Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Turtle Beach Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Turtle Beach Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Immerse yourself in dynamic surround sound while enjoying crystal-clear communication on the PlayStation Network with this Turtle Beach headset for PlayStation 3. This PS3 gaming headset features an integrated in-line amplifier that keeps audio controls and a microphone mute within easy reach. Combining high-fidelity 5.1/7.1-channel Dolby Digital surround sound with the included digital optical cable allows you to experience 3D audio that envelops you.
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation77%10 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Excellent sound and comfortable

10/25/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item as a gift and have used them myself. They have excellent sound, makes you feel as if you're really in the environment! Set-up only looks time consuming, but isn't! Very easy! I had the wiring plugged in far less than a minute. And the settings were easy to do also. Nice to have a plugged in set (no batteries to have to keep buying like wireless). The options that you have for the different useage is great! And those are easy to change whenever you wish or if someone else uses them. They are comfortable to wear too! These improved our gaming experience, you hear things you never heard before, and all the sounds, no matter what they are, all sound true to life. These are well worth buying, great price also! They arrived fast and in great shape! Now I will order my own!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Great product for the price

02/15/2012
By ,
Woodstock, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great headset. I play MW3 and other FPS games 95% of the time and these are great for that. Only thing that can be viewed as a "bad thing" is that you talk into the mic and about 1/2 second later you hear it in your headset. Now the manual that comes with the headset says there's a option on the on "controller" to turn this off, but there isn't anything there. BUT, i've found that if you adjust your settings on the PS3 and on the controller itself just right, you won't hear yourself and everyone else hears you just fine, just takes a little bit of playing with to get it right. VERY durable well made set. Was wanting to get a wireless set and after doing some research and comparisons i decided that paying the extra $$$ for wireless was pointless, these come with a 12 foot cable, and I don't know anyone who sits that far away to play a video game. OVerall i'd recommend to anyone, great sound quality, durability is good, easy to understand controls, easy to hook up and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Nice Headphones

07/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They really sound great on both my ps3 and my PC. I would highly recommend these to any gamer, lightweight and the sound is fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Very nice headphones Great sound in DD5.1 & DD7.1

08/17/2011
By ,
Beaufort, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just picked up the DPX21 yesterday. Setup with my MW2 (Elite) Xbox 360 was a snap with the audio adapter. Spent four or five hours playing COD MW2. Very nice. I'm able to hear things that my Dobly Digital 5.1 home theater system just wasn't bringing to life. The crickets, bullets, heat poping from smouldering cars, enemies walking around the building just outside of the window - Wow!!! Did notice that intermittently the blue chat button temporarily extinguishes for no apparent reason. It doesn't impede my ability to chat and it quickly comes back on. I'll keep a close eye on it anyway. However, so far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Turtle Beach Call of Duty: MW3 Ear Force Bravo: Limited Edition Programmable Wireless Universal Gaming Headset
 
 
 
Turtle Beach Call of Duty: MW3 Ear Force Delta: Limited Edition Programmable Wireless 7.1 Surround Sound Gaming Headset
 
 
 
 
 
 
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Best Headsets you will ever own in your life!

06/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a good Headset for any gamer. If you don't want to spend a fortune and time on those Expensive Surround Sound systems, then this is your best option by far!
Sure it has a big price tag but it's completely worth it. I owned a Foxtrot MW3 Editon Headset of these and they lasted for 3 months(till the cats got the cords -_-). So I bought these because I loved them and wanted to try the DSS on the Headset as well. So far they have increased my gaming experience like I wouldn't believe, altho they don't work to well with non-Dolby Surround sound games like the old CoD series, they do manage to give you an amazing outcome in the end.
Overall I can hear alot more than I could if I just ran on the Headset alone and I thought that was amazing!
If you want a good headset, Get these before it's gone for good!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

two pairs broke already

08/12/2011
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we are on the third pair... the wires came loose on the first pair ...second the little white piece fell out of the usb port and the right speaker blew out lets hope the third time is a charm or we will be getting our money back!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Met and exceeded expectations!

12/22/2011
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic sound quality! Games sound completely different with the Dolby processing running. Even though it’s not “true” surround sound, the headset effectively reproduces the effect excellently. You WILL be able to hear enemies sneaking up behind you. Sound cues you may have missed will be enhanced and distinctive. Overall a must have item for any gamer!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Broke with a week. Swivel design is VERY frail.

10/07/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not believe my eyes when I looked at what actually broke. I mean come on, it is supposed to hold the entire ear piece on. I is not only a hollow plastic piece, but it is no more than 4-5 mm thick (3/16"). Snapped right off without even trying.
GOING BACK for a refund. Will try Tritton
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

So disappointed!

12/27/2013
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I currently have the PX21 headset and I was pretty satisfied with it. But when I heard of the DPX, whoa! I had to try them out! So I ordered them and the service was great.They arrived sooner than expected and so I picked them up. They looked exactly like the headset I've already had with the exception of the digital processor that came attached. Very light and very nice looking. That was it. Just nice looking... It did not do anything else. I must have messed around with it for a couple of hours before I came into the realization that it was broken :( now I'm back to using my original headset and returned the DPX. I wish there was a way of testing them prior to bringing them home. Oh well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Great ajustable control options.

10/07/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It has been a good purchase so far, no problems. I love the sound. These make it seem like your in the action.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

Excellent item breaks too easy for the price!

06/16/2012
By ,
shawnee, ok
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
These are the most awesome headphones ever, if you use skype or play ps3 games etc... the sound is incredible!! built in mic etc... is the best by far. But.....within just a few days the foam pads fall off, and even though you can put them back on..still a pain, then the swivel part of ear pad breaks so it has to be super glued, then swivel part of mic breaks and then you are stuck with a $200 pair of useless headphones. Always buy the warrranty and keep your receipt because they do guarantee them and they are awesome but just very fragile!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)

sounds good!

11/01/2012
By ,
springfield, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just got it for a week, used it for few times. works great, sounds great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Turtle Beach Ear Force DPX21 Dolby Digital Headset (PS3)
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5