Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Emerson Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Cook your favorite recipes for friends and family with the Emerson 1.2 cu ft. Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature. With a pure power grill level and two combo power levels, heating, grilling food gets easier. The microwave oven comes with 11 regular power levels with six pre-programmed recipe that allows you to cook food faster. Set the required amount of time duration on the digital timer and the machine does the rest. The Emerson stainless steel microwave looks great in any kitchen with its shiny front black finish. You can heat up your frozen food in the auto defrost microwave for a tastier meal. It also features child safe lock and a bright LED display to adjust settings accordingly. This microwave oven with turntable has the power to cook, grill, toast your food so that you can heat up the food just the way you like it.
Average Customer Rating:
1.861 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation25%9 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
2
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Not one of my best purchases

07/13/2011
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave 2 days ago. For this price you would expect a good working microwave. I should have done my homework before making this purchase. The first time I used it I had to run it twice at a minute each to heat some canned corn. Two days later I was making pizza bagels for my kids and had to run it about 5 minutes to get them warm. Then right after I did the pizza bagels I tried to cook some bacon and I don't fry my bacon. I just hate the grease and have been microwaving bacon for at least 20 years. I pushed the quick time 2 for 2 minutes cooking. After about 30 second the whole unit powered off, even the clock display went out. After about 10 minutes I heard a beep and looked at the microwave and the display came back on. I'm returning this microwave. I have done my homework this time around and found out that this microwave is prone to electrical issues and customer service will not do anything about it. Buy with caution.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Massillon
WORST MICROWAVE
Posted 07/18/2012
I wish I would have seen reviews before I purchased this one! I purchased around Christmas. I loved the look, the fact that it was a gray color with Stainless and I loved the button selections. I first noticed that my plate would be very hot, but the food wasn’t as hot as the plate. I thought perhaps because it was the stoneware kind of plates that I have. Then, the bulb burnt out. After only having it 5-6 months, it just stopped heating food! I hung on to it for a month trying to find my receipt but I could not find it. People kept telling me to return it b/c Walmart would take it back. Lucky for me, they did and now I’m a happy camper. I did not exchange it for the same product – I purchased a brand with a good name – GE!!
0points
Customer Avatar
USA
Emerson Microwave
Posted 08/24/2011
I agree with the above person. This microwave has been a great disappointment. I have only had it for 1 year and is finally started smoking and sparks coming out of it. Do not buy this appliance I will not consider buying any other Emerson products after this.
0points
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, NC (Camp Lejeune)
I should have read the reviews, to bad!!!!!
Posted 07/29/2011
I bought this microwave without reading the reviews and what a mistake that was. At first i noticed a rusty color at the bottom of the microwave plate and i thought it was something my kids had waste in it, but it happened after every use. I only had this microwave for a year and some months and it developed a hole at the bottom of the the microwave and on top of that it had electrical problems. The only features that i really liked about this product was the handle( which is better than the push button feature to open the microwave door) and the outside looked nice. Overall this product was a waste of money!!
0points
Customer Avatar
RALEIGH, NC
MR
Posted 07/18/2011
I ASLO PURCHASED THIS MICROWAVE ABOUT A WEEK AGO. I MUST DISAGREE WITH THE WRITER. I THINK THAT IT IS A PROBLEM PROGRAMMING THE MICROWAVE. IT IS DIFFERENT. I TOO HAVE TO TAKE TIME TO PROPERLY PROGRAM IT, BUT, IT ALSO HAS VERY NICE FEATURES. I WILL NOT BE QUICK TO FIND FAULT. THE PRICE IS A GOOD VALUE. NICE ADDITION TO MY KITCHEN.
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Awesome

06/18/2012
By ,
Dallas TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
okay I brought this Microwave just for the grill factor. I put some burgers on it yesterday. All I can say is my family has been eating burgers for the last two days. They are delicious. I will never put another burger on the stove again. I tried George Foreman for a grill I can use inside the house when I need something quick. My husband hated that grill. My husband is hard to please and he loves the grill feature on this microwave. I would recommend this microwave to anyone who wants a good grilling feature. As for the microwave itself we only use it to heat things up and it seems to work just fine. We have had no problems with this. This is the first review I have every done for anything ever and I am a hard core online shopper and this is the first thing that has moved me to write a review. This microwave surprised me. Great Job Emerson
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

This is JUNK!!!

07/25/2011
By ,
Richlands, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT buy this microwave. This microwave is a piece of junk. We had it for about a year. But about 6 months ago, we were cooking food in it and when we were finished using the microwave, it wouldn't stop running. We had to unplug it to make it stop running. Then a few weeks later it would stop and we could leave it plugged in. Then a couple weeks later it would keep running where we had to unplug it again. And now today, it just died. So again. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Thank you for the warning!!!
Posted 06/24/2012
I was about to buy this microwave. I liked the grilling feature. BUT I'm glad that I read the reviews! Is there 1 person with a positive review? LOL Thank you all so much!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

I should have read the reviews, to bad!!!!!

