Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

VTech VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Take learning to the next level with the InnoTab Learning App Tablet by VTech! This multi-functional tablet combines interactive animated e-books, tilt-sensor learning games, creative activities, and a rich collection of applications into a sleek and durable toy that kids will want to play with. VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet cartridges with your child's favorite licensed characters are sold separately and teach essential skills in reading, logic, and creativity. Featuring a 5" color touch screen and tilt-sensor, kids can tap, flick, drag, and pat their way to learning fun. On-board applications such as an MP3 Player, Video Player, Art Studio, Interactive Globe, Friends List, Calculator, and Clock engage kids for hours as they develop their skills with this electronic learning toy. Additional content can easily be uploaded to the InnoTab through VTech's Learning Lodge Navigator where parents can also see their child's progress on a variety of educational milestones and lessons.
Average Customer Rating:
4.177 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation88%99 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
29
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Fantastic buy for preschoolers, a LOT for your $$$

11/10/2011
By ,
il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
returned the leappad for this system. My 4 year old LOVES the art studio, and mp3 player that he can listen to anytime WITH headphones! Comes more out of the box ready than leappad, and even though it seems as if there are less games, apps, etc, the games actually come with 5 total apps per $20-25 purchase (e book, 3 games, and 2 creative activities) vs leappad, which you pay $20 for each app individually. Easier to use for my 4 year old, with many of the games able to work off touchsreen, whereas the leappad has many using the pen (which is magnetically attached and easy to loose). The online Learning Lodge has many more available ebooks, games and apps that you can't purchase in the stores, many of which are free or very low cost at $5-10. At $20 less off the bat, and with the mp3 capability and sd card slot, and the value of games (5 apps per game) and free or low cost online apps, it is much more bang for your buck. You are paying more the brand than the actual product with leappad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+588points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
ps...
Posted 11/14/2011
The learninng lodge gives you 3 free v-chips you can use to download 3 free apps on the learning lodge website. All of their apps are currently on sale for $2.99 right now, normally $5, and they said they will probably stay that way for a long time. I just downloaded 4 full length movies to the sd card (I put in a 4 gb, and there is still room) (see question and answer section on how to download movies that have been converted to avi format, I gave step by step directions). Now this tab is not only a gaming syster, e-reader, art studio, calendar, organizer, but it also is any mp3 player AND a portable hand held dvd player! SOOOOOOOO cool!! It can do so much!
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Really cool!!

11/14/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my little one. It is really cool! I downloaded tons of music via the learning lodge navigator. I even added 4 full length movies that I converted to avi format via the hardrive to sd card method. The apps online are super cheap right now at $2.99, and reallly fun! the cartridges are a great value providing 5 apps per cartridge vs leappad which has one game or book etc..per cartridge for the same price! Amazing value, was really debating between the two, but now my kids have a portable dvd player, mp3 player, gaming system, e reader, art studio, organizer etc, with headphones (purchased seperately)....for only $79! I did add an sdhc 4 gb card for an additional $10, which allowed me to add all of the above and I still have plenty of room left! It is a fantastic toy, you will not be disappointed!! I purchased one of each, pink for my daughter and blue for my son!! Best buy ever! Super value for basically a child's ipad!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+218points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Rogers, AR
How did you convert the videos to proper format
Posted 12/09/2011
What software did you use to convert your movies to the correct AVI/MJPEG format? I have tried but I can't get the right one I guess. Also, did you just copy the file from hard drive and paste onto SD, or did you move it to SD using the Vtech softwares File Manager?
0points
Customer Avatar
Downloading full length movies onto the innotab???
Posted 12/05/2011
So how do you download a full length movie onto the innotab. There was some mention of converting to avi??? Sorry I am not the best tech-savy person. Just want to make sure the movie feature works fine before buying. This is the main reason I am looking more into the innotab vs the leap pad, which everyone seems to forget. Having it able to play movies is a big feature that the leap pad doesn't have. Thanks for any help:) How is the sound and quality of the movies?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Educational AND Entertaining Toy

12/21/2011
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for my (4 year old) son for Christmas. We were originally going to get LeapPad, but then after not being able to get it and doing a lot of research, am so glad we got this instead!
1- We can expand memory with an SD card (I got a 16gb)
2- We were able to convert DVDs (movies and tv shows) to avi format so my son will be able to watch them on his InnoTab (use Pocket DVD Wizard for $14.95 to convert unlimited number of DVDs- it's super-easy to use- I tried a free program and ended up uninstalling it b/c it was so hard to use- this one is soooooo easy)
3- He has a Vtech camera so he can load pictures he takes on his camera to his own tablet
4- You can earn credits to get more games through vtech site (as opposed to spending $$$ all the time)
5- This tablet is both entertaining and educational- my kids like the combination
The only drawback is that I'm sure I'll have to buy another one for my daughter since all these features will certainly appeal to her (even though she's only 2!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 4 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Another great Vtech toy!

