Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Danby Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Danby Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

This premium Energy Star-rated Danby Compact Refrigerator makes a versatile addition to any room in your home or office. The generous 4.4 cubic foot capacity will efficiently meet your food storage needs, as this small refrigerator makes a stylish and functional addition to any wet bar, butler's pantry or rec room. A see-through vegetable crisper lets you store fruit, lettuce and other perishables, and a CanStor beverage dispenser lets you stock up on your favorite sodas and canned juices. The refrigerator's scratch-resistant worktop gives you extra room to prep your meals, slice limes for drinks, and more. Plus, the beautiful stainless steel exterior makes an attractive addition to your home decor. ENERGY STAR ® Products that are ENERGY STAR-qualified prevent greenhouse gas emissions by meeting strict energy efficiency guidelines set by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the U.S. Department of Energy. The ENERGY STAR name and marks are registered ma
Average Customer Rating:
4.43 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation93%99 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
71
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

brews stay ice cold with the thermostat 1/2 way up

11/27/2013
By ,
dallas texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love and gets real ice cold its the 4.4 fried model DAR125SLDD << copy and paste this and get the exact same model number it has a stailess steel door and the thing get ice ice ice ice ice cold with the thermostat just barely on half way. I loooooooooooooooooooooove this fridge I give it 4 stars out of 5 It is a little bit noisy when it runs but not to bad in my opinion, I would say its a soothing sound but it sure does keep my brew nice an cold. but you do need the room for it its not to small. so if your gonna get a danby get this model number >>>> DAR125SLDD
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Hunted High + Low

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We hunted high + low for a compact refrigerator WITHOUT a freezer, because we have a separate upright freezer, and really needed only extra REFRIGERATOR space in our kitchen. We did find one other without a freezer, but organizers on the door didn't compare with Danby's. We happily purchased this Danby 4.4 cu. ft. refrigerator about two weeks ago, and the whole family loves it. It holds a great deal for a compact, and it is so organized + easy to keep neat + clean. It runs quietly and perfectly, plenty cold at an average temp setting, and it even defrosts itself. Internal lighting is great. Walmart.com service was perfect - couldn't have asked for better. We are so very happy with this purchase and would highly recommend this refrigerator, and Walmart.com service, to you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Refrigerator not as good as I expected

09/22/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I plugged the refrigerator in after letting it sit 2 days after picking it up from the store, and moved the dial to the coldest temperature for one day before moving it back to the center spot. First of all, I was disappointed to have to use a coin or screwdriver to move the dial by putting it in the recessed slot. Then, after I put the temperature dial back to the middle position I put in room temperature water bottles and soft drinks, and a carton of cold milk. The next day I took a bottle and can, and the carton of milk out of the refrigerator and was surprised they weren't real cold. I moved the setting to 3/4 of the way to the coldest setting and had the same result the next day. I then moved the setting to the coldest and got cold water, cans of soft drinks and frozen milk. I have had small refrigerators before and never had this problem. I can't say the 'frig doesn't work, just not like I think it should. I don't know if others have had this problem, but I would look around for another brand of refrigerator before I would purchase another Danby.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Good looking inside and out; cooling ability?

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purch. this unit based upon good styling, no freezer, and good capacity for a compact. However, the design of locating the condensing coils inside the side panels is very unusual design. Does not permit good heat transfer, requiring the compressor to overwork. Am concerned the overheating possibility of the compressor may result in premature failure. All other refrigs. we have experienced have condensing coils underneath or behind the unit in open air to facilitate much better cooling of coils. Proven, time tested, successful design?
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Great Compact Refrigerator

03/17/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this refrigerator for a couple of weeks but I can see that it's a quality unit that fits my needs perfectly. Lots of room for beverages and small food items, which were my priority. No freezer section but I didn't want one to begin with. Adjustable glass shelves, a light, and auto-defrost are a big plus. I ended up switching the door from left-hand to right-hand side, which took longer than expected. Switching the bottom hinge was easy but the door seal became mis-aligned. Had to remove the plastic top cover and adjust the steel bracket that holds the door's top hinge in place. Once that was adjusted, the door swung and sealed perfectly. In my opinion, I think this is one of the best compact refrigerators on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Very disappointed

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited about this refrigerator because of all the great reviews though I did see the rare few that mentioned refrigerators that would not cool. It looks like I received the exception. I received this refrigerator last week, followed the instructions for setting up but after a day it stopped cooling very well. Needless to say less than a week from receiving the refrigerator I am having to call Danby's customer service.
Once fixed I am certain it will be a great refrigerator and at that point I will update my review but as it is now I am very disappointed that I cannot immediately enjoy this purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

VERY NICE UNIT

02/20/2012
By ,
Erie, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around quite a bit before purchasing this frig. and was not disappointed at all. THe feature I like is that it doesn't have a freezer. I have had other small friges with freezers and they all turn into a big ice cube and a pain to defrost this unit keeps my refreshments nice and cold just the way we like them. I have it set up on my inclosed patio and it just looks great. I have had plenty of good coments from others on how nice it looks. It seems to me that it is quiet running, and have had no problem with it yet. To me it's a very nice unit for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Loved the glass shelves and interior light!

