Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

The black 15.6" Satellite notebook computer has everything you need to compute on the go. Communicate with friends and family with the built-in webcam. An AMD dual-core processor provides ample power for multi-tasking. The 15.6" display lets you see what you're doing easily. Windows 7 Home Premium, Microsoft's most up-to-date operating system, lets you complete tasks effortlessly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.115 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(157 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation81%126 out of 156reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
33
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/07/2011
By ,
sanford, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not beat this price delivered from any source that checked on the Internet. Offered a lot of value including a huge 350gig hard drive and Windows 7 which is a fabulous update from Vista which in mind was much inferior. Toshiba seems to give more bang for the buck including high performance and gosh it is so thin! Unbelievable Value!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 2 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Gets the Job Done.

07/21/2011
By ,
Edinburg, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop to replace my HP (cost $900). My first two laptops were as well toshibas and they were great, then i decided to replace them with an HP because of i so thought the features would be better, worst thing i could of done. So i have had this toshiba (which i paid $440 but because i added a wireless canon printer) laptop for two weeks already, it runs smooth and the internet speed is alot better than my HP, i don't know why people say its slow and it shuts down slow it might of just been that computer or they have bad internet connection, overall this computer is great i use it for college work and it is light weight. I would reccomend it to anyone who wants a computer and is in college. its cheap and gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+251points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Tucson AZ
Warranty on Toshiba C655D-S5200 Laptops
Posted 12/07/2011
Walmart, beware of the one year warranty from Toshiba on model C655D-S5200 laptop. They WILL NOT let you send in for repair or replacement. You must do what they call a (carry in) even if you have to carry it 120 miles to the service center, at the OWNER'S cost! After the hard drive failed on mine, I found this out the hard way!
If you don't believe me, call Toshiba and try to obtain an authorized return for this model any time in the next 12 months!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Santaquin, UT
Good machine for the price
Posted 08/18/2011
I picked up the lesser model (2GB RAM, 250GB hard drive) that they had on sale for back to school special. The video consumes around 384MB of RAM, so that doesn't really leave you with a lot of RAM to use. If you open a lot of Windows, the OS will need to swap out to disk a lot and the laptop will be slow. I spent $60 and upgraded to 8GB of RAM. For $30 you can add 4GB and end up with 6GB of RAM, which should be plenty.
This machine isn't an Intel i5 or anything like that, but it is also 1/3 to 1/2 the price of an Intel machine. For my uses and the price (surfing the internet and writing papers in Open Office), this laptop is sufficient. It will stream and play internet video, such as Youtube. Because this is a Windows 7 based, the more RAM you can throw at it, the better it will perform. An added bonus is that this is Windows 7 64-bit, so it will use all the RAM you will install into it.
For the price, it is a capable laptop. It isn't a speed demon by any means. You get what you pay for. When you compare this to a netbook that is in the very close price range, this is far an above a lot better laptop. Bigger keyboard (with number pad), bigger screen, more RAM capabilities, better graphics card, etc. And I'm surprised at the battery life out of the machine. I've used it for hours and still had a couple of hours left. I would repurchase if given the chance.
+2points
Customer Avatar
NorthEast, Maryland 21901
Posted 08/12/2011
Now I really don`t know if I want to buy this one 2 out of 3 say its bad and I am just a elderly lady and not know much about computers I guess I will go with a Dell because my Desktop is wonderful it is a Dell never had a one day problem with it and it is 8 years old I guess I better tap on wood !!! My laptop was a Toshibas worked very well until I lost my balance and knocked my cup of coffee on it took to shop no good now I have to buy another one. Thanks for your help, auntbea from NorthEast, Maryland
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Unfortunately this laptop's wifi did not work.

11/19/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The laptop's wifi would not work. I could get on the internet with an ethernet plug, but that defeats the purpose of a laptop. This was purchased for my husband and I tried to steer him from this laptop, but he wanted a Toshiba. Their customer service was not helpful and rude. They insisted it was our internet provider, even after I told them I had my laptop sitting next to my husband's and it worked great. So I contacted my internet provider and they came out the next day. After working for about an hour the tech said it is some kind of software issue within the computer - and I decided to take it back to Walmart. Walmart accepted the return after the associate from Electronics came to look over the laptop. I tried to show him the paperwork I had from the tech from my internet service; but he said everything was in order. My husband didn't see anything he wanted on the shelves at the store, so we went home and he ordered the ASUS computer from Walmart.com. The wifi works perfect on the ASUS.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 4 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop for it's price