12/15/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Another great vtech toy but... As with all vtech toys there are some beware ofs... First, it doesn't come with a power supply, this includes batteries, an actually power supply, ect... for the low cost of $10 you too can get one, which is highly recommended since my grandson went through a pack of 8 batteries in less then three days of almost constant use. By the way, it is stated on the box that it doesn't have a power supply or batteries so it wasn't a shocker. Second, if your child wants to add music, photos, download anything from the vtech website you'll need a sd-card, which isn't stated on the box. This thing basically has no built in memory which could be upsetting, luckily I have several sd so this was not a problem but for another low cost of $20 you too can have added memory. Besides these two little flaws, this is a great product and got my two thumbs up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Awesome!

11/17/2011
By ,
Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old son for Christmas. He hasn't seen it yet, but I know he's gonna love it! I was debating between the innotab and leappad, and I decided on the innotab. The thing I like the most about it, is being able to put a SD card in for additional memory (leappad doesn't have a sd slot). I currently have an 8gb card. I have already put my son's favorite songs (leappad doesn't have a music player either), and even full-length episodes of Scooby Doo! The game cartridges are very educational and fun. I actually played around with it, and I had fun! I would definitely recommend to anybody, especially over the leappad, and it's $20 cheaper! The downloadable apps are easy to put on, and very cheap($2.99). Great, fun, sturdy toy all around! I am not disappointed at all!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Review 6 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Great overall toy!

11/21/2011
By ,
Manitoba, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the InnoTab for our daughter's 5th birthday. She plays with our iPad all the time so we thought this might be a good alternative. I loved the fact that it can play videos & music and I can put pictures on it for her.
Putting videos on it doesn't seem as straight-forward as I thought. I'm fairly computer savvy and I've tried a bit and still haven't gotten it to work. You have to download a program to convert the videos to .avi format and then transfer them directly to the InnoTab from your computer rather than using the Learning Lodge Navigator. I'm sure I will get it yet, but it may not be for someone who isn't as familiar with computers.
It's also unfortunate that the only books that can be put on it are the ones from v-Tech. No other e-books work on it (other than audio books).
Also - buy the power adapter or ensure you have batteries on hand! We've gone through 1 or 2 sets a day! I know we should use rechargable batteries, but our charger went. So the power adapter is now ordered.
But it is a fantastic toy - my daughter loves it. She can spend a lot of time on it and has figured out with no problems how to navigate within it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
kc missouri
Innotab for 91/2 year old
Posted 12/06/2011
He's to old for the product. Something that you may consider that is in the similar price range is the coby kyros ereader tablet It's a little over $100 but it has a lithium battery and 4 gb of memory so it equals out in the wash. It supports ebooks from the amazon, barns and noble and pdf files. It also has it's own app store called getjar that has popular apps like angry birds. You can even get libray books using overdrive. It also support movies and mp3 files. Kinda think of it as poor mans nook color or amazon fire. Perfect for a soon to be 10 yo.
0points
Customer Avatar
Maryland
Is the InnTab good for a 9 1/2 year old?
Posted 11/24/2011
Our son loves his ipod and our ipad but we are traveling soon and his sister is getting the InnoTab and I thought he might like it too since you can download books ...he is a slightly below grade level reader.any thoughts?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

InnoTab - Great Product for the Price!

