Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Simple style for everyday computing is accessible at last. This black Presario 15.6" notebook computer gives you mobile PC essentials at an exceptional price. Take your work and fun with you and get connected online for everyday tasks, entertainment, email, Facebook and more on this Compaq laptop PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.126 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation81%142 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great product.

11/27/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the CQ56 (The one right before this one.) and I LOVE it. I have never had any problems with it. The battery doesn't have the longest life, but neither do most laptops. It is a great laptop. I thought it would be ok because it was pretty cheap and I hear that you get what you pay for, but I really don't see any difference between this and a more expensive one. My grandfather wanted to get a computer on Black Friday and I suggested this. He got it for 198. :] Works great with the HP 1051 Printer. That was in the Black Friday sale too. Hope this helps :]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 82 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Unbelieveable price for a full sized laptop

09/08/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this purchase. It was everything WalMart said it would be. Wonderfully priced for a laptop of this caliber. I suspect the marketing slant on this was to market a laptop, reasonably priced, for the back to school crowd. However, it would be a powerful machine even for the business traveler. I liked the fact that it had a reliable AMD processor. I think the AMD cpu's run cooler which is a life-giving plus in the laptop world where dissipating heat is a problem. I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 83 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Nice laptop for the price.

09/08/2011
By ,
Charleston IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart speedy deliver was great it only took a couple of days at no extra cost!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 84 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for big family that has children in school for home work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 85 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great for Home Schooling

12/31/2011
By ,
Hartland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought three of these to help our boys with homeschooling. They are solid and handle everything necessary to watch their school video classes and make reports, etc.
On a less important note: The boys like the windows 7 gadget features and they even handle some of our older PC games... Like Homeworld which they can link together and competitively play once in a while.
Some items I thought about once I bought these was:
They laptop comes with 2G of ram and is up-gradable to 8Gigs. Not necessary, but might upgrade to improve the video streaming.
There is no S-Cable video out feature to connect to a TV with. Not important since it has other ports to use, I just had a S-Cable from an older model.
The CD/DVD Writer is great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 86 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT BUY!!

09/08/2011
By ,
Waycross, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mother of 3, full time college student, and always on the go. This laptop is great! I fully charged the battery before I used it and then I left it ON until the battery died. I recharged the battery and now the battery lasts for 3 days! This is great considering I am always on the go and not much time to stop and charge it. It is great for all your computer needs and gaming (mmorpg). Easily connects to hotspots. I also purchased the Gateway 2wire ($107.00 & free shipping at ATT.com) for my home networking. This too was a great buy! I have 2 desktops & 1 laptop. (All 3 Compaq). Does not effect the speed! I also drove 8 blocks before I lost my hotspot from home! My laptop even convinced my best friend to buy this laptop and she loves it as well. Bought a cheap wireless mouse from Biglots and had no problem getting it to work. (Only because I'm not use to the built-in mouse yet) LOL. Camera/Web Cam are easy to use and works great. Listen to music cds, watch dvds, or burn either not a problem. Great for streaming as well. Planning to purchase 3 more of these for Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Awesome for the price

01/02/2012
By ,
Brunswick GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this Laptop for Christmas. I couldnt ask for anything more. The only complaint i have is that when your trying to open a program its kind of sluggish but for the price its perfect. Only being a 1GHz Laptop i was sceptical but its perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 88 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love it!!!

08/06/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this computer and it is completely worth the money! Great picture, sound and runs great. Alot of people have said that the computer runs slow...but we have not had this problem at all. I download things, listen to music, open video/pictures and have not once had it run slow. I have high speed internet and possibly the others have a slower connection through their service providers! All in all I am very happy with my purchase and would tell anyone to buy this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 89 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

all AAA"s

09/05/2011
By ,
Travelers rest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought for a xmas gift.I started it up just to make sure it was working.otherwise it stays in the closet until christmas.I have a compaq i have been useing three urs now.and there great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great starter laptop

08/24/2011
By ,
El Paso, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a great laptop for a great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 91 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

08/06/2011
By ,
Lakeland, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to buy this laptop after testing out many others at Walmart and Best Buy. I was willing to pay up to $500 on a laptop but didn't want to if I didn't have to. I had been researching laptops for the past month and something kept bringing me back to this one. I had 3 laptops in mind and after trying this out I knew it would be the one. First thing that attracted me to it was the price. The feel of the keyboard was nice and the screen was big enough for me. I am currently a college student and full time mother and it is light enough for me to carry around. It took less than 5 minutes to hook my wireless internet up to it. The processor is really fast. Overall a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 92 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

07/15/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never had a laptop before this, only a flat screen desktop and for years I would tell my husband that one day I want to get a laptop. Well, in March of this year we were in Walmart,( not shopping for electronics), and my husband suggested we stop by and look at the computers. I first had my eyes on a DELL with a 19' screen but then I saw this computer and I've been enjoying it ever since. I'm glad my hubby told me to go ahead and get a laptop since I always talked about getting one anyone. Great Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+140points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC w
Posted 01/11/2012
I have had this laptop for several months and love it. I have worked on more expensive HP's, but honestly this one is great. I continue to find neat things this computer offers each time I use it. For the money, the laptop cannot be beat. The keyboard has a great feel. One thing I particularly like..if you are watching a video or playing music...just hit a key at the top of the keyboard..either turns sound up or down. Several keys that act as macros. Videos and pics are so clear and as far as speed of the computer, I believe you will be surprised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 93 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop for the price!!!!

11/28/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was lucky to get this on black Friday and couldnt be happier. For $198 It cant be beat. I would have paid $400 and still would have been a good deal. Fast, easy to use and the wireless works great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
01/01/2012
By ,
Orlando,Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think it was an excellent value for the price. I have several HP products and am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 95 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT

11/25/2011
By ,
BC, MICHIGAN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this computer after my graduation party to do online college, This computer does work great, Ive never had any problems with it. I have many pictures on it because i am a photographer and much music on it also and i also play games and it still runs great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 96 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Awesome deal

09/09/2011
By ,
Chillicothe Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer along with all the other stuff is what made me go for it. I got a great price for great products. Still getting used to it but so far it is an awesome computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 97 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Perfect first laptop!

08/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this laptop. Its simple, easy to use and very good quality for the price you pay. I can't seem to find any problems with it. I didn't have to high of expectations for it, but was i wrong! Some people were saying that the laptop is slow? Not at all. Once you get java, adobe, a anti-virus scanner & delete the stupid "free" stuff that laptop comes with, its pretty much as fast as you could wish for.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 98 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great value. would recommend

10/11/2011
By ,
Horton, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great laptop for the price. so far does what i bought it for. when first got it, it constantly had to update but now, only as needed. after one of those updates, something happened to remove the dvd drive, however, called hp support and they corrected the problem fairly easily and quickly. am very satisfied so far with the product and would recommend it to others
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 99 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good product/great price

01/02/2012
By ,
Kampsville IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for our 14yr. old son. So far it is meeting all expectations. We were so pleased with the purchase, as it was a good computer at a very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
01/02/2012
By ,
colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent for daughters college classes, good memory, speed, she is able to do all including web-conferences, and on-line projects.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
81-100 of 136 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7 Next