07/29/2011
By ,
Jacksonville, NC (Camp Lejeune)
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave without reading the reviews and what a mistake that was. At first i noticed a rusty color at the bottom of the microwave plate and i thought it was something my kids had waste in it, but it happened after every use. I only had this microwave for a year and some months and it developed a hole at the bottom of the the microwave and on top of that it had electrical problems. The only features that i really liked about this product was the handle( which is better than the push button feature to open the microwave door) and the outside looked nice. Overall this product was a waste of money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+29points
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Do not waste your money!

08/07/2011
By ,
Mobile
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this microwave less than a year and it will not turn off without unpluging it. The timer goes off but it just keeps cooking until you open the door. If you close the door again, it starts back up. Cheaply made, now I am on my way to buy another one, will never by this brand again!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cleveland, ohio
Piece of JUNK!!!!
Posted 05/23/2012
I bought this product less than 6 months ago....and it has stopped working already. I thought maybe it was something I done so I searched for the manual online so I could troubleshoot the problem. In doing so, I found that there has been a recall on this particular microwave as well as 22 others. I will be returning it ASAP! Waste of my money and time....VERY DISAPPOINTED
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Better than anticipated via past reviews.

08/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am one that does my research before buying any product. But even the best researchers have snafus. I went into Walmart to purchase the Emerson $86 microwave oven. Since none were in stock I picked up the $104 model. My experience is that Emerson has decent products.
I experience everything that the 3 review 1 star reviews were correct.. except for the sparks.
I bought the model because of the grill feature. It had a pretty face and it was a little big but the power I assumed it was the reason for the larger size. In my experience , it was not as disappointing as other microwaves grill features with other mircowave purchases. I just don't think any of the microwave companies can compare the a real grill. But the good grill feature, it was far less messy than past experiences. I can see where I can cordinate the grill with the microwave for a better result with grilling. Microwave the meat, then slap it on the grill for the pretty grill marks.
I bought 2 types of popcorn. The 1/2pack popcorn that state 1 1/2 minutes so I pushed the 30 second button 3 times. Perfect pop corn. The regular size pop corn took twice on the popcorn button feature. I am know to have flames coming out of my popcorn so with fire. So it works for my personal needs.
I thought, this was a good microwave. I then warmed up some cold coffee on the beverage button. It was good and hot without the scorch taste. The frozen dinners came out evenly heated without cold and hot spots.
Interesting, the manufactor must had read the past reviewerss because when you open the door, there is a big sticker that states, if not clean will cause fires. Not that the other reviews had dirty microwaves. LOL
It is not the top of the line and it does not have the top of the line price tag. For me, it does a better job than anticiipated. But don't anticipate it is something it is not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

don't buy it at any price

08/27/2011
By ,
Land O Lakes, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave in store about 2 yr ago. I chose this one because of the grill feature. I only used that twice, and did not like the result.
The only real problem I have with this microwave is the fact that it blows my circuit breaker, even if it is the only thing using that circuit. I bought this to use in my loft space, within the home I share with my son's family. The loft is upstairs, and I have made a mini kitchenette for myself. I have to turn off computer, TV, DVR, lights, ceiling fan etc, just to use the microwave, and still don't know if it will blow the breaker when it comes on. When that happens, I have to go downstairs, outside and back into the garage to reset the breaker -- so it's just not worth it. I did not know this microwave had electrical issues, so now will not be using it again. I'm on here now looking for a new microwave. This one is headed to the trash!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

This microwave has serious electrical problems

09/03/2011
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Within 6 months of purchase this microwave started the problem of continuing to run even though the timer had stopped. The only way to stop it was to unplug it. Then it would run normally for a month or so and then go through the same cycle again. I called the Emerson customer service department and they said they would replace it if I mailed them the electrical cord along with the glass plate and a check for $15, shipping it to them would be at my expense. I asked about having it serviced at a local shop and they said they did not do that. I felt that was a pretty bad deal since it was still under warranty. Now I am looking for a new one because after over a year of this it finally died this week.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Worst Purchase Ever

05/06/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There wasn't many reviews when I purchased this microwave about a year ago. I think it's biggest problem is it gets too hot and doesnt vent. I noticed it rusting inside around the front after the doing baked potatoes about the third time. After 4 mo. it did this thing where it wouldn't turn off... the timer was done but it wasn't. Nothing stopped it except unplugging it, but as soon as you plug it back in it would sometimes still continue to run. I would have to let it sit for a day. It did this about 8 or 10 times during the year and now its officially outdone itself and would not turn off after many days of letting it sit unplugged. The grill thing never worked, kept running, couldnt figure out some of the functions on it, the paint chipped under the turntable, rusted... yep worst purchase ever!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Junk

03/23/2014
By ,
Wickenburg
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this just over a year and it does not work should look to the reviews prior to buying.
This company also makes other products. I never deal with this company again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Works as advertised

04/05/2012
By ,
Princeton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews prior to purchasing this microwave and because of the negative ratings I was planning on purchasing a different brand. When I got to the store the model I wanted wasn't there and I was torn between buying a more expensive model or purchasing this one. I purchased this model with the intent on returning the Microwave when it failed. I purchased the microwave in September of 2010 and (currently April 2012) it has yet to fail.
Either I have the best microwave of the bunch or some of the reviewers don't know how to use a microwave.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Great Little Microwave!

