Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The black 15.6" Satellite notebook computer has everything you need to compute on the go. Communicate with friends and family with the built-in webcam. An AMD dual-core processor provides ample power for multi-tasking. The 15.6" display lets you see what you're doing easily. Windows 7 Home Premium, Microsoft's most up-to-date operating system, lets you complete tasks effortlessly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation81%126 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/07/2011
By ,
sanford, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not beat this price delivered from any source that checked on the Internet. Offered a lot of value including a huge 350gig hard drive and Windows 7 which is a fabulous update from Vista which in mind was much inferior. Toshiba seems to give more bang for the buck including high performance and gosh it is so thin! Unbelievable Value!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 62 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best laptop I've ever owned.

11/22/2011
By ,
Williamston,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment I turned my new laptop on I was very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Laptop Toshiba

10/08/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 64 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop for the person on the Go!

01/06/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with wireless or hardwire connection. Streams online movies with great clarity. I just Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
11/08/2011
By ,
greenville, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my 15yr old grandson and he adores it. Great for all the games he likes to play and wonderful for the homework and studying I like him to do. He uses the skype program daily to communicate with siblings and other family that don't live close. I have the 17" version of this and I love mine. No problems with either unit so far. Fast and plenty of storage. Unit actually faster than my desktop connected directly to internet source. Only thing I don't care for is the advertising bar on the side when using the office starter kit but for his school purposes and my writing purposes; it's not worth it to upgrade to the full version.
The Microsoft Live programs are a little tricky to figure out as they are so different than the older programs but Live does a lot more.
Light weight, no heat problems.
I really like the finish on this unit for a teenager as it is not a slick glossy finish that will show scratches and smears that I know a teenager will leave. It's more of a dark charcoal gray matte finish with small dimples that he thought was really cool looking.
We chose the wireless HP printer for him and while it's nothing super fancy it more than does what he needs it to do (papers, drawings and basic pictures) with only a few seconds delay for printing.
Case and drive are just bonuses and not much to say about them.
Overall great buy and very impressed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
11/08/2011
By ,
moab, ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
replaced an old dell laptop, this is more compact and weighs alot less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 67 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

11/23/2011
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this laptop and can't believe how inexpensive it was. I bought this to replace a Dell laptop that was at least twice as expensive...totally meets all my needs and it has Windows 7 which is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love It!

10/09/2011
By ,
Mount Pleasant, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've gone through basically one laptop per year since I've been taking college courses online, about 3 years. So far, this computer has been the best one I've bought yet, for it's price. I always try to go for the cheapest because funds are limited. This was the second cheapest Walmart offers and I'm glad I decided to go for this one and not the cheapest, because it has a lil bit more memory and is faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 69 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/18/2011
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had a desk top computer for years, this is my first and I love the convenience of not having to go into another room from the family. I like the desktop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 70 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good computer

07/18/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a good computer i do all my video editing on this so its great with cinema 4d and Photoshop cs5 and Microsoft office and sony vegas pro its just great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 71 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/13/2011
By ,
grants pass, oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a little slower than I expected but nice and light-weight.
Especially like the fact that it has a separate number keyboard and large screen
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 72 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Overall, I think it is probably a good computer.

09/09/2011
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While it seems to be a good computer, the processing speed - particularly with regard to the internet (regardless of the connection speed) seems very slow - especially for a new computer.
Other than that it is good - lightweight, bells and whistles, etc. However, for the price, there is better out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 73 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very Good!

10/20/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop performs very well. Very happy with the entire purchase.
I have recommended this to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 74 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Gets the Job Done.

