Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Simple style for everyday computing is accessible at last. This black Presario 15.6" notebook computer gives you mobile PC essentials at an exceptional price. Take your work and fun with you and get connected online for everyday tasks, entertainment, email, Facebook and more on this Compaq laptop PC.
Average Customer Rating:
4.126 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(175 Reviews) 135
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation81%142 out of 175reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great PC for a Great Price

08/19/2011
By ,
Jackson Heights, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lets be honest..if you are looking for a gamer, web designer, music production studio or the like, this is NOT the pc for you..BUT, if you are looking to surf the web, download and store music, stream movies, work on spreadsheets or word processing, this baby will fit the bill perfectly. The AMD is a great little processor and upgrading the RAM will speed it up just fine. You cannot beat the price or the shipping and Wally World backs up their purchases, So I am a Happy Camper..
I own 2 Compaqs, both from walmart.com and I have no complaints..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 2 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Afforable for my purpose

10/14/2011
By ,
Bangor, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a Computer Lab in my music studio for children as young as 4 through adults to use. Students use two music theory programs and a music writing program after their lessons. The price was the best around. All my students are able to use it with ease. I am very satisfied with it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Better than I expected

07/28/2011
By ,
Sarasota, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this laptop because I love to write and needed an extra computer besides my home one that I could dedicate to my own projects. When I looked at the display in the store for some reason I thought that maybe I would be taking it back in a few days due to low performance but I was pleasantly surprised. The display quality is great, the speed is just fine and the keyboard has a nice quiet touch to it. Even though the processor is an AMD 1.0, all of my applications that I have downloaded did not have any lag time. I wasn't looking to run anything heavy like Adobe CS5, so as long as it it could handle Office 2010, I was happy. The chassis doesn't heat up even when I leave it for 6 hours + which I appreciate also. The design of it allows bigger hands (like mine) to rest comfortably while typing without falling of the keyboard. The only drawback is that it does not have a number pad but if you don't mind that, it's no problem. Besides, if you need one, they sell USB ones pretty cheap. I've had it for about a week now and I am very pleased. Great for students, surfers or any light users !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Awesome Laptop but...

07/24/2011
By ,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Im just starting high school so i thought it would be a good idea to geta laptop for homework and projects. But i need one within a small budget. My goal was to stay under 350 and this laptop fit that price range perfectly. If your looking for the most bang for youor buck this is the laptop for you.
Pros: great keyboard, mouse pad in the center of laptop, long battery life, lightweight, volume controls on keyboard. webcam is very useful
Cons: isnt the fastest laptop (doesnt matter to me but its the fastest your going to get for a 300 dollar laptop, shows fingerprints easily. (not a huge problem, because they easily come of with a cloth, webcam color is a little off.
Other than those few cons this laptop ishighly recommended for anyone. it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+275points
Review 5 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Better than expected....

06/30/2011
By ,
Indian Trail, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some time in about June 18th I decided to gift myself a laptop since I had a router set up for the Roku's and it would be nice to sit out in the yard and surf the net. I had aimed at $299 Acer from Circuit City but discovered that included waiting 8 to 10 weeks to recover a $100 rebate from 2 different companies. And even then it would not be a straightforward rebate check but an Amex debit card to spend in certain places. They tell you this AFTER charging your credit card $399! The good news is backing out of the deal was painless. Later, while sulking around WallyWorld's Indian Trail store's electronics dept. I came upon the Compaq CQ 57 for $299! This unit has the same features as the afore mentioned Acer: 2 gigs of RAM, 250 gbs hard drive,AMD Dual Core C50 processor, DVD burner, card reader, etc. with Windows 7 home premium. My best & most successful desk top has been a 7 year old Compaq Pressario with an AMD heart. But alas, while all the area WM's had a display model there were none to sell. I finally found a store in Indian Land, SC that had some. I told you this because getting this from Walmart.com delivered to your door for .97 is a terriffic and painless deal.
The computer works as expected, found my LAN quickly and effortlessly and Windows 7 is smooth and sure. I have had only XP up to now. You can boost RAM up to 8 gbs . On the downside there is no seperate number pad so you have to use the ones across the top. You weren't planning on running your accounting practise on a $300 laptop were you?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+707points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
???
Posted 12/08/2011
didnt circuit city go out of business a few years ago? lol
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good laptop for its design

