Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunpak Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Sunpak Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

The Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot can read CF, SD, SDHC, MMC, XD, memory stick, SIM, micro SD can more.
Average Customer Rating:
2.025 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation35%14 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

The Software from Sunpak does not work for SIM

12/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have tested SIM Cards using this product and downloading software from sunpak.com/sim.html and software does not work.
You have to use magicsim_v255, you can download from my 4shared account at http://www.4shared.com/file/bhkUIFrQba/magicsim_v255.html.
Read Description!!!
To read, write, Contact List from cell phones SIM Cards using Sunpak 72-in-1 Card Reader. Install software and click YES to install DRIVERS, open program MagicSim.exe, click Setup. Select SmartCard Reader and click Conn than click on Files, click on Phone Book. You can Import and Export Contact List.
I have done with 4 SIM Cards.
Recommends this product? Yes
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

SIM functions are primitive

10/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are here because of the SIM reader capability, here are a few things to know:
1. Grab and review the manuals and USIM editor app from the link other commenter provided. The docs reference a CD with drivers for the SIM reader -- there is no CD provided, but the USIM editor also installs the SIM reader driver, apparently.
2. Unlike other memory cards, the SIM contents do not appear as files in Windows Explorer. They are only accessible via the editor program.
3. The SIM may or may not hold your contacts and/or recent SMS messages. In my case, I had to use a command on the phone to move contacts from phone memory to SIM, after which the reader and editor did see them.
4. The PDF docs claim that editor can save ("export") contacts to a file in text or CSV format. I only found capability to export in "usv" format, which contains text embedded in binary data, with records terminated by a "1" byte. Not compatible with a text editor or excel, though a programmer could work with this.
Overall, a rather primitive effort, but if you need it, you need it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Junk , Useless , Do not buy ..

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk , Useless , Do not buy ..
Worked flawless 2X ..
Now will not read a card for anything ..
Re-seated the card multiple times , and yes it is in the correct way..
Tried multiple laptops, same issue ..
Dead after 2 uses...
Avoid...Believe the other 19 negative reviews..
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Anitvirus flagged driverdownload

12/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My antivirus AVG flagged the program you must download to use the product, titled simreaderzipver10250, as a potentially unwanted application. An antiphishing warning came up when going to an alternative site for download. What is wrong with the program why is it being flagged? Is it safe to install?
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Ever wished you hadnt bought something?

02/14/2014
By ,
Suwannee County, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This will be one of those times when you may, as I wasted my money on this about 2 months ago after having read the reviews, noticing there are less good reviews than bad. This Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot is a rip off after only one time of being able to use it successfully. First time I used it, I put my Sandisk card upside down. Was able to download my music on it. For the past three days I have tried several times, to get more music on the MicroSD card. The slot that holds the micro card is not a snug fit, the card isnt firm in the slot, turn it sideways the card falls out. I live alone and no one has tampered with this in any way, not sure how the card cant be secure in the slot! So I got my Sandisk Adapter, put the microSD card in it, either way my desktop or laptop computer does not recognize this at all.
I notice there are more than 1 star reviews, then 2, 3, 4, 5 altogether!! I generally buy or choose not to buy by reviews if any are available for an item I am interested in. I would rather have my money back than this plastic worthless junk.
I will shop again for something else to put my music on, being more careful now to pay attention to reviews. I dont have the original packaging or receipt, but I'm taking it back to the Walmart I bought it from and give it to customer service. Its no good to me. Please search elsewhere! You may be glad you did! I wish I had!! Live and learn!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

IMO a very very good card reader

05/08/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this card reader for at least 2 years now. In everything from XP Home / Pro to Vista and Win7 and Linux. I have no idea what everybody else is complaining about because it has worked great in everything that I do. Be it CF, SD, SDmicro, and even SIM. IT DOES REQUIRE A DRIVER for SIM cards. But, I have used it to read SD on a WinXP system without a driver. I am a computer tech support specialist and have been working in the pc field in one way or another since 1999. That is why I have used it on every system except a mac. I have no trouble inserting or using any of the slots. You do have to be careful about mis-inserting as the labels can be confusing. The SIM functions are somewhat limited but that is not the fault of SUNPAK but rather the phone makers, as there are no standards for SIM data storage for contacts. In a way there is, but once again blame LG, Verizon, Moto and all the others for not adopting the vcf format. Even in my most recent phone where I can add all kinds of contact info when I back them up to the sim card all info but the phone number gets dropped. btw driver link @ http://sunpak.com/specsheets/simreaderzipver10250.zip
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

would never recommend this product

05/12/2014
By ,
madison, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this item is the worst thing I have ever spent money on I spent hours trying to get this to work came with no instructions you just insert and it is suppose to give you a option to download never happened went to website they gave if that is what you call it for hours I tried different websites to find a download for product finally found the website for the product and its says to insert cd to download product doesn't come with a cd this was not a cheap item for me that only reason I didn't not return is because my daughter accidently threw away the package
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Excellent device

09/04/2011
By ,
North Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says it does.. Though on Windows 7 you have to fuss with it in device manager to manually install the "smartcard" drivers for the SIM reader on it to work. Everything else works flawlessly without having to work on drivers. The USB connector could be a little longer, but considering it's meant for portable use it's adequate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Worst CF Card Reader Ever!!!!

