Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Stack-On Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Shipping Note: This item is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Safeguard your firearms with the Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe that is fire rated and security tested. This safe can hold eight firearms up to 54" tall and operation lights present in the electronic lock indicate open safe, low battery, and incorrect entry. This convertible gun safe has two-way locking with one-inch steel live action locking bolts and five locking points. You can extend and retract the locking bolts with the help of the steel handle. In order to provide more security to your firearms, a drill resistant steel plate is placed behind the lock.
Average Customer Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(174 Reviews) 160
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation87%152 out of 174reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 166 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
80
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

shipping mis-handled

06/01/2013
By ,
castaic, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the safe... for the price its fair but when I received my package the top corner of the safe was damaged obvious mishandle by the shipping company.. the paint had chipped off and a good size dent was present.. I feel for the price I paid I should have received a little better care of my package then what was given.. I am satisfied only because it took 2 weeks to get and I really needed it so other then that im not sure I can get any reconciliation on the matter
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Posted 03/18/2014
Thats funny, we got our safe with the exact damage. Also the whole inside was destroyed, like it was dropped from a high height. Took it back to store and got a full refund. Getting ready to pick up another one at Walmart this weekend, but opening the box there before we get home.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price

09/17/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere.
Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc.
A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+145points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Stack-On 14 Gun Safe

03/17/2014
By ,
Mokena
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a great value for the price I paid for this Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe. I could not find a better price anywhere and delivery was free. I was disappointed in the communication from the delivery service. I had spoken with them twice and on my initial call they indicated that the delivery was upgraded and that there would be two men delivering the safe. Knowing this my wife took off work to be there to let them in. I spoke later the same day as the delivery was scheduled and was then informed that there was only one person on the delivery truck and that it would be left curbside. Though the dellivery man was very polite he would not bring it past the front entrance. I left work and my wife and I brought the safe inside. My only recommendation is that in order to safely move the safe it requires two or three strong men. The packaging was damaged and there was a small "gash" on the safe. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great Safe if you are on a budget

04/08/2014
By ,
Arnold Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice looking safe and has many nice features !!!! 1st it may only be 300 pounds do not think this will be nice and easy to move around by yourself as I did. And on stairs you will beg anybody with 2 arms to help you pull and push up stairs. But that is a good thing this will not be a easy snatch and grab for a one person break in or 2 for that matter when it is loaded up !! 2nd the Inside of this safe is well to say the least nice with a bit of rough mixed in the shelves are not finished all the way around with carpet. And the bottom of the safe is just kind of laid down for you to pat down and place it in place. And to finish this all off like I said at the start great safe if your on a budget 400 bucks is not a lot but will make you confident your important papers and guns are safe plus being fire proof you wont have to deal with all the hassle of going around collecting those important papers or refilling for said papers again
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Sigh

03/15/2014
By ,
Fairfax VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe.
I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Good starter safe

12/13/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Solid Safe

02/21/2014
By ,
Reno. NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power.
My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Perfect gun safe for hubby

01/17/2014
By ,
Owings, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After talking about getting a gun safe to store our guns, and mostly to store our ammunition that is stockpiling - awaiting the inevitable revolution that our country is apparently headed towards - I finally bought the old man this gun safe for his birthday. He loves it! For the guns that you don't have placed in various necessary locations around the house (what use is a hand gun against intruders if it is locked up?) - It is a perfect size if you have several but not too many guns, and there are several shelves that are adjustable. We have the long guns on one side and the shelves on the other side. It's heavy enough that no one is going to pick it up and walk away with it in the dead of night, but not so heavy you can't maneuver it into position or move it on a heavy-duty dolly. We rolled it into the basement through the garage on a heavy-duty dolly, no big problems. No scrapes or dents in ours, it arrived in perfect condition, well packaged, and it was quite easy to set the combo. And it has an emergency unlock key in case you have memory loss or you don't leave the combo in your will - future generations will be able to open it, provided you let someone know where the key is. A very good purchase for our $$. We are very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

WalMart has the best price on this item.

11/16/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Pleasantly surprised

03/26/2014
By ,
Arroyo Grande, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My safe arrived more than a week earlier than originally scheduled and I just happened to be home. The delivery guy was very nice and brought right into my garage where I opened it right away to check for damage as the box looked like it took some hits. No damage anywhere so I wiped it down with gun oil and I must say I was pleasantly surprised how nice it looks and works. I was easily able to move it into position with a hand truck by myself. The interior is maybe a little shoddy but for $400 OTD for a fire-lined safe, it's a killer bargain! The nice thing is you can make all kinds of adjustments including the height of the floor as some compact guns will not reach the plastic holders unless you raise the floor height (then you can store stuff under that raised floor shelf). It has holders for iron sight only rifles and extensions for scoped rifles. It has pre-drilled holes for anchoring it down or to the wall and comes with hardware.
It is not as secure as my Canon safe, but at less than half the price and almost half the weight, it's hard to beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Better than expected

