Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Foodsaver FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Foodsaver FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Ordinary food storage methods trap air with food, causing foods to lose flavor and nutrition. The FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer removes air from specially designed bags and containers — it's perfect for stocking up on food camping meals, long trips in the car and more. This food sealer applies heat for a secure, air-tight seal that will keep your food staples and perishables fresh longer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 88
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation81%78 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 98 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
58
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Lower end model works great for my limited needs

06/02/2014
By ,
Red Oak, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I was thinking about processing a deer, I would go for the higher-end model. But for my purposes, this lower-end model does all the basics well and I am very pleased with it.
I've bagged and sealed everything from open packages of bulk spices to raw cookie dough to raw chicken breasts to cooked meatloaf, and it works very well.
It has none of the problems people described with the more expensive models and the accessories, such as the canisters and wine-bottle seals, work very well. The wine stays just-opened fresh and my bagged salads last much longer if I wash them, dry them and store them in the large canister. I think FoodSaver intended the canister for flour or cereal, but it also works great on greens.
Hint: Costco has a great price on a large assorted bags-n-rolls box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great Product-V2222

05/14/2014
By ,
Orlando, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product to replace my old one which lasted for 15 years. I read the reviews about the other Food saver products and their complaints. I choose this model because I want simplicity and this version exceeds my expectations. It is simple to use and does an excellent job. I love the fact that I am in control and not the machine. I do have to use a little more plastic but I can live with that since it gives me a better seal. Even with the extra cost in plastic over the long term, (I mean an extra inch per bag) it still allows me to save money by buying bulk. Food prices being what they are, and they will climb in the future, by using this product and couponing you can save significant money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Foodsaver works for me

08/29/2014
By ,
Oak Islamd, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have used it several times now to seal vegetables for the freezer have also used it to seal some Mylar bags works about 50/50 on the Mylar. Over all it does the job I wanted it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Perfect for freezing meats!

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I borrowed a food sealer from a friend after purchasing $600 beef that I did not want to have 'freezer burn'. It was a great sale on the meat, but if it got ruined while awaiting use, it would have been a waste. When I read that the meat could last up to 3 years, I knew this was perfect for me. SO easy to use I didn't even need to read the directions! I knew I wanted one too. While I could not find this in the stores, it was available online. Now I vacuum seal all of my meats. I also discovered the bags CAN BE REUSED. After cutting open, there is enough left to do smaller portions. I simply wash bag out and put aside for next sealing. I will do veggies next!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Not what I expected

09/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am not at all impressed with this item...it is very hard to use. I had to make several attempts to get a vacuum seal and it is still not as closed as it should.
I am willing to make another attempt before returning it
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Vacuum Sealer

10/19/2014
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The sealer is great for most home vacuum sealing needs where this sealer falls short is no onboard storage or bag cutter for making perfect straight lines.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great product!

02/17/2014
By ,
Southeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This one product has reduced our "food gone bad" so much, I can't even tell you. Not only do we use it to repackage meats to freeze, but it also reseals potato chip bags, tortilla bags... so far everything we have used it to reseal has worked! No more stale Cheetos!!!
A definite money saver!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Easy to use

04/28/2014
By ,
Yulee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer; the first lasted about 12 years. I hope this one lasts as long. It is very easy to use and takes up very little room when storing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

not the product fault

10/14/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the product works great. my mistake was not reading the description. it had no bag cutter and does not hold a roll of bags. but, it seals great.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Works great but !!!

02/13/2014
By ,
Lafayette La.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit works great so far . My problem is the roll that comes with it did not seal . Solution:I bought the ziplock vacuum gallon bags for $2.99 / 8 bags .Then cut the seal hole & zipper off & vacuum sealed it for freezer use . When cut open & washed you should get at least 2 more uses out of it .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Good Food Vacuum

01/05/2012
By ,
KC, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does a good job. It's not to expensive. For those who have never used one of these, or those who have one and still know how to use one, it is what it is. Remember to let it cool between every use, and don't fry the thing in one day. Let it rest, and it will last a long time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great value!