10/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst CF Card Reader Ever!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Not Quite Junk

07/27/2011
By ,
UK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just pluged it into a Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. However, driver is required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package.
Built-in plug may prove to be the weak point, though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Did What I Needed (old Digital Cameras)

06/18/2013
By ,
Temple, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In my case, this was perfect. I have an extremely old Nikon Coolpix and Fugifilm 3800 finepix cameras. My main computer broke down recently and I had to go to a 15+ year old XP machine. It stopped recognizing my USB cable for my camera after 6 hours. No amount of web crawling or normal fixes would get XP to recognize the camera was attached. I didn't have a USB cable for the old Coolpix which used to work with the PC. They had this in-store (Texas) and it worked fine out of the box with XP. I did have to sit through it looking for drivers but it recognized them even though I got the "your device might not be working properly" message. It's keeping me going with the photos I need for work until the PC parts get here. I'll continue using it to save battery drain when my PC is back up and running. I give it 4 stars because it doesn't look particularly durable for the price, but it works. No complaints and rescued my old camera cards.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Doesn't work...computer will not recognize it

10/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No support...no device driver for it...Windows 7 will not recognize....Walmart shouldn't even sell this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Works okay

09/08/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Initially, I could NOT get it to read my Compact Flash cards from my Canon camera. Drove me crazy, then I turned the card around - AH HA! The card goes in backwards from the way you would think it should. Now it reads fine. No problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

This reader is poorly designed.

10/30/2013
By ,
Freindsville, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This card reader is poorly designed. The loose fit of the flash card in the reader slot causes it to mis-align and damage the pins. I have used many card readers over the years and they need a very tight and aligned fit into the slot. Something this reader fails miserably at. I bent the pins on the first insertion and I was careful. This will be headed back for a refund pronto.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Not worth the cost

08/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No CD for software as described in product literature. This forces the user to use an internet download, which does not work anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Complete junk

07/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No WinXP driver for it. Doesn't autorecognize. No website or support. Pins bent first insertion and no way it will work now for Compactflash. Junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Concord, NH
SAME BOAT!!!! NEVER WORKED AT ALL!!!
Posted 09/29/2013
I bought this at Walmart. It never worked. I plugged it in using my CF card and my Mac did not auto recognize it. I thought it may have been because one of the pins appeared bent. Because it was opened, I could only exchange it for another of the exact same item. When I tried the 2nd new one it still only indicated that it was connected but I can not figure out how to get the blue light and install my pictures. After 2 tries I have given up and feel it was just a complete waste of my money and time. I would not recommend you buy this product.
0points
Customer Avatar
BOUGHT 2ND ONE NO GOOD!
Posted 07/07/2013
I agree, exact same problem here. Pins bent on first use with CF also does not work with windows 7 computer. I bought a second one because it was the only one Walmart had (I can see why they had 15 of only these)same problem,
0points
Customer Avatar
UK
Not Quite Junk
Posted 07/19/2011
Just plug it into an Windows XP Pro machine and did not require any drivers. Driver required for SimCard reader and the address for the download is in the instruction leaflet, included in the package. Built in plug may prove to be the weak point.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 17 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Non-existent website for the driver

10/27/2012
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't read/edit a SIM card without the software--website address is no good---as a matter of fact, www.sunpak.com has a 404 error--"Not Found."
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southeastern CT
Odd
Posted 05/09/2013
Website werks on my computer, maybe u need a newer one!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Still has limitations

01/19/2014
By ,
Raymond, NH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this specifically for the SIM reader functions, it doesn't read it. When contacting support, all they said was that it must be my SIM's. No suggestions, no help.
I tried an SD card and that worked just fine. Directions are few and vague, you have to download something for the SIM reader on PC; in the d/l instructions says full directions are online…nope, they're not. When having trouble with it reading SIM's on my MAC; support just said: Apple says you don't need the download……. period; not suggestions, no instructions on how to use it. I'll keep it only because I do have need for reading SD cards and such.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Wish there was a zero stars rating!

06/16/2014
By ,
Missouri
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these a couple of months ago to transfer HDSD cards to an older XP Pro computer that only has slower built-in card readers.
Stupid me...I didn't try it till today, when I really needed it to work. It DOES NOT WORK AT ALL!
I still have the original packaging, but not the receipt, so I guess I'm just out of luck. Another $18 wasted on useless junk from Walmart.
I bought it because as a phtog, I've used Sunpak strobes for many years. They used to make great products. No more I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sunpak 72-In-One Card Reader with SIM Slot

Reads SanDisk 8GB CF without any problems

10/25/2012
By ,
Irving, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
-This Works without any additional drivers on a Server 2008 R2 box.
-On an XP SP3 box, it Windows did have to search for drivers. But the automatic drivers update worked fine.
-On a Windows 7 Pro - after a system scan, the drivers were available.
Overall - No issues. Just had to cross my fingers and hope the auto driver update works, which it did.
Pros - Build-in USB cable is nice, though it's only about 1.5 inches long.
Cons - No support. Tried looking for drivers - no lunch. sunpak.com is not available, and sunpak.jp is a site for their camera flash products.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next