12/22/2011
By ,
Ogden, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the InnoTab, both pink and blue for each of my children for Christmas. They haven't gotten them yet, but I've played with each of them plenty.
The Pros:
5 inch touch screen - It's fairly reactive to my touch, and that's without using the included stylus.
Menu System - The menu system is very easy to use and navigate.
Apps - It offers a Calendar where you can input important events like Birthdays and Holidays. It offers a fun Coloring app that is fun to use and draw with. It also includes an E-book, with the option to download more from their VtechKids site.
$3 Downloads - I love that you can download additional e-books, games and other apps for just $3.
SD Card - This is probably the largest selling point for me as a parent. I bought an 8 GB SD card for each InnoTab. I was then able to preload it with tons of children's songs that we had as CDs. So now the InnoTab works as an MP3 player. Even more fun is I was able to convert our kid's DVDs and load them onto the SD card. I fit 6 full-length DVDs onto each card. (See below for what I used to do the conversion). That "other" kid tablet does NOT include the ability to add an SD card, which is again why this was such a huge selling point.
Audio/Visual - The MP3s that I preloaded on the SD card sound great through the speaker on the InnoTab or when using a pair of earbuds. Movies tended to be a little quieter, so earbuds or headphones are good to have for them. Also the movies looked great! They weren't fuzzy or grainy and I was able to fastforward them, using the slidebar, and the Video never disconnected with the Audio.
Price - For $80, this is a SUPER deal for a kids tablet!
AC Adapter - This is a life saver. Forget using batteries, even rechargeable ones. Just buy the AC Adapter (and car adapter if needed). They are only $10 from VTechKids.com. The reason I listed this as a Pro is because, I'm not giving my kids batteries at all. They don't last long, and can get lost. Instead, I like the idea of tethering them to a power outlet. : )
The Cons:
Battery Life - As mentioned everywhere else, 4 AA batteries will maybe last a day with continual use, especially if watching movies. Batteries can also get lost, even rechargeable ones.
No Camera/Video Recorder - Honestly, to me this isn't really a Con. If I had to choose between having an on board Camera or SD card slot, I'd go with the SD card slot every time.
Additional Apps - This is only a Con because there aren't as many as with the "other" kid tablet. However, I do like that you can download additional apps or e-books or games for only $3.
I hope this review helps you decide on getting the VTech InnoTab. I can't wait for my kids to unwrap them on Christmas. I placed the SD Cards in each tablet, preloaded with music and movies, and put the AC Adapter in the box too. We also got each child their own skullcandy earbuds.
Converting Movies Instructions:
First off you have to get the movie from your DVD onto your hard drive. That is up to you to do. Just do a Google search, there are lots of programs that can do this for you. Just bring down the Main Movie.
Then download the Free Software called FreeMake Video Converter. Again, Google it. This is a great program and works quickly!
1 - Once installed, open the program and click the +Video button.
2 - Navigate to where your movie folder is and select all files in the folder and click the Open button.
3 - On the bottom of the program select the "to AVI" button.
4 - Click the blue sprocket or "Edit Settings".
5 - Choose the following settings:
Frame Size = Custom, Width = 512, Height = 320, Adjustment = Auto, Video Codec = XVID, Frame Rate = 29.97 fps, Bitrate = Auto
Audio Codec = MP3, Channels = Stereo, Sample Rate = 44100 Hz, Bitrate = 128 Kbps.
6 - Give a Title like InnoTab Settings and click OK.
7 - Choose where to save the finished AVI file.
8 - Click Convert.
The conversion process is quick and once done you'll have a single AVI file, which is the entire movie.
How to Transfer Movies to SD Card:
If you have not placed the SD Card in the InnoTab and connect it to your PC with the included USB Cable, then do so first. Then open the Learning Lodge Navigator program and Register the InnoTab. This will make the InnoTab create the folder structure on the SD Card. Make sure the SD Card is in the InnoTab first before connecting it to your PC.
Then you can either close the Learning Lodge program and navigate to the new Drive, which is the SD Card (varies by computer) or you can take the SD card out and place it in an SD Card Reader (faster transfer speeds than through the InnoTab). Once you navigate to the SD Card on your computer, go to the LLN folder and inside you'll see a number of folders. Open the Movies folder and simply drag-and-drop the AVI file you made with the FreeMaker program into the Movies Folder on the SD Card. Once done, put the SD Card back in the InnoTab and turn it on, or restart the InnoTab for it to recognize the new movie.
Transferring Music to the SD Card:
Music or MP3 songs MUST be transferred to the SD card through the Learning Lodge Navigator program. Using the Movie method for some reason won't work. However, the transfer is pretty quick and you can select which songs you want placed on the SD Card very easily.
I hope this review helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ogden, UT
InnoTab FAQs
Posted 12/30/2011
I created this list of FAQs based on my experience with the 2 InnoTabs I bought for my kids and with helping out numerous people on forums and FB. Hope it helps.
InnoTab FAQs by KBarrett...
Q1 - What do I need to download games, e-books, or transfer Music and Pictures?
A - You'll need an SD Card (8GB or larger) and goes in the battery compartment. You'll also want an AC Adapter. Most importantly, you need to connect your InnoTab to the PC!
Connect the USB chord to your PC and install the Learning Lodge Navigator (LLN) software.
Q2 - How do I register my child's InnoTab in the LLN software?
A - Click on the Image of the InnoTab and choose Add Child. Fill out all fields to complete registration.
