Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Ideal Pet Products Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Ideal Pet Products Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Make life easier on you and your pet with an Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door, White Extra Large, For Pet To 90 lbs. It's easy to install and features a floating threshold for a perfect seal. The Ideal pet door is transparent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.509 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%49 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 72 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Perfect For Our Dogs

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for our 86lb and 13lb dogs.
I placed it lower in the door for the little dog, but our big dog has no problem going through it.
I really like how the sliding, locking door works.
It DOES NOT come with a template or mounting instructions. But if you know what you're doing, it should not be any problem.
I highly recommend taking a medium sized Sharpie and drawing an outline of the inside part of the doggie door onto your door (inside part of the door).
Once you've drawn the outline, cut to the outside of the drawing and this will give you the room to drop the door right into place.
Also do the same thing w/the outside of the doggie door and your door and you'll be good to go.
NOTE: If you have an aluminum skinned door, be sure to use a very fine metal jigsaw blade to stop any possible warping.
Hope this helps you make up your mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

2Happypups...Nice for my Furbabies...

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Extra large However I love it my dogs are small 2 Doxies (1) one 6 lbs and the other 10 lbs they took a little time to get use to but I love it as they do...Both dogs have room to hop in and out... Have to actually shut it at times... Love it all in all for my dogs
I do recommend this but must say use common sense and measure your dog first...
... Had to give it 4 stars because for a large dog as the size seems too small for a large dog of 90 lbs... I just don't know how it would hold up with a large dog going in and out...and somehow cannot see a large dog crawling through this... Not sure how long it would last...I'm looking for a super large size for my sisters home...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

pet door

11/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
installation was simple works great Ace loves it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Not sized appropriately

11/13/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This door was supposed to accommodate a dog up to 90 lbs and even shows a Labrador on the box. My Labrador would NOT be able to squeeze through this opening and he is only 85 lbs. The next size up is $30 more for just a few inches.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Door Not Big Enough For My Dog

01/10/2013
By ,
Mayfield, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No complaints with Walmart or this Pet Door. However the Extra Large size advertised wasn't extra large enough for my golden retriever, Sadie. The box and the advertisement showed a golden retriever on the packaging and this was misleading. The opening of the door was 10.5 X 15 and there is no way my Sadie could get through this door. Therefore, I had to return the door for a refund. I never opened the inner package once I saw how small the door really was.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Excellent door

07/23/2014
By ,
Rosamond, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Looks good. Took about 45 minutes including cutting the hole. Accomplished the purpose we wanted. Dogs now have total access, comfortable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Great doggy door!

01/30/2013
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this for my 3 dogs: a pug, an Alaskan Husky, and a Dalmation/Lab mix. Easy install. Clear view makes it great for the dogs to see if someone is in the way. Surprisingly didn't make the entry way cool, has a good block on the air. Door cover is simple and glides easily closed and open. My 2 year old even sneaks in the house through the door when we get home from the store! Silly. Overall, great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Product good but too small for up to 90 pounds

09/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The actual product is good and would have been great but It was too small for my Australian shepherd who weighs 80lbs
It says up to 90lbs.
I just need to get the very large one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

This is a great pet door. We love it.

06/05/2013
By ,
Michigans Upper Peninsula
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 2 dogs, One is 35 lbs, the other 92 lbs. They both go through with ease. It was easy to train them to use it ( we bribed them with treats ) This was easy to install through our metal outside door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Replaced old beat up door with 2 new ones

12/03/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these to replace an old one. I measured the flap and the door as well. Extremely close in size.
I had to build wooden frames to mount each of these on. The frames were attached to the old sliding door doggy door metal frame. One on the inside. One on the out side. I attached each of the doors to the wood frames. Predrilled holes in the wood and metal to mount the wood frames to the metal frame. Used metal screws to mount the wood to the metal. Used wood screws to mount the doggy doors to the wood frames.
I also used metal flashing to make the frames more sturdier. Not necessary. But I did it to make the wood act as one piece. I cut 4 inch strips of metal flashing the length of each side of the frames. Bending them over the wood. Then attaching the frames just inside the flashing to the wood.
Unbelievable in setup and sturdiness. Keeps the wind out. We have had 40 mph ones this week.
It took my dogs a day or 2 to get use to the extra weight of 2 flaps (instead of one) on their noses.
I have replaced the flap previously on this door. I do not expect to have to replace the flaps or door. This is a solid product and a very solid deal. The prices for a new door are outrageous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

VERY EASY INSTALLATION

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VERY EASY INSTALL. FLAP WORKS GREAT AND STOPES ON MAGNET STRIP EVERY TIME !! VERY GOOD DEAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Great pet door for the money.

10/20/2012
By ,
La Grand, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two rescue puppies (3 months old) and it works great for them. Too good sometimes. They love the freedom it gives them. Super easy to install. My husband Just cut the hole and placed the pet door in. No problems at all. Works like it should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Doesn't last long

04/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this product at the beginning of winter for our dog. It only lasted about 4 months and it was ruined. The plastic part ripped right off the top so there is no way of fixing it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Good value dog door

10/03/2012
By ,
Lake Arrowhead
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was just as described and easy to install. Great value for the price. Fast shipping too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.
04/03/2012
By ,
Tucson Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The doggie was as expected easy to install and worked good. It is good quality and design.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Ideal Pet Door

06/26/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this Ideal Pet Door from Walmart.com to replace the same model Ideal Pet Door originally installed over 10 years ago. Walmart.com had the best price and ordering from their website is convenient with fast shipping.
This Ideal Pet Door is the same model with slightly different modifications which makes it a better door than my first one. Removing the old door was very easy to do. Replacing the new door was just as easy. All I needed was a Phillips head screwdriver and my fur~kid supervising me. BTW, The original installation took an hour and was placed into a glass storm door with a solid lower panel.
The Pet Door is sturdy and comes with a panel that slides into slots on the inside to block the pet door opening. It can be used when travelling or when you want to keep your pet in or out. It has a magnetic strip on the bottom part of the frame and one on the bottom of the flap which keeps the flap closed. I have never had an unwelcome guest come through the door.
The Ideal Pet Door is a great value, construction is flawless and replacement parts are available. It has lasted through years of two rambunctious very bad black labs and I am replacing it by choice. It can be installed in doors, storm doors, sliding patio door inserts and in brick walls. Ideal is well know for their quality pet products and has been in business for decades. I personally wouldn't consider any other manufacturer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Nice for a plastic door.

06/30/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I put this in an old screen door. It is a nice heavy plastic and once I got the hole cut (the hardest part of the job) it was very easy to install. My dog took to it quickly. It has a plastic cover for the hole when you do not want it in use. I gave it 4 stars because if you want something that is more security friendly you should probably buy something else. It serves my needs well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

We love it!

07/07/2014
By ,
Colorada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews we got the next size larger when we ordered and glad we did. It fits our border collie perfectly. Super easy to install, looks super nice and works like a dream. Super pleased with this purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

Good door size is right for 60 lb sheppard!

07/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good door, fits my sheppard of 60 lbs very well. Wish it had a better template however, they say to use the door block, but it's actually 1/2 too long on top. Just hope it will last a while as I have now a big hole in my steel door.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ideal Thermoplastic Pet Door White, Extra Large for pet to 90 lbs.

very good item for the price..

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not bad for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 47 total reviews
1 2 3 Next