Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Stack-On Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Shipping Note: This Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black is shipped via a freight trucking service. The company will call you to schedule a delivery appointment, so ensure someone is home at the scheduled delivery time. Please note that this item is available for curbside delivery only, and will not be moved into your home or garage. We recommend you have help available to move the item to its final location. Safeguard your firearms with the Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black that is fire rated and security tested.
Average Customer Rating:
4.109 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 196
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
68
3 stars
19
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%186 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions | 236 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
101
4 stars
68
3 stars
19
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

shipping mis-handled

06/01/2013
By ,
castaic, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love the safe... for the price its fair but when I received my package the top corner of the safe was damaged obvious mishandle by the shipping company.. the paint had chipped off and a good size dent was present.. I feel for the price I paid I should have received a little better care of my package then what was given.. I am satisfied only because it took 2 weeks to get and I really needed it so other then that im not sure I can get any reconciliation on the matter
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Posted 03/18/2014
Thats funny, we got our safe with the exact damage. Also the whole inside was destroyed, like it was dropped from a high height. Took it back to store and got a full refund. Getting ready to pick up another one at Walmart this weekend, but opening the box there before we get home.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Excellent Gun Fire Safe For the Price

09/17/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this yesterday on sale ($397). Only 300 lbs, not too hard to move around, took it home in my truck. Everything is as described (use the specs on the Stack-On site, not the Walmart site, as there seems to be some confusion in their specs--the actual size is about 20" wide x 20" deep). Several shelves and easy to configure. Sturdy and well made. Also packaged carefully to prevent damage to the keypad and corners of the unit. This same unit and similar ones sell for $700+ elsewhere.
Includes "stand-off" barrel supports for rifles with scopes. Comes with two large bolts and anchors if you want to attach to a concrete floor. Can set codes up to 8 digits, and includes two keys in case you forget the code or have a problem with the electronic keypad. Bottom of unit is smooth so you can slide it on dense carpet, etc.
A good value. If you're a big gun collector, this might not be large enough for you. But for most of us, with a couple of rifles, a shotgun, and a handguns, this is perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great Safe if you are on a budget

04/08/2014
By ,
Arnold Mo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice looking safe and has many nice features !!!! 1st it may only be 300 pounds do not think this will be nice and easy to move around by yourself as I did. And on stairs you will beg anybody with 2 arms to help you pull and push up stairs. But that is a good thing this will not be a easy snatch and grab for a one person break in or 2 for that matter when it is loaded up !! 2nd the Inside of this safe is well to say the least nice with a bit of rough mixed in the shelves are not finished all the way around with carpet. And the bottom of the safe is just kind of laid down for you to pat down and place it in place. And to finish this all off like I said at the start great safe if your on a budget 400 bucks is not a lot but will make you confident your important papers and guns are safe plus being fire proof you wont have to deal with all the hassle of going around collecting those important papers or refilling for said papers again
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

WalMart has the best price on this item.

11/16/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mainly purchased for handgun storage. I have 5 long guns and 6 handgunds plus assortment of holsters, magazine holders and speed loaders. Wanted a fire resistant and more secure safe than current long gun cabinet and handgun cabinet. Plenty of room for my guns. There is room to add more homemade shelves to safe. I like the convenience of electronic lock, but also like the key backup. WalMart employees were very helpful in reviewing safe with me and loading into my vehicle. Weighing almost 300 pounds it took two people and hand dolly to get into my location. Drilled through bottom of safe to mount to floor with long bolts and nuts I provided. Lag screws provided with safe were too short to fully fasten through safe, carpet and floor. I could pull them out by rocking safe. Large bolts, washers and locking nuts provided secure mounting. Have researched and found WalMart best price. Would recommend safe as good low priced unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Good starter safe

12/13/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got one of these as a Christmas present, but guess what...I filled it up! Money been tight, so instead of waiting to save up to get one huge safe, I got another on of these. The safe is a good beginner's safe if you only owned a few rifles with scope. Any more than that, you need to get something a lot larger. But at least this one is fire-rated for 30 minutes. I think the price point is on the high-side, but it's a good safe that you can keep inside your house instead of the garage. I want to be close to my "toys", and it fits very well in any walk-in closet. My local Walmart did a great job with the site-to-store delivery. They let me drive my truck to the back of the store, and loaded it into the bed of my truck-no sweat. Two guys and good working dolly, and you can put this safe anywhere in your house. Just remember, this isn't a Liberty Safe, you are getting what you pay for. This one fits my needs nicely...twice...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Provides guality level of security for the price.

