Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nook NOOK Simple Touch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nook NOOK Simple Touch

Easiest to use with the world's best reading screen & longest battery life Best–Text, ultra-crisp, reads just like paper – even in bright sun Longest battery life – read for over 2 months based on a half hour of daily reading Over 3 million books, get them in seconds w/ built-in Wi-Fi No annoying ads Always free NOOK support in-store Borrow books from your public library Register your new NOOK and receive $5 credit to spend on NOOK Books, apps, movies and more in the NOOK Store.  Credit expires 5 days after registration.
Average Customer Rating:
4.163 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
45
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
20
Customer Recommendation85%176 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
45
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
20
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NOOK Simple Touch

Stays charged 2 weeks with wi-fi turned on Love it

07/04/2011
By ,
Pound, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned the other model that is white and I had to charge it every 2 days I had just bought it and then the touch ereader came out so I returned the other one and bought the touch ereader. This one stays charged for 2 weeks with the wi-fi turned on. I haven't tried it with the wi-fi turned off. I have a light that I purchased from barns and noble to read at night, but during the day I don't need one. It is bright and clear in direct sunlight and in normal lighting. I have a Nook Color also and I can't use it outdoors because you can't see the screen so I alternate betwen the 2 of them depending on my location. Don't forget to download your free book every Friday at Barns and noble's website.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+688points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tennessee
questin
Posted 06/14/2012
i want one for christmas but do u have to have ur own wifi
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for NOOK Simple Touch

I LOVE IT!

01/17/2012
By ,
Temecula, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with my purchase! Given the amount of time comparing it with other ebook readers, this won me over with its compact design, very much light-weight, and its crisp text display (It's not like reading through your computer screen, it's like you're actually reading on an actual book which I really love). The battery life is amazing! I bought this on December 30, 2011 and until now it still doesn't need recharging. I use it everyday, and I find myself reading more. I am really not interested in playing games on Nook or listen to music, so this really met all my expectations because I just want it solely for reading. Great choices of books from B&N, I love the highlight feature and also the quick look up definition feature and you can also change the font size. Above all, it's very user-friendly. I didn't even need to read more on the manual because right when I open my Nook Simple Touch for the first time, it has a quick and easy tutorial that helps you navigate your device. From the name itself, it's very simple to use, it turns the page faster which makes reading so easy. I love the design, it's small and I can just put it in my purse and it doesn't even take so much space in it. I love that it can read .pdf files and I can transfer my files on my Nook Simple Touch. I enjoy everything about this device, and I would recommend it to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 3 for NOOK Simple Touch

Great!!! But...

08/11/2011
By ,
SoCal and Middle East
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very impressed. Bought the Nook for my 15 year old son and loved it so got one for myself. Very impressed! Only three negatives that I have found.
1. Almost every book I have found on BN for the Nook is more expensive by at least a few dollars than the exact same book available for the Kindle. This is disappointing....
2. I actually live in the Middle East. So, when I returned found I am not able to purchase books or newspapers, etc from here. Only for residents of the US. My billing and resident address is in the US! Now, I admit, I probably could have researched this. But, there does not seem to be a good reason for this. I am still a resident of the US! But, there is a way around this... but it is a pain in the...
3. When using in the sun/heat the touch screen does not always work until it is cooler.
But the Nook itself is a great product. Light enough for reading. Clear screen. Like it a lot.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bahrain
Middle East also
Posted 11/19/2011
I also live temporarily in the Middle East. I'm contemplating purchasing the Nook, but if I'm not able to purchase books or publications here, not sure I'll pursue it. Same issue with Pandora, etc. You mention that you found a way around this... Can you give more info? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for NOOK Simple Touch

Good e-reader, but has some problems

09/06/2011
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love my nook. I spent a while trying to decide between a kindle or a nook. I decided on the nook because it has better features and I had a gift card for Wal-mart which doesn't sell kindle. I love that I can download books for free from my library and that there are so many choices for books at Barnes & Noble. I do have problem with my nook though. Sometimes there is shadowing from the previous page which can be annoying and the screen tends to freeze up. I learned that if I plug it in and then hold the on/off button for about 30 second that I can force my nook to shut down. But somedays it continues to freeze. The forward & back buttons still work though so I can still read just no do anything else. I would return it for a new one, but my return time frame at walmart has ended. Over all good, but I would get an extended warranty on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+66points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ohio
Check Barnes & Noble
Posted 01/21/2014
The support for these sort of things in Barnes and Noble is supposed to be exceptional.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for NOOK Simple Touch
12/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nook Simple Touch is a great e-reader. Since reading books is all I wanted to do with it, it is just wonderful. Having a computer, I didn't need to go to the web with it or play games, etc., so this Nook is prefect for me and I have no problems with it except "operator" ones. Had no problems with shipping to my home (free) and it arrived when they said it would. Since I am not very "technolgy" savvy, I went to my local public library and they helped me register the Nook because I had to had wi-fi to do that and I was having trouble getting one to use at home. Probably no problem to someone else, but it was greek to me. The library personnel also told me what download (free) I needed from their library for my computer. I went home and downloaded the software. I then went to the library site on my computer and "borrowed" a book from them and then side loaded it to my Nook at home - no problem, no wi-fi. Notice I said "side loaded" - I am gettting better at this.
I researched the Kindle and Nook very throughly and I found this Nook to be the only one that said you could download books from a public library. Kindle may have that capability, but it was not stated in anything that I read. The Nook Simple Touch is a great product for the money. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 6 for NOOK Simple Touch