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this unit! Works well with minimal cleaning necessary!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

A fail

08/30/2013
By ,
East Coast
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Paint chipping after cleaning . Used non abrasive cleaner. ONLY vinegar and water. Arcing. Contacted Emerson and was told the following:
Thank you for notifying us of the issue you are having. Our continual evaluations performed on microwaves clearly indicate to us this type of damage is always caused by one of two things:
1. Harsh Chemicals- what product do you use to clean your microwave? The Owner’s Manual clearly states to clean the unit with warm water and a mild dish detergent. If any type of harsher chemical cleaner is used, it will cause the paint to dissolve and will cause rusting with exposure of the metal below.
2. Not wiping up spills after each use. If the unit is not wiped clean after each use which is also indicated in the Owner’s Manual, it may cause the grease to become super heated with continued use and will cause the paint to bubble and expose the metal underneath.
Unfortunately, both of these instances are the result of not following the instructions provided in the Owner’s Manual which accompanied your unit when purchased. We do apologize for any inconvenience but Emerson will not be able to repair or replace your unit as the problem was caused by not following the operating Instructions provided. We do not recommend that you do not continue to use this unit in its current condition as it may spark or catch on fire. We do suggest replacing this unit.
Sincerely,
Emerson Radio
Consumer Affairs
VINEGAR ? Really?! Would that not be safer to ingest than detergent? Aren't many foods acidic that would be prepared in this unit? I'm discouraged at having notified them of the same issues many others have with NO RESULTS> POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Sparks and grinding noise....DON'T BUY!!!

05/05/2012
By ,
Olympia, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My dad bought me this as soon as I graduated. We mainly got it because it was the only one in our store with a grill on top (which I never use and only makes it hard to clean) it's always made a weird grinding noise when the plate turns and about 2 weeks ago I noticed it was sparking inside as if I had something metal in there. I checked my bowl and it didn't and it's not like the bowl had any silver lining or anything. It's just a faulty microwave. I really hoped since my dad spent almost 100 dollars on it, it would be half way decent. It was a horrible feeling to have to lug this brand new, nice looking, and expensive microwave to the dumpster and throw it in. I really with the people who made it would keep making it but with better quality. I really liked the look of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+1point
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Not worth the $

08/31/2011
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
6 months after we bought this microwave we started having issues with it. When the microwave was closed and the timer wasn't on it would continue to run. Which also meant that the defrost option didn't work properly. Instead of defrosting it would cook. A few days later the turn table started not working. Luckily we bought the protection plan for this product & got our money back to buy a new microwave!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

07/27/2012
By ,
Massillon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved the look, the color and the featured buttons. However, our plates would be hot and the food not warmed. Or the food would be too hot. Then it quit heating altogether after 5-6 months and the lightbulb burnt out too an it really wasn't used that much. I returned it to Walmart without a receipt and purchased another brand. I wished I would have read the reviews before purchasing the Emerson - I loved the look, but it worked (I should say didn't work) terrible.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Thought I had a great one!

07/03/2012
By ,
Alexandria, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought this less than a year ago, and like the smaller version before this one, it sends out sparks, and looks like lightning coming out. Sometimes it will not turn off or turns off while cooking and won't do anything. This does not work and has been a big disapointment. The store would not take the first one back, and then I bought this style thinking it would be a great deal, and everything I wanted in a microwave. NOT! I have kept it because I thought it would get better and thought maybe it was something I have been doing wrong. NOT AGAIN!! I lost the receipt, so the extra warranty will not do me any good. I guess this will go to the dumpster like the first one. PLEASE DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!! BTW, Emerson was sold to a different company, and I have not been able to get any help that way either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish
07/19/2012
By ,
Providence, RI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is true to form for Emerson Brand! Was received as a house warming gift ... worse one ever! Noisy, doesn't shut off have to keep it unplugged or it runs all the time, or keep door open. Grill feature is impossible to clean, cannot clean top of microwave under grill unit so smell is always there! does not defrost properly, takes forever for 2 lbs of meat. Overall I would never have bought Emerson,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish

Died within 2 years

02/17/2014
By ,
NYC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The heating element stopped working - power works, fan goes but no heat. Had been used infrequently for about 1.5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2 cu ft Microwave Oven with Grilling Feature, Stainless Steel Front Finish
05/14/2012
By ,
Washington
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this October 2011 for my nieces. Was noisy but it did an Okay job. Now it just doesn't heat anything. Power is on but it will not heat. I did not buy the extended warranty and 90 days is it. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
Age:45 - 54
+1point
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next