Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

The Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater provides heat wherever you need it. This innovative, transportable, indoor-safe heater features an easy-start, four-position control. It has a built-in piezo Ignitor and Hi/Lo temperature settings. It has a safety system that shuts the unit off should it be tipped over. The fold-down handles make it easy to carry from one area to another as needed. This portable radiant heater has a range of approximately 200 square feet to heat those chilly areas of your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.686 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%34 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

lots of heat

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this heater tent camping and the outdoor temperature got below 40F the first night out. We turned this heater on High in the middle of the night, and it warmed up the 6-man sized tent and everything in it in a out 15 minutes. We shut it off after that, and were good the rest of the night.
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't such a potential fire hazard. It has nice safety features, but when using it in a relatively small space, it is tricky to keep everything a minimum safe distance from the heater.
Easy to hook up to the propane bottle and start. It's lightweight and packs away easy enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Love Mr. Heater!

11/03/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took my children camping in the North GA mountains in mid October. Unfortunately, a cold snap came through the same time we did. The first night we were all freezing, so the second day we bought this heater. Honestly, we were intending to return it the following day because of the cost, but after using it on that second night of warmth and comfort despite the low 30's outside the tent, we took it home, singing it's praises! We have a HUGE 8+ person family tent and this heated the entire tent with no problems. I will never camp without taking it along again. I trust it around my 3 year old daughter, especially with the safety of the low oxygen sensor and the tip over shut off. It is well insulated on the bottom and sides, staying cool to the touch aside from the front where the heat comes off it. Even then, the caging protects from the heating element. The only drawback to this heater is that it burns through the propane quickly on high (3.5-4 hours). My husband had to change the bottle once in the middle of the night, and once again in the morning while we were getting ready for our day and packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+103points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

good if you know how to refill canisters

03/31/2014
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gives off good enough heat such that our floorboard heaters never kick in when this thing is on. We use it inside the house and we haven't had any problems with the carbon monoxide alarm. the only con to this heater that I see is that it consumes the 1lb tanks in about 5 hours on high. However, I prefer screwing on a new canister rather than pouring smelly kerosene for a kerosene heater. Much more convenient, no kerosene spills to worry about and doesn't give off smelly kerosene vapors. I would suggest you purchase a propane refill adapter from harbor freight($18) or online from walmart. That way, each pound of propane costs about $1.30. Otherwise you will be buying a lot of canisters to keep this thing going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great & portable way to get heat

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family & I were going on a camping trip to where it was going to be cold so we decided to invest in this portable heater due to the safety features. I was very pleased with heater & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a portable heat source. Besides the safety features, it was easy to use & I liked that you could control the heat with a turn of a knob. It kept us warm throughout the night. We did have to change the propane in the middle of the night but it was because we had it on high the whole time. It lasted at least 4-5 hours though which I thought was quite reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

I have used it at the Drive-in Movies

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have been enjoying using my Heater Buddy. I love it's portable use and how much heat it puts out! My family and I have used it at the Drive-in Movies when the night temperatures dropped under 55 degrees and it made all of my kids and I quite comfortable sitting in our outdoor chairs in front of it. Made us quite comfortable to watch the movie with light coats on. We've used it on our back porch while eating an October meal outside. We just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

excellent product

02/01/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my latest one for 6 yrs now in my small travel trailer for hunting. Works great, no odor and efficient. Make sure to use and change the external filter yearly if you use the 4 gal tank as bulk propane is very dirty and will kill the heater. Thats what happened to my first one. I use a CO detector in the trailer along with a propanr leak and smoke detector and never had any alarms and yes I do sleep with it turned on low to keep warm.ly recommend this unit...good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great protection for loss of electricity.

10/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with the price and the quality of the Portable Propane heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great little heater

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Warmed our canopy area much better than I expected and didn't use as much propane as I expected. Very happy with my purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Nice heater

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Unboxed it, read the directions, installed the 1Lb bottle of propane, turned the switch and it lit right up. This is a very simple heater to use. It's energy efficient and quite powerful. Heats up in no time. I'm very happy with this product. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great. Little heater warms up 10X20 room.

11/24/2012
By ,
Baja California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goes through the little canisters pretty quickly so will be hooking it up to a bigger tank. Starts right up-no odor and puts out good heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Warms med/large sized room very well

01/17/2014
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last one I purchased worked for 7 years, this seems like the same quality and output. I have it connected to a 20lb cylinder. Sometimes at the end of the season you can find them in store for $45. If you need something to warm a bathroom quickly this is it using the 1lb bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater
04/23/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I bought this heater. Went camping this past weekend in the White Mountain National Forest of Northern N.H. Anyone that knows New England weather , they know how cold it is in April with snow still still on ground. The first couple of nights was in the low to mid 30's, the tent stayed toastie warm, the last night there the temp at night was in the mid 20's. The tent stayed nice and warm. Yes, it does go through a lot of canisters on high but I knew that before I went camping and made sure I had plenty with me. This heater is awesome and well worth its money, oh, it turns on real easy and will shut right off if tipped over. ITS GREAT !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

nice addition to my camping gears

04/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whenever my family go camping before and after summer, we always have felt cold at night during sleep even if we use nice sleeping pads and 0-25 degree sleeping bags. So I decided to buy a heater for the colder season camping and ended up buying this heater after a long search. No regret at all. It is a fantastic small portable heater that you can use while camping, fishing, and hunting (even though I don't hunt.. :). All of my family could sleep very warm and cozy in a 6 person tent. This heater warmed up the tent instantly and very well. I had to replace a propane cylinder once about 5 hrs after starting the heater but it is very easy to replace so wasn't a problem at all. It also gave a good and warm night light in the tent. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great heater for their cold season camping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Easy to set-up and operate

11/29/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main interest was using this heater as a temporary, emergency indoor heat source. Since it does not generate the deadly carbon monoxide gas and since it has a low oxygen shut-off valve, it is ideal to heat a small area should we lose our electricity.
It is easy to set-up and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Excellent for emergency heat!

04/06/2014
By ,
Huntington, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use overnight on those cold nights camping in a VW bus and it performed so well!
Heated the bus well on low setting and didnt use but 2 tanks in a 3 night period. With 30 some degree weather it exceeded our expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great Outdoor Heater !

03/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use in a baseball stadium. It kept us warm in 35 degree weather and the sides stay cool which was perfect with kids around us. It felt like we had a fire next to us. We'll never be cold again watching our kids play ball! Great product !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great for the size and portability.

12/19/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my experience the small tank will only last about 2 good hours maybe more maybe less. The attachment hose for the 5 gallon propane tank is estimated to last about 48 hrs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

A good purchase.

04/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The biggest negative is that it does go through the propane pretty fast.
I used it on low the first night and it lasted about 5 hours. Then I was pretty cold. I thought I'd save a little propane by keeping it low. That strategy didn't work. The 30 degrees temperature might have had something to do with that.
For my second night, I put it on high and it went about three hours and then I woke up and changed it. I was comfy however.
I also discovered that if you bump it, it automatically shuts off. Might be a nuisance, but definitely safe. I liked that feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great for hunting.

12/26/2013
By ,
North East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works really well. Will keep You from freezing to death in a deer stand even when it's 16 degrees out. A small tank of propane burns about 4 1/2 hours on the low setting for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Keep Warm

01/04/2013
By ,
Bremerton, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kept our 20 foot RV warm in rainy 30=40 degree weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next