Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Coleman Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

The Coleman Instant Canopy 12' x 12' gives a generous quick shade area on a sunny day and sets up in less than three minutes. This Coleman shelter has footed poles for easy securing. Get more stabilization with Coleman steel tent pegs. The Coleman Instant Canopy uses an exclusive push button release on its levers to easily assemble and take down.
Average Customer Rating:
3.872 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation74%80 out of 108reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 64 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
18
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Wouldn't hold to up rain!

12/07/2012
By ,
Pleasanton, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm a faithful Coleman customer since they make quality products, but this thing isn't one of them.
First, it's really not easy to setup, it's work for 2 people and really needs 4 to do it easily. The worst part is that the canopy doesn't pull tightly enough to provide tention to keep rain from building up. I set this up over my truck so I could do some work on it. There was heavy rain expected so I figured I was covered (pun intended). I went inside to gather tools and get ready and came out about an hour later to find that gallons of water had gathered on top of the tapr and one whole side had collapsed. The frame broke apart like twigs, gauging my paint on the way down.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY

10/17/2012
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WE HAD IT UP FOR 2 HOURS BEFORE FRAME BEND AND IT WAS ONLY A 5MPH
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Tailgating & backyard tested, excellent product.

03/03/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coleman 12x12 instant up shelter. I live in Buffalo New York and have had this unit a few months nows. My neighbors and I tailgate and do alot of BBQ on a Weber Smoker. The coleman shelter has seen winds, rain and snow and has worked well, but you have to take measures to keep it safe and intact. Here are some must have items to get the most benefit from this product. Here are some extra items I invested in before using:
* Coleman (8) Ft Tent Extension pole ( Must have to hold up the center) Cost $8.00 at Walmart
* Coleman tent stakes (4) the ones that come with are useless ($4.99 at Walmart)
* Coleman sun/wind side panels (2) $24.00 at Walmart
* (4) 5 gallon water buckets ($1.99) at Home Depot
* (4) steel "S" hooks $3.00 at Home Depot
I am in the middle of a 14 hr BBQ session, its 18 degrees out and we had about 3" of snow, my setup worked perfectly. I also setup the shelter myself. Everyone cannot set this shelter up by themselves. I am 6 ft tall and able bodied. I setup the frame and befor I do anything else, I attach the buckets to the frame legs using the s hooks. I fill the buckets with water and this is the stabilizer for any high winds or snow. Use can use the sand bags that attach to the legs as well. Once filled with water, the canapy is not going anywhere. Next install the top, I also used one side panel to block a strong wind. Raide the canopy and then install the tent pole in the middle of the roof. I stood mine on a 5 gallon bucket. Then installed the side stakes and guy ropes. This took me about 20 minutes by myself. The 3" of snow that aculated overnight was easily brushed off by using an old broom handle and tapping from underneath. It worked great all night for the 14 Hr smoke. Whe I take it to the stadium for Bills games, I use sand bags attached to the legs. Great product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Sturdy construction & easy set up

07/12/2011
By ,
Freedom, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with my Coleman instant canopy. The construction is excellent, and it is very easy to set up. I set it up by myself without help. It handles rain well without leakage, and handles mild wind.
It was used for a graduation party holding two 5 foot tables with ample room to spare. I used 3 sun screens and kept one side open which worked well for accessibility.
While camping in NC when a bad storm came through, my frame bent on one side making the whole canopy unstable. I was able to fix it temporarily, but no replacement parts for the actual frame is available through Coleman. This causes, much waste. I will keep my broken frame for replacement parts.
I plan on buying a new canopy because it did perform well. Most canopies can't survive a major storm without damage. In comparison to other canopies, I found this one to be the best buy, due to fair price, plenty of height, strong metal legs, push button adjustable, stores well in a wheeled bag, and shades the sun well. The two vents on the top help to vent out heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Coleman 12x12 instant Canopy