Q3 - How do I register more than 1 InnoTab in the LLN?
A - Click on each individual InnoTab image and choose Add Child. DO NOT add children in the My Account section. It will not retain your child's information!!!
Q4 - How many V Coins do I get when I register my InnoTab and what do I get for them?
A - You get 3 V Coins per InnoTab you register. Each V Coin is worth $2.99, which will give you 3 free Games or E-Books.
Q5 - How many programs are there available to download?
A - There are 80 applications (as of 12/28/11). 90% of those are $2.99, with the rest costing $4.99.
Q6 - Where do I go to find the Games and E-Books and Transfer them to my InnoTab?
A - You MUST click on the image of the InnoTab once connected to your PC. DO NOT use the Downloads tab along the top!!! Once you have clicked on the image, you will see a Menu down the Left side of the screen. Click on the "Learning Apps Download Center". Select the Games/E-Books you'd like to buy with V Coins and/or Credit Card or PayPal. Download the apps and then Transfer them to your InnoTab.
Q7 - Can I access the Games/E-Books that I've downloaded previously?
A - Yes. Click on the image of your InnoTab to access the Menu down the Left side of the screen. Click on "My Downloads". You will see all the software programs you've downloaded and if the program(s) haven't been transferred yet to your InnoTab, you'll see check boxes next to each program. Select the check box you want and click Transfer.
Q8 - What format does Music have to be in?
A - Songs must be in .MP3 format and be free of DRM protection. Google search for DRM removal programs like TuneBite or SoundTaxi.
Q9 - How do I transfer Music to my InnoTab?
A - Click on the image of your InnoTab to access the Menu down the Left side of the screen and select "File Manager". Then choose the Music tab. Navigate to the folder where your music is stored, which will auto-populate the LLN with all the songs in that folder. Check the checkbox next to each song you want transferred and click the Transfer button. You can keep selecting songs as you scroll down the list and then Transfer in one click.
Q10 - How do I transfer Pictures to my InnoTab?
A - Use the same directions as Music, except select the Pictures Tab instead of Music.
Q11 - How do I transfer full length Movies to my InnoTab?
A - First "rip" your movie to a folder on your PC. I use DVDFab. Also only select "Main Movie" before ripping.
Then you'll need to convert the movie to an acceptable format (.AVI). Get FreeMake Video Converter and use the following steps and settings:
Step 1 - Once installed, open the program and click the +Video button.
Step 2 - Navigate to where your movie folder is and select all files in the folder and click the Open button.
Step 3 - On the bottom of the program select the "to AVI" button.
Step 4 - Click the blue sprocket or "Edit Settings".
Step 5 - Choose the following settings: (Videos display perfectly using these settings)
Frame Size = Custom, Width = 512, Height = 320, Adjustment = Auto, Video Codec = XVID, Frame Rate = 29.97 fps, Bitrate = Auto
Audio Codec = MP3, Channels = Stereo, Sample Rate = 44100 Hz, Bitrate = 128 Kbps.
Step 6 - Give the new Setting a Title like "InnoTab Settings" and click OK.
Step 7 - Choose where to save the finished AVI file.
Step 8 - Click Convert.
Finally, you can either close the Learning Lodge program and navigate to the new Drive on your PC, which is the SD Card (varies by computer) or you can take the SD card out and place it in an SD Card Reader (faster transfer speeds than through the InnoTab). Once you navigate to the SD Card on your computer, go to the LLN folder and inside you'll see a number of folders. Open the Movies folder and simply drag-and-drop the AVI file you made with the FreeMaker program into the Movies Folder on the SD Card. Once done, put the SD Card back in the InnoTab and turn it on, or restart the InnoTab for it to recognize the new movie.
Q12 - How long do Batteries last?
A - There are many reports that 4 AA batteries will only last a few hours. It is recommended that you purchase an AC Adapter.
Q13 - Why does the InnoTab keep requesting to update the Date and Time?
A - The InnoTab has a very limited internal battery to maintain the Date and Time. If the batteries wear out or it is unplugged from the AC Adapter for a long period of time, it resets the internal clock. It is best to keep the InnoTab plugged in and/or batteries are replaced as soon as they wear down.
Q14 - Can you use rechargeable batteries in the InnoTab?
A - Yes. Though you'll want 8 batteries, 4 of inside the InnoTab and 4 in the charger at all times, unless using the AC Adapter.
Q15 - Can the InnoTab recharge batteries?
A - No.
Q16 - Is there an Alarm Clock included with the InnoTab?
A - No. The original press release stated that it would include an Alarm Clock, however, there is not one. Maybe with a future Firmware update, but not keeping my hopes up.
Q17 - Is there an update for the InnoTab?
A - Yes. In the LLN, click on the InnoTab image and on the Menu down the left side of the screen, click on "Update InnoTab". Follow the prompts and choose to Update InnoTab. The latest Firmware version is 6.10914 as of 12/28/11.
Q18 - Where do I access the Games/E-Books that I've downloaded to the InnoTab?
A - On the InnoTab, click on the Downloads icon, at the bottom will have the Games, E-Books and Other options.
Q19 - How do I track my Child's Progress?
A - You MUST click on the InnoTab image first, or see the Menu down the leftside! Then click on the "Progress Log" on the Top Menu bar.
Q20 - The LLN keeps saying I need Flash Player. How do I get Flash to install correctly?
A - Uninstall your Flash Player then open the LLN program. When it asks you if you want to install Adobe hit "Yes", pick the windows 7 32bit, then on the browser question DO NOT put in Internet Explorer, instead choose "Other Browsers".
Q21 - How do you know so much about Swallows?
A - You have to know these things when you're a king, you know.
I hope this InnoTab FAQs was of some use. Please let me know if it was.
Thanks!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Umm It's Great..... When it works.

