Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Easy Bake Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Easy Bake Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Kids can bake real, delicious goodies with the colorful and easy-to-use Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven. It comes equipped with tasty mixes, pans and other goodies. Kids can easily whip up cake batter and cookie batter for red velvet cake, chocolate chip cookies, rainbow cookies, and much, much more! Simply follow the included recipes to bake scrumptious treats inside the oven — and because there's no light bulb, this new Easy Bake kids' oven is even easier to use. The included Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven recipe booklet has additional yummy ideas and recipes for more baking inspiration.
Average Customer Rating:
3.707 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(232 Reviews) 165
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
65
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation75%174 out of 232reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 116 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
65
3 stars
26
2 stars
13
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

plug and play--just add water

08/20/2011
By ,
Brisbane, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very simple to use! and contrary to urban myth, this oven cooks with a heating element (not a lightbulb). both the cookies and cupcakes come out...ummm...much flatter and smaller than pictured (see my pics). cookie batter mostly just stuck to fingers; cupcakes were much simpler to make and fun to decorate. oh, and be sure not to cook them in the cupcake papers (per fine print on directions), which are 3 times larger than the cupcakes anyway. a nice feature would have been a timer on the oven, so be sure to borrow mom's.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+228points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas
Still a winner
Posted 07/18/2013
The urban myth is true my friend but back in the seventies when I was a wee little one and Santa brought me this oven. It did use a light bulb but it sure could cook!. Loved it and now am buying one for other little girls.
+2points
Customer Avatar
nowhere land
Posted 12/06/2011
The old styles used a light bulb to cook. That's not an urban myth. That's fact.
+13points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Great little play oven.

01/25/2012
By ,
Shillington, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase. I ordered it and picked it up at the store. Worked out great with no problems at all. I will do that again. The oven is fun and I don't know who is having more fun the grandkids or the big kids. LOL I just wish the mixes for the oven were cheaper. I did price this oven other places and Walmart had the best price. Hands down. Thank you for the great experience and the great price.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

No light bulbs, very easy to use

09/25/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy Bake oven has come a long way since my day. Easy to use, comes with mixes, has other mixes you can buy such as pizza and more varieties of cookies. Jerseigh, my granddaughter fixed chocolate chip cookies for her first try and the family said they turned out really good. I ordered this online due to they live out of town and there were no delivery issues with Walmart. More excitement added with them checking the tracking number for the delivery day. Easy to handle, colorful, and lightweight.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Nice product

01/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my six yr. old granddaughter for Christmas. She absolutely loves it! I personally wished it looked more like a real oven.....this one looks more like a spaceship to me. It does not use a light bulb like the older ones which is a nice feature. It still works on the same concept as the older ones where you slide your tray in on one side and out on the other. It does not have a timer so you will need to use a kitchen timer with this. It worked well making the cupcakes and cookies that came with this. You can buy more mixes, but why when you can just use some of the batter from cakes that you make and dough from cookies you make. The whole idea of this oven is to spend quality time with the child you purchase this for. You do need to supervise; it's not a product I would let a child use when unsupervised. Another nice feature of this particular model was that it does have a small storage drawer on one side where you can store your pans that come with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

easy as pie

08/16/2011
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always wanted an easy bake over so I loved getting to try this out with my son. The box came with everything we needed (except water) for fun in 30min. Basically we opened the box, plugged the oven in to preheat for 20min and then mixed the batter and were ready to put the cookies in the oven when the oven was ready. The instructions were very clear with visuals and text . We did end up needing to add both more water (to the mix) and more time (3- 5min) to the cooking time.
My son enjoyed the mixing portion more than the cooking because one you put the cookies in the oven you can't really watch anything (kind of uneventful). My only complaint was that each ingredient pack doesn't really come with that much batter making it hard for a younger child to use without spilling. I didn't think the actual cookies tasted that great, but my son didn't seem to mind at all.
super easy and fun product to use, however it may get expensive buying all the mixes. if you think you'll use it often, look to buy in bulk. happy cooking!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Not what I remember as a kid!

