Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

The Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater provides heat wherever you need it. This innovative, transportable, indoor-safe heater features an easy-start, four-position control. It has a built-in piezo Ignitor and Hi/Lo temperature settings. It has a safety system that shuts the unit off should it be tipped over. The fold-down handles make it easy to carry from one area to another as needed. This portable radiant heater has a range of approximately 200 square feet to heat those chilly areas of your home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%49 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Love Mr. Heater!

11/03/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took my children camping in the North GA mountains in mid October. Unfortunately, a cold snap came through the same time we did. The first night we were all freezing, so the second day we bought this heater. Honestly, we were intending to return it the following day because of the cost, but after using it on that second night of warmth and comfort despite the low 30's outside the tent, we took it home, singing it's praises! We have a HUGE 8+ person family tent and this heated the entire tent with no problems. I will never camp without taking it along again. I trust it around my 3 year old daughter, especially with the safety of the low oxygen sensor and the tip over shut off. It is well insulated on the bottom and sides, staying cool to the touch aside from the front where the heat comes off it. Even then, the caging protects from the heating element. The only drawback to this heater is that it burns through the propane quickly on high (3.5-4 hours). My husband had to change the bottle once in the middle of the night, and once again in the morning while we were getting ready for our day and packing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+119points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

lots of heat

09/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this heater tent camping and the outdoor temperature got below 40F the first night out. We turned this heater on High in the middle of the night, and it warmed up the 6-man sized tent and everything in it in a out 15 minutes. We shut it off after that, and were good the rest of the night.
I would have given it 5 stars if it wasn't such a potential fire hazard. It has nice safety features, but when using it in a relatively small space, it is tricky to keep everything a minimum safe distance from the heater.
Easy to hook up to the propane bottle and start. It's lightweight and packs away easy enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

good if you know how to refill canisters

03/31/2014
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
gives off good enough heat such that our floorboard heaters never kick in when this thing is on. We use it inside the house and we haven't had any problems with the carbon monoxide alarm. the only con to this heater that I see is that it consumes the 1lb tanks in about 5 hours on high. However, I prefer screwing on a new canister rather than pouring smelly kerosene for a kerosene heater. Much more convenient, no kerosene spills to worry about and doesn't give off smelly kerosene vapors. I would suggest you purchase a propane refill adapter from harbor freight($18) or online from walmart. That way, each pound of propane costs about $1.30. Otherwise you will be buying a lot of canisters to keep this thing going.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Tent warming gift

11/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift to a homeless gentleman who's tent was bitterly cold in the winter weather. From all reports it's done it's job and then some. It's safe for use in a tent and not too heavy to carry in a backpack. It uses a portable propane bottle which is easy to purchase and install, although I can't say how long one lasts in constant use. Mission accomplished.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great & portable way to get heat

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family & I were going on a camping trip to where it was going to be cold so we decided to invest in this portable heater due to the safety features. I was very pleased with heater & would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a portable heat source. Besides the safety features, it was easy to use & I liked that you could control the heat with a turn of a knob. It kept us warm throughout the night. We did have to change the propane in the middle of the night but it was because we had it on high the whole time. It lasted at least 4-5 hours though which I thought was quite reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Buddy

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I experienced a horrible winter last year.. electricity and heat went off for a couple days, thus, The Heat Buddy... The heater projects plenty of warm heat to make a room comfortable... am very happy with the product.. I was worried about the carbon monoxide.. but will automatically turn off if it becomes dangerous. I have also purchase an inexpensive carbon monoxide detector just to be on the safe side
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

It a "Hottie"!

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mr. Heater" is a little "Hottie". We use it out here in Arizona in our motor home, just to keep the winter desert night chill from getting to cold. The perfect solution. Works well, no smell. The little propane cans make it a bit expensive to use, but what the heck...we didn't by the motor home to save money. We bought it to have fun camping in a more comfortable lifestyle than in years gone by. I'm soon; to be 80 and my wife is...(Take it from "The Old Colt"...don't EVER tell a woman's age!!!!) DE
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

solid product. well built

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought 2 of the pupies for a winter camping trip in Napa valley. They worked like a charm indoors and out.
I highly recommend this heater. Its hard to find products these days that are built to last. These suckers are solid and are built to last years.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

excellent product

02/01/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using my latest one for 6 yrs now in my small travel trailer for hunting. Works great, no odor and efficient. Make sure to use and change the external filter yearly if you use the 4 gal tank as bulk propane is very dirty and will kill the heater. Thats what happened to my first one. I use a CO detector in the trailer along with a propanr leak and smoke detector and never had any alarms and yes I do sleep with it turned on low to keep warm.ly recommend this unit...good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

best heater

11/02/2014
By ,
Rogers, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used this the first weekend I had it at deer camp. Kept the tent toasty warm
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great heater for the buck

12/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine from dick's sporting good s for $58.99 and it was amazing steal of a deal on black Friday. I was very impressed with the quality of the heater and was happy to purchase it. It was a heater that could heat a 20X20 room indoors.. Great heater definitely recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Perfect heater

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to have on hand for camping or ice fishing and also to help warm up the garage when working in it in the winter. Why didn't I get one of these sooner? It sure would have made changing my snowblower belt last winter a lot warmer job. I bought some Coleman propane fuel canisters and tested it out - works great, and the tip-over safety works great. This is an extremely warm heater that's a perfect size for smaller areas. Walmart had the lowest price of all they typical stores (and internet sites) that were selling this (i.e. lower than Amazon, Northern Tool, and some of the sport goods stores in the area).
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

It Puts out Quite a Bit of Heat

11/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been very pleased with the amount of heat it generates, but the 1-lb. canisters do not last very long at all. I had thought I might use it as a daily heat source, but that just wouldn't be worth the effort. I do think it makes an excellent back up for when the power goes out in my all electric home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Nice heater

01/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Unboxed it, read the directions, installed the 1Lb bottle of propane, turned the switch and it lit right up. This is a very simple heater to use. It's energy efficient and quite powerful. Heats up in no time. I'm very happy with this product. Buy it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Energy Efficiency
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Warm Ride At Work

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do maintenance and use a golf cart in NY where the winters are cold and blistery. I turn on Mr. Heater keeps the chill out of the cart. I would recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

So Simple

11/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, love, love my little heater. Easy to use, no muse no fuse......
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

I have used it at the Drive-in Movies

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really have been enjoying using my Heater Buddy. I love it's portable use and how much heat it puts out! My family and I have used it at the Drive-in Movies when the night temperatures dropped under 55 degrees and it made all of my kids and I quite comfortable sitting in our outdoor chairs in front of it. Made us quite comfortable to watch the movie with light coats on. We've used it on our back porch while eating an October meal outside. We just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Great little

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little heater at a great price. Easy to light. No problems so far and do not expect any.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Works great. Little heater warms up 10X20 room.

11/24/2012
By ,
Baja California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Goes through the little canisters pretty quickly so will be hooking it up to a bigger tank. Starts right up-no odor and puts out good heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Radiant Heater

Mr Heater

11/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far - so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next