Better than original Nook

08/06/2011
By ,
Roanoke, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned the original Nook but didn't like the fact that indexes had to be navigated using the arrows on the bottom touch screen. That was very slow. With the new Nook I can touch the link to the chapter directly, a much better solution. Word searches aren't any faster than before and I guess that's because ebook readers don't have quick processors like smart phones do. That plus the lack of a color graphics display is why the battery life on ebook readers is much longer. The microSD card slot on the new Nook is externally accessible unlike the internal position for the old Nook. My daughter now has that one. I didn't consider the Kindle because of the proprietary ebook format Amazon uses and the fact that it doesn't have a touch screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Review 7 for NOOK Simple Touch

nook soft touch

12/03/2013
By ,
sardis , al
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved it at first. Then found out all books listed to purchase aren't compatible with this system only after purchasing several books that I read that only part of the book down loaded. My thing is if it isn't compatible it shouldn't be listed on this nook ! I was refunded one of the books cost but I am not using this product anymore and would not advise another person to purchase one. I regret I have already done so, when I first purchased it told a friend about it and they purchased one. I just hope they don't hold it against me !
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 8 for NOOK Simple Touch

An Amazing Incredible Machine

07/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing item! I loved my original version of the e-ink nook (the white one) but this one is so much more amazing! I love the touch screen. It's super responsive. This nook has many features that I wished my old one had. You have the option to find any page by typing in the number, unlike the original that had that weird and frustrating page selection bar. You have the option to jump back and forth to any chapter as well from the table of contents. And the dictionary is one of my favorite features. Just touch and hold a word for two seconds and the nook gives you the option to look up the word instantly! No keying it in personally needed! This nook is also great for anyone that's a fan of manga. The original e-ink nook would cut the bottom of the pages leaving parts of conversations unseen, but this nook gives you the option to shrink the page slightly to fit everything on the screen. Now this nook doesn't have a web browser or games like the original but with everyone having smart-phones and i-pods this shouldn't deter you. It's also smaller and lighter than the original, doesn't tire out your wrists like the original dose after a couple of hours. The power button on this devise is also impossible to bump and turn on or off by accident; so no accidental battery drainage. Bottom like this is a great devise! If you're on the fence take the plunge! You'll be glad you did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+433points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nook
Posted 09/01/2012
my mom is thinking about getting one and i just wanted to know if you can get 3g for it or is it only wifi?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for NOOK Simple Touch

Best E-reader on the market.

07/22/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Firstly, this is a device dedicated to reading. It was designed to do one thing, and do it spectacularly well-- Read books.
The screen is not like a computer screen. The "page" color is a soft muted gray, and the ink is a soft, but crisp black. Since it is not back-lit, there is no eyestrain. None. Ever.
The casing is a soft silicone that makes it very easy to hold securely with just one hand. It is soooo light!
If you want to read in bed, get a book light. The screen itself has a matte finish, so there is no glare
To turn the page, lightly swipe your finger as you would on a physical book. There are also internal buttons on the sides if you wish to page turn that way.
Adjustable font size. No more reading with glasses! Yay!
It has very simple features, like you can make shelves and name them. It is an easy way to sort them. I have a "current reads" shelf, a "finished" shelf. You can name and sort however you wish!
There is nothing confusing about this device, because it has the features necessary to just read in peace. No browser to distract you, no sounds or email alerts. Because it is just a book :)
It has wi-fi so you can download from bn.com. I look for books online then search the title on BN, hit the download button, and it goes straight to my device.
I discovered anything you see in the public domain, you can find on bn.com.
When you shut it off, it saves your page.
You can highlight passages, and it saves them.
Highlight a word and tap, and you get the definition.
It has crazy long battery life.
So basically this crafty, cunning, simple little device gives you access to every book ever written. Amazing.
This device is for readers. People who love reading. The type of people who like to curl up and read all day and night, losing yourself in a literary alternative world.
I recommend getting a case for it. That way it is always protected when its not in use, and you can slip in your purse. Overstock had some super cases with accessories for like 13 bucks. Totally worth it. Do not put a screen protector on it. It completely disables the touch functions. You don't need it, especially if you have a case.
I spent en entire year researching readers. I am a voracious reader, and I made the right choice.
NOOK, baby!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Review 10 for NOOK Simple Touch

Just the reader I would design

11/19/2011
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally! A Nook without all the frills I don't need. This is just a basic reader but perfect for those who just want to read and not play games, or surf the internet, check email, etc. Simple to use, very nice size and weight. Holds enough books for anyone and with the expandable memory, you can keep your whole library at your fingertips. I own the first generation Nook but prefer this one as I wanted a basic reader with a touch screen. The battery life is great also. I've gone for two weeks without even thinking about charging it and when I checked, I still had plenty of battery life left.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 11 for NOOK Simple Touch

Nook got me reading again!

