Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Simple style for everyday computing is accessible at last. This black Presario 15.6" notebook computer gives you mobile PC essentials at an exceptional price. Take your work and fun with you and get connected online for everyday tasks, entertainment, email, Facebook and more on this Compaq laptop PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.126 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation81%142 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Works great.

08/18/2011
By ,
Norfolk. VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good for its intended use - internet surfing and online tv watching. dvd drive freezes a little with movies (maybe not a great dvd movie player, but probs okay for data dvds).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 82 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

10/14/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a fast, efficient laptop; great quality for a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 83 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Awesome deal

09/09/2011
By ,
Chillicothe Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer along with all the other stuff is what made me go for it. I got a great price for great products. Still getting used to it but so far it is an awesome computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

09/07/2011
By ,
Jupiter, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unless your a hard core gamer, why spend five times the money for the same performance. For the average Joe, this is all you need. Max out the memory from Directron.com for another sixty bucks and your set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Better than I expected

07/28/2011
By ,
Sarasota, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop because I love to write and needed an extra computer besides my home one that I could dedicate to my own projects. When I looked at the display in the store for some reason I thought that maybe I would be taking it back in a few days due to low performance but I was pleasantly surprised. The display quality is great, the speed is just fine and the keyboard has a nice quiet touch to it. Even though the processor is an AMD 1.0, all of my applications that I have downloaded did not have any lag time. I wasn't looking to run anything heavy like Adobe CS5, so as long as it it could handle Office 2010, I was happy. The chassis doesn't heat up even when I leave it for 6 hours + which I appreciate also. The design of it allows bigger hands (like mine) to rest comfortably while typing without falling of the keyboard. The only drawback is that it does not have a number pad but if you don't mind that, it's no problem. Besides, if you need one, they sell USB ones pretty cheap. I've had it for about a week now and I am very pleased. Great for students, surfers or any light users !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 86 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop, great buy

09/07/2011
By ,
jupiter, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $25 we added more memory. It is a great computer. Can't beat this one, really.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 87 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

07/15/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never had a laptop before this, only a flat screen desktop and for years I would tell my husband that one day I want to get a laptop. Well, in March of this year we were in Walmart,( not shopping for electronics), and my husband suggested we stop by and look at the computers. I first had my eyes on a DELL with a 19' screen but then I saw this computer and I've been enjoying it ever since. I'm glad my hubby told me to go ahead and get a laptop since I always talked about getting one anyone. Great Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+140points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC w
Posted 01/11/2012
I have had this laptop for several months and love it. I have worked on more expensive HP's, but honestly this one is great. I continue to find neat things this computer offers each time I use it. For the money, the laptop cannot be beat. The keyboard has a great feel. One thing I particularly like..if you are watching a video or playing music...just hit a key at the top of the keyboard..either turns sound up or down. Several keys that act as macros. Videos and pics are so clear and as far as speed of the computer, I believe you will be surprised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 88 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very good purchase!!!!

07/27/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only complaint is that it only comes with the trial version of Office products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 89 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
07/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a first time laptop buyer i bought this Compaq. The size is great and the picture is amazing. It has great sound for music and the detailed pictures for movies is fantastic. For $298 this is a great laptop for first time buyers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 90 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Unbelieveable price for a full sized laptop

09/08/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this purchase. It was everything WalMart said it would be. Wonderfully priced for a laptop of this caliber. I suspect the marketing slant on this was to market a laptop, reasonably priced, for the back to school crowd. However, it would be a powerful machine even for the business traveler. I liked the fact that it had a reliable AMD processor. I think the AMD cpu's run cooler which is a life-giving plus in the laptop world where dissipating heat is a problem. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 91 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice laptop for the price.

09/08/2011
By ,
Charleston IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart speedy deliver was great it only took a couple of days at no extra cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 92 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT BUY!!