10/26/2011
By ,
kc missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This review is based off my and my 9yr experiece with the toy as it is a christmas present for my son.
I was looking at the Vreader for my soon to be 4 year old for christmas and was thrilled when I found the Innotab and preordered it immediately. My 9yr is getting a Kindle Fire Christmas and I wanted him to have a system that was built to live through the atomic bombs they love to throw and survive after all is said and done and I don't think the fire would work.
My giddiness for the toy was short lived however after I recived it and tried to get it set up for my son as it started off at really loud volume which would not adjust. It also started freezing when I tried to move from screen to screen and the when I tried to shut it off the screen turned a light grey and would not turn off until I removed the batteries. I contacted vtech and was told the first batch of innotabs that went out were defective and needed to be returned. after alot of hassle I was finally able to get a new a innotab and this one works great and set up was quick an painless.
First let me start off by stating that this product was purchased with thought in mind that this is a entertainment toy that happens to provide some educational properties. For my purposes this fits the bill. With that said love the accelerometer. I played the cars game and it was a ton of fun. My son loves the interactive books that are on my ipod so I know theat he will like these as they are similar. The video player quality is appropriate for a child. I watched part of RIO and the vivid colors were there. The mp3 player is great and had decent sound quality and the games and art studio are also great.
I like that the camera is seperate from the device and I can upload it as I would not want him carrying the tablet around because it is not as rugged as the camera. Also I like the simplistic quality of the interactive books and the traditional story themes like alice in wonderland and the ugly duckling.I also like that I can add my own content vs having to buy everything. Also I'm not sure why the include the upper age range(7-9) for the toy because I asked my 9yr old and he told me I think he will enjoy it but I rather play with a real tablet so I'd say the age range is probably 3-6 with 6 on the high end(Just my opinion).
Gripes include no thumbnails for mp3 player and the video player.My son is a beginner reader and he is just learning to blend letters to form words so I think he will get by but I could see it frustrating him to stop and try to sound each word of a song or video before he gets to it. Also these companies know when they are going to release toys so it so annoying to see that part of the learning lodge is still under construction. Also annoyed about the first batch of toys needing to be returned and the hassle that I had to go through to do it. For that I took a star off.
When it's all said and done I am fully convinced that my son will love this tablet and for it is worth all the hassle and the gripes that I have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+326points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
How did you get the movie on to the device?
Posted 11/13/2011
How did you get the RIO movie on to the Innotab? I'm pulling my hair out trying to convert files to AVI format, and nothing seems to work! So far, no movies!
0points
Customer Avatar
kc missouri
movie conversion
Posted 11/10/2011
You are suppose to be able to download movies from the learning lodge in the future, but this area is under construction at the moment. I converted the movies to avi format using third party software and dropped it on the sd card via the harddrive. I put the whole method of how to do it on the website that sells the kindle ( walmart will blockout the website if I write it). If you go to innotab ( I put it on the blue and the pink) on the site and scroll down past the reviews to the discussion portion the instructions for movie conversion is there. This method allows you to convert dvd's you have around the house to the right format for the kids to watch it on the tab. Also real quick the batteries last about 8 hrs in this device so you will want to use the wall and car adapter for long term use like movies and rechargables batteries for on the go. Leappad has the same issue. Also I have the leappad and my mobigo adapters fit both devices so make sure you don't have something that is laying around the house that will do before going out to buy something.
+1point
Customer Avatar
West Virginia
Thinking of purchasing...
Posted 11/07/2011
Hi. My kids are obsessed with my ipad and mainly watching movies on it. I noticed in your review that you watched part of Rio on the innotab. Did you have to download the movie onto the memory card or did you download from a website? More info on how to watch movies on the innotab would be great! Thank you.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

