Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Meet the performance-packed entertainment center you can slip in a backpack or briefcase. The party's happening wherever you go with this HP 15.6" laptop PC. The dark umber Pavilion dv6 notebook computer includes exclusive features like Beats Audio and HP CoolSense technology, plus HP SimplePass for extra security, you won't find in any other brand.
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation75%9 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Well built and solid value at fair price

11/13/2011
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned a number of Compaq and HP laptops and this one is easily the least expensive but remains a top performer. I have been very impressed and pleased thus far with how well it performs and the AMD Quad-core processor and 4GB of memory do very well indeed. Additionally, the fingerprint reader is really the icing on the cake that sold this unit--most other units in this price range, especially those below this price range, do not have the fingerprint reader. I deplore typing in my password dozens of times a day, but want my unit secure from prying eyes if I need to step away, and after using fingerprint readers before I personally feel quite secure with them. Nice job!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Great, except for one issue

10/26/2011
By ,
Washington
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So, the features are amazing. The screen is beautiful, webcam is high quality, the appearance is awesome - feels really solid. The keyboard is awesome with perfect spacing between keys. I almost bought this same machine from Best Buy, but checked Walmart first and was pleasantly surprised with the subtle price different. I love downloading music and listening to music so this machine was perfect for me.
To say I'm in love with this laptop is an understatement; however, I started seeing faint horizontal lines blinking across the screen across the top. This laptop has to last me through college and I'm afraid to take any chances. Turning it in for a Toshiba as my friends in school and out of school say they make a nice computer with no universal problems. I put it as a recommendation in the review.
After checking into common problems with this model of HP, the line across the top is in fact a common problem.
Once again, great features, but I'm personally not taking a chance on the screen going out or dead pixels.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655-S5206 Laptop PC with Intel Core i3-2310M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
4.1 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
Review 3 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Better then Expected

09/19/2011
By ,
Joshuatree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good laptop for under $700, fast and reliable. The speed on this laptop is almost comparable to my HP desktop, I can run most of my games at medium or high graphic settings with no problems. There is a light around the mouse pad, It would be nice if the keyboard was lit as well. The keyboard is very nice, keys are spaced perfectly and has a number pad as well. The processor isn't actually 2.3 Ghz like they say it is 1.4ghz but has a turbo up to 2.3ghz, the box reads 2.3/1.4ghz.
Here is the Windows Index Score:
Processor: 6.6
Ram: 5.9
Graphics 5.9
Gaming Graphics 6.5
Hard Drive 5.8
It would be nice if walmart listed the index score of all laptops they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 4 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Liked the computer so much I bought a second one

09/26/2011
By ,
Great Britian
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The computer has more than met my expectations...... its fast, easy to use and great value for money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Great price, great PC!

10/15/2011
By ,
Farmington, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer over an Alienware M11x, due to the fact that it is just as powerful and at a fraction of the cost. The computer runs flawless and has a very nice finish (brushed copper metal look) as well as other cosmetic features that I find more appealing.
The Windows 7 system rating on the stock laptop is 5.9 and in my opinion is a gaming powerhouse. This machine can easily run all of the high end games such as GTA IV, DiRT3, NFS Shift and Far Cry with high framerates at high resolutions. The machine does not get very hot either, it has a smart cooling system which optimizes the internal fan performance as well.
The machine can also run all of the DWM eye candy as well, and I have tested the latest builds of Linux and all hardware is compatible as well. I am a computer programmer by trade and the only quarrel that I have had with this computer is the lack of RAM. The machine comes preloaded with 4GB of DDR3 memory and when running Visual Studio 2010 things can become a bit boggy. However for $52 you can pick up two 4GB memory sticks and plug them in, since doing that myself I would have to say that this machine runs as well as systems that are in the $1300 price range.
I would suggest this computer to any serious gamer out there! Great price for a great PC!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Great laptop

09/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this laptop 1 day ago it is great i am on it right now. this is my 2nd and it is great! better than a mac. great sound! great grapics too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student
11/27/2011
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this is a very good laptop. It's fast the graphics are great and so is the sound. I would highly recommend this product to family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Model Number in general has problems.

01/27/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after researching this model number online, alot of people complain of having lines that appear on the screen, i have went through 5 of these laptops, all from different stores and they all had the same problem, the computer is nice but YOU WILL HAVE PROBLEMS. for the price, i would look for something better.
hp has never let me down before, but this model is the worst i have ever used and its all from a cheap faulty display.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

LOVE IT!!!

05/25/2012
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say that I absolutely LOVE this laptop!!! Its not too big but not too small, great picture, fast.... I just love everything about it and would highly recommend it to YOU!! Yes, you, the one checking it out!!! Im telling ya, you will love it!!! =)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Piece of junk

10/06/2011
By ,
Bardstown KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After receiving this keyboard would not work. Spent 1hour on the phone with tech support. Having me jump through all kinds of hoops. New product should work when you receive it. Wasted a lot of time researching and time on the phone
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-11points
Review 11 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

laptop as promised

11/16/2011
By ,
Sulphur Springs, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the laptop I ordered. It is as I expected. It arrived early and was packaged very soundly to protect it from damage. I am very pleased with the product and the shopping experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for HP Dark Umber 15.6" Pavilion dv6-1149wm Laptop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3400M Processor and Windows 7 and Microsoft Home & Student

Good Computer

11/30/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had this computer for a few weeks now. It seems to be a good computer no problems yet. It does everything I ask of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point