Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

The Mr. Heater "Portable Buddy" is an innovative, portable, indoor-safe radiant heater that features an easy-start, four-position control with built in piezo Ignitor and Hi/Lo temperature settings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%24 out of 25reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Love Mr. Heater!

11/03/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took my children camping in the North GA mountains in mid October. Unfortunately, a cold snap came through the same time we did. The first night we were all freezing, so the second day we bought this heater. Honestly, we were intending to return it the following day because of the cost, but after using it on that second night of warmth and comfort despite the low 30's outside the tent, we took it home, singing it's praises! We have a HUGE 8+ person family tent and this heated the entire tent with no problems. I will never camp without taking it along again. I trust it around my 3 year old daughter, especially with the safety of the low oxygen sensor and the tip over shut off. It is well insulated on the bottom and sides, staying cool to the touch aside from the front where the heat comes off it. Even then, the caging protects from the heating element. The only drawback to this heater is that it burns through the propane quickly on high (3.5-4 hours). My husband had to change the bottle once in the middle of the night, and once again in the morning while we were getting ready for our day and packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

good if you know how to refill canisters

03/31/2014
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gives off good enough heat such that our floorboard heaters never kick in when this thing is on. We use it inside the house and we haven't had any problems with the carbon monoxide alarm. the only con to this heater that I see is that it consumes the 1lb tanks in about 5 hours on high. However, I prefer screwing on a new canister rather than pouring smelly kerosene for a kerosene heater. Much more convenient, no kerosene spills to worry about and doesn't give off smelly kerosene vapors. I would suggest you purchase a propane refill adapter from harbor freight($18) or online from walmart. That way, each pound of propane costs about $1.30. Otherwise you will be buying a lot of canisters to keep this thing going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Nice heater

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Unboxed it, read the directions, installed the 1Lb bottle of propane, turned the switch and it lit right up. This is a very simple heater to use. It's energy efficient and quite powerful. Heats up in no time. I'm very happy with this product. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Warms med/large sized room very well

01/17/2014
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last one I purchased worked for 7 years, this seems like the same quality and output. I have it connected to a 20lb cylinder. Sometimes at the end of the season you can find them in store for $45. If you need something to warm a bathroom quickly this is it using the 1lb bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Excellent for emergency heat!

04/06/2014
By ,
Huntington, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this to use overnight on those cold nights camping in a VW bus and it performed so well!
Heated the bus well on low setting and didnt use but 2 tanks in a 3 night period. With 30 some degree weather it exceeded our expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

excellent product

02/01/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my latest one for 6 yrs now in my small travel trailer for hunting. Works great, no odor and efficient. Make sure to use and change the external filter yearly if you use the 4 gal tank as bulk propane is very dirty and will kill the heater. Thats what happened to my first one. I use a CO detector in the trailer along with a propanr leak and smoke detector and never had any alarms and yes I do sleep with it turned on low to keep warm.ly recommend this unit...good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great for the size and portability.

12/19/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In my experience the small tank will only last about 2 good hours maybe more maybe less. The attachment hose for the 5 gallon propane tank is estimated to last about 48 hrs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great for hunting.

12/26/2013
By ,
North East Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works really well. Will keep You from freezing to death in a deer stand even when it's 16 degrees out. A small tank of propane burns about 4 1/2 hours on the low setting for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great. Little heater warms up 10X20 room.

11/24/2012
By ,
Baja California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goes through the little canisters pretty quickly so will be hooking it up to a bigger tank. Starts right up-no odor and puts out good heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Worth the money

04/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this little heater. It is very portable and puts out a lot of heat. The ignition works well and easy to light without a lighter. Love this. Perfect for sporting events.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater
04/23/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I bought this heater. Went camping this past weekend in the White Mountain National Forest of Northern N.H. Anyone that knows New England weather , they know how cold it is in April with snow still still on ground. The first couple of nights was in the low to mid 30's, the tent stayed toastie warm, the last night there the temp at night was in the mid 20's. The tent stayed nice and warm. Yes, it does go through a lot of canisters on high but I knew that before I went camping and made sure I had plenty with me. This heater is awesome and well worth its money, oh, it turns on real easy and will shut right off if tipped over. ITS GREAT !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Buddy radiant Heater

03/23/2014
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's an excellent portable heater. Keeps my ice shack warm and it's the safest propane heater on the market. Easy to start and has a high and low switch. It is well designed and looks very sharp! Works great in a tent, camper, hunting blind or trailer too. A little pricey but well worth it! You won't be disappointed. GET IT!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

works well

02/05/2014
By ,
houston tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works well i heat my 2 car garage with it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Easy to set-up and operate

11/29/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main interest was using this heater as a temporary, emergency indoor heat source. Since it does not generate the deadly carbon monoxide gas and since it has a low oxygen shut-off valve, it is ideal to heat a small area should we lose our electricity.
It is easy to set-up and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Puts out a lot of heat

02/27/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband drives a freightliner and when it's -20 up North his APU can't keep up so he turns this on for a little while to get things nice and toasty. Compact and really like the oxygen safety feature. He said @ -25 he turned the heater on low for 1 1/2 hrs and it was down right hot in the truck. It runs for about 4 1/2 hrs on low with a small 1 lb tank.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Excellent for camping and fishing buddy

03/03/2014
By ,
Flagstaff,AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I been wanting this for quiet some time and finally got one for a great price. It's easy to use and everything that feature are easily connects and lighting.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr. Budddy

03/03/2014
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked as advertised. No problem starting up right out of the box. Exactly what I was looking for and expecting. Just hard to find with all the cold weather.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Excellent small space heater!

02/01/2014
By ,
Pensacola, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This heater is perfect for a small room of large tent which is why I bought it. I also use it to keep my legs warm under my table when I am outside in the cold with my telescope and imaging equipment
It is extremely safe and easy to use. It has a tip over auto shut off function that will turn the heater off if it it tilted by more just a couple of degrees which is very nice. It works so well that if you decide to move the heater while it is lit you have to be careful to keep it level or it will go out. Burns on low with a 1 pound canister for about 5 hours so it is very economical.
Works perfectly for what I want it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great Outdoor Heater !

03/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use in a baseball stadium. It kept us warm in 35 degree weather and the sides stay cool which was perfect with kids around us. It felt like we had a fire next to us. We'll never be cold again watching our kids play ball! Great product !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Sufficient

02/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's ok
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next