More than expected! Great Product!

12/29/2011
By ,
River Falls, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This turned out to be better than I expected! My 4 year old son has had both a handheld vsmile and vsmile counsel and loved them, but he seemed to be getting bored with them, so I looked for "upgrades". After bringing him to toys'r'us and having him try out the new LeapPad (Leap Frog's version) and the Innotab, he seemed to like the Innotab better, so I got it for him for xmas. He liked it, but wanted more than what it came with. So I used the 3 vcoins it comes with to download more games he choose and then put some songs and photos on it as well. I found that it has a progress report when you connect it to your computer also! The progress report tells you how well your child is learning certain skills! It was slightly confusing to download and transfer at first, but quickly figured it out. It goes through batteries fast, but I figured it would, so I bought a charger. I also found out that the car charger we had for the vsmile was compatible with the Innotab (THANK YOU VTECH!) I highly recommend this item - but make sure to buy the appropriate accessories such as the chargers and SD card to make sure you get the best use!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Not as advertised & costly

03/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed with the InnoTab which, as opposed to the VTech Tote & Go Laptop Plus for younger kids, came with very few free games and/or apps. The product itself had a minimal number of games built into it (though the advertisements make it seem as if there are lots) and we were given only three free downloads. My 5yo was bored with the product after barely a week. If we wanted him to continue using it, we'd have to purchase additional downloads and/or cartridges (as well as lots of batteries, which have needed replacing several times in just a few uses).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 11 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Awesome!

12/17/2011
By ,
Harford Co., Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 2 year old grandson loves my iPad. He would love his own, and this became an excellent and ideal gift for a child that has been exposed to technology. He can watch Toy Story 3 now...from his own pad/tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Great toy!

12/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this toy for my four year old son for Christmas. I am getting a tablet so I think its only fair to get him one also, that way we will not have to fight over mine. I really cant wait to see him unwrap this on Christmas morning. I love all the features that this tablet has to offer and the fact that you can insert your own pics, videos,... etc
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 13 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Buy if you don't want toddler to ruin ipad

12/27/2011
By ,
boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think the Innotab is a fabulous idea and great for the parent who does not want their child to play with their ipad. I bought it for my 4 year old niece and she knew how to use it right away. Her parents have not yet streamed a movie or loaded any books but they will. I think the concept of this toy is great, but there is one major flaw Vtech overlooked and that is the fact that this machine runs on 3 AAA batteries that last no longer than a hour. THis is like a computer and should have a rechargeable battery like a computer. It should also come with an a/c adapter, which it doesn't. I played around with the reading and drawing apps and liked how you could touch a word and it would say it and sometimes give the meaning. I can't comment about the memory space, but for kid, how much memory do you need? Overall I would say it's an engaging toy, but could definitely use improvements from the manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 14 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Perfect IPAD for kids! Great Value! Great Fun!