02/24/2012
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I was younger I had an easy-bake oven - so when I saw this I thought 'my daughter has to have this - I loved using mine as a kid' ... well, I guess with all the new safty hazards and requirements times have changed this oven from many years ago! Not only are the cookies and cupcakes the teeny-est tiny-est baked goods I had ever seen they are not so easy for a kid to make. Because the portion is so tiny you are mixing such a tiny amount of water to the mix you need every spec to put in the tinware ...such a pain - I had to do it all - it was too ackward for my child to manipulate such a tiny amount of batter into the tin. Also - I made the mistake of placing the cupcake tray into the oven without the tray and what a mess - it got stuck in the oven - I could not get it out - there was batter all over the inside but you can not open the oven! I am sorry I even got this for my daughter - better off baking with the real stuff and a real oven!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Bad replacement for tried and true EASY BAKE OVEN

12/27/2011
By ,
AUSTELL,GA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The ultimate EB oven without the light bulb needs to go back to the drawing board . It does not cook completely with the time advised. You can not see the food while it is baking , which would at least add a little fun to the process. Gone are the round cake pans that at least allowed your little one to make a baby size little cake that you could frost or make two layers if you so desired .They have been replaced by so called cupcake pans that can only make tiny flat nickle size cake coins. I bought one for my grand daughter who is 8yrs old. Needless to say she was so disappointed with these non snacks. I have returned it and have found the older light bulb classic model which works very well . I know that the 100watt bulbs are getting very hard to find but the easy bake people need to revamp this current model . Maybe furnish the bulb with the oven and sell replacement bulbs. It is useless for a child 8 or over as it is now. As far as safety goes any plug in toy should be used only with adult supervision.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven
08/24/2011
By ,
San Bruno,CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I enjoyed making the cookies and cupcakes as much as my 3 and 8 year old nieces. I was so excited to try it because I never had one as a kid. The girls loved being able to basically cook from start to finish. They loved pouring the water, mixing the batter, setting the dough on the baking sheets and loved that they were able to put the sheets in the oven and take them out without having to worry that they were going to burn themselves as long as they did it correctly. When we bake with a real oven they aren't allowed anywhere near it so this was a huge plus for them.
This oven came with two packets one for chocolate chip cookies and one for red velvet cupcakes complete with simple direct instructions. We wished it would have come with a couple more packets like the pizza mix but it was fun anyway. The cookies and cupcakes came out pretty good. We knew we weren't expecting gourmet baked goods so for what it was it good enough for them. Their only complaint was that the mixes made too little of an amount but they sure enjoyed eating the finished product. Buying extra mixes would be great for a rainy day or for a nice evening at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Disappointment!
Posted 08/11/2012
I got an Easy Bake Oven for my daughter since I had a red one when I was little. She has thoroughly enjoyed it, but I am disappointed in several things. For one, the cupcakes and cookies are TINY! Barely big enough for a mouse! It seems like a lot to make so little. Also, I think it would be great if you could see the goodies baking (like the glass on a real oven). I'm not sure it is worth the money as my daughter and I can make bigger and more goodies in the regular oven with better results!
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

A great toy for kids (and sometimes adults ;) )

08/25/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got a chance to play with this oven and it was a lot of fun. I'm glad they have updated it and it no longer uses a light bulb, which gives some more authenticity to the whole experience. It's pretty neat to see a young kid able to make some tiny cookies and cupcakes all on their own. I was impressed that they were making something as fancy as red velvet cupcakes! The one downside to the whole experience was that they don't give you that much mix, but it's easy enough to buy more. I see that you can buy a mix to make pizza which looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+137points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Over priced for the size of the final product.

02/01/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 7yr. old daughter was excited to get this oven for Christmas. After recieving it I realised that the oven does not open from the front as I expected, instead you have to enter the bakepans through a small slot on the top side of the oven and take it out through a small slot on the other side. The bake pans are smaller than the palm of my hand and the cakes and cookie that it bakes are the size of my fingernail. For the size and price of the oven one would expect treats that are much bigger than doll size, and you cannot use any other baking products other than what is made specifically for the ovens. I think it is over priced and was really disappointed. I returned it to the store and bought her something else that can bake real treats that are at least a full bite. Save your time and money folks, its really not worth the hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

it is what it is. its an easy bake oven.