07/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had this canopy for a year.The first time I had it out during the rain the water collected on one of the ends because the canopy doesn't tighten up enough for the water to roll off.The last time we set up the canopy we stood and watched in amazement as a gust of wind caught up under it while fully secured to the ground with stakes.The wind snapped several of the accordion frame bars and snapped one of the main support bars.It all happened so fast and the wind wasn't very strong.I was disappointed because it kept the sun out nicely.We had to saw the rest of the frame in pieces in order to get it small enough to junk it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Excellent Canopy

07/17/2011
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this canopy in my local Walmart a month before it showed up online. Frustrating, because I wanted to read reviews of this before I bought it for an upcoming camping trip.
Bought it anyway and I am so glad I did!
We had a rain storm come through on the second night and it kept everything dry. I can't comment on how well it holds up in the wind because this was a mild storm, but heavy rain, and this held up great!
This thing is HUGE. We had 2 woooden picnic tables sitting end-to-end and it covered the whole eating area and then some.
The frame is fairly sturdy, in my opinion. A lot sturdier than a First Up canopy I used to own, but not as beefy as a commercial EZ-up that my friend owns....somewhere in the middle.
The no-pinch slides are great. No more breaking your thumb to push in sticky buttons!
I picked it up in the store for $129 and in that price range, NOTHING compares to it.
If this is for recreational use, not using it EVERY weekend, then I strongly recommend.
It also doesn't hurt that I am a fan of Coleman products.
Way to go Coleman! A total home run in my book.
Easy to set up.
Easy to break down.
What more could you ask for?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Great Product! Easy To Put Up!

10/17/2012
By ,
Palmdale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Palmdale, California. The weather can be extreme: Hot, Very Hot, and Windy. I have three small boys (younger than 13 of age), and between all of us, we were able to put the shade in less than 10 minutes; but I’ve also done it with just my brother (2 people). My family and guests have enjoyed being under the shade while entertaining in my backyard. Since it can be windy at times, I did anchor down some of the sides, using dumbbells and small bungee cords, to prevent the canopy from moving around. The canopy is very easy to put up, very sturdy and well made. In my opinion, it’s so much better than dealing with an “E-Z Up” tent. I had contemplated getting the 10’ X 10’, but when once I saw how much more the 12’ X 12’ covers, I felt paying the extra money would be a great investment to provide shade for more family and friends without feeling like you’re being squeezed into a smaller shade. I strongly recommend the Coleman Instant Canopy 12’ X 12’. You will not be disappointed!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Feel apart in the rain.

08/15/2012
By ,
Mobile, Al
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We need some shade for a family gathering. Bought this in June to set it up last weekend (August), we got three days out of it before a afternoon thunderstorm completely wrecked it. The frame was so weak the rain and wind (more the rain) crushed and twisted it.
Up until the rain we loved it. Easy to set up and looks wonderful. As far as I've been able to tell Coleman does not sell replacement parts for these except for a new Canopies.
We have contacted Wal-mart customer service to see if they can offer any assistance, we'll update if any help does come through.
Bottom line is this structure is easy to set up and does provide the shade from the sun we were hoping for. However anything beyond a gentle drizzle might make the frame questionable.
We are very disappointed after what happened, still the instant canopy does have some great features although resiting a southern summer thunder shower is not one of them. Depending what your needs are (and maybe what part of the country you are in) this canopy could be exactly what you are looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mobile, Al
Update
Posted 09/27/2012
Re: Review "Feel apart in the rain."
Wal-mart service department came through. We were able to exchange the damaged canopy for a new one (which we know now what conditions to use it under). Only hold up was the return label was a USPS label. Do not mind using them it is just harder to take such a large package to the local post office than to have UPS or FEDEX do a pick up.
Wal-mart came through for us in a big way. First time I've felt Wal-mart was going the extra mile to stand behind us when a defective product was at issue. Definitely will be using walmart.com more often.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Good and Bad