07/21/2011
By ,
Edinburg, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop to replace my HP (cost $900). My first two laptops were as well toshibas and they were great, then i decided to replace them with an HP because of i so thought the features would be better, worst thing i could of done. So i have had this toshiba (which i paid $440 but because i added a wireless canon printer) laptop for two weeks already, it runs smooth and the internet speed is alot better than my HP, i don't know why people say its slow and it shuts down slow it might of just been that computer or they have bad internet connection, overall this computer is great i use it for college work and it is light weight. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a computer and is in college. its cheap and gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+251points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Tucson AZ
Warranty on Toshiba C655D-S5200 Laptops
Posted 12/07/2011
Walmart, beware of the one year warranty from Toshiba on model C655D-S5200 laptop. They WILL NOT let you send in for repair or replacement. You must do what they call a (carry in) even if you have to carry it 120 miles to the service center, at the OWNER'S cost! After the hard drive failed on mine, I found this out the hard way!
If you don't believe me, call Toshiba and try to obtain an authorized return for this model any time in the next 12 months!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Santaquin, UT
Good machine for the price
Posted 08/18/2011
I picked up the lesser model (2GB RAM, 250GB hard drive) that they had on sale for back to school special. The video consumes around 384MB of RAM, so that doesn't really leave you with a lot of RAM to use. If you open a lot of Windows, the OS will need to swap out to disk a lot and the laptop will be slow. I spent $60 and upgraded to 8GB of RAM. For $30 you can add 4GB and end up with 6GB of RAM, which should be plenty.
This machine isn't an Intel i5 or anything like that, but it is also 1/3 to 1/2 the price of an Intel machine. For my uses and the price (surfing the internet and writing papers in Open Office), this laptop is sufficient. It will stream and play internet video, such as Youtube. Because this is a Windows 7 based, the more RAM you can throw at it, the better it will perform. An added bonus is that this is Windows 7 64-bit, so it will use all the RAM you will install into it.
For the price, it is a capable laptop. It isn't a speed demon by any means. You get what you pay for. When you compare this to a netbook that is in the very close price range, this is far an above a lot better laptop. Bigger keyboard (with number pad), bigger screen, more RAM capabilities, better graphics card, etc. And I'm surprised at the battery life out of the machine. I've used it for hours and still had a couple of hours left. I would repurchase if given the chance.
+2points
Customer Avatar
NorthEast, Maryland 21901
Posted 08/12/2011
Now I really don`t know if I want to buy this one 2 out of 3 say its bad and I am just a elderly lady and not know much about computers I guess I will go with a Dell because my Desktop is wonderful it is a Dell never had a one day problem with it and it is 8 years old I guess I better tap on wood !!! My laptop was a Toshibas worked very well until I lost my balance and knocked my cup of coffee on it took to shop no good now I have to buy another one. Thanks for your help, auntbea from NorthEast, Maryland
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 75 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/04/2011
By ,
washington n.c.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The C-50 and the hp printer softwear won't work but a pactch from hp and a download will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 76 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Happy with this computer

11/30/2011
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer about two months ago and so far, I have been happy with my purchase. It is very light weight so would be good for someone who takes their laptop along with them often. Before this computer, I owned a Dell. The thing I hated the most about it was the battery life, it would only last about 30 minutes unplugged. This computer’s battery lasts about 3 ½ to 4 hours. At times, it can run a little slow but not too bad. Overall, this is a good computer for the inexpensive price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/01/2011
By ,
MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DELIVERED PROMPTLY AND IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. COMPUTER IS GOOD FOR THE OPTIONS AVAILABLE. SOUND GOOD BE A LITTLE BETTER. USED PRIMARILY FOR INTERNET SURFING AND YAHOO MESSENGER CONVERSATIONS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 78 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
11/15/2011
By ,
Greensboro, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job! No troubles found with this model.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 79 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Toshiba Laptop

09/24/2011
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband bought me this laptop about 2 weeks ago, for a birthday gift. And so far it has been great. I read alot of the reviews before I purchased this laptop. I was worried after I had read all the bad reviews on it. But everything will have a bad review written on it. But I dont see where all the bad reviews came from . It has been execellent for me. I have had no problems with this laptop. Its fast and it gets the job done. I dont not have high speed internet either. I just have basic internet. The battery life lasts about 5 hours or longer. I would recomend this laptop. It's not super expensive, and has been great. It is a little slow when you first turn it on. But after that it does great. Great price,great laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 80 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good computer, great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
61-80 of 128 total reviews