01/15/2012
By ,
NE Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it cooks the same as the older ovens that have the lightbulbs however there is no lightbulb. we are not sure how it produces heat, we thought maybe it was a sort of microwave but that is not the case either. my guess is that it uses a sort of element like an electric range does. anyways it costs alot more than the older style and for no good reason in our opinion. furthermore it is messy but that comes with the territory so to speak. my wife says that "it is what it is" and she would not give it a bad review but it is also not anything special. she says that the only real problem she had with it was that the mix that they give you does not fit into the oven and she had to transform what was supposed to be cupcakes into a cake because the cupcake wrappers that actually came with it are to tall for the entrance door of the oven. my wife threw them away but i asked her if maybe she could have used cissors to cut them shorter and she said maybe that would have worked. hope this was helpfull
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Why change a good thing

01/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I had one as a kid you mixed, poured it in the pan, the lightbulb cooked it and out it came. Worked well then and they should've kept it the same. It takes 20 min. to heat up, which is fine I get it going a bit ahead and by the time we mix things up it is almost ready to go. My only problem is the cookies, and cupcakes are so so tiny it would be much easier to do just the one round cake as it was years ago. You barely can fit a 1/4 teaspoon of batter for the cupcakes and they come out looking like a nickel. The cinnamon sticks that come with the chocolate dipping sauce (which is great-like eating brownie batter) are horrible. I can't imagine getting the quantity that they claim you will get. Good for you!, those that do :) I think it would be better with just pouring the batter in one pan. I do have to say my three year old has enjoyed it and it allows us to 'bake' without having 24 cookies/cupcakes lying around the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

A son who loves to cook

03/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our six year old son had been asking for this Easy Bake Oven for over a year. We had waited, because there were other things that he also wanted, and it wasn't available in a color other than purple. Finally, we got him one for his birthday. He LOVES it. He cooks something in it nearly every day. My only complaints are that the "cupcakes" are thin and tiny. Also, I wish that it was available in another color. It only comes with a couple of mixes, so I'd recommend buying some refill kits a the same time you buy the oven. It can get a little pricey, but so can video games. The directions are simple and our son really enjoys being able to "cook" things for his siblings. It seems like it doesn't get too hot, so even though we keep it on the counter, out of reach of our littlest ones, I'm not worried about our son burning himself. I do wish that they would do a better job of having molds and specialty items for it that were appropriate for boys.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Brought back childhood memories

08/25/2011
By ,
Hayward, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter was so excited when I brought her the Easy Bake oven. She had to try it immediately! The directions were very easy and by the time she prepared the cookie dough and pressed it into the pan the 20 minutes required to preheat the oven was there. It would have been nice to have a little window on the oven that allows you to watch the baking action. A cooking timer would also be a good addition. Either way my daughter was pleased and very proud to have the family try her baked goods.
The baked goods are so-so and the refills are really expensive for the amount that you get, but as a child I remember using regular baking mixes and they worked just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Had higher hopes for Ultimate Easy Bake Oven

01/04/2012
By ,
Prescott, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My daughter had been begging us for one of these, so we found a fantastic deal on Walmart.com. However, actually using this little oven, has proved anything but easy. I didn't realize that you can't open the front of the oven, you have to use a little plastic pusher and slide the pans through the side of the oven. We actually had our 2nd batch of cookies get stuck inside the oven somehow, and of course, you can't just open it. I had to keep trying to peer into the little slots on either side that you insert your food into, and try to use the plastic pusher to move them around. Long story short, I burned cookies in an Easy Bake Oven that wasn't so easy. Totally disappointing. Long story short, save your money, have some family bonding time, and cook some real cookies in a real oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven
12/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy Bake Oven was purchased for girls 8 and 6 years old. The oven is safe enough, does not get too hot to the touch on the outside. Very easy for the girls to read cooking instructions. Allows for easy enjoyment. Only draw back to the Easy Bake are the portions; very very small. The baking mixes included with package tasted delicious, but it leaves you wanting more. You get a bite worth when sharing with others. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Lots of fun!