02/04/2012
By ,
OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 year old daughter's Innotab works perfectly and does so much more than I would have expected at the price! Move over LeapPad, this one kicks your butt! My daughter LOVES her "Vtech" as she calls it! It does so much for so little money - it is definitely the BEST VALUE out there! Each cartridges has 3 games, 1 creative activity and 1 book for $25 (but who buys them at full price? I have bought them for $13 each). And it's DURABLE! Here's what it does/what my daughter loves:
**Movies - My daughter watches movies and tv shows I've uploaded. It's best to use AVI formatted movies (the mp3 version for movies) and skip the Lodge Navigator to upload, it is so much easier to use the Innotab like it's a thumb drive.
**Music - She loves to listen to music (and use headphones to save my ears).
**Games - The games are great and she keeps wanting me to buy more in the store and from the download store. I think the games on the cartridges are better.
**Creative Activities/Programs - These keep her entertained too (I've never seen her laugh so much about cat paws going across the screen when she was drawing).
**E-books - She loves her Tag reading system, so the books on the Innotab are perfect for her! The stories are read to her and she can click on words in the book to find out what they are and their definitions!
Those who think the Innotab drains batteries too quickly, obviously don't own cell phones, lap tops or any other hand held device that operates on batteries. If the Innotab and my laptop were both playing movies, the Innotab lasts 4 times longer. And if you don't want to burn up batteries, buy the cord and plug it in (although I do hate the fact it didn't come with the device itself) or buy rechargeable batteries like you do for everything else.
Overall: LOVE this system! LOVE the value! It will grow with my daughter and completely save me on long road trips as well as provide fun at home!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Good product but poor battery life

04/09/2012
By ,
DeSoto, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my son's 7th birthday last week and we cannot complain about its educational value or how easy it is for him to use. He loves it as well as my 3 year old. The biggest problem is the battery life. You pay $80 for a product that doesn't come with batteries. It requires 4 AA's and after 5 hours of use the batteries are dead!!!!!! You have to purchase a power supply which defeats the purpose of it being cheaper than the Leapster. Also it is a downer to have to have a power supply because then you child has stay close to an outlet. I think it should have required either different stronger batteries or the power supply should be included with the product. You could just continue to buy AA batteries but then you're spending $120 a month on batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/03/2011
By ,
Wichita Falls, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 3 year old son, he is going to love this...I have played with it and I love it. I know he will be amazed, he will think that he has his own ipad!! He is going to benefit from this so much...I am so excited.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Educational Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
01/02/2012
By ,
Trenton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent product. My wife wasn't sure at first if it would be over my 3 year old son's head, but he had it figured out before we did. Only complaint is that it eats batteries quickly. We have ordered the rechargable batteries.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Educational Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Waste of money

01/18/2012
By ,
Kerrville, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Innotab for my 5 year old for Christmas. Well he has only been able to play it for less then five minutes before it stopped working. Put in new batteries, nothing, put in the home charger nothing. Tried plugging it into the computer to download stuff kept saying that it was needing to be registered even though it had already been done. Contacted Vtech day after Christmas and got an email back on 1/9/2012 saying I can ship it to them and when it comes available they will send me a new one. No store within 100 miles of me has a blue one in stock and I have wasted my money until it can be fixed:( Otherwise it would have been a great toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 19 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet
12/26/2011
By ,
Oregon City, Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ours arrived site to store. I bought this for a Christmas gift and about three days later opened it to find that it only had the tablet! It was missing the pen ,the cartridge and anything else it was supposed to have listed on the box. I wanted to put the batteries in so when she opened it she could begin to play and not have to start the download that morning. On return the clerk said that it may have shipped that way! it appeared to me that it was a return and the items did not get back in the box! On review of this item from another customer said that u have to buy more cartridges at about $20.00 besides going to the site to upload the games and info from your computer. It was $ 79.00 without the cartridge s. I believe that it was a lot of money after the sale and I purchase the leapfrog system prior to this and believe it was a better buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Educational Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for VTech InnoTab Learning App Tablet

Great Toy - Read me 'cause I'll explain bat. life!

09/18/2012
By ,
Clinton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great toy...kids love it. I have a 5 year old and he is obsessed with playing with it. As far as the battery life goes....
1) Never buy dollar store batteries for this or mobigo. You're setting your kid and yourself up with disappointment.
2) Invest in a couple packs of Duracel or Energizer rechargeable batteries. Once fully charge, it last 3-4 hours.
3) Vtech sells (on several websites, including their own) a car adaptor and regular outlet adaptor for $10 - WHICH MEANS.... NO BATTERIES REQUIRED!!!
Tada! Problem solved!! Enjoy the toy! It's really cool and kids love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Satisfaction
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next