05/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Initially we loved this canopy and Coleman products in general. We used it one year for camping and, for an annual party we attend In both cases it performed great. It was easy to set up and, take down. It kept us out of the sun. The second year we used it at the party and it rained. On one end water pooled up collecting a few gallons of water that all of a sudden spilled out on one of our friends right in his lap. We all got a good laugh at it for sure. Then, this year (just yesterday)we used it again for camping. My wife and me can set it up easily with no extra help in just a few minutes which is great. But it rained again and the water pooled up again in the same place as well as, on the other side. When we came back from a short excursion we saw that the weight of the water that collected was too much for the frame and the entire structure collapsed. It ruined our entire camping trip which we had to cut short because everything under it got wet or destroyed. When it came time to dispose of the frame, it couldn't even fold up. We had to literally break it apart into little pieces which was very difficult. My suggestion to Coleman in to have an attachment made of wires or string to form a grid that prevents water from pooling up or find a way to tighten the fabric so this sort of thing can't happen. It WILL happen. Be warned if you buy one. In rain somebody needs to be there to push the water out of where it collects or it WILL continue to accumulate in a bowl until the weight is too great for the structure. Bank on it. I also bought three extra sides that I cannot use now unless I buy another of these canopies which I am now reluctant to do. Maybe I can find a way to attach them to another type of canopy. Coleman are you reading this? I still have the canopy and the sides. It would be nice if you gave us another frame for our troubles. Believe me. Your product caused us A LOT of trouble. I wish I had taken pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Only 1 complaint

12/03/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I basically like everything about this canopy. The frame construction seems very solid and the ease of raising and lowering was great. The true 12X12 shade area had many of my fellow campers with canopy envy as it completely covered the picnic table and other accessories that I take camping. My only compaint is that during a 2 1/2 hour moderately heavy rain event the canopy leaked a bit, probably at the seams. We could still sit under it and have our cocktails, but they may have been watered down a bit by the constant dripping. I wrote Coleman a couple days ago but have not yet heard back yet. If they can find a way to completely waterproof it I would give it all top grades. Even with the dripping a couple of friends who shared drinks under it are going to get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Great Canopy

07/07/2011
By ,
up north
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this Canopy for an added addition to our tent. We bought all 4 of the side walls,draped the one facing the tent over the tent as an extra rain barrier. When it rained it kept everything dry, It was like we had an extra large room added to our tent and the set up took 10 min,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Don't buy!!! Check out the reviews at coleman.com

06/11/2012
By ,
Ponca City, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product says that it can handle mild winds, that's not true at all. I set it up on the beach and the "mild wind" bent some of the structure causing the canopy to collapse. I'm gonna contact both coleman and walmart to see what they are gonna do. I am not sure if this review will be censored, but all the other people say that this product is great. If you want to know checkout the reviews on colemans website. The reviews go on-and-on about how the structure was bent in the wind, those reviews gave it an overall score of 1.5??? and the only part you can buy is the top
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northridge, CA
Same happened to me!
Posted 06/27/2012
A mild wind came up, pushing on the fabric edge. It buckled the tubing in several places. This was the first time it had been assembled! This product should not have the Coleman name on it!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

RAIN :(

07/11/2012
By ,
allentown, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased this product in June 2012 i used it once camping and did great in the biggest pouring down thunderstorm ever....i used it again for the 4th of july picnic we had a 20 min rain and the thing fell to the floor within 5 min of the rain comoing down.....i had no time to save it and when i called coleman they said its an act of god its not covered under any warranty....ashley from coleman said "canopy is not made for rain regardless how much or how little" i sad i r u seriousand her exact response was "yes dry conditions only with no exceptions" so dont ever get caught in the rain with this cause it will fall and your done...oh she did offer me a 25% discount on a new one....so buyer beware.....if it rains your own your own...other than that its easy to put up and a very good size ....i did love it till coleman dont stand behind there products....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Size is Awesome...Durability is questionable

03/11/2013
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The size of this canopy is incredible, everyone who has seen it set up comments on how large it is. It's 144 square feet of shade area versus typical 100 square feet for a 10x10. My problem with this canopy was with the durability, ours was damaged by a wind gust on about the third occasion that we used it from an afternoon thunderstorm. The wind bent one of the trusses rendering it unuseable. The problem I have is not that it broke, I can understand that they can only make them so durable before it costs too much to be affordable, what frustrated me is that you cannot order replacement parts from Coleman for this canopy. It's as if they want you to treat these as disposable canopies and even if a small part breaks, you should just throw the whole thing away and buy a new one. Consider one of the other brands such as King Canopy that offers replacement parts allowing you to fix it when (not if) the canopy gets damaged.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Expected more; Got less