07/18/2011
By ,
Clifton Park, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The convenience of having your favorite books all in one place and being able to carry them with you wherever you go is great! I'm still on my first battery charge, so I don't have experience w/life of one charge, but this edition of the Nook is excellent because the entire screen is touch, instead of just the bottom area like the 1st edition model. The fact that I can make the font larger is a huge plus, because I'm not getting any younger :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+322points
Review 12 for NOOK Simple Touch

Good and Bad Points

12/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have thoroughly enjoyed my nook simple touch reader. Quick on/off, quick page changes, easy drag/drop loading of books. A little too much garbage on the home page for my taste, but it probably keeps the cost down. On the negative side: The on/off button on my first nook stuck. Sometimes I would have to finagle for a minute or two in order to free it so I could change its status from on to off or vice versa. Walmart replaced it without hesitation and the replacement worked beautifully for a week, then it would not unlock from sleep mode for one of the sleep screens (the others worked fine). I simply turned it off and then back on and was able to proceed. After a few more days, the nook failed to wake up from sleep mode. I could not turn it off and on, could not activate it using USB, and the chat rep and I could not perform a hard reset--doing so requires the machine to be off first and I couldn't get it to turn off. The nook's performance was such that I will try again. The first exchange was easily accomplished and I suspect the second will be equally painless. If I can find one that works, I will be a happy camper; otherwise, I may need to change brands.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Review 13 for NOOK Simple Touch

Amazing! And I got it for $60 less!!!

11/25/2011
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an amazing thing. It is perfect for me because I read none stop but never want to cary a book around. I love the touchscreen, the wifi (only to on Barnes&Noble site though..), and everything about it! And the screen isn't like an iPad, its more durable.
Now my story on how I got it $60 less! BestBuy had it on sell for $79.99, while it was $139.89 at my local walmart. There is no BestBuy anywhere near me, so I toke the printed page and went to Walmart. They gave it to me no caution And to make it even better they gave me a free 3 year warranty! I was so amazing and happy! Thank you walmart! That made my birthday.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 14 for NOOK Simple Touch

Better Deal than B&N

12/31/2011
By ,
Belchertown MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Nook Simple Reader is the same one sold at B&N and at the same price $99. The difference is that the one sold at Walmart contains the AC charger and the one sold at B&N does not. The AC charger at B&N costs an additional $20. I have bought 2 Nooks at Walmart and one at B&N and both from Walmart (In the store and on line) contained the charger so it is a better value. I am sending my friends to Walmart for this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 15 for NOOK Simple Touch

Very good basic ereader.

09/06/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this Nook because it doesn't have all the bells and whistles. It is very basic and works great. It is a basic ereader that I can download books to. The only downside is that there is a lot of steps in order to download a book that is not from Barnes & Nobles. I definetely would buy an Nook again and would recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Review 16 for NOOK Simple Touch

Love this e-reader!!!!

08/09/2011
By ,
Az.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and pleasant on the eyes for reading ...I can read much longer using the Nook.
Battery charge lasts & lasts..wonderful product!
Just would be nice and would love it if Walmart carried more options for Nook covers,though.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 17 for NOOK Simple Touch

This was a gift for my wife, she likes to read

01/03/2014
By ,
Cadiz, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my wife at christms time, on christmas day she asked our daughter, if she could download the bible on it for her, in a few minutes it was done. I think it's going to be a great reader for my wife. I'll give it an (A) Having a night light on it, I'll give it an (A+) Thanks Walmart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 18 for NOOK Simple Touch

Great product

07/31/2011
By ,
Sebring, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was hard to choose between Nook and Kindle, but I read up on both and decided Nook was the best buy for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+319points
Review 19 for NOOK Simple Touch

Great Reader

01/27/2014
By ,
Phoenix AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the small size, as it fits nicely in my purse. I love the touch screen and that I can instantly download books from my computer via Wi-Fi. I am very glad I purchased it. It is my second E-reader.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for NOOK Simple Touch
10/27/2011
By ,
mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Nook. It is very convenient to carry around, very light weight. I love the way I can move around to the different screens.
There is one thing that Idon't care for, and that is the on/off button. It takes me five to ten minutes to turn it off. I have to hold my finger just right and blink just right for it to turn off. Otherwise I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Turning Nook on and off correctly.
Posted 12/08/2011
I have found that continuing to hold the button that turns the Nook on and off will delay doing either until you stop pushing the bottom on the back in. I push it in and count to 4, release it and it either turns on or off depending on which I am trying to do. Hope this helps. It is not an instaneous thing, but then neither is my comuputer. We always think things should perform faster than they are capable of.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next