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the interior light and glass shelves! And, I loved that the refrigerator did not have a freezer compartment. We didn't need a freezer and didn't want to worry about defrosting one. I was excited to see that Walmart had this refrigerator and at a reasonable price. We bought 2 for our nursing mothers rooms at work. I am going to buy another one soon for my home in our master suite.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Compact Frig

10/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a small frig that looked good and did not have a freezer. I did not want a freezer because I did not need one and also I did not want the trouble of it icing up and then defrosting it. This frig met all my expectations and so far has run well and it does what I want it to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

An Outstanding Compact Refrigerator

04/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Am very satisfied with this product. The quality is superb and the features are exactly what was needed for our family room functions. I would highly recommend this compact refrigerator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

If it did not arrive with minor damage...

07/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Too bad that it arrived working but damaged. A shelf and one of the beverage holders were both broken. Great design and works very well. Danby would not just ship the two replacement parts so I had to return it. The Walmart representative was friendly and efficient. It was picked up by UPS and promptly refunded.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Just what I needed

01/14/2013
By ,
Naples, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice for compact refrigerator. Adjustable glass shelves inside as well as adjustable bins in the door, door activated light, quiet and efficient, self defrost. It is perfect for my needs as I wanted it so I could get all of the beverages out of my big refrigerator to gain storage space for food. So far it is working great but it's really to soon for me to comment on durability. It keeps my beer at a nice 34 degrees. It took me a little time to tweak the temperature setting for what I wanted but I think I have it now. It will always be coldest in the bottom so that's where the beer goes and the sodas, water and sports drinks go in the top and doors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Nice little fridge.

05/15/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We downsized from a full size fridge (with no freezer) to this smaller guy, we use it just for drinks. At first I thought the thermostat was stuck because it ran for a couple days non-stop. Then we opened a can it froze up - we had the setting too cold. We turned back the thermostat to a bit before half the range, drinks are now perfectly cold and the fridge runs every now and then. It looks great and the noise is very decent. Also the price beats any and all of its competitors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

great design

05/08/2014
By ,
Eunice, la.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice size and designed for my use. I think it is quality for the money. Durabilty I cannot yet set a grade but I think this refrigerator looks to last for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

great compact fridge

01/09/2012
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is an excellent fridge. it is very quiet, looks great, has glass shelving and an interior light which many other compacts do not have. It works well and keeps everything cold. The only con was a little chip of plastic that broke off the edging of one of the shelves i guess during shipping. Great fridge overall. :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Great for a second refrigerator

06/12/2012
By ,
Midwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this refrigerator for my Mom who wanted a second fridge in the basement. She is very happy with it. She did not need a freezer so this fridge was perfect. The price was right also, $150 less than the one she saw at an appliance store, and that one had a small freezer. The size was perfect for her use, she needed something for the extra food when she has company. Very happy with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Dented and damaged interior

04/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The refrigerator arrived with a dented corner and damaged interior fittings. Disappointing.
Recommends this product? No
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Excellent refrigerator for the money!

10/24/2011
By ,
Hilton Head,SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used these refrigerators for 7 years in my Outdoor kitchens. I have only had 1 go bad over that span. Glass shevles and enery star rated, can't do much better for the price. www.carolinaoutdoorkitchens.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Redding CA
Eminent Prohibation
Posted 12/16/2011
Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /com/c/a/carolinaoutdoorkitchens/htdocs/ on this server.
I don't know what to make of this, but I have a feeling that I'm not supposed to be looking at other fridges. lol
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Good Frig

03/24/2013
By ,
Danbury, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We really did not want a small refrigerator that had the freezer space and this one really fits the bill for that. Lots of room. No defrosting. Quiet. Can get to cold so have to find sweet spot but it is good to have the flexibility. The only worry was that it came in a plain cover box that did not caution to keep the item upright and the Walmart Associate brought the package out to my vehicle upside down. That is not good for refrigerators. The retail packaging under the shipping box had upright arrows on it but none on