11/07/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a lifelong Easy Bake Oven Fan (I still have the cupcake pan from when I was seven!), I was so excited to hear that the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven had come out, especially since it has its own heating element, like a real oven, so no more light bulbs. The Easy Bake Ultimate Oven is geared for tween girls and has a purple, modern design that my pre-teen daughters loved. They don't use the real oven by themselves yet, so they really enjoyed having the chance to cook all by themselves.
It comes with mixes for red velvet cupcakes (with frosting and sprinkles) and chocolate chip cookies. Those two treats are my girls' favorites, so they were a big hit here. A couple of new things that the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven has is a larger cooking area inside of the oven and larger baking pans -- a six count cupcake pan (vs. four for the older models) and bigger rectangular pan, too.
My girls could pretty much handle everything themselves, with the illustrated instructions guiding them along. They mixed up the cake batter and put it in the cupcakes liners (included) and then baked them. They watched the clock so that the cupcakes would be cooked just right. They had fun frosting them and putting the sprinkles on, and really had fun eating them!
Another new addition with the Easy Bake Ultimate Oven are the savory snacks, like pizza and pretzels. I really liked that they offer those mixes since it gives some extra variety, in addition to the sweets. Hasbro has also come up with some other cute ideas, like the chocolate and cinnamon sugar Dippers or the adorable Checker Cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Short but Fun Experience

08/23/2011
By ,
Brisbane, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So my 7-year old boy loved the idea of cooking cookies and cupcakes with dad. Stirring up the mixes and waiting for the results was a joy to watch him learn how to bake. However a window & timer would be two features that would be a nice features to add to create a better experience. The value could have been stronger with more mixes included. At this point I may just buy real brownie mix and cook with our real oven versus buying more of the small mixes that didn't really make much & or taste all that great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

Not worth the money paid

12/27/2011
By ,
Central NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just purchased this for our "last night of Hanukah gift" for my 4 year old son. Firstly, the thing takes TWENTY minutes to heat up...regular oven, 10, easy bake 20, you do the math. Next, the cupcakes it produces after a 10 minute baking and 5 minute cooling are easily each the size of a standard quarter, maybe a half an inch thicker..it's a JOKE. I have made the individual cakes with my son by a major baking company where you also add water, squeeze on frosting, microwave for 30 secons and there it is, a cute little cake that serves one..not a BITE that leaves you hungry and takes half the evening. Save your money and go buy the betty crocker mini cakes instead....less money, less time and MUCH more satisfying. We are returning it tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Paso Robles, CA
Thanks for the honesty
Posted 06/10/2013
Granddaughter always comes to grandma's to cook, and thought this might be something she could do at home. The idea of the mini Betty Crocker mixes with her own mini baking pans is an excellent idea.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Easy-Bake Ultimate Oven

What a disappointment

01/25/2014
By ,
Mt Holly
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 6 year old daughter has wanted an Easy Bake Oven for the last two years and finally got one this Christmas. I considered getting an older version off eBay based on bad reviews I'd read about the new model, but I wanted her to have the new one, like her friends. Should have gone with my gut. This is a pitiful excuse for an Easy Bake Oven. You can't watch the food as it bakes, and the food is incredibly tiny...which makes it incredibly difficult to work with! As a small child in the 70's, I couldn't wait to get my Easy Bake for Christmas, and have wonderful memories of beautiful little, decent sized cakes...not the nickel sized crumbs my own daughter will remember. You can't even use most of the online recipes I've found to save money on expensive Easy Bake food because they're designed for the older model and the food will still be tiny if you try because the batter isn't supposed to be higher than the thin pan it goes in so it won't rise higher than the thin slots it goes in and out of.
I understand safety concerns, but surely someone at Hasbro can come up with something better than this.
On a positive note, if you must buy one Walmart does have the best price, by far.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 166 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next