04/23/2012
By ,
Las Cruces NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The V2222 has the 2 button vac/seal and separate seal, which is an important feature. The separate seal allows you to reclose chip and cereal bags and to stop the vacuuming process to enable sealing breads and pastries in bags. It comes with the tubing to seal containers and canning jars.
The best thing for me is it has a flat profile so it can slide into a drawer or cupboard. I do not want one more thing out on my counters collecting dust. It has never been a problem to keep the rolls of bags in the drawer too instead of having a special holder for them that cannot be easily put away. All this for half the price of some of the FoodSaver units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Great so far...

12/04/2013
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wanted one of these forever, finally tried it again. (had one when they first came out, but it was a joke, so returned it.) Only had it a few days, but so far this thing is GREAT!
Pros:
+ Did a great job sucking all the air out, then sealing the bags.
+ Used up all the brand name bags that came with it, and it worked fine on the no-name brand bags, too. Very happy about that!
+ I didn't find it too loud, given what it does.
+ I repackaged every piece of meat in my freezer in one day, and it never balked at any of it. No overheating, no refusals to suck, no problems at all.
+ This unit allows you to switch from suck to seal immediately, if you don't want to crush something.
Cons:
- I like that you can switch immediately to seal, to avoid crushing, but it does seem to release the vacuum, when you do that, so let it suck a bit more than you think on breads, because it's gonna let some air back in for that heartbeat until it's sealed. Not much, but I did notice it.
- I tried it on a bag of open cheese, and it wouldn't suck the air out, but it did seal it. It was because the bag was smooth on both sides, so no channels for the air to escape, so...
TIP: I used a piece of excess bumpy plastic cut from a different bag (there's always excess on one end), stuck it in there so air could escape, and Viola! - It sucked just like normal, then sealed perfectly. YAY - no more yucky cheese! This is a great way to not feel so cheated because it makes you waste some bag on one end. Now I just cut it off, save it for the next time I need to seal up a smooth bag.
Overall, I LOVE this thing. I'm putting up some TIPS in another review, so hope it helps others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
temep, az
Worst product ever!
Posted 07/01/2014
I tried and return two FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer, they are extremely noisy, bulky to fit on your kitchen counter and way too many complicated choices and the bags are horrible! Get a Deni! It's small, easy and the bags are light weight and can easily be re-vacuumed.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Had to get another one!

01/02/2012
By ,
Justin, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just went through a divorce and she took the one we had....So because it was a big help on keeping the meat fresh when you buy family packs I had to go get another one. I'm telling you, this thing is great and will keep things fresh and is very easy to use. And if somebody takes this one I will buy another for sure!
Itoldyou4you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Better than Fancier model

10/20/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased a fancier model of this product from Costco. This new model works similarly but you are able to better judge where to seal because this model opens up. The fancier model while holding a roll and having a cutter was more difficult to use due to the smaller opening.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

good product

09/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wish it had a cutter for the roll bags...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer
08/21/2011
By ,
Long Beach, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an upgrade for me. I like the locking lever feature as opposed to having to press down on the top when you are either sealing or vacuuming/sealing. It is serving its purpose for me. I am satisfied so.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Garbage

06/20/2012
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most food has moisture and if there is ANY moisture in your bag it simply won't seal. I used this for one growing season and the next year it was even worse. It's going in the trash and I'm looking for something better. This is a HUGE waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

Vacuum

02/13/2012
By ,
Stillwater, OK.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I upgraded to this unit. I took it back after the 3rd use because the vacuum stopped working. I love my sealer so I exchanged it for the same modle in hopes that I got a bad one. The vacuum stopped working after the 2nd use on the newest one. I read all the paper work and cleaned it and so on but it didn't fix the problem. I returned the unit and am doing without right now. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FoodSaver Vacuum Sealer

not worth it

05/20/2013
By ,
tupelo, ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought this foodsaver online to repackage meat for the freezer. worked perfectly on the first bag only. every bag after that it would not vacuum at all and would start sealing without vacuuming. followed the troubleshooting info in the booklet to the tee and it still would not vacuum. just ended up only sealing each bag after that. expected better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Midwest
no vacuum
Posted 06/17/2013
Even though you bought it from Walmart, call the Customer Service number at FoodSaver. They list Walmart as one of their retailers, and from other reviews, I understand they are VERY helpful. It doesn't hurt to give them a try.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next