10/05/2011
By ,
Trenton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was considering buying a used laptop, but then I saw this machine at Walmart. I wasn't expecting to by a computer at Walmart that day, but I had saved just up just over 300 dollars for a used one I had been eyeing up online. I decided to take a chance and get it, I could always return it, right?
I have been using computers for over 20 years, and I am VERY happy with my new laptop. You can't beat this machine for the price, I am amazed at how well to runs. It will sometimes lag under heavy usage, so don't plan on using it for heavy gaming. However, if you want a solid machine for internet and media usage, I'd advise you to look into the Satellite.
The only two drawbacks it has are the CPU is a little under-powered for high-end gaming (I am a "classic" gamer so that isn't a huge one to me) and it only has USB 2 rather then the newer and much faster USB 3 ports. The built-in webcam is more then acceptable and has very good performance for use with Skype. The speakers are fairly good, and can be adjusted for usage in different areas by software. You can always get a set of desktop speakers to plug into the side jack if you want better. The video is very good, the screen is a good size and very clear. Again, if you want better, you can always hook up an external monitor for watching DVDs and such. The computer has no HDMI or S-video port, but if you are buying a laptop within this price range, chances are you aren't buying high-end monitors anyways.
The Wireless card works just fine, it seems to have normal range and performance. I had no problems connecting to my Netgear router.
If you haven't used Windows 7 before, you might be surprised at it's improved usability. It is a huge improvement over XP. The hard drive isn't huge, but it is more then large enough for to store you favorite songs and photos along with a good amount of movies.
Battery life is good, even on the "high performance" setting you should have over 3 hours of usage. Setting it to "balanced" or "power-saver" might give you up to 6.
This machine is a 64-bit system, so it can run most resent programs without trouble. I have had almost no problems running older 32-bit programs, those that I did seemed to be the program rather then the laptop.
Toshiba has also included some useful programs, such as the Bulletin Board. It's a program that runs in the background and has a little push-pin icon on the taskbar. Open the Bulletin Board for that icon, and it gives you a short tutorial on it's usage. It basically acts as a sort of organizer where you can add "to do" list, virtual post-it notes, and shortcuts to your preferred programs and files.
All-in-all, this is an excellent laptop for a student or anyone needing a low-priced but usable PC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+122points
Review 5 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great product for a good price

10/22/2011
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a computer shop set it up and transfer all my old files. Runs with Windows 7, lots of internet use and emails... and tons of photos! Over 5,000 (average 5.6 MB each) photos in Photoshop so far and over 100 short videos on it and yet I'm not having any freezing or slow periods that I have read about here. I also do some typing Word/Excel and some image capture software that allows me to edit and manipulate it.
Nice to know how to fix the pad/mouse tap as I have found it an issue.
My comparison is that I have an excellent new computer at work, it is part of a network, everything is saved on the server... that computer is as responsive as this one. So again I really don't understand others issues with speed... unless they have connection issues or have downloaded a virus of some sort.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Opposites Agree: Great Buy

08/04/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mr & Mrs Opposite generally agree they each have their own way of getting things done. But sharing a laptop was not a matter of preference or opinion: Mr O is a novice computer user while Mrs O is an expert user. He wants graphics, ease of using, ability to use all the laptop's functions without needing to read how to do it or ask a person. He doesn't type but knows he wants the PC to do everything it said it can for the money and to work for years. Mr O bought this Toshiba laptop for $348 with a cable modem and wireless router to connect to the web for Mrs O's birthday. He purchased it alone knowing if she came along they would spend a week before she gave a yes or no. Mrs O has used computers since it was introduced for businesses by IBM and knows how computers work therefore she can't help but expect it to be accurate, fast, highly dependable, durable, and able to handle all the demands she commands without waiting. Mr O gave it to her as a gift to share and waited for her to hook it up and set up the programs however she saw fit; took Mrs O less than an hour to complete. She has a Dell Windows 7 Desktop with a all-in-one-printer, a VOIP phone, fax machine, and streams movies to their home TV. Mrs O said it was a solid PC laptop for its cost and had no complaints with its usability or speed. Mr O said he accesses its programs and features just fine and with all the privacy he likes of a laptop.
Two very different adult users with one satisfied purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Review 7 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop

09/23/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I repair laptops and computers for a living,from replacing motherboards repairing dc jacks and replace small items on motherboard with a magnify glass.This laptop is light and works great.Just disable tapping for mouse takes care of sensitive item.Great deal for the money.The windows 7 cost just as much as this laptop if purchased from microsoft.Thats a deal itself,even if it last a year,you got your money worth.Toshiba is top of the line of laptops.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 8 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good computer

08/08/2011
By ,
Newark,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. A lot of people have problems with it freezing and i've had mine for a month and its fine. the battery life is amazing the only complaint I have is that the track pad is a little sensitive and the clicker buttons are a little hard to work but other than that its really good :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
westminster,md
sensitive pad
Posted 11/29/2011
If you go to the mouse options on your laptop you can change the sensitivity on it. I did on my Toshiba, mine is not the same model though, but you should be able to.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Useless!

07/05/2011
By ,
Brunswick, Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This laptop is useless. I only wanted it for basic internet use, and it can't even perform well enough for that. It becomes VERY SLOW or FREEZES too frequently! I changed the settings for several programs from automatically starting at start up & uninstalled some of the free programs that came with it, hoping it would improve the speed & performance but it did not! (I haven't even downloaded ANYTHING onto it yet!)
I made this purchase to replace a Compaq laptop that was physically damaged (by human error), & compared specs alongside with this Toshiba, and the Toshiba specs appeared much better (more memory, more power, etc.) for only $12 more. Can't beleive I didn't replace with the original Compaq that had no issues!
Will NOT buy a Toshiba again. Can't understand how they dropped the ball on this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Junk!! Dont buy this comp.
Posted 10/23/2011
I am back on walmarts online site to buy my third pc. The Acer is the best!! The toshiba Sattelite is the worst comp you will purchase...take my advice...they have the comp set up to fail or crash...and then they want you to buy their software!!! I threw it out!!! Complete Junk!!!!
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

LOVE IT!

07/06/2011
By ,
Hinesville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this yesterday and love this laptop! Its light weight and great for college work. Not for gamers though! I would so recommend it to others who are in college and need a light laptop and on the go laptop!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+74points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
miami, fl
is this laptop has a webcam?
Posted 03/04/2012
i would like to know cause i need to buy it....please respond me back.
thank you
0points
Customer Avatar
I love it!!! :)
Posted 12/29/2011
I absolutely love this computer. Video calling is great!!! I've only been using this laptop for about a week now and I already love it!!! :)
0points
Customer Avatar
MO
Worst Laptop I ever used
Posted 07/16/2011
Just bought it the other day 07/112011 and Im taking it back tomorrow. It has white specks on the screen. Slow Oh man. Page jumps down an goes away for no reason. Im done.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great computer for a student

08/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to take a compaq back because of technical problems, and I got this laptop instead. It has everything that I need on it for my schooling and I have had no problems WHATSOEVER with freezing or crashing like the compaq did. I have had to problems with this laptop and I think it is great for at home use and for student use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 12 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good computer

07/18/2011
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a good computer i do all my video editing on this so its great with cinema 4d and Photoshop cs5 and Microsoft office and sony vegas pro its just great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 13 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

good laptop

07/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my second laptop, but not in a row...I was convinced by the price, the RAM and the memory capacity, I been using it for almost 2 weeks and until now I don't have any problem with this laptop...the only thing is that run very slow with some games, in special for WoW, this is definitely a student laptop or just for internet users.....I still recommend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Review 14 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great for the price and gets the job done.

09/02/2011
By ,
Columbia, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this for about a week and haven't had one issue. This is the first Toshiba I have ever owned. I am not really brand loyal but I do steer clear of HP computers (accessories are okay). Battery life is as stated as long as you keep the brightness down. Loaded and runs Microsoft office with no issues and easily connected to my windows 7 home network. Nothing complicated just open the box and plug it in before you turn it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

ok laptop for my needs

09/30/2011
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first one i bought at my local W had a hard drive failure after only a few days. I returned it to the store and decided to give Toshiba another chance. Nobody's perfect right? I have had this laptop for one month and no problems. Just to be on the safe side I bought the drop and spill,etc 2 yr warranty because I am an electronic nut and have purchased many gizmos from W and have had to use them a couple of times and they are terrific. I don't do any gaming, just e-mail and web browsing. /sometimes it does seem a little slow but that could just be high traffic on the site. I was a little dissapointed that the Norton Anti-virus that came with it was only for 30 days. But I found a company called WEBROOT that has an anti-virus program that will run a whole scan in about a minute and a half and only use a fraction of the memory that Norton does. Now my machine is running faster and I couldn't be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
love it good and fast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 17 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

EWWW

06/30/2011
By ,
ROSEBURG, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was my second Toshiba and I figured it would run and perform like my old one, well not so much. I only had this a week and a half before I took it back to the store! Three times it totally jammed up and I had a horrible time shutting it down, I did not think a brand new laptop should freeze the way this one did and that did not sit real well with me. I am now down with this brand, my next one will be a HP, done with Toshiba forever!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 18 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Exremely slow!

10/01/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this laptop to replace the Dell laptop I had used for the past four years. The only problem with this one is that it takes at least 5 minutes to connect to the Interent, and even then, it is exremely slow. I know it is not due to my wireless Internet connection (I have the fastest connection speed available) because my other laptop has no trouble at all uploading email or pulling up websites in a timely manner. I feel like this computer (although a great buy) was a waste of money and would return it if I had not already kept it past the return period. I have reverted back to using my Dell laptop and this one only takes up space.
This was my first Toshiba computer and I will never purchase one again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 19 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

does not work well in Second Life 3D online game

12/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I need to replace my computer I elected for a lap top this time, thinking it would be easier. and if i traveled i could take it with me. I looked for one that had Radeon or Nivida installed graphics card as i play sl. This one came with Graphics Card: AMD Radeon HD 6250 which I had assumed would support sl, but i have not been able to stay in game long for it keeps crashing.. and when I have been able to stay in game as long as i don't move it says its cpu is high usage, so those that wish to buy this for second life beware, other wise for other computing needs it works well.
The other thing is that I am use to not having to look at the keyboard when I type, however I am having to look as the keys are not raised at all, nor are the home keys marked in some say for my fingers to know where they are on the keyboard. Lucky my keyboard has a usb so i can use it.
Connecting to the internet was not a problem, so pluses for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Toshiba Black 15.6" Satellite C655D-S5200 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium

Excellent Value

10/20/2011
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a computer for myself and my High School children.
Their needs put more of a strain on a system than mine.
I had a limited budget and did a great deal of research and shopping.
This system and the price I paid was remarkable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next