10/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This safe was $397 + tax, with free shipping. Could not touch this total cost for the same product, elsewhere.
External construction is solid and the safe has a quality look and feel. Almost belies the low price. Digital lock and operating lever function smoothly and correctly. Door and hinges fit and work well.
Carpeted grey interior is attractive and constructed about as expected at this price point, conveying a sufficient, quality look and feel. Shelves are a bit out of level, but not badly so (as some reviewers have observed).
I purchased the safe with the knowledge that it is certainly not a "Liberty", and at this price can be defeated by a determined thief. But for my purposes (protection against a grab and run thief and/or a curious, unauthorized handler of my arms), it should serve well.
One last note... I usually don't make the effort to write reviews such as this and I'm not particularly, a Walmart fan. However, I felt compelled to respond for this reason: Great satisfaction with the COMBINATION of low price, more than sufficient quality of the merchandise and the prompt, efficient, free delivery service that Walmart employed to get it to me. Overall, a VERY pleasant experience and one that I wasn't really expecting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Sigh

03/15/2014
By ,
Fairfax VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited reading other reviews on this safe. The day before it arrived was like the night before Christmas. It was much smaller then I expected. Even with the scope stand offs, fitting 14 guns is a estranged pipe dream. Sadly the door of the safe is slightly off so u have to push hard on it every time you want to shut it. That's not that big of a deal since I don't need to open it all of the time, What is a big deal is the electronic lock dose not work. Stack-on is sending me a new circuit board, Fingers are crossed that it fixes the lock issue. In hind sight I should have bought the manual combination lock, and spent a few more dollars on a bigger safe. If the replacement board dose not fix the issue I will be returning the safe.
I think stack-on needs more quality control and Walmart should ship their products better. My two cents for what it's worth.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Perfect gun safe for hubby

01/17/2014
By ,
Owings, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After talking about getting a gun safe to store our guns, and mostly to store our ammunition that is stockpiling - awaiting the inevitable revolution that our country is apparently headed towards - I finally bought the old man this gun safe for his birthday. He loves it! For the guns that you don't have placed in various necessary locations around the house (what use is a hand gun against intruders if it is locked up?) - It is a perfect size if you have several but not too many guns, and there are several shelves that are adjustable. We have the long guns on one side and the shelves on the other side. It's heavy enough that no one is going to pick it up and walk away with it in the dead of night, but not so heavy you can't maneuver it into position or move it on a heavy-duty dolly. We rolled it into the basement through the garage on a heavy-duty dolly, no big problems. No scrapes or dents in ours, it arrived in perfect condition, well packaged, and it was quite easy to set the combo. And it has an emergency unlock key in case you have memory loss or you don't leave the combo in your will - future generations will be able to open it, provided you let someone know where the key is. A very good purchase for our $$. We are very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Solid Safe

02/21/2014
By ,
Reno. NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's going to work perfectly for why I bought it. It's going to keep my child from accessing my guns, and it's going to stop would be thieves from stealing my guns. Hopefully I never have to test out the fire resistancy. The electronic lock works great so far and after opening and closing the safe a few time the handle operates smoothly. The safe is much heavier than I thought it was going to be for it's size. Be prepared for a serious workout if you plan on keeping it on a second floor. Filled with guns and ammo, even if it's not bolted to the floor or wall, would be feat of strength and will power.
My only complaint is the carpet on the inside is a little rough. By that I mean uneven cuts, weird overlapping, and on the shelves missing carpet. None of these things hurt the function of the safe, it just looks bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Do Not Order Online: WILL be damaged in shipping.

10/11/2013
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This safe seemed like a good deal online, but I had to call the shipping company MULTIPLE times just to arrange the delivery, and then (just like all the other reviews have stated) it arrived damaged. I don't know what the shipping company does to these things, but the outer cardboard box it came in was pretty much destroyed. Upon initial inspection, the outside of the safe appeared fine, with the exception of paint scraped off of one of the corners. However, when I opened the safe, all of the shelves had been knocked down, and upon closer inspection, the actual ceramic/plaster fireproofing material had broken away from the ceiling and was falling down. I will spent the extra $$ and pick one up at my local gun shop.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Better than expected

11/22/2013
By ,
Brick,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I ordered this item, it said expect delivery in about 2 weeks. Well I ordered this on a Sunday morning and had it in my house on Tuesday. Awesome!
Solid construction. Heavy enough that nobody can just walk off with it. It comes with hardware to secure it to the floor. The safe has plenty of room inside for my purposes and I had it setup in a few minutes. Carpet lined inside. Four adjustable carpeted shelves to hold ammo and handguns and other items on one side and my shotguns on the other. Perfect for my purposes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Great deal. You get what you pay for!

