Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The black 15.6" Satellite notebook computer has everything you need to compute on the go. Communicate with friends and family with the built-in webcam. An AMD dual-core processor provides ample power for multi-tasking. The 15.6" display lets you see what you're doing easily. Windows 7 Home Premium, Microsoft's most up-to-date operating system, lets you complete tasks effortlessly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation81%126 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
12/13/2011
By ,
Knoxville, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife. She loves it and has had no problems with it at all. She uses it daily. This is by no means a power house but then it does not break the bank either. This laptop performs well for her email, social networking and surfing the web. For an entry level laptop this is a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 62 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Toshiba Satellite Laptop Excellent Value

11/15/2011
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5-year old Compaq Windows XP laptop was running excruciatingly slow so I decided it was time for an upgrade but didn't want to break the bank. Couldn't be happier with the Toshiba Satellite laptop. Its fast and comparatively slim and light weight and has ample hard drive space for my software, music and photo albums, movie and TV downloads. I can back my files up to an SD card and I can still burn a DVD if I like. Love the 5-hour battery life (compared to 2 hours on the Compaq). Doesn't generate heat when its running so no longer need a chill pad. Picked it up at the store same day I ordered online and saved$$. Wal-Mart recycling program is great too. Did not have to sacrifice quality for price-its a top notch system with all the bells and whistles I was looking for and then some. Excellent value, prompt service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

So Far So Good.

09/25/2011
By ,
Houston Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I just got this laptop and SO FAR SO GOOD. A more in depth review later in a week or so.
But i will say this worth the money and its built strong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 64 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best laptop I've ever owned.

11/22/2011
By ,
Williamston,MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the moment I turned my new laptop on I was very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 65 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

All in one printer/scanner/ copier

11/28/2011
By ,
Virginai Beach, Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, works really good!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 66 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop for it's price

10/05/2011
By ,
Trenton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was considering buying a used laptop, but then I saw this machine at Walmart. I wasn't expecting to by a computer at Walmart that day, but I had saved just up just over 300 dollars for a used one I had been eyeing up online. I decided to take a chance and get it, I could always return it, right?
I have been using computers for over 20 years, and I am VERY happy with my new laptop. You can't beat this machine for the price, I am amazed at how well to runs. It will sometimes lag under heavy usage, so don't plan on using it for heavy gaming. However, if you want a solid machine for internet and media usage, I'd advise you to look into the Satellite.
The only two drawbacks it has are the CPU is a little under-powered for high-end gaming (I am a "classic" gamer so that isn't a huge one to me) and it only has USB 2 rather then the newer and much faster USB 3 ports. The built-in webcam is more then acceptable and has very good performance for use with Skype. The speakers are fairly good, and can be adjusted for usage in different areas by software. You can always get a set of desktop speakers to plug into the side jack if you want better. The video is very good, the screen is a good size and very clear. Again, if you want better, you can always hook up an external monitor for watching DVDs and such. The computer has no HDMI or S-video port, but if you are buying a laptop within this price range, chances are you aren't buying high-end monitors anyways.
The Wireless card works just fine, it seems to have normal range and performance. I had no problems connecting to my Netgear router.
If you haven't used Windows 7 before, you might be surprised at it's improved usability. It is a huge improvement over XP. The hard drive isn't huge, but it is more then large enough for to store you favorite songs and photos along with a good amount of movies.
Battery life is good, even on the "high performance" setting you should have over 3 hours of usage. Setting it to "balanced" or "power-saver" might give you up to 6.
This machine is a 64-bit system, so it can run most resent programs without trouble. I have had almost no problems running older 32-bit programs, those that I did seemed to be the program rather then the laptop.
Toshiba has also included some useful programs, such as the Bulletin Board. It's a program that runs in the background and has a little push-pin icon on the taskbar. Open the Bulletin Board for that icon, and it gives you a short tutorial on it's usage. It basically acts as a sort of organizer where you can add "to do" list, virtual post-it notes, and shortcuts to your preferred programs and files.
All-in-all, this is an excellent laptop for a student or anyone needing a low-priced but usable PC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+122points
Review 67 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/16/2011
By ,
Somerset NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE LOVE LOVE........BUYING ANOTHER FOR MY SON THIS HOLIDAY SEASON......MUWAH!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value, High Quality.

10/22/2011
By ,
Fairifeld, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm on a very tight budget, and was in deperate need of a new laptop. This laptop is a pleasant surprise for the value and quality. I highly recommend this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 69 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Love the Satellite

11/29/2011
By ,
Shelby Township, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second satellite I have owned, and I am not disappointed that I chose to stick with the brand! The Toshiba line has had the best pricing for comparable features the last few times I went shopping for an inexpensive laptop. When we needed a laptop for our field supervisor I recommended this model and he has been happily using it for a few weeks now too!
It is a good, dependable laptop and I would recommend it to a friend without a second thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

ok laptop for my needs

09/30/2011
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first one i bought at my local W had a hard drive failure after only a few days. I returned it to the store and decided to give Toshiba another chance. Nobody's perfect right? I have had this laptop for one month and no problems. Just to be on the safe side I bought the drop and spill,etc 2 yr warranty because I am an electronic nut and have purchased many gizmos from W and have had to use them a couple of times and they are terrific. I don't do any gaming, just e-mail and web browsing. /sometimes it does seem a little slow but that could just be high traffic on the site. I was a little dissapointed that the Norton Anti-virus that came with it was only for 30 days. But I found a company called WEBROOT that has an anti-virus program that will run a whole scan in about a minute and a half and only use a fraction of the memory that Norton does. Now my machine is running faster and I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 71 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/13/2011
By ,
grants pass, oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it is a little slower than I expected but nice and light-weight.
Especially like the fact that it has a separate number keyboard and large screen
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 72 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Toshiba Laptop is an excellent computer for the $$