11/22/2013
By ,
Brick,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this item, it said expect delivery in about 2 weeks. Well I ordered this on a Sunday morning and had it in my house on Tuesday. Awesome!
Solid construction. Heavy enough that nobody can just walk off with it. It comes with hardware to secure it to the floor. The safe has plenty of room inside for my purposes and I had it setup in a few minutes. Carpet lined inside. Four adjustable carpeted shelves to hold ammo and handguns and other items on one side and my shotguns on the other. Perfect for my purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great value

04/06/2014
By ,
East TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I searched reviews for gun safes for over a month before I bought this one. I knew going into it, that this is not the perfect safe. But, for the price and piece of mind it gives me, I don't think it can be beat. This safe has an electronic lock and with any safe under $1,500 it is prone to failure. When mine arrived the electronic lock was bad. It had a short on the main board that caused failure of the lock and caused the battery to heat up. So, why am I giving this a good review? Because 1. at this price I knew it could happen and 2. Stack-On, unlike other safes anywhere near this price, provides an emergency key. The key worked great and the customer service at Stack-On was very helpful. After a few weeks I received the new board for the lock and now it works fine. But, unlike other safes that do not provide a emergency key, I did not have to wait for weeks or longer to use my safe. Also I knew that the 14 gun listing is dependent on what type of weapons you have an whether or not you decide to use the optional shelving that takes up gun space. Make sure you have a friend and a hand truck with at least a 500 lb. rating to move this.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Do Not Order Online: WILL be damaged in shipping.

10/11/2013
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe seemed like a good deal online, but I had to call the shipping company MULTIPLE times just to arrange the delivery, and then (just like all the other reviews have stated) it arrived damaged. I don't know what the shipping company does to these things, but the outer cardboard box it came in was pretty much destroyed. Upon initial inspection, the outside of the safe appeared fine, with the exception of paint scraped off of one of the corners. However, when I opened the safe, all of the shelves had been knocked down, and upon closer inspection, the actual ceramic/plaster fireproofing material had broken away from the ceiling and was falling down. I will spent the extra $$ and pick one up at my local gun shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black
10/15/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good safe for the money. I prefer the digital lock to the standard combination lock. It is much faster to open. The only drawback I have found so far is that the fireproofing material cracks when the bolts are tightened when bolting it to the floor. I have fixed this problem by making and installing steel plates on the floor of the safe. They could also have done a better job of installing the felt lining material. I had a can of spray adhesive handy so I fixed that too without too much trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great Buy

04/10/2014
By ,
Orange County, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received my safe today, it came with a few very minor dings but i decided to keep it instead of exchanging it. The safe engineering is better than I had expected. For those that wants to know if you can change the combination - the answer is yes. It's pretty simple to change your combination and if you forget the combination it comes with two keys to override the electronic key pad if needed. That was a huge plus for me. I read on some the reviews with people saying that they can't change the combo and so to find out that it was not true is pretty awesome. I would highly recommend this safe for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Solid construction with a couple of concerns

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe looks to be well constructed and a great value. It was delivered with a dent in on the top corner, that was not found until it was unpackaged at home. There is no way I am returning it, because of the shear weight. The door opens even in the locked position. I called Stack-on and they are sending a lock smith to adjust it.
A little word of advice... Take the door off before you move it, and get a rolling furniture mover that you can put it on. I was able to move it by myself, even at that weight.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great safe for the value!

04/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching gun safes, and this was one of them, I decided on it because of its price vs. its features and because it is fire rated. Most insurance companies do not cover guns in the event of a fire or other emergency. The other safes the are fire rated and have the features of this safe are typically 2 to 3 times more expensive. After purchasing it online, I received it in about a week and a half. The shipping company called and made arrangements for delivery and they did show up as scheduled. The safe was delivered with no damage. After setting it up I realize that it was better quality then I expected. Hopefully the fire rating works for the 30 min as specified.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Nice Entry level Safe Great Price!!

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for this safe. Had it shipped to store just in case if there was any damaged caused by shipping. Minor scuff but everything else look good. I would recommend this safe for anyone looking for a safe just under 300lbs with a electronic lock and fireproof.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK

11/24/2012
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the stack-on fire resistant safe at Walmarts Black Friday sale. This is one time it wasn't too good to be true as they had to be giving them away to get folks into the store. It meets all of my security expectations and when lag bolted to the floor and screwed to two walls in a corner it isn't going anywhere. The locking bolts on and the steel plated door are certainly industrial strength. The sheetmetal walls could be thicker but as I've put the safe in a corner leaving only one exposed side, access is limited. I suppose the lock could be beefier but doesn't compromise security and is adequate for the job. I'm not a big gun collector but what I have is very expensive and irreplaceable so this safe is the perfect size for the space I'm putting it in and the number of fire arms and documents I want to protect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Defective

04/15/2014
By ,
Alpharetta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The safe came with broken/defective lock. Not sure if that has happened during the shipment or it was originally defective.
Requested return and Walmart processed my return already so that I get refunded. However, it is more than 5 days and yet no one has contacted me to pickup the defective safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next