08/01/2011
By ,
SW Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this knowing about the processor becuase i am an environmental science major. I bought this specifcally for the processor, it has an ultra low wattage processor( By slow I mean sometimes it takes 2 seconds to open a program or it takes a little longer to downlaod updates, things like that.Once you open a program it runs smoothly). That means it runs a little slow but it has some advantages. It has excellent graphics(dedicated), it saves on battery life, and it runs cool. Thats important because the more energy a processor uses the hotter the laptpop gets and the shorter its life. It wasnt meant to be the best laptop, it was meant to be a long lasting basic laptop. So it is meant for people who primarily use microsoft office, some older games, to watch movies in high definition, web cam,email, and other basic uses. I bought this and I am happy with it. It plays the programs I need for college like starry night enthusiast for my astronomy course. Best of all, unlike my previous couple of laptops it doesnt get hot and I dont need a laptop cooler/fan to keep it cool(which also saves me money). It is also very light and very portable,which is great for students and frequent travelers. Another nice thing is it comes with a web cam. So if you want a great basic laptop that will last you a long time then get this. Just dont expect more then what it was designed for. I would recommend this to most people I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+212points
Review 7 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

AWESOME BUY!!!

07/26/2011
By ,
cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one of these for my daughter, by the way my daughter is rough very very rough on things and this is the ONLY computer that has been able to keep up with her, this computer is super durable no doubt durable, she does a lot of online gaming, so it is great for gaming. I can't believe how long her Compaq has lasted, buy this computer and you won't have to worry about buying another for a very very long time. LOVE IT because she doesn't have to call me every other day to fix it like all the others she has had, and she has been through many many computers!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 8 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop

08/06/2011
By ,
Lakeland, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decided to buy this laptop after testing out many others at Walmart and Best Buy. I was willing to pay up to $500 on a laptop but didn't want to if I didn't have to. I had been researching laptops for the past month and something kept bringing me back to this one. I had 3 laptops in mind and after trying this out I knew it would be the one. First thing that attracted me to it was the price. The feel of the keyboard was nice and the screen was big enough for me. I am currently a college student and full time mother and it is light enough for me to carry around. It took less than 5 minutes to hook my wireless internet up to it. The processor is really fast. Overall a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 9 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

A happy laptop newbie.

08/05/2011
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For all these years I hesitated using anything other than my old desktop because I work from home and don't travel, but finally I gave in when I went on vacation and HAD to have access to my files. Considering these things used to cost 3 times this amount, I didn't have high expectations but I have to say, I just love this little guy. I was able to load all my software without any issues (and the fact this has a CD/DVD drive was very helpful!), and not only all my data files but even several videos and all my music. I was staying at a place with free WiFi so that was also a real plus. It's just a tad heavy compared to all the newer tablets, etc. but I couldn't be happier with the job it does and all of its features. And the price was just icing on the cake.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 10 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love it!!!

08/06/2011
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this computer and it is completely worth the money! Great picture, sound and runs great. Alot of people have said that the computer runs slow...but we have not had this problem at all. I download things, listen to music, open video/pictures and have not once had it run slow. I have high speed internet and possibly the others have a slower connection through their service providers! All in all I am very happy with my purchase and would tell anyone to buy this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 11 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

07/15/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never had a laptop before this, only a flat screen desktop and for years I would tell my husband that one day I want to get a laptop. Well, in March of this year we were in Walmart,( not shopping for electronics), and my husband suggested we stop by and look at the computers. I first had my eyes on a DELL with a 19' screen but then I saw this computer and I've been enjoying it ever since. I'm glad my hubby told me to go ahead and get a laptop since I always talked about getting one anyone. Great Buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+140points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC w
Posted 01/11/2012
I have had this laptop for several months and love it. I have worked on more expensive HP's, but honestly this one is great. I continue to find neat things this computer offers each time I use it. For the money, the laptop cannot be beat. The keyboard has a great feel. One thing I particularly like..if you are watching a video or playing music...just hit a key at the top of the keyboard..either turns sound up or down. Several keys that act as macros. Videos and pics are so clear and as far as speed of the computer, I believe you will be surprised.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The quality you are receiving.

10/03/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The laptop for 300 dollars is a HUGE deal.
Your getting a dual core processor this is the only negative i have on the laptop.
2gb ddr3 ram thats very good
AMD graphics
15.6 720HD SCREEN!!!!!
Windows 7 Home Premium
Okay so when i got this laptop i was iffy i thought well what if it doesn't do the things i need it to do. I read all the reviews here and when i finally get the laptop it has had exceptional speed. I looked at the windows rating and on avg its ranks about a 4.5. The processor however if i could upgrade it i would. it ranks alone a 2.8 and that's low on my scales. A program i would suggest to people if you want this laptop to run good is CCLEANER defiantly helps improvements in speed on this laptop Also i suggest Google chrome i tried Firefox its good too but still you want to get somewhere faster id get Google chrome.
If you are into java games like Rune Scape or even Apps on Facebook like Yoville this laptop will run them both! AT THE SAME TIME.
I would suggest this to the average gamer or someone who is getting through college and needs a cheap laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Laptop for those with basic needs.