09/01/2011
By ,
Monroe, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop was a graduation present for my grand daughter. It does everything she will need it to do for several years. I'm using a 6 y/o computer which cost nearly $2000. This computer exceeds the capability of mine for less than $400. Not a bad deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 73 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

great a laptop for the price

10/24/2011
By ,
oakwood, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i have no complaints, i am satisfied with the choice of purchasing this laptop. my first laptop was a toshiba. I feel pretty secure with toshiba brand products. overall it works fine for my purposes. i am glad that i purchased this product online, a lot of the walmart stores do not have this laptop & more available. I'm thinking i rather purchase majority of my electronical items online, than purchasing at my store. Get a lot better deals shopping online, had i purchased a laptop at my walmart store, i would've sold my self short.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 74 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Happy with this computer

11/30/2011
By ,
Lake Wales, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer about two months ago and so far, I have been happy with my purchase. It is very light weight so would be good for someone who takes their laptop along with them often. Before this computer, I owned a Dell. The thing I hated the most about it was the battery life, it would only last about 30 minutes unplugged. This computer’s battery lasts about 3 ½ to 4 hours. At times, it can run a little slow but not too bad. Overall, this is a good computer for the inexpensive price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 75 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good for the price...

10/01/2011
By ,
IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yes, it's a bit slow at times....and freezes at times. I paid a bit less than this price from Walmart online [sale] so I can't complain. If I wanted a better laptop, I would have paid more. If you want a basic laptop at a great price, this one should work for you. I have no regrets with it....
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 76 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
01/06/2012
By ,
Decatur, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great value at the online price. Although it's a rather basic model compared to other Toshiba laptops, it's perfect for my young daughter who's using it mainly for school assignments. I expect it'll get her through middle and high school.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 77 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop at a great price

12/10/2011
By ,
MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this laptop as a christmas gift and therefore have not been able to evaluate its performance. i did read others reviews prior to purchasing. Hopefully I will have the same luck as others with this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 78 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/02/2011
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Decent computer not as good as I thought it would be but would definitely recommend it to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 79 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Gets the Job Done.

07/21/2011
By ,
Edinburg, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop to replace my HP (cost $900). My first two laptops were as well toshibas and they were great, then i decided to replace them with an HP because of i so thought the features would be better, worst thing i could of done. So i have had this toshiba (which i paid $440 but because i added a wireless canon printer) laptop for two weeks already, it runs smooth and the internet speed is alot better than my HP, i don't know why people say its slow and it shuts down slow it might of just been that computer or they have bad internet connection, overall this computer is great i use it for college work and it is light weight. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a computer and is in college. its cheap and gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+251points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Tucson AZ
Warranty on Toshiba C655D-S5200 Laptops
Posted 12/07/2011
Walmart, beware of the one year warranty from Toshiba on model C655D-S5200 laptop. They WILL NOT let you send in for repair or replacement. You must do what they call a (carry in) even if you have to carry it 120 miles to the service center, at the OWNER'S cost! After the hard drive failed on mine, I found this out the hard way!
If you don't believe me, call Toshiba and try to obtain an authorized return for this model any time in the next 12 months!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Santaquin, UT
Good machine for the price
Posted 08/18/2011
I picked up the lesser model (2GB RAM, 250GB hard drive) that they had on sale for back to school special. The video consumes around 384MB of RAM, so that doesn't really leave you with a lot of RAM to use. If you open a lot of Windows, the OS will need to swap out to disk a lot and the laptop will be slow. I spent $60 and upgraded to 8GB of RAM. For $30 you can add 4GB and end up with 6GB of RAM, which should be plenty.
This machine isn't an Intel i5 or anything like that, but it is also 1/3 to 1/2 the price of an Intel machine. For my uses and the price (surfing the internet and writing papers in Open Office), this laptop is sufficient. It will stream and play internet video, such as Youtube. Because this is a Windows 7 based, the more RAM you can throw at it, the better it will perform. An added bonus is that this is Windows 7 64-bit, so it will use all the RAM you will install into it.
For the price, it is a capable laptop. It isn't a speed demon by any means. You get what you pay for. When you compare this to a netbook that is in the very close price range, this is far an above a lot better laptop. Bigger keyboard (with number pad), bigger screen, more RAM capabilities, better graphics card, etc. And I'm surprised at the battery life out of the machine. I've used it for hours and still had a couple of hours left. I would repurchase if given the chance.
+2points
Customer Avatar
NorthEast, Maryland 21901
Posted 08/12/2011
Now I really don`t know if I want to buy this one 2 out of 3 say its bad and I am just a elderly lady and not know much about computers I guess I will go with a Dell because my Desktop is wonderful it is a Dell never had a one day problem with it and it is 8 years old I guess I better tap on wood !!! My laptop was a Toshibas worked very well until I lost my balance and knocked my cup of coffee on it took to shop no good now I have to buy another one. Thanks for your help, auntbea from NorthEast, Maryland
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 80 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great computer for a student

08/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to take a compaq back because of technical problems, and I got this laptop instead. It has everything that I need on it for my schooling and I have had no problems WHATSOEVER with freezing or crashing like the compaq did. I have had to problems with this laptop and I think it is great for at home use and for student use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
61-80 of 128 total reviews