to change the batteries 12 times (keep in mind that was for only about 2 hours of play time). I spent $80 on the tablet and another $75 on the games and it was the biggest waste of money ever! I would not recommend it. It is neat when it works but unless you plan on changing the batteries every 20 mins, I would pass this piece of junk up!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Clinton, MI
batteries...
Posted 09/18/2012
We purchased several packs of rechargeable batteries (Duracel ONLY) and once the batteries are charged, it last probably 3-4 hours. Recharge them, then you're good to go. Also, Toys R Us, Amazon, and the Vtech store (maybe Walmart too, haven't checked) sell car and regular outlet adaptors for $10 so you can play without batteries. Just an FYI. Batteries are expensive!! We chose to invest in the car adaptor and rechargeables for home. Hope that helps! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/26/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose the InnoTab over the leap pad because of the music feature. As it turns out, I'm having the worst luck adding music from my ITunes playlists. I contacted Vtech support and they are so back logged with calls they could not help me. When I mentioned returning it to the store the customer service (or lack thereof) rep basically suggested that's what I should do. This will be going back to the store if I do not hear back from vtech support.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Review 7 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
03/23/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
battery has issues. this is my 3rd one i had to exchange for my grandson, thats why i buy the extended warranty. if he didn't love it so much i wouldn't even bother . the thing just dies after a month or so . don't know what the problem is
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Waste of money

01/18/2012
By ,
Kerrville, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Innotab for my 5 year old for Christmas. Well he has only been able to play it for less then five minutes before it stopped working. Put in new batteries, nothing, put in the home charger nothing. Tried plugging it into the computer to download stuff kept saying that it was needing to be registered even though it had already been done. Contacted Vtech day after Christmas and got an email back on 1/9/2012 saying I can ship it to them and when it comes available they will send me a new one. No store within 100 miles of me has a blue one in stock and I have wasted my money until it can be fixed:( Otherwise it would have been a great toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 9 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/26/2011
By ,
Oregon City, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ours arrived site to store. I bought this for a Christmas gift and about three days later opened it to find that it only had the tablet! It was missing the pen ,the cartridge and anything else it was supposed to have listed on the box. I wanted to put the batteries in so when she opened it she could begin to play and not have to start the download that morning. On return the clerk said that it may have shipped that way! it appeared to me that it was a return and the items did not get back in the box! On review of this item from another customer said that u have to buy more cartridges at about $20.00 besides going to the site to upload the games and info from your computer. It was $ 79.00 without the cartridge s. I believe that it was a lot of money after the sale and I purchase the leapfrog system prior to this and believe it was a better buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

I had my hopes to high

01/16/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I brought the InnoTab for my four year old son for Christmas, however we just got around to really playing with it, the batteries we went through was crazy. But the worst part was, I purchased and downloaded my games, and then it stop working. It would blink and then turn right off. I brought new Duracell batteries and a adapter along with a new back up battery and still nothing. I called the help the desk, and was told this has been an ongoing problem and to return it to them and they would send me a replacement. I was so mad that I went through so much to try to get it to work and it was nothing I could do. I really wish my son could have enjoyed it, but I guess my hopes was to high.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 11 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

It's a great device, but the batteries don't last.

02/22/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son loves it when it's working! We have gone through packs of batteries!! The batteries don't last more than 10 minutes before the battery light comes on and then it eventually shuts off because the batteries are dead! :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 12 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/23/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the package my innotab was in was all banged up. corners where all bent and the product was opened, and the sorry attempt to re-seal it was ovious. I thought about returning it, but it is a christmas gift and the innotab is hard to come by. as for the innotab itself I cant rate yet because its still under the tree. the product arraived on time. if it not have been for the pakageing i would have been much happier. they should be more careful with our products and also not open them, we can tell when they have been tampred with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Review 13 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
08/07/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son got this as a birthday gift for his 2nd birthday. Yes, that's younger than the recommended age but he loves it and has learned to get in and play the games all on his own. Some games are more difficult but there is still plenty for him to do. The only problem I have with this is that we go through batteries like crazy!! I wish there was a way to plug it in and recharge it. I don't know if Vtech has come up with a new product but I would look into buying something rechargable rather than using 4 AA batteries every other time our son uses his tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 14 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

