Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Company Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Allen Company Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

The Winchester Gun Rest has a smooth and fast height adjustment for quick and easy modification. This Winchester Gun Vise has adjustable rests and legs on both the front and back of the rest. The Winchester Rifle Rest also keeps your rifle steady while cleaning or mounting scopes. This Winchester Gun Rest and Vise folds easily for compact storage and is made from durable materials. Designed for convenient and easy use in a variety of scenarios, this Winchester Gun Vise will keep your gun steady for a precise shot and help manage recoil.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation83%38 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

very cheap

09/18/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheap made stand. wobbles about 2 inches from side to side after everything is tight. i guess if you just want a vise then your set but for sighting in, its worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-9points
Review 2 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Under $30 dollars and someone's complaining???

05/20/2012
By ,
Hazard Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For under $30 dollars you are getting a very functional gun vise / rest. The directions are not complete as mentioned prior, there are a couple illustrations (height adjustment) that are not there. For those of you that have the vise nearly assembled and can't figure out where the nut goes for the height adjustment knob; place the circular carrier in between the body, bolt both arms the the carrier, screw the knob all the way through the carrier / body, and place the nut onto the knob threads...tighten all the way to the body but leave about 1/16 of an inch space. Once you get it figured out, you'll realize how simple and effective this vise is designed. I do agree that this vise does wobble a tad but nothing that can't be dealt with. I also read a couple of people complaining about the bag rest up front....buy a set of zip ties!!!! Overall, you can't beat this vise for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Review 3 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Great product for the price!

05/24/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this on the way to the range and assembled it in the truck while my wife was driving to the range. Very simple to assemble if you have a little mechanical ability; which is good since the instructions do not tell you how to assemble it. Tighten ALL the mount bolts and it has little wobble. If you lean on your weapon heavily, you will think this is flimsy since it is made of stamped steel. But if you use it to support the weapon properly it is awesome. My rifle weighs in at over 13 pounds and this rest held it all day with no problem. Really like the angle adjust knob for changing target ranges (50, 75,100 yards) without having to do major adjustments.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Review 4 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Does the job

11/09/2012
By ,
Conway, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this gun rest to sight in my 30-06 rifle. The assembly is fairly easy, you just need a socket set and a crescent wrench, or another socket to hold the other end. It took me about twenty minutes or so. As far as function, it does the job specified. I was able to sight my gun in perfectly. However, I recommend this product for someone who uses it only a few times per year. The two major cons that I discovered were (1). The adjustable arm to raise and lower the vise is fairly shaky and (2) you can only adjust the arm at three different levels. It would be a much better product if you could move it up and down to any position. You can easily compromise by moving the target up or down, or using sandbags(if at a shooting range).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Review 5 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Cheap vise, cheap price, but great deal

09/11/2012
By ,
Rapid City, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gun vise to level my scopes on my guns. I've come to realize that gun vises are generally somewhat expensive. While shopping around for a gun vise but I couldn't find a cheap one in my town for under $50. I found this one at the store I work at, and for $29 I couldn't beat the price. I can't comment on using it as a gun rest because I haven't sighted in my scopes yet on it. The only thing I would fix, I would had a second clamp to go around the gun forearm for more stabilization. If you buy this I hope you have a socket set to tighten everything down. The only thing plastic on this rest are the knobs and feet rest is metal. Other than that it feels extremely sturdy, and probably more sturdy than most $50 rest/vise . Overall I'm satisfied, wish I would of picked it up awhile ago though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 6 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Great Price and value

02/27/2012
By ,
Elkton, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for use at the rifle range and boy was I amazed at how well it was made it was a little wobbly when I first put it together but After I tightened the bolts holding it together it was sound and at 100 yards I was hitting the bulls-eye every-time Great Product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 7 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

good value

08/31/2011
By ,
youngstown ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product worked like a charm to zero my scope in on my scopes. it cost a lot less than name brand models but works just as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+27points
Review 8 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

works well with minor modifications works great.

05/05/2013
By ,
WYOMING
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
unit was a bit wobbly,..added two self tapping screws in bottom of front cross member and it stiffend right up.......added extra padding to rear stock vise to prevent damaging rifle stock,.....rubber boots on legs are a hard rubber so it slides all over on smooth surface,.....add rubber pad under unit to prevent slipage,.....i will clamp mine to table.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 9 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Excellent - easy to put together - I like it

