Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Foodsaver FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Foodsaver FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Ordinary food storage methods trap air with food, causing foods to lose flavor and nutrition. The FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer removes air from specially designed bags and containers — it's perfect for stocking up on food camping meals, long trips in the car and more. This food sealer applies heat for a secure, air-tight seal that will keep your food staples and perishables fresh longer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.012 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation79%63 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 77 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Works great but !!!

02/13/2014
By ,
Lafayette La.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit works great so far . My problem is the roll that comes with it did not seal . Solution:I bought the ziplock vacuum gallon bags for $2.99 / 8 bags .Then cut the seal hole & zipper off & vacuum sealed it for freezer use . When cut open & washed you should get at least 2 more uses out of it .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great product!

02/17/2014
By ,
Southeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one product has reduced our "food gone bad" so much, I can't even tell you. Not only do we use it to repackage meats to freeze, but it also reseals potato chip bags, tortilla bags... so far everything we have used it to reseal has worked! No more stale Cheetos!!!
A definite money saver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great so far...

12/04/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted one of these forever, finally tried it again. (had one when they first came out, but it was a joke, so returned it.) Only had it a few days, but so far this thing is GREAT!
Pros:
+ Did a great job sucking all the air out, then sealing the bags.
+ Used up all the brand name bags that came with it, and it worked fine on the no-name brand bags, too. Very happy about that!
+ I didn't find it too loud, given what it does.
+ I repackaged every piece of meat in my freezer in one day, and it never balked at any of it. No overheating, no refusals to suck, no problems at all.
+ This unit allows you to switch from suck to seal immediately, if you don't want to crush something.
Cons:
- I like that you can switch immediately to seal, to avoid crushing, but it does seem to release the vacuum, when you do that, so let it suck a bit more than you think on breads, because it's gonna let some air back in for that heartbeat until it's sealed. Not much, but I did notice it.
- I tried it on a bag of open cheese, and it wouldn't suck the air out, but it did seal it. It was because the bag was smooth on both sides, so no channels for the air to escape, so...
TIP: I used a piece of excess bumpy plastic cut from a different bag (there's always excess on one end), stuck it in there so air could escape, and Viola! - It sucked just like normal, then sealed perfectly. YAY - no more yucky cheese! This is a great way to not feel so cheated because it makes you waste some bag on one end. Now I just cut it off, save it for the next time I need to seal up a smooth bag.
Overall, I LOVE this thing. I'm putting up some TIPS in another review, so hope it helps others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Perfect for home use

03/31/2014
By ,
Springfield, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although a bit on the small side, this little unit packs things quite well. The variety of containers and bags it uses is perfect for the home use. I don't know how well it would hold up if use for major preppers or high usage. However for myself and a friend, this one works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Exactly what I needed.

03/29/2014
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum sealer is compact and simple to use. I am pleased with the results and would recommend it to anyone with a small household. If I had a larger family and needed to buy in bulk; a more commercial machine would be indicated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Better than Fancier model

10/20/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a fancier model of this product from Costco. This new model works similarly but you are able to better judge where to seal because this model opens up. The fancier model while holding a roll and having a cutter was more difficult to use due to the smaller opening.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Replaced my old one

02/14/2014
By ,
Huntsville,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is just like my old one - holds the roll and the has a cutter also - love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Good Food Vacuum

01/05/2012
By ,
KC, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does a good job. It's not to expensive. For those who have never used one of these, or those who have one and still know how to use one, it is what it is. Remember to let it cool between every use, and don't fry the thing in one day. Let it rest, and it will last a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great value!

04/23/2012
By ,
Las Cruces NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The V2222 has the 2 button vac/seal and separate seal, which is an important feature. The separate seal allows you to reclose chip and cereal bags and to stop the vacuuming process to enable sealing breads and pastries in bags. It comes with the tubing to seal containers and canning jars.
The best thing for me is it has a flat profile so it can slide into a drawer or cupboard. I do not want one more thing out on my counters collecting dust. It has never been a problem to keep the rolls of bags in the drawer too instead of having a special holder for them that cannot be easily put away. All this for half the price of some of the FoodSaver units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Had to get another one!