09/08/2011
By ,
Waycross, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mother of 3, full time college student, and always on the go. This laptop is great! I fully charged the battery before I used it and then I left it ON until the battery died. I recharged the battery and now the battery lasts for 3 days! This is great considering I am always on the go and not much time to stop and charge it. It is great for all your computer needs and gaming (mmorpg). Easily connects to hotspots. I also purchased the Gateway 2wire ($107.00 & free shipping at ATT.com) for my home networking. This too was a great buy! I have 2 desktops & 1 laptop. (All 3 Compaq). Does not effect the speed! I also drove 8 blocks before I lost my hotspot from home! My laptop even convinced my best friend to buy this laptop and she loves it as well. Bought a cheap wireless mouse from Biglots and had no problem getting it to work. (Only because I'm not use to the built-in mouse yet) LOL. Camera/Web Cam are easy to use and works great. Listen to music cds, watch dvds, or burn either not a problem. Great for streaming as well. Planning to purchase 3 more of these for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great PC for a Great Price

08/19/2011
By ,
Jackson Heights, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets be honest..if you are looking for a gamer, web designer, music production studio or the like, this is NOT the pc for you..BUT, if you are looking to surf the web, download and store music, stream movies, work on spreadsheets or word processing, this baby will fit the bill perfectly. The AMD is a great little processor and upgrading the RAM will speed it up just fine. You cannot beat the price or the shipping and Wally World backs up their purchases, So I am a Happy Camper..
I own 2 Compaqs, both from walmart.com and I have no complaints..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 94 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Beyond my expectations

08/17/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop has been GREAT so far, I purchased it about a week ago and it's still okay. lol. Honestly it has a great appearance, but a little oddly shaped. The keyboard reminds me of a macbook, the picture quality is by far the best I have seen on a PC. The negatives are it picks up fingerprints so fast and it isn’t so much disk space but I just use it for my college work so it works for me. I recommend those who are going to use this as a fulltime laptop get a memory stick and save files on there so it will reduce its memory usage. Other than that this computer was a great purchase so far and at an affordable price :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 95 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Quality Laptop

12/26/2011
By ,
New Hampshrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this laptop for Christmas. My mom bought it on black friday, so i dont think you can buy it in stores or online anymore, not sure. I am really happy with this laptop, and would recommend it to a friend. It has Windows 7. It runs pretty fast too. It has a cd slot and three usb outlets. It comes with the charger and instruction manuals, battery, and thats about it. The start up is straight forward and very usful. The keyboard is great. Screen resolution is great too. The webcam isnt too bad for a laptop webcam. I have a wireless mouse with it and it works great! Overall, a great buy for $198!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 96 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/21/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first laptop computer, I am very happy with it and would recommed it to anyone who wants a good inexpepsive and reliable laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 97 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
09/14/2011
By ,
Gilbert AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great laptop for Junior High kids!!! it has all the essentials to work with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 98 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop for a teen...

12/28/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this laptop computer for our 14 year old grandson for Christmas, and needless to say, he was thrilled. The laptop was easily set-up before wrapping it. It's sharp looking, with a more than adequate viewing area. Walmart's Black Friday price was excellent, of course, and the Compaq name instills confidence in the machine's quality. They've been around forever. This computer should give Scottie hours of fun and ample homework help. So far, we're all very pleased with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 99 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Price

09/14/2011
By ,
Wallace, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this laptop I have no complaints so far. Its better than I thought it would be the price threw me off for $298 what is there to complain about? I feel some people want a very high performance computer for pennies which is not going to happen. I just have to get used to this keyboard its a little different than I'm use to. If you looking for a good low price laptop for school, web browsing, music downloads, ect.. this laptop would be great for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 100 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

One Of The Best Laptops I've Owned

08/24/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect for the super low price,but I was pleasantly surprised! I have owned quite a few computers and use to build my own desktops,so I have experience with using them. This laptop is as good as any I have paid a much larger price for! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
81-100 of 136 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 Next