Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

The Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC sports a classy design along with the lastest AMD C-Series processor for fast display and browsing of rich web content, and responsive, energy-efficient performance! The AMD Dual-Core Processor and ATI Radeon HD Graphics let you enjoy and share full HD content effortlessly, and experience smooth and vivid DVD and HD video playback on the vivid 15.6" HD widescreen LCD display. With Windows 7 Home Premium and Microsoft Office Starter 2010 you have plenty of power to complete your daily tasks with ease and enjoy your digital media on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
1.833 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation17%1 out of 6reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

Wireless was my problem, too

06/17/2011
By ,
Cullman
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The other reviewer was right; the wireless was faulty on mine as well. Looking at the Acer support page, there seems to be three different wireless devices that are used. When I gave up and called Acer Support about it they wanted to determine if it was a software or a hardware issue. After I told them that I had already deleted and reinstalled the driver and that the wireless device was the Atheros, the guy promptly came back and said that it was a hardware problem and I could send it in for repair or return it to Walmart. I'm going return it and give a replacement a shot if they still have one.
I really like this laptop otherwise. It could use some more RAM, but I knew that going in. I was using it for light gaming. Psychonauts really looked great on it, and so did Myst Online Uru Live, although I never joined a crowd of people while on this machine, so I'm not sure how it would handle that. Free Realms could get a bit laggy when there was lots of people and movement going on, but it was a lot better than my old laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

DO NOT PURCHASE

06/14/2011
By ,
Lancaster Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband purchased this laptop for me. Once we got home and set it up we noticed you had to be at the same table your wireless moniter was stationed at. I would not go 5ft away without losing signal. We returned item thinking it was a bad wireless card to get homa and notice new one had done same thing. we called Acer and was told it was the wireless card that they use for this laptop and that the range we were receiving was all we were going to get. Who wants wireless when less then 5ft is all you get...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Not possible
Posted 06/17/2011
I've have owned many Acer Laptos including less expensive 10.1 mini laptops, the range on the wireless card is awesome even next door house, what you need to get is a good wireless router for your house do not blame the computer please
0points
Customer Avatar
Computer
Posted 06/17/2011
it could just be your router slash modem all wireless cards are the same unless it has 3G then its different but all wireless card s have the same distance.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/17/2011
I bought the same laptop and my wireless moniter is in the basement and I can still use the internet on the 3rd level of my house, so maybe you need a newer/improved wirless moniter
0points
Customer Avatar
Endicott, NY
Acer BZ873
Posted 06/17/2011
Thank you so much for your comment. I was hours away from purchasing this. I'll look for a different model!
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 3 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Buy for the price with just one CATCH

06/17/2011
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a very basic laptop (gets the job done), I have been using this for the past 4 days. It stays cool even after longer periods of usage. I would recommend this for any one who is not looking for a super fast laptop, you can browse the internet, check email and watch movies online etc,. The only catch is the CPU speed, Walmart site says 2.10GHz, but actually it runs on 1.00GHz AMD processor. I will be going back to Walmart to see what they can do about this.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

Wireless card does not work

06/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My problem is the same as the first reviewer. I tried for an hour to get the computer to connect to our wireless network. I was about 20 feet from my wireless router. I moved about 10 feet closer to the router, and the computer would connect. After moving about in the room, it looks like the 11 feet is the difference between a connection and no connection. Useless for a wireless system. Too bad, I like the computer, thin and light weight. But absolutely useless to me!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 5 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

the wifi is horrible gets poor signal in same room

06/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the wifi on this computer is horrible you need to be in same room and within feet of the router to get signal and even then it drops signal all the time even on top of the router i am going to return my second one and i called acer and also searched the web for solutions and have done all updates the wifi on this computer is just junk
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Acer Black 15.6" Aspire AS5250-BZ873 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-50 Processor, Webcam & Windows 7 Home Premium

junk

06/17/2011
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wifi works for very limited range, 10 feet max.
Returned and exchanged for another computer.
Same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points