Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Primo Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Primo Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

A Primo Top-Load Water Cooler allows you to enjoy fresh, safe, hot or cold water instantly. This Primo Water Cooler has attractive designer styling, a child safety latch on the hot water button, a removable dishwasher-safe spill tray, and no filters to maintain. The Primo White Water Cooler accepts all 3- and 5-gallon bottles. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation93%67 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
20
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

great value for the price

01/07/2012
By ,
pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband asked me to get him a water cooler because the doctor wanted him to to drink more water. I saw this one and measured it to make sure it would fit where I had an open spot in the kitchen and it did. It's compact which is nice and many stores carry the water containers so you don't have to use a delivery company if you choose not to. Some stores, after you buy the initial plastic bottle, when empty, you can bring the bottle back in to fill it up for a minimal price. And some places, like Sams Club, have 4 gallon water bottles you can buy inexpensively instead of refilling. I like the feature where you can choose either hot or cold water with just a punch of a button. It also has a night light feature if you choose to use it. Initially, the water takes quite a while to get cold. I also think that the water could be a little colder but overall we really like this cooler and since it's so convenient, I have even started to drink more water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Good so far

10/16/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We like the water cooler. It was easy to setup and works great so far. we have only had it about a month so far. Hot water is hot, around 175 degrees. i tested when i went to warm up my babies bottle in a container of the warm water and the cold water is cold, about 40 degrees. Bottle replacement is easy. I have used 2 different 5 gallon jugs. One was primo and the other was artic spring water and both went on well with no issues. The only thing i dislike about the unit is that it's short. You really have to bend down to pour the water. I wish i would have got the one that has the fridge at the bottom that props it up another foot or so. But hey, i knew it was only 37 inches tall when i bought it. Just wish i would have spent a few more bucks for the other. Overall good value so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+74points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White
12/30/2011
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought this was a good deal for 99.00, although you still need to go get a bottle for the top because it is not included (I could not find on the box if it did or not until I opened it so that cost me an additional 12.00). I have got both hot and cold water from this unit. I like that you can shut off either hot or cold if you dont need both in use. When setting up it does make a little noise but it does state in the instructions that this is normal for the set up (it is getting water down in the unit and also since it is new it is heating the new element too). Once set up the unit is very quiet. The hot and cold indicator lights did go off when they were ready. As the instructions state. Hot takes about 20 min and cold an hour for initial set up. Once that happened the indicator lights when off and it was ready. Cold and hot as it states on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

For the money it is a great product.

10/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great. As soon as I set it up I had cold and hot water.
Great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lemoyne, Nebraska
Cleaning unit
Posted 03/04/2012
What procedure do you use to clean unit? Water is tasting stale.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Great Concept; poor results

10/16/2012
By ,
somewhere in the US
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Primo Top Load Water Cooler introduces an excellent idea in eliminating spillage while adding a new water tank. I always struggle trying to not making a mess when I added a water tank by removing the cap and flipping it over. The Primo design has a small cap that pops out in the middle of the large cap when you add a new bottle. The weight of the bottle will pop this cap out and the water will fill the cooler. The only problem is that the water is really really slow coming out of the cold water side. It will fill a little over a cup of water and then will reduce to a trickle as the cooler runs out of water. This is very annoying to the point that I will replace this cooler.
In short, great idea, research and development should have checked into this a little more before getting this to the market.
I sent an email to the company and it looks like I will have to return the cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Very pleased with this purchase!!

09/24/2012
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased this cooler on the advice of the Primo Customer Service rep. I purchased another model and noticed a slight burning odor with that one. He advised me to return it and get this model as it has two spots for the water to dispense from. The hot water is extremely hot and the cold water is ice cold. There is a bronze colored screw on the back in which I turned clock-wise a half turn and it got the water much colder. Only downside with this cooler was there was a small gap on the top left side of the unit. I noticed it as soon as I unpacked it. I pushed it back in place and it does fit. If that didn't work I would have taken it back. But other than that it's been worth the $99 so far. It was also cheaper in the store than online and wished all the stores carried it! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Very good cooler

03/31/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The water flow on this cooler is incredible. I love the flow rate. The only thing that I do not like is how low you have to go to get said flow rate. I actually put this up on a milk crate & now it is perfect. So this is a total win, just know you may want to modify it just a tad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White
01/31/2012
By ,
Port Charlotte, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the cooler and how it has energy saving features. The hot water is awesome, however the cold water could be colder, also whenever I put a 5 gallon bottle on because of the shape of the cooler I tend to have alot of over spill. Maybe I am doing something wrong, not sure but all in all I like this cooler
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

It was everything I was looking for...

01/06/2012
By ,
Lake Charles, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install and works great!!! Also the price of it was in my budget!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
what kind of tank does this one have?
Posted 09/07/2012
I'm wondering what the holding tank is made out of.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Decent cooler, but water not cold enough

01/16/2012
By ,
LI, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this to replace a seven year old Sunbeam water cooler. Unit looks nice and is easy to use, but you can't adjust temperature and the cold temperature, although cool is not cold enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Better than expected.

02/19/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this cooler for a week, but I'm loving it. I don't have to boil water for my cup of noodles or tea, and the hot water helps shorten the time for bringing large amounts of water to a boil. The cold water is not too cold, and is quite refreshing. I never owned a water cooler before. But, in comparison to those I've used at work, this one is quiet, doesn't take up a lot of space, and accommodates five gallon water containers. It truly works better than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White
01/30/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got tired of paying a water delivery company every month. This has already paid for itself, looks great in my home, very quiet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White
03/06/2012
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice, compact unit. I also use the 3 gallon size water jugs. I did have to make a change to unit, I removed the pointed water stem used for sealed type water bottles. Without removing that I spilled water all over just trying to put the jug on......just a minor thing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Primo is a really good value

01/19/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had the Primo for only a month, but we love it. It works exactly as we want it to. The cold water is very cold and the hot water is hot. The shelf under the water spouts is a good size for holding big mugs, measuring cups, etc.
We are hoping that over time, the Primo will hold up to our expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White
01/10/2012
By ,
Clewiston, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great for its use at home. I bought it for a faomily gathering and have fell in love ever since. It met all my expectations. If you are tall, however you may want to consider something with more height. Otherwise this is your product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Not cold

11/19/2012
By ,
Wichita ks
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks nice for the price but cold is not cold more like room temperature
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Easy to use

06/15/2012
By ,
Oswego,NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works very good although cold water could be a little colder
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Good water cooler for the price.

03/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can always trust Walmart to offer good prices on their products. This water cooler was only 99 dollars. I am living over in Germany so my family goes through a lot of water. The hot water comes good and hot in seconds. This is a must have if you drink a lot of water. Very pleased. Plus the shipping was excellent. It cost 6 dollars to ship this product to a military base in Germany.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

very good and high quality water cooler

04/15/2014
By ,
chino
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this cooler for a year and half now. Have no problem at all with it. it is quite and easy to use. looks nice in my kitchen as well. for a such good quality water cooler like this at this price you won't go wrong with primo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Primo Top-Load Water Cooler, White

Serves its purpose

10/26/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had this water dispenser for almost a month. It works well. Two "issues" I have had: It is very short (I am short 5' 3", but I still have to bend to get glass under dispenser but I read a review about this and didn't think it would matter. It is a little annoying, though. Another issue is that the first bottle I used on it was a Primo 5L and it worked fine and I bought a second bottle that was not a Primo brand and it appears to leak a little after you fill a glass. We are in the habit of leaving the glass under the spout for a few seconds after dispensing. Otherwise, it totally works and for the price it is a lot cheaper than paying a monthly fee for this service with a company.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1 2 3 Next