Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

The Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater provides heat wherever you need it. This innovative, transportable, indoor-safe heater features an easy-start, four-position control. It has a built-in piezo Ignitor and Hi/Lo temperature settings. It has a safety system that shuts the unit off should it be tipped over. The fold-down handles make it easy to carry from one area to another as needed. This portable radiant heater has a range of approximately 200 square feet to heat those chilly areas of your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%65 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
54
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Love Mr. Heater!

11/03/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took my children camping in the North GA mountains in mid October. Unfortunately, a cold snap came through the same time we did. The first night we were all freezing, so the second day we bought this heater. Honestly, we were intending to return it the following day because of the cost, but after using it on that second night of warmth and comfort despite the low 30's outside the tent, we took it home, singing it's praises! We have a HUGE 8+ person family tent and this heated the entire tent with no problems. I will never camp without taking it along again. I trust it around my 3 year old daughter, especially with the safety of the low oxygen sensor and the tip over shut off. It is well insulated on the bottom and sides, staying cool to the touch aside from the front where the heat comes off it. Even then, the caging protects from the heating element. The only drawback to this heater is that it burns through the propane quickly on high (3.5-4 hours). My husband had to change the bottle once in the middle of the night, and once again in the morning while we were getting ready for our day and packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

good if you know how to refill canisters

03/31/2014
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gives off good enough heat such that our floorboard heaters never kick in when this thing is on. We use it inside the house and we haven't had any problems with the carbon monoxide alarm. the only con to this heater that I see is that it consumes the 1lb tanks in about 5 hours on high. However, I prefer screwing on a new canister rather than pouring smelly kerosene for a kerosene heater. Much more convenient, no kerosene spills to worry about and doesn't give off smelly kerosene vapors. I would suggest you purchase a propane refill adapter from harbor freight($18) or online from walmart. That way, each pound of propane costs about $1.30. Otherwise you will be buying a lot of canisters to keep this thing going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

lots of heat

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this heater tent camping and the outdoor temperature got below 40F the first night out. We turned this heater on High in the middle of the night, and it warmed up the 6-man sized tent and everything in it in a out 15 minutes. We shut it off after that, and were good the rest of the night.
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't such a potential fire hazard. It has nice safety features, but when using it in a relatively small space, it is tricky to keep everything a minimum safe distance from the heater.
Easy to hook up to the propane bottle and start. It's lightweight and packs away easy enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Nice heater

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Unboxed it, read the directions, installed the 1Lb bottle of propane, turned the switch and it lit right up. This is a very simple heater to use. It's energy efficient and quite powerful. Heats up in no time. I'm very happy with this product. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

This heat just can't be beat

03/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as an emergency heater for the car. The wind chill here in Michigan has been -25 a few times in the past month so I want to be prepared in case the car gets stuck somewhere. I tested it out and it's easy to use and heats the car perfectly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great. Little heater warms up 10X20 room.

11/24/2012
By ,
Baja California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goes through the little canisters pretty quickly so will be hooking it up to a bigger tank. Starts right up-no odor and puts out good heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Excellent heater!! it rocks in even the coldest te

03/02/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our second Little Buddy. Our first one lasted over 5 years! Cannot recommend it highly enough! Works great in the coldest of temps. It rocks! Get yours ASAP!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great & portable way to get heat

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family & I were going on a camping trip to where it was going to be cold so we decided to invest in this portable heater due to the safety features. I was very pleased with heater & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a portable heat source. Besides the safety features, it was easy to use & I liked that you could control the heat with a turn of a knob. It kept us warm throughout the night. We did have to change the propane in the middle of the night but it was because we had it on high the whole time. It lasted at least 4-5 hours though which I thought was quite reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Terrific!

02/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the size, efficiency and safety features. Will be using it on a boat in the spring and fall.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Warms med/large sized room very well

01/17/2014
By ,
Central Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The last one I purchased worked for 7 years, this seems like the same quality and output. I have it connected to a 20lb cylinder. Sometimes at the end of the season you can find them in store for $45. If you need something to warm a bathroom quickly this is it using the 1lb bottles.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works and Convenient

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A big name home improvement chain also sells this heater, for $30 more.
Worked OK in our van. We had enough windows cracked open for two people and this heater. Went van camping when it was 32 degrees. Did not use it much while sleeping, only when we woke up and wanted to warm the van before getting out of our sleeping bags. It also came in handy once we got out of the van and started to cook breakfast. Put it on the camping table and we gathered around it while eating breakfast.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

02/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this heater for my son and he uses it daily. He let me know that it reallys supplies his need for heat.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

excellent product

02/01/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my latest one for 6 yrs now in my small travel trailer for hunting. Works great, no odor and efficient. Make sure to use and change the external filter yearly if you use the 4 gal tank as bulk propane is very dirty and will kill the heater. Thats what happened to my first one. I use a CO detector in the trailer along with a propanr leak and smoke detector and never had any alarms and yes I do sleep with it turned on low to keep warm.ly recommend this unit...good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great Outdoor Heater !

03/27/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to use in a baseball stadium. It kept us warm in 35 degree weather and the sides stay cool which was perfect with kids around us. It felt like we had a fire next to us. We'll never be cold again watching our kids play ball! Great product !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater
04/23/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews before I bought this heater. Went camping this past weekend in the White Mountain National Forest of Northern N.H. Anyone that knows New England weather , they know how cold it is in April with snow still still on ground. The first couple of nights was in the low to mid 30's, the tent stayed toastie warm, the last night there the temp at night was in the mid 20's. The tent stayed nice and warm. Yes, it does go through a lot of canisters on high but I knew that before I went camping and made sure I had plenty with me. This heater is awesome and well worth its money, oh, it turns on real easy and will shut right off if tipped over. ITS GREAT !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Hot deal bad description

01/24/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product was purchased online with the use of my smartphone. The product is a propane fueled heater it was purchased because it popped up in my search keywords kerosene heater. I thought I purchased a kerosene heater and it wasn't. Furthermore the product description I viewed did not disclose the fuel type. Disappointed in this online purchase. Now I have to return the product and don't have a heater for the fuel I had purchased in advance.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Blind Heat

02/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a pop up ground blind. Red illumination stays low and does not spook game. Keeps the area you are sitting warm even with the blind windows open waiting for an archery shot. No issues with this heater. I now have one in all of my ground blinds.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Easy to set-up and operate

11/29/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main interest was using this heater as a temporary, emergency indoor heat source. Since it does not generate the deadly carbon monoxide gas and since it has a low oxygen shut-off valve, it is ideal to heat a small area should we lose our electricity.
It is easy to set-up and operate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

it's good

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it warms ok, but the igniter was broken when I got it will have it replaced and it will do exactly what I wish of it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great Size for Baseball

02/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a taller version that was about 5-6" taller and ended up being too close to the blanket at Grand Kids baseball games in Feb and Mar.
This unit is a perfect size for that purpose.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next