The Innotab did not come with a pen as stated

12/25/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Much to my disappointment, the Innotab did NOT include a stylist pen as stated in the box. I will be returning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Stylus Pen
Posted 12/30/2011
It's located on/in the right hand side of the InnoTab. You have to pull it out it blends in well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

does not come with power supply

12/29/2011
By ,
southeast georgia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product works well it took a large drop 15 minutes after opening and continues to work well. You will howevre need a magnifing glass to read that it does not come with a power supply & it discharges AA batteries at lightning speed.The power supply is an additional ten dollars and we have not had an opportunity to use it .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 yr old son, he did love it however the 4 AA batteries only last about 15 minutes TOPS you MUST buy a ac/dc cord which is only $10 but again the child must sit with the innotab plugged in to play it.. we cannot even use this in the car unless you buy the car charger that is available for this product because the batteries only last 15 min each I have tried Duracell and evergizer max batteries so the name brand does not matter either I just feel that technology has come so far with ipads, laptop computers, netbooks, kindles and etc. that Vtech could have came up with a different power source for this product that would be much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/26/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My son loves this however it drains batteries soo fast which is disappointing a bit cuz every 1 or 2 days i have to put new batteries in it. The first day it started to make also a very weird noise like the speakers have some problems, it left by itself hopefully it wont come back
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 18 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Ok for a child, there may be better out there...

08/24/2012
By ,
Memphis, Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 5 year old sons birthday.
He likes it and there are LOTS of games and Books to add to it, for a fee.
The only bad thing I can say is, it will NOT download from VTechkids.com website if you use Windows 7.
I tried for 2 hours to get it to download games, but it would not work.
I went to a friends house that has Windows XP. and it worked instantly.
I think Vtech should work a little more on their software, whereas Windows 7 users will not have this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Batteries!!!!!!

04/03/2012
By ,
San Antonio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i do like the innotab, but u get 1 also buy to recharge batteries. bought 1 for my daughter, she used it 30min 1 day, 30 min the next day, the third day it was already low on battery.and i used energizer batteries, and it takes 4 of them...u have to buy expensive batteries just for it to work longer...that's the only thing that got me mad, it don't have to recharge it??????
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Good Product for kids!

01/06/2012
By ,
Medina, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
VTech made a real good product with the InnoTab!! My wife and I were looking to get the LeapPad for our 5 year old daughter originally. I'm thankful that I never found a LeapPad because I probably would have stopped my search.
I purchased the VTech InnoTab and was very impressed with it's sturdy construction and good quality screen and speaker quality. The fact that they only had 9 games available (most of which were ages 4 - 7 and too basic for our kid) was a bit of a let down...but that's typical of VTech. We also went online and downloaded VTech's Learning Lodge Navigator software to browse and purchase other games. I can say that I'm very disappointed that you "Have To" first own an InnoTab and install the Learning Lodge Navigator BEFORE you can even see what they have to offer (unlike Leapfrog). But I will say that they have a decent assortment of games (most having educational value) that are easily downloaded for much less than Leapfrog titles.
The MP3 player is top notch and the volume control ranges from very quiet to ROCK IT OUT!! Remember though...you can still have your child wear headphones if you want silence in the car. A nice plus!
This product looked like the real winner for us...Until I did a search (for the InnoTab) and google'd "Kids Tablet". I then discovered the Nabi Tablet. The Nabi tablet does cost more...but it's well worth it! It's an actual Android Tablet with a completely safe "Kids Mode" and a password protected (although sexist) Mommy Mode. It also comes LOADED with apps!! Some are just fun (Angry Birds, Cut the Rope, etc) and some are HIGHLY educational (FoozKids University, etc).
So here is my overall opinion concerning all three major "Kids Tablets"...
The best is the Nabi Tablet but it's also the most expensive at $199 retail. If you can afford it...it's a hands down NO BRAINER that will last your child from Pre-K through 5th grade. It also has a good quality camera on the from that can be used to take pictures or video. Not to mention your cost to download additional games on the Nabi is somewhere between "FREE" (Yes...there are Free Android apps out there) and 99¢ and $4.99 (with most costing 99¢ - $1.99 each).
The second best is a toss up...
The Innotab has expandable memory that can load pictures, movies and MP3 music. It has a decent (and growing) library of apps and has a very kid friendly yet sturdy feel. It doesn't have a camera...but considering Leapfrog's LeapPad has such a junk camera...you're not missing much.
The LeapPad is from Leapfrog...this means it's also a quality product with a vast library of cartridge games available and several good solid ones that can also be downloaded. It does not have an expansion slot to add pictures, videos/movies or MP3s...but it does have a minimal camera that kids can take their own pictures of things and even a low quality video.
If you buy the InnoTab or the LeapPad and get 3 cartridge games and 3 downloaded games for your child...You'll have already spent about the same money it would cost to get a Nabi tablet. Think about the long term costs and savings before you decide!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next