Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Southbend South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Southbend South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Easily reel in your catch with this Black Beauty 2 Big Water South Bend Spinning Reel. This reel has a drilled aluminum spool and features an oversized line roller to reduce twist. This South Bend fishing reel also offers four bearing drive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation91%20 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Great Reels

09/07/2014
By ,
Columbus ,Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first big fish pulled out easily ,one of many for the last couple of days, caught with my 2 beauty's spinning reels!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Nice, Smooth Reel for Big Fish.

11/09/2014
By ,
Lebanon, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this reel for the price. Casts and retrieves well and very smooth. Reel feels and operates like a reel that should cost 3-4 times as much. I have many of the so-called "high-end" reels and this one is as smooth as any of them.
This is a Medium/Heavy Reel for larger freshwater species. I bought this as a back-up reel for one of my catfish rigs, but after having tried it out, it might move up to first string!
No 5 stars because I have not owned it long enough yet to see how it will hold up over time.
As to the reels specs, it holds 230 yards of 20lb test, or 300 yards of 15lb test. The reel has 4 bearings and weighs 13.8 ounces. This reel does not have instant anti-reverse, it uses a pawl and gear system. This reel is also equipped with a switch that you can turn the anti-reverse off if you feel the need to reel backwards (some people fight fish that way instead of using the drag.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Great reel for the price!

08/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used it twice for salmon fishing, works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

the best for this price not bad reel at all

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
he best for this price not bad reel at all but i received in in plastic bag + the shipping box not plastic specially for reel may be it was return item but it work good
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

great reel for the price.

05/19/2012
By ,
louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't beat the price,I did manage to break the rod on the handle. Emailed southbend mailed it back and they replaced it. Just to give you an idea of the strength I was hooked into a 8 foot alligator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Great reel for the price

08/03/2014
By ,
navarre, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Received the reel quickly and in perfect condition....works and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Good product for the cost

08/19/2014
By ,
jacksonville, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Enjoyed use of the reel since day one. Cast is smooth and reel is smooth and quiet. The additional bearings make it a fluid moving reel. Handle is reversible for right or left hand operation and there is an anti-reverse switch. Does stick a little on initial retrieve, but not bad enough to cause problems, may just be stiff from being brand new. Very enjoyable and would highly recommend for a low cost "Big Water" reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very pleased with this reel, so much so that I have ordered 2 more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

This thing is huge!

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They need to put more of the specs on here I had no idea that it was going to be as big as it was. I think the lowest the recommended line weight goes is 15lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
God's Country
Small fishing reel, NOT HUGE OR SALTWATER REEL.
Posted 08/29/2014
This reel is for small freshwater fish only, like maybe trout, or small bass. NOT SALMON OR YELLOWTAIL, OR TUNA, OR CATFISH, OR STRIPERS. This is a small freshwater reel only.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Great reel for this price!

12/31/2012
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This great reel,but not the best, however you will not find anything better for this price..perfect for salmon/steelhead fishing..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

worth the money smooth retreivial

09/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got my monies worth very smooth retreivial works as good as some more expensive reels
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

haven't had a chance to use

10/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
would have liked it a lot better had it come in a box with an instuction booklet and warranty card.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Good product

05/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good for the price and capacity with 20 pound test.
Comparing this reel with others with the same size in the store, this is the best.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

good reel

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought 2 and 1 has a clicking sound in it. But it will be October before I try it out on the surf on some drums
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

it's my daughters now ,she loves it

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its smooth easy cast and love the wooden handle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

works well

04/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i like this reel but i wanted a new reel new a used one this was only packed in a plastic bag with no paperwork and i see some scratches on it i would buy this again but not from walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel
09/12/2013
By ,
altamonte springs,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great for anybody who loves saltwater fishing
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

can't beat the price for quality

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a great buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel
09/04/2013
By ,
LAKE WORTH, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE FIRST TIME I USED THIS PRODUCT I NOTICED THE DRAG MADE NO SOUND WHEN BEING PULLED. THE SECOND TIME I WENT OUT FISHING THE CONTROLLER TO REEL FORWORD AND BACKWARDS BROKE. I MYSELF DON'T LIKE TO DOWNGRADE A PURCHASE, BUT MAYBE THIS WILL HELP SOMEONE NOT TO HAVE TO GO THOUGH WHAT I DID.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for South Bend Black Beauty 2 Big Water Spin Reel

Nice price. Nice look.

06/15/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Have not had the pleasure of using BECAUSE there was no line on the reel!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next