08/01/2011
By ,
Ky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this computer for my mother. She has very basic laptop needs. This laptop was affordable and suited her just fine. Our only problems, initially it took the laptop a very long time to open each program, nearly locked up on us every time. Now it seems to be running smoothly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Review 14 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

WARNING!! USB Problem

08/09/2011
By ,
Sault Ste Marie, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer and it works perfectly fine, but there is a small problem with the USB port! I also bought a wireless keyboard and mouse and inserted the receiver into the computer; later that day I tried to remove it but couldn't, ended up pulling the receiver from the little metal clip. I was able to put the receiver back in and I am still able to use the additional mouse and keyboard. I was wondering if only the receiver was a little big, but when making an image of the computer for if it crashes; I noticed again I had a problem inserting the USB cord when I pulled it out again it was a little hard, thankfully this one didn't break or anything. I recommend that unless you don't want the USB device back, don't plug it in or be carefull removing the object.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 15 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I love this laptop! Great value for the money!

08/05/2011
By ,
Daytona Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It comes with everything you could possibly need. I bought it for my grandson for school and he was on it all day and night! Very easy to set up and get running too. I would recommend this to everyone who needs a laptop for their personal use or for schoolwork.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 16 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

I Love My Computer =)

08/13/2011
By ,
Steamburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just graduated Highschool and i recieved a 200 dollar scholarship and i didnt know what to do with it so i purchased this laptop. I plan on using it for college. I think this is a great computer. It isn't slow. The only problem I have noticed so far is that you can see fingerprints on both the screen and the top of it. but other than that i would HIGHLY recomend this computer. I have been very happy with it sence i purchased it. It's easy to use, it comes with a few games that are fun to play. It downloads things fast. I hope i helped =).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 17 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/11/2011
By ,
Rowlett, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a retired senior citizen, this computer is perfect for me. I
use it for email, scrapbook blogs, shopping, etc. It might not
be fast enough for serious computer users, but I really like it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 18 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Beyond my expectations

08/17/2011
By ,
Philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop has been GREAT so far, I purchased it about a week ago and it's still okay. lol. Honestly it has a great appearance, but a little oddly shaped. The keyboard reminds me of a macbook, the picture quality is by far the best I have seen on a PC. The negatives are it picks up fingerprints so fast and it isn’t so much disk space but I just use it for my college work so it works for me. I recommend those who are going to use this as a fulltime laptop get a memory stick and save files on there so it will reduce its memory usage. Other than that this computer was a great purchase so far and at an affordable price :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 19 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Wasn't what I expected...

07/13/2011
By ,
Bronx, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Yes price is great but this pc is so slow who would believe it has windows 7. I purchased this as a gift for my partner he explained he thought something was wrong with it because even running programs on it took forever to load and it would keep freezing. I took it upon myself to check it out and he was right its just not worth buying. I own the Toshiba Satelite its a few dollars more but a great pc, I am going to exchange this one for that now. Hopefully this will help you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Toshiba Satellite Helios Grey 15.6" L655-S5112 Laptop PC with Intel Core i5-460M Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+62points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Springtown, TX
Huh?
Posted 08/04/2011
Only problem is the Toshiba is more than double the price of the Compaq.
+3points
Customer Avatar
okc
This is a descent laptop.
Posted 07/18/2011
I think this is a good laptop for a beginner. Especially for the price, you really cant beat it.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Compaq Black 15.6" Presario CQ57-229WM Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Decent machine, don't expect a lot at this price

10/05/2011
By ,
MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So what's to say it's a typical laptop with the minimum requirements needed to run Win7. Since it only meets the min requirements that means disabling Aero and other "cool" features of Win7 to stop it from being dog slow.
I do not particularly like the mouse and mouse buttons. The mouse pad is so large that I constantly bump it with my hand when typing causing me a lot of frustration because my cursor them moves to some random spot on the screen. The mouse buttons are also quite flimsy and the left mouse button requires a hard push in the upper-right corner to work otherwise it does nothing. The last complaint about the mouse are the features to navigate and zoom which work like a mobile phone. The problem is the two-finger scroll rarely recognizes I have two fingers on the mouse and the screen is constantly zooming in and out at the slightest touch of the mouse pad.
Overall a decent computer for the price just don't expect a lot and you'll be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next