Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Primo Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Primo Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

The Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser is designer styled with stainless steel and black accents. With the water bottle concealed in the base of this stainless steel/black Water Dispenser, there is no more lifting and flipping of heavy bottles. Eco-friendly and Energy Star rated, this must-have appliance uses 25 percent less energy than traditional dispensers. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered marks owned by the U.S. government, as part of their energy efficiency and environmental activities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.313 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
66
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation88%313 out of 357reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
104 Questions | 278 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
237
4 stars
66
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Product is GREAT as long as it works...

09/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my Primo Bottom Load Water Cooler in stainless steel/black for a little under 2 years (we bought it toward the end of 2012). This week we realized the water was no longer cold coming from the cooler. So after some investigation, we discovered the compressor had gone out in the unit. No big deal. We'll just call the company since we did not purchase the extended warranty through Wal-Mart (no need to waste money on a product that shouldn't have issues, and likely a compressor wouldn't be covered under the warranty anyway...read your fine print). Anyhow, we discovered today that we could not get any support on our unit because we couldn't produce a receipt that shows when the system was purchased; although the model number indicates the unit was not manufactured until 2012. Customer service at Primo will give us one year based on the model number, but they will not go back 2 years unless there is a receipt available. So, there you have it. The unit is great as long as it works...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Great option for elderly or disabled individuals

02/26/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although more expensive, this cooler is a better choice for anyone who has difficulty lifting a 5 gallon water bottle to place on top of a cooler for any reason such as age or a physical disablity. Improvement over previous model in that now you can just slide the water bottle into the cooler with your foot whereas before, you had to physically lift the bottle up a few inches to place it in a sliding tray, although this was still better than having to lift a 5 gallon water bottle 3 feet or so to place it on top of the cooler. The fit of the tubing housing has also been improved. This model requires that the entire water bottle cap be removed to attach the tubing housing ensuring a snug fit. On the previous model, the tubing housing was placed on top of the water bottle's removable cap. I had experienced some loose fittings on the older model since we refill the bottles and the cap wears out over time and did not maintain an airtight fit which is necessary for the water to be pumped.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

really love it

11/25/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ill give you the negatives first: my wife wishes it were a bit colder, and 2ndly we use and drink spring water very regularly in our home, but when we arent using it or when its sitting it still occasionally heats and/or cools the water. to me its a bit of a waste of energy. for example itll heat and cool all night. the switches on the back make it easy to turn off. my suggestion to save energy is too make sure you turn it off when you arent using it i.e. while your sleeping or away for the day. the positives are that it looks great in the kitchen. i love that the water jug is hidden in the base. its not nearly as noisy as some reviews seem to make it seem. ive owned it for about 3 weeks now and am very pleased with it. i did not have any problems with a metal or plastic taste. ive used both manadnock springs and poland springs in it. its been great to have in the house. providing it lasts a couple of years id recommend this to anyone. Longevity yet to be seen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

SAVE YOUR MONEY

10/21/2013
By ,
Kingston, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the second Primo Cooler in less than two years. The most recent just purchased in April. The first one, the water did not get cold even after troubleshooting for 20 minutes with a Primo rep. as they do not service the coolers they sell. After adjusting the little screw on 10 different occasions/days still no cold water so finally we gave up because we noticed the 1 year warranty had just run out a week prior to the water not getting cold sooooo against my better judgment, my boss suggested just purchasing another Primo cooler. This was done in April 2013 and today October 21, 2013 the cooler just stopped sucking the water from the bottle. Again, I troubleshooted with the rep (via telephone) and nothing worked. I was then told to send an email picture of the cut cord and they would send me another one of their wonderful products......really? I am hopeful that I can talk my boss into being done with this company. 2 products in less than 2 years and nothing but hassle after hassle....definitely not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

bottom load rocks!

06/18/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an excellent product for the price i've got. It looks pretty nice in the kitchen, but it cool fit perfectly on any space, even office or public areas. The mixed finish of black plastic and stainless steel makes it very cool and modern.
it comes with three temperature choices. Room temperature, cold and hot. I didn't get to try the hot one yet, but the cold one gives me chilled water whitout the problem of dealing with ice. Comes out pretty refreshing, even cold enough to creste condensation on the outside of your glass right away.
The best of it all is the bottom load. C'mon! Those 5 gals bottles are heavy like a big fat panda! Lifting it up is not a problem now, just roll it, plug it, tuck it in and close the door. Low back issues no more. Im about 6ft tall and the whole thing ain't much taller than my waist. You don't have anti estetics blue bottles eye line height and the possibility of turning of hot-cold system separately makes it very convenient. Its very quiet, even less noise than your refrigerator and loads water into tank very fast.
I would definitely recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

LOVE IT!!! BEST OPTION!

