Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sunpak Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Sunpak Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

The Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot can read CF, SD, SDHC, MMC, XD, memory stick, SIM, micro SD can more.
Average Customer Rating:
1.872 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
32
Customer Recommendation30%14 out of 47reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
32
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Not a SIM Reader!!

12/16/2011
By ,
Phoenix AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to recover data on my phone SIM card. The first card not only did not read my sim card -- but also ate my card! I had to break it to get the SIM card out. I returned the broken one and tried again - as it is hard to find SIM readers. Nope, nope, nope. And yes, I had downloaded the additional software from the website. And yes, my computer did recognize the device. I did not try any of the other card options.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

The Software from Sunpak does not work for SIM

12/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tested SIM Cards using this product and downloading software from sunpak.com/sim.html and software does not work.
You have to use magicsim_v255, you can download from my 4shared account at http://www.4shared.com/file/bhkUIFrQba/magicsim_v255.html.
Read Description!!!
To read, write, Contact List from cell phones SIM Cards using Sunpak 72-in-1 Card Reader. Install software and click YES to install DRIVERS, open program MagicSim.exe, click Setup. Select SmartCard Reader and click Conn than click on Files, click on Phone Book. You can Import and Export Contact List.
I have done with 4 SIM Cards.
Recommends this product? Yes
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

SIM functions are primitive

10/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are here because of the SIM reader capability, here are a few things to know:
1. Grab and review the manuals and USIM editor app from the link other commenter provided. The docs reference a CD with drivers for the SIM reader -- there is no CD provided, but the USIM editor also installs the SIM reader driver, apparently.
2. Unlike other memory cards, the SIM contents do not appear as files in Windows Explorer. They are only accessible via the editor program.
3. The SIM may or may not hold your contacts and/or recent SMS messages. In my case, I had to use a command on the phone to move contacts from phone memory to SIM, after which the reader and editor did see them.
4. The PDF docs claim that editor can save ("export") contacts to a file in text or CSV format. I only found capability to export in "usv" format, which contains text embedded in binary data, with records terminated by a "1" byte. Not compatible with a text editor or excel, though a programmer could work with this.
Overall, a rather primitive effort, but if you need it, you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Not a Plug and Play item

07/26/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this today because my compact flash reader won't work on my current laptop (don't have a slot for it) so I bought this hoping upon hope that I could upload my SLR photos. Read the directions, plugged in, laptop didn't find it as a device. Tried to manipulate the settings, didn't work. Tried to plug in the CF and it wouldn't recognize that either. Took the CF out and looked into the slot. All of the pins were either bent, missing or pushed in. So evidently, it wouldn't work. I'll take it back and go get the Scandisk one for a little more money at Best Buy.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

No software - doesn't work

07/03/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I plugged the reader into my Mac. The blue light went on when I inserted my Sim card. Then nothing happened. My Mac can't see the reader. I went to http://sunpak.com/sim.html to download the product. I got error 404 website does not exist error message. I am returning the product. Big disappointment and waste of my time. Given the number of bad reviews, I wonder why Walmart continues to carry the product.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Junk!

06/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have listened to the reviews...but I was desperate and had nowhere to go where I could purchase a CF Card Reader. It worked once! Piece of Junk!!! If photography is important to you DO NOT BUY THIS!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Junk , Useless , Do not buy ..

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk , Useless , Do not buy ..
Worked flawless 2X ..
Now will not read a card for anything ..
Re-seated the card multiple times , and yes it is in the correct way..
Tried multiple laptops, same issue ..
Dead after 2 uses...
Avoid...Believe the other 19 negative reviews..
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Excellent device

09/04/2011
By ,
North Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says it does.. Though on Windows 7 you have to fuss with it in device manager to manually install the "smartcard" drivers for the SIM reader on it to work. Everything else works flawlessly without having to work on drivers. The USB connector could be a little longer, but considering it's meant for portable use it's adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

IMO a very very good card reader

05/08/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this card reader for at least 2 years now. In everything from XP Home / Pro to Vista and Win7 and Linux. I have no idea what everybody else is complaining about because it has worked great in everything that I do. Be it CF, SD, SDmicro, and even SIM. IT DOES REQUIRE A DRIVER for SIM cards. But, I have used it to read SD on a WinXP system without a driver. I am a computer tech support specialist and have been working in the pc field in one way or another since 1999. That is why I have used it on every system except a mac. I have no trouble inserting or using any of the slots. You do have to be careful about mis-inserting as the labels can be confusing. The SIM functions are somewhat limited but that is not the fault of SUNPAK but rather the phone makers, as there are no standards for SIM data storage for contacts. In a way there is, but once again blame LG, Verizon, Moto and all the others for not adopting the vcf format. Even in my most recent phone where I can add all kinds of contact info when I back them up to the sim card all info but the phone number gets dropped. btw driver link @ http://sunpak.com/specsheets/simreaderzipver10250.zip
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Ever wished you hadnt bought something?