10/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the safe for a week or so.
I really like the safe. The quality is OK, not GREAT. But you get what you pay for. The shelves inside are not quite level. The rails for the shelves are not lined up so that you can mount the shelves in a level position. But that is certainly something I can live with.
It takes two people to move this thing around. It's about 300 Lbs. You can easily remove the door, but it does not make all that much difference.
The safe came in good condition, although the box paid the price. It was a bit torn and I though I might have a dented or scratched sage. But, it arrived in great shape.
I would recommend this to anyone so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

MOST BANG FOR THE BUCK

11/24/2012
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the stack-on fire resistant safe at Walmarts Black Friday sale. This is one time it wasn't too good to be true as they had to be giving them away to get folks into the store. It meets all of my security expectations and when lag bolted to the floor and screwed to two walls in a corner it isn't going anywhere. The locking bolts on and the steel plated door are certainly industrial strength. The sheetmetal walls could be thicker but as I've put the safe in a corner leaving only one exposed side, access is limited. I suppose the lock could be beefier but doesn't compromise security and is adequate for the job. I'm not a big gun collector but what I have is very expensive and irreplaceable so this safe is the perfect size for the space I'm putting it in and the number of fire arms and documents I want to protect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Overall good product.

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great safe, exactly as expected. It is the perfect size for my needs but 14 guns is a stretch. Overall great product at a great price. Picked it up at the store and after unpacking there was no damage. Very heavy and needed to carry it upstairs so as I saw in other reviews I took the door off and it was manageable with me and my son.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

OK, but not an effective use of space.

10/05/2014
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Because of the divider down the middle of the safe which supports the shelves, the horizontal space in the safe is cut in half. Also, the supports for the rifles interfere with the vertical space on both halves of the safe. The supports for the rifles are higher than the length of an assault rifle, so they provide no support for an assault rifle. If you were only going to put 14 regular length rifles in the safe and nothing else, it would be great. In the safe I received, the supports for the shelves are not lined up correctly so the shelves are not level. I was able to work around the above items and get everything I wanted in the safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Good value for the money

10/01/2012
By ,
Deltona, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I did my research pretty carefully before buying this safe by checking out all the major local hardware and sporting goods/hunting outlets in my area. I had a price range in mind and I knew I wanted somehting fire resistant with an electric lock (quick access) and heavy enough that it wouldnt be able to walk away easily. I picked up this safe off the floor at my local Wal-Mart and was very pleased with the weight (300lbs empty) and the sturdy feel and appearance of the safe. I like the adjustable shelves and the additional brackets included for scoped rifles. Lets be real, most people have scopes on their target and hunting rifles so they are very useful.
As is true with any safe you buy the capacity is a bit stretched. The 14 gun capacity quickly dips as you add rifles with detatchable magazines and scopes. The only real thing that I didn't like was the quality of the carpeting on the shelves and floor of the safe. The carpet was loose on the floor and the shelves were not carpeted all the way around. If you sit on the floor or lean down you can see bare wood on the bottom of the shelves so I fixed these issues myself and didn't try calling anybody to complain.
Keep in mind that none of my gripes even come close to a deal breaker. I think the price I paid for what I got was a very good deal and I would recommend this to anybody who is looking for a good, solid entry level safe for the avarage gun owner or collector with a modest rifle collection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Good Safe, but bad packaging

10/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The safe looks good and is heavy.
Quality seems OK, Interior is nice and shelves are very helpful for storing ammo and handguns.
The packing needs to be greatly improved. Packaging was damaged and paint on 4 corners damaged.
Very good value for $387.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Quality for the money

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gun safe is a very good buy for the money. My only problem is that it is advertised as a 14 gun safe, but you can only put 12 guns in it. The door hits anything in the holders nearest the front, so they are useless. It only holds 12 long guns, any way you configure them. Overall, it is a good buy and well made, but it either needs to be re-designed to actually hold 14 guns or advertised as a 12 gun safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Affordable and functional

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at gun safes for over 6 months. This one is affordable, I am definitely happy with this safe. If you are looking for a desent size fire resistant safe with an electronic lock an a good prize this safe is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe with Electronic Lock FS-14-MB-E Matte Black

Stack-On 14 Gun Safe

03/17/2014
By ,
Mokena
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a great value for the price I paid for this Stack-On 14 Gun Fire Resistant Security Safe. I could not find a better price anywhere and delivery was free. I was disappointed in the communication from the delivery service. I had spoken with them twice and on my initial call they indicated that the delivery was upgraded and that there would be two men delivering the safe. Knowing this my wife took off work to be there to let them in. I spoke later the same day as the delivery was scheduled and was then informed that there was only one person on the delivery truck and that it would be left curbside. Though the dellivery man was very polite he would not bring it past the front entrance. I left work and my wife and I brought the safe inside. My only recommendation is that in order to safely move the safe it requires two or three strong men. The packaging was damaged and there was a small "gash" on the safe. Otherwise, I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next