06/25/2013
By ,
Central Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here is an example of what IKEA would do with a gun rest. It's more like a gun vice but I don't want to get into the argument about what makes one the other. It's a batch of parts in a smallish box and you dump it out and put it together with your graphical brain, based on little pictures which help you figure it all out. Done in 15 minutes without a burn. No cuts, no remorse, this is the beat value (IMHO) you will find for a gun rest/vice. Search the internet, you'll see Walmart has a great price on this device and it's built to last. It's not flimsy. It's made in China but what can you compare to it that's made in the USA? Do your own research, this gun vice/rest is a great value. Buy it while it's under ___$
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise
11/29/2012
By ,
Douglassville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money on a budget! Works just as good as some $$$ rests I have used. When guys ask me how much i have paid for it at the range, they can't believe it. DOES THE JOB WELL! Don't waste the extra money for a more expensive rest.....spend it on ammo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 11 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

A vise that wobbles and needs help

11/11/2013
By ,
Tn
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A good value if you are willing to do a few necessary modifications to eliminate the wobble... Instructions for assembly are very good...1 sheet with 14 pictures....I am happy with my purchase and with the modifications I made, the vise works well and is now solid as a rock I spent a day figuring out and making the modifications. Walmart needs to speed up their shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Excellent Value

11/25/2013
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value to provide a consistently stable platform for sighting in our Scoped Rifles. I had to laugh at the previous reviews regarding assembly. 30 years ago I might have had the same frustrations at Christmas putting toys together. I'm much better now...went together without even looking at instructions. It just takes a little common sense!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 13 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Nice Gun Rest

11/30/2013
By ,
North Highlands, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rifles fit in gun rest very nicely. It is a sturdy gun rest for lighter rifles like my two 22LRs. Assembling the gun rest was a bit tricky but if you take your time and follow the instructions it will come together nicely. Price is right and I like it and recommend it for lighter rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 14 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise
11/07/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price a good gun rest. Easy assembly. For less than $30 a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 15 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Works as designed and a good value-easy to build

07/14/2013
By ,
Philly
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is well designed and packaged. The gun rest is called a vice but it is actually more of a rest and cleaning stand. Great for those things but will not hold up to heavy duty gun smithing. It is as advertised and actually worked well for what I needed to do with it. I had to heat and remove the barrel nut from my KSG shotgun. It allowed two folks to do the job where we failed trying to do remove the nut without the vice. This one shipped very fast and works. I will use for cleaning my shotguns and rifles. Not good for pistols because the points of impact are fixed and cannot be made shorter. Overall I am pleased with this item and it was shipped same day. Buy one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 16 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

unit not fuctional

09/24/2013
By ,
Stone Mountain, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received the Winchester Gun Rest new in the box. As I assembled it I discovered that the adjustable height in the center of the stand did not align with the pre-drilled slots which prevented assembly. I returned this for a replacement and found the replacement Winchester had the same alignment error. I purchased the Allen Gun Rest next also from Walmart. It is the same product as the Winchester under the Allen name. This one was correctly drilled and assembly went fine. I like the stand, but quality control on the parts is an issue. If you get a properly drilled unit, I think you will like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Review 17 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Pretty good for the money

11/10/2013
By ,
Banister, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this rest for my air rifles after looking at many of the higher priced rests and came to the conclusion that this rest had most of the same characteristics. The fact that it doubles as a vise made it a better value than most so, I took a chance and I'm glad I did. You can sure it up easily with some common sense. Adjustments are easy to get the hang of and, I love the included level. Great rest/vise. I would recommend this to anyone who shoots air rifles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Good gun vise,not a stable rest for sighting in.

03/17/2013
By ,
Aberdeen,NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Build quality is good for stamped metal. Makes a nice vise for mounting scopes,working on guns.
Is not stable enough for sighting in, too wobbely. The feet are plastic not rubber and do slide around unless you place them on a rubber mat. Overall, it does what I need it for and the price is right.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Great low budget rest.

01/11/2013
By ,
Ludlow Falls Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this rest after reading other reviews on here. So I felt I pretty knew what i was buying. It actually was a bit better that I had anticipated. I only target shoot .22 caliber rifles. So it was more than sturdy enough to accomidate the .22 recoil. I also tried with a 45 caliber rifle as well as a 9mm rifle with similar results. But beyond that I think a stronger more sturdy rest would be needed. It has plenty of adjustment to allow both uphill and downhill shooting. With a little ingenuity it could be mounted a table making it even more sturdy. I would buy it again if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Winchester Gun Rest and Vise

Great item for the price

08/15/2013
By ,
Butte, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You should know from the get-go that I am not a picky person. That being said, I really like this product. I took it on a range to fire may rifle at targets 100 and 200 yards away. Works reasonably great, especially for targets at 100yds. I also used it with great success for shooting slugs out of a shotgun not equipped with a scope at targets 40 to 50 yds away. You won't be able to find anything better for this price
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next