02/14/2014
By ,
Suwannee County, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This will be one of those times when you may, as I wasted my money on this about 2 months ago after having read the reviews, noticing there are less good reviews than bad. This Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot is a rip off after only one time of being able to use it successfully. First time I used it, I put my Sandisk card upside down. Was able to download my music on it. For the past three days I have tried several times, to get more music on the MicroSD card. The slot that holds the micro card is not a snug fit, the card isnt firm in the slot, turn it sideways the card falls out. I live alone and no one has tampered with this in any way, not sure how the card cant be secure in the slot! So I got my Sandisk Adapter, put the microSD card in it, either way my desktop or laptop computer does not recognize this at all.
I notice there are more than 1 star reviews, then 2, 3, 4, 5 altogether!! I generally buy or choose not to buy by reviews if any are available for an item I am interested in. I would rather have my money back than this plastic worthless junk.
I will shop again for something else to put my music on, being more careful now to pay attention to reviews. I dont have the original packaging or receipt, but I'm taking it back to the Walmart I bought it from and give it to customer service. Its no good to me. Please search elsewhere! You may be glad you did! I wish I had!! Live and learn!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Broken after 15 seconds... Junk

03/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this to delete data off of a Compact Flash Card. Worked for about 15 to 20 seconds, then the device acted as though it became 'unplugged' and now only has a red light on it. Tried 4 different USB 2.0 ports, 2 other PCs running Windows XP and 7 as well as a different memory card but the device refuses to function.
Calling this card reader useless junk would be an insult to junk. Do not purchase if you're looking to actually work with sensitive memory card data.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Did What I Needed (old Digital Cameras)

06/18/2013
By ,
Temple, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In my case, this was perfect. I have an extremely old Nikon Coolpix and Fugifilm 3800 finepix cameras. My main computer broke down recently and I had to go to a 15+ year old XP machine. It stopped recognizing my USB cable for my camera after 6 hours. No amount of web crawling or normal fixes would get XP to recognize the camera was attached. I didn't have a USB cable for the old Coolpix which used to work with the PC. They had this in-store (Texas) and it worked fine out of the box with XP. I did have to sit through it looking for drivers but it recognized them even though I got the "your device might not be working properly" message. It's keeping me going with the photos I need for work until the PC parts get here. I'll continue using it to save battery drain when my PC is back up and running. I give it 4 stars because it doesn't look particularly durable for the price, but it works. No complaints and rescued my old camera cards.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Not Quite Junk

07/27/2011
By ,
UK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just pluged it into a Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. However, driver is required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package.
Built-in plug may prove to be the weak point, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

would never recommend this product

05/12/2014
By ,
madison, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this item is the worst thing I have ever spent money on I spent hours trying to get this to work came with no instructions you just insert and it is suppose to give you a option to download never happened went to website they gave if that is what you call it for hours I tried different websites to find a download for product finally found the website for the product and its says to insert cd to download product doesn't come with a cd this was not a cheap item for me that only reason I didn't not return is because my daughter accidently threw away the package
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

doesn't work

05/09/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Doesn't work and can't find drivers for it on Sunpak web site.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Save your money

06/03/2013
By ,
Alamosa, Co.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is completely useless. There is no software disc and can not download drivers from mfg. Will not upload pictures to computer. Bought yesterday and have gotten absolutely no use out of it. It will be returned tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Non-existent website for the driver

10/27/2012
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't read/edit a SIM card without the software--website address is no good---as a matter of fact, www.sunpak.com has a 404 error--"Not Found."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southeastern CT
Odd
Posted 05/09/2013
Website werks on my computer, maybe u need a newer one!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

This reader is poorly designed.

10/30/2013
By ,
Freindsville, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This card reader is poorly designed. The loose fit of the flash card in the reader slot causes it to mis-align and damage the pins. I have used many card readers over the years and they need a very tight and aligned fit into the slot. Something this reader fails miserably at. I bent the pins on the first insertion and I was careful. This will be headed back for a refund pronto.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Complete junk

07/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No WinXP driver for it. Doesn't autorecognize. No website or support. Pins bent first insertion and no way it will work now for Compactflash. Junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Concord, NH
SAME BOAT!!!! NEVER WORKED AT ALL!!!
Posted 09/29/2013
I bought this at Walmart. It never worked. I plugged it in using my CF card and my Mac did not auto recognize it. I thought it may have been because one of the pins appeared bent. Because it was opened, I could only exchange it for another of the exact same item. When I tried the 2nd new one it still only indicated that it was connected but I can not figure out how to get the blue light and install my pictures. After 2 tries I have given up and feel it was just a complete waste of my money and time. I would not recommend you buy this product.
0points
Customer Avatar
BOUGHT 2ND ONE NO GOOD!
Posted 07/07/2013
I agree, exact same problem here. Pins bent on first use with CF also does not work with windows 7 computer. I bought a second one because it was the only one Walmart had (I can see why they had 15 of only these)same problem,
0points
Customer Avatar
UK
Not Quite Junk
Posted 07/19/2011
Just plug it into an Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. Driver required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package. Built in plug may prove to be the weak point.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 20 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

I would give this -10 stars if I could

02/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I grabbed one of these PIECES OF JUNK while on a working vacation when I forgot my CF card reader at home. When I plugged this into my laptop and plugged my 8GB CF card into it. It promptly told me that the card needed to be formatted. When I put the CF card back into my camera, it said the same thing. Poof, over 3000 images are now gone. Luckily, most of those images were already backed up, but I had taken about 400 pictures of wildlife during my two week vacation, and those are now history.
I've bought Sunpak photo equipment before, and the fact that this is SUCH A PIECE OF JUNK is a surprise.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next