05/29/2012
By ,
Montgomery,AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this canopy 5/8/12 and did not use it until 5/26/12 for a birthday party. I attempted to open it up and one of the metal rods broke immediately.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Solid choice

04/05/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased several Coleman products recently. All of them are well engineered for ease of use by their target market, outdoor enthusiasts. The 12x12 canopy is easy to set up and provides a considerably larger amount of shade than a 10x10. It is well made and appears like it will last a while. On the downside, it is not suitable for strong winds and will collapse in those conditions. Unfortunately, if that happens, you cannot get replacement parts to repair the frame. That said, I consider this a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phoenix, Arizona
The plastic componetns do not like the heat
Posted 07/07/2013
I have purchase several Coleman products in the past and still own most of them. I live in Arizona and the canopy plastic components do not do well in high temperatures. The high temperatures during storage and during use in the sun have cracked all the release mechanisms and several other components. Appears Coleman did not do testing in high temperature states. I suppose this would also be true in cold temperatures. I have modified the canopy on my own and works OK. Not totally satisfied with this Coleman product. I have owned the canopy for a little over a year so the warranty has expired. Only tells me that the item is only expected to last less than a year. I plan to also email Coleman.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Will break in the wind

05/06/2012
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Took this canopy to the beach. The setup was ok and the size was right. However, after a few gusts of find (not too strong) the (aluminum) sides bend, folded and eventually broke making the canopy unusable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Virginia Beach, VA
Call Coleman!
Posted 09/07/2012
Coleman is a reputable company that has been making outdoor products for years. Call them and I am sure they will send you replacement parts (or even replace the whole thing!)
0points
Customer Avatar
calif
Posted 08/30/2012
is it rainproof?
0points
Customer Avatar
Seeking shelter
Posted 05/31/2012
I'm looking for a beach tent for my family. Although you've posted that it doesn't hold up in the wind, another reviewer says it does. Anyone else with experience? Beach tent recommendations?
0points
Customer Avatar
Beach go-er
Posted 05/24/2012
I go to the beach for camping and just with the family many times each summer, as well as randomly throughout the year. I just came online to look to see if walmart still sold these canopies because after owning one for about 2 years now, and maybe using the canopy 15-20 times on a windy beach, mine finally broke, however it was not due to wind, it was due to rust, which is inevitable when taking it out in the salty air so often. To say it doesn't hold up after a few gusts of wind is IMO either exaggeration or someone didn't take care to properly secure their canopy. Be honest, camping on the beach where gusts can reach 20-30 is different than camping in the woods. However, if you secure your canopy correctly it wont go anywhere, especially this one.
+3points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 18 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Junk

08/26/2012
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor quality. Accordion frame crumples under the slightest breeze and rain, even when tied down correctly (FIRST USE). This is only good for shade (not rain) when there is no breeze. Coleman apparently didn't have an engineer design this product... Saw a review on the Coleman site that this product should have a warning "indoor use only"... Read the reviews on the Coleman site itself prior to buying this product (they all mimic this review)!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Take it down in the wind!

05/23/2012
By ,
Northridge, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a big, beautiful shade canopy when it is set up. It takes a long time to set up, be sure you have at least one helper. Once it is up, it is huge, very high, and provides a lot of shade.
It will not tolerate wind though! Mine is like two weeks old, I had it set up in my back yard, anchored down. High winds came up over night by surprise, and buckled the frame in several places. I went to Coleman's site to see if spare parts are available and they do not sell anything except the fabric top. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman Instant Canopy, 12' x 12'

Best Camping Canopy Out There

10/19/2011
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this canopy and took it on a camping trip up north. It rained the last day and this canopy kept everything nice and dry. It was relatively easy to set up, but it is easier with a few people. I strung lights on the inside of my canopy and figured out to string the lights, with the clips BEFORE raising the canopy up high. This is SO much bigger and better than those 10x10 First Ups in the stores. I now won't go camping without this canopy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next