Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Simple style for everyday computing is accessible at last. This black Presario 15.6" notebook computer gives you mobile PC essentials at an exceptional price. Take your work and fun with you and get connected online for everyday tasks, entertainment, email, Facebook and more on this Compaq laptop PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.126 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation81%142 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great product.

11/27/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the CQ56 (The one right before this one.) and I LOVE it. I have never had any problems with it. The battery doesn't have the longest life, but neither do most laptops. It is a great laptop. I thought it would be ok because it was pretty cheap and I hear that you get what you pay for, but I really don't see any difference between this and a more expensive one. My grandfather wanted to get a computer on Black Friday and I suggested this. He got it for 198. :] Works great with the HP 1051 Printer. That was in the Black Friday sale too. Hope this helps :]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We searched for a long time for the perfect deal on our laptop and for $250 we couldn't find a better bargain. Battery life is accurate. My only complaint is that it's a bit heavy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 83 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

all AAA"s

09/05/2011
By ,
Travelers rest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought for a xmas gift.I started it up just to make sure it was working.otherwise it stays in the closet until christmas.I have a compaq i have been useing three urs now.and there great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good laptop for its design

08/01/2011
By ,
SW Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this knowing about the processor becuase i am an environmental science major. I bought this specifcally for the processor, it has an ultra low wattage processor( By slow I mean sometimes it takes 2 seconds to open a program or it takes a little longer to downlaod updates, things like that.Once you open a program it runs smoothly). That means it runs a little slow but it has some advantages. It has excellent graphics(dedicated), it saves on battery life, and it runs cool. Thats important because the more energy a processor uses the hotter the laptpop gets and the shorter its life. It wasnt meant to be the best laptop, it was meant to be a long lasting basic laptop. So it is meant for people who primarily use microsoft office, some older games, to watch movies in high definition, web cam,email, and other basic uses. I bought this and I am happy with it. It plays the programs I need for college like starry night enthusiast for my astronomy course. Best of all, unlike my previous couple of laptops it doesnt get hot and I dont need a laptop cooler/fan to keep it cool(which also saves me money). It is also very light and very portable,which is great for students and frequent travelers. Another nice thing is it comes with a web cam. So if you want a great basic laptop that will last you a long time then get this. Just dont expect more then what it was designed for. I would recommend this to most people I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+212points
Review 85 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

One Of The Best Laptops I've Owned

08/24/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't know what to expect for the super low price,but I was pleasantly surprised! I have owned quite a few computers and use to build my own desktops,so I have experience with using them. This laptop is as good as any I have paid a much larger price for! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 86 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great starter laptop

08/24/2011
By ,
El Paso, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great laptop for a great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 87 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/21/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first laptop computer, I am very happy with it and would recommed it to anyone who wants a good inexpepsive and reliable laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 88 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

10/14/2011
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a fast, efficient laptop; great quality for a great price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
09/14/2011
By ,
Gilbert AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great laptop for Junior High kids!!! it has all the essentials to work with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 90 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Deal

12/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The most important thing when buying a computer is the processor. You want to make sure any computer you buy has a duel core processor. This computer has it (AMD Dual-Core C-50 processor).
I've had this laptop for 2 months now and it works great. Fast web surfing, plays media, great graphics, everything. no problems.
If you want to go one step higher get a pc with the Intel I3 processor but for the money you can't beat this machine.
Maynard
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 91 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Price

09/14/2011
By ,
Wallace, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this laptop I have no complaints so far. Its better than I thought it would be the price threw me off for $298 what is there to complain about? I feel some people want a very high performance computer for pennies which is not going to happen. I just have to get used to this keyboard its a little different than I'm use to. If you looking for a good low price laptop for school, web browsing, music downloads, ect.. this laptop would be great for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 92 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Compaq

12/24/2011
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a nice laptop for the price. It has sufficient memory and hard drive storage for my needs. Depends on what you are going to use this for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
01/11/2012
By ,
newbedford mass
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this laptop my first ever I loved it, it was perfect for me. being computor illiterate I learned a whole lot on this laptop I put it on layaway on 10/17/2011 cause I had saved for so long to get a laptop. and then I won 200$ on a scratch ticket I went and got it off layaway right away got it home opened it it was all I could ask for in a laptop I loved it hence the word loved it well I took a trip that someone else paid for to go to ga. to help my daaughter out with her 3 boys and her pregancy and on my way back to mass at the last moment someone stole it off the peterpanbus lines just my luck i guess but i would recomend this for anyone its a good buy and a good deal if you dont have a lot of fiances truly annette a loyal customer
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 94 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Really Great

09/18/2011
By ,
Santa Ana, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for some gaming,photoshop, and it worked flawlessly. Handled older games on max settings and Adobe PhotoShop CS5.1 ran smoothly. I recommend removing all the added software since it makes the laptop lag. Other than that it ran great. Upgrade the ram too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 95 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Perfect first laptop!

08/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this laptop. Its simple, easy to use and very good quality for the price you pay. I can't seem to find any problems with it. I didn't have to high of expectations for it, but was i wrong! Some people were saying that the laptop is slow? Not at all. Once you get java, adobe, a anti-virus scanner & delete the stupid "free" stuff that laptop comes with, its pretty much as fast as you could wish for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 96 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Quality Laptop

12/26/2011
By ,
New Hampshrie
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this laptop for Christmas. My mom bought it on black friday, so i dont think you can buy it in stores or online anymore, not sure. I am really happy with this laptop, and would recommend it to a friend. It has Windows 7. It runs pretty fast too. It has a cd slot and three usb outlets. It comes with the charger and instruction manuals, battery, and thats about it. The start up is straight forward and very usful. The keyboard is great. Screen resolution is great too. The webcam isnt too bad for a laptop webcam. I have a wireless mouse with it and it works great! Overall, a great buy for $198!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 97 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I love this laptop! Great value for the money!

08/05/2011
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It comes with everything you could possibly need. I bought it for my grandson for school and he was on it all day and night! Very easy to set up and get running too. I would recommend this to everyone who needs a laptop for their personal use or for schoolwork.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 98 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A happy laptop newbie.

08/05/2011
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all these years I hesitated using anything other than my old desktop because I work from home and don't travel, but finally I gave in when I went on vacation and HAD to have access to my files. Considering these things used to cost 3 times this amount, I didn't have high expectations but I have to say, I just love this little guy. I was able to load all my software without any issues (and the fact this has a CD/DVD drive was very helpful!), and not only all my data files but even several videos and all my music. I was staying at a place with free WiFi so that was also a real plus. It's just a tad heavy compared to all the newer tablets, etc. but I couldn't be happier with the job it does and all of its features. And the price was just icing on the cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 99 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love it!!!

08/06/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this computer and it is completely worth the money! Great picture, sound and runs great. Alot of people have said that the computer runs slow...but we have not had this problem at all. I download things, listen to music, open video/pictures and have not once had it run slow. I have high speed internet and possibly the others have a slower connection through their service providers! All in all I am very happy with my purchase and would tell anyone to buy this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 100 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

08/06/2011
By ,
Lakeland, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to buy this laptop after testing out many others at Walmart and Best Buy. I was willing to pay up to $500 on a laptop but didn't want to if I didn't have to. I had been researching laptops for the past month and something kept bringing me back to this one. I had 3 laptops in mind and after trying this out I knew it would be the one. First thing that attracted me to it was the price. The feel of the keyboard was nice and the screen was big enough for me. I am currently a college student and full time mother and it is light enough for me to carry around. It took less than 5 minutes to hook my wireless internet up to it. The processor is really fast. Overall a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
81-100 of 136 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 Next