08/28/2013
By ,
NW Chicago Suburbs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in Carpentersville, IL which has AWFUL Water! Its so bad its ruins aquarium filters, humidifiers etc. So I refuse to let myself, guests, my cats drink it or my fish to swim in it! So when I bought my house I needed an alternative water source for myself and my pets. I previous had Brita water filters on my sinks in my old apartment & they wouldn't work in my new house with the fixtures. A water softener or home filtration system was not an affordable option. Neither was a water service because I wont go through that much water. Having back issues I also have trouble lifting large bottles of water. This was the PERFECT solution!
Its quiet - I'm not sure what those other reviews are talking about. I am able to easily load bottles of water. Plus the buttons are up high so when my niece & nephew come over they can not reach the buttons up on top! I can also shut off the cooling, heating & light buttons to save energy when I'm not home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Very Nice Equipment

03/20/2012
By ,
Martinsburg, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This water cooler was a replacement for a top load cooler that died. I selected the bottom load because, when I was not available, my wife had trouble lifting the 5 gallon bottles of water. This unit is very stylish (black and stainless steel appointed), was very easy to set up, and (so far) has been working well. I read some of the reviews (before purchase) that said it was noisy. I have found the only noise is when it is actually pumping water, immediately after use. Other than that, it is silent. I don't use the hot water option (easier to microwave a small amount of water), and have found the cold water option is cold enough to drink (even without adding ice). A red light comes on when the bottle is near empty, the bottle is easy to change (just pull out the filler tube and replace into the next bottle), and I use the small amount of water left in the previous bottle to fill my coffee maker. There is also a toggle light switch on the back that helps when filling, if your room is not very well lighted.
All-in-all, this cooler has been an excellent purchase, a lot nicer than the cheaper-looking white top load models!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130
07/21/2012
By ,
Norman, Ok
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this unit and used it for about 2 weeks before returning it. My reasons for returning were these: the cold water wasn't, it was far from as cold as I like it; it kept a slight plastic taste for all 10 days I had it; room temperature water is not available, even when using the hot water spigot with the heater turned off you get cool water-when getting water for tea I'm using water that has been cooled, which I then heat-it was hard to live with this energy irony. The pump noise was slight, a non-issue, other than the idea that it takes electricity to provide water, unlike the bottle on top type that uses gravity. It is, however, quite handy to merely slide the heavy water bottle into the base of the unit. I think that if you have no need for real cold water or room temp water this unit might be fine; I assume that the slight plastic taste would go away in time. Wal-Mart was great about the return; I had the unit boxed up as I received it and they took it back, no questions asked.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Love the bottom loading bottle.

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this water cooler. The bottle load bottle is SO much easier that the old top load one I had.
I have it sitting up about 18-24 inches, which makes it the perfect height, so sitting directly on the floor may be a little low.
The only thing I really dislike is the sticker they put on that I have been unable to remove. All but one stick came off, as they should. However, the one is extreme and glued to a part that seems to give if I pull to hard on it, so I am afraid to break something and what has come off leaves all the glue on the cooler. However, the one is extreme and glued to a part that seems to give when I pull too hard on it, so I am afraid to break something. And what has come off left all the glue on the cooler.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Easy water hookup

02/26/2014
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are very happy with the ease of loading a 5 gallon bottle of water in the cooler. I am in my 50's and my husband is in his 60's. I didn't want to struggle with getting a bottle of water on the top of a water cooler (although my husband can easily lift the bottle, but he travels some for his job) so we chose the Primo bottom load cooler. There are two reasons we gave this cooler 4 instead of 5 stars. The cooler is a little noisy when first plugged in because the pump and cooler are running continuously for about an hour which is normal; however, it was extra noisy and had a continuous vibration. My husband folded a piece of cardboard and wedged it in the back between the body and top of the cooler and the vibration stopped. Easy fix for an annoying problem. The other reason is there is suppose to be a hot water, room temperature and cold water spout. The room temperature spout is just as cold as the cold water spout but this is not a major problem. We can get room temperature water from the hot water spout because we don't turn the heat on unless we need to use it and it heats up really fast. All in all we believe this is a good product and very attractive but believe it is over priced considering the two problems we listed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Beware of Giant Sticker