01/02/2012
By ,
Justin, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just went through a divorce and she took the one we had....So because it was a big help on keeping the meat fresh when you buy family packs I had to go get another one. I'm telling you, this thing is great and will keep things fresh and is very easy to use. And if somebody takes this one I will buy another for sure!
Itoldyou4you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

not worth it

05/20/2013
By ,
tupelo, ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this foodsaver online to repackage meat for the freezer. worked perfectly on the first bag only. every bag after that it would not vacuum at all and would start sealing without vacuuming. followed the troubleshooting info in the booklet to the tee and it still would not vacuum. just ended up only sealing each bag after that. expected better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest
no vacuum
Posted 06/17/2013
Even though you bought it from Walmart, call the Customer Service number at FoodSaver. They list Walmart as one of their retailers, and from other reviews, I understand they are VERY helpful. It doesn't hurt to give them a try.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

V2222

12/17/2013
By ,
Carlsbad,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought V2222 at my local Walmart the day after Thanksgiving; used it for my left overs. Have used it several times since then and no problems. It is easy and quick. I am very happy with this machine. I Highly Recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer
08/21/2011
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an upgrade for me. I like the locking lever feature as opposed to having to press down on the top when you are either sealing or vacuuming/sealing. It is serving its purpose for me. I am satisfied so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Garbage

06/20/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most food has moisture and if there is ANY moisture in your bag it simply won't seal. I used this for one growing season and the next year it was even worse. It's going in the trash and I'm looking for something better. This is a HUGE waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Vacuum

02/13/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded to this unit. I took it back after the 3rd use because the vacuum stopped working. I love my sealer so I exchanged it for the same modle in hopes that I got a bad one. The vacuum stopped working after the 2nd use on the newest one. I read all the paper work and cleaned it and so on but it didn't fix the problem. I returned the unit and am doing without right now. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great Inexpensive Vacuum Sealer

10/26/2012
By ,
ARIZONA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MyV2060 finally stopped working after 5 years of daily use. I couldn't wait to get my hands on the 2244 model so went over to Walmart and picked it up. So far it does everything better than my old model. I use a lot of canisters and marinade trays and it works great. At first I thought I would go with a 3000 level model that had canister only mode but the 2244 works fine. I just release the latch when it switches to seal. The latch is fine - no issues here and the unit looks great on my counter top. I've bagged pork loin roast and sliced chops perfectly for freezer use. I also use the sealer only function to reseal potato chip bags etc. FoodSaver saves me a lot of money on my food costs and it keeps my food fresh longer for better taste, quality and shelf life.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great price, Great product

10/12/2013
By ,
Troy, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it for a gift while visiting a relative and it arrived before I went home...took only 2 days and I was able to show her all the things you can seal with it...So while I was there, ordered a couple more for Christmas presents which were delivered again before I left so I was able to leave them there and not have to ship them when Christmas comes...You can seal everything...chips, pretzels, any plastic the product is in and it also seals great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

sealed poorly and broke quickly

04/02/2013
By ,
Corpus Christi,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a FoodSaver model V3230 last summer after buying a large quantity of corn to put in the freezer. I noticed that i had to re-seal some bags, but didn't think too much of it. Months later, when I took a package of corn out of the freezer, it had ice crystals inside the bags and none were airtight.. I used it a couple more times to put on-sale meat in my freezer by sealing and re-sealing the bags to get them airtight. The last 2 times i tried to use my sealer, it did not seal AT ALL...... Of course, 9 months later, i do not have the receipt... VERY disappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

fotoform

01/29/2012
By ,
Tioga, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
had this for two months & does a good job. it will only use foodsaver bags so that is a drawback. overall it does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Dont waste your money

07/23/2012
By ,
Central WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
They wont last, my last one made 12 months and 8 days when the teflon sealer went out. Nothing but problems for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next