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you can open the box, make sure it does not have the Giant promotional sticker on the front dispenser area. This sound like a petty thing, but it is the size of your face, its ugly and it is impossible to remove. Primo needs to fix this. It took m e 4 hours to get off the cooler because it is basically a vinyl bumper sticker. Makes a nice looking cooler look like a billboard. Really dumb.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Water cooer

11/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good review as the cold water isn't working.
After contacting the mfr. customer service phone number they informed us to return product where it was purchased as it's a problem they aren't able to repair over the phone.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

BEST H2O cooler I've ever had!!!

09/19/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am absolutely sick to see this item @ Walmart, for this price!!! I purchased the exact same one, July 4, 2013. It cost $269, and another $69 for delivery!!! I had to replace my old one. I searched everywhere for one, online! I didn't think Walmart carried water coolers! What a dingbat!! This thing is great! When they say the water is nearly boiling, they're not kidding! The cold H2o is ice cold!!!! I'm thrilled with it! The bottom loading is also great! I've got severe back problems & was not able to lift the bottles any more. I switched, from 3 to 5 gal. bottles and it's made so I can roll the bottle right in. You only have about 1/2 cup left, at the end. This is a winner! I saw some complaints about noise. If you adjust the hose & bottle, it ends the vibration sounds!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Thermostat adjustment for COLDER WATER!!!

07/04/2012
By ,
MESA, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this product! I have had it for about 6 months now and was shopping for one for my mother and noticed a lot of reviewers complaining about the water not getting cold enough. Hope this is helpful.... Simply locate the dial which resembles a gold/brass-colored flathead screw in the small hole to the left of the black label panel. Use a flat screwdriver to adjust the dial clockwise to cool the water. Do Not adjust this piece more than ¼ turn at a time. Allow one hour increments between adjustments. Turning the control too much will cause water to freeze in the appliance’s reservoir and may lead to other issues such as the tank cracking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+213points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Seminole Fl
thermostat
Posted 09/11/2013
where is the black label panel you are talking about?
0points
Customer Avatar
08876
all the water spilled from inside the water cooler
Posted 03/27/2013
all the water spilled from inside the water cooler.
0points
Customer Avatar
weston
coldness
Posted 10/09/2012
Thanks for your review! Does the water get icy cold? Can you use a regular 5 gallon water bottle?
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 15 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

3 water Temperatures

05/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The water Cooler offers a very cold, slightly chilled, or hot water temperatures. I bought this because my other water cooler quit working. Like the style appearance od this cooler. The cold water is very cold. It runs a little more often and noisier than my previous model, but overall seems to work fine. Only have had it for a few weeks. I ordered the cooler, was delivered in a timely manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Expired coupons

12/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product. The coupons sent for refills expired June 30, 2014. I didn't purchase the cooler until November 2014
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

Primo is prime

12/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this water cooler for a couple of weeks. Easy to set up. Works well and it dispenses faster than my previous cooler. More aesthetic without the 5 gallon jug sitting on top of it.
Get it and you shouldn't regret it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

You can't go wrong with Primo

11/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second Primo I've owned. The first was a top load, but after having my shoulder replaced, I knew I couldn't lift those bottles anymore. This bottom load unit is very easy to operate and load. I only have use of one arm and I had no problem putting the bottle in.
The box it comes in is pretty big. I drive a Civic and had to put it in the front seat, so just be prepared for a large and somewhat heavy box.
It's very easy to set up. Just load the water and plug it in. The unit has switches on the back for night lights and to turn on the hot water element.
Good Luck
Primo is a great choice. Stay away from the Costco model. You will regret it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

This one works!

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The one I previously bought had to be returned because it didn't chill the water. This one works well. Cold water is cold and hot water is steaming hot. It looks nice and would fit into any black or stainless appliance suite. worth every penny
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Primo Bottom Load Water Dispenser, Stainless Steel/Black 900130

water is cold and hot when needed

05/11/2014
By ,
Niles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am happy with the bottom load water cooler it keeps the water as cold as the frig i have only had it about 2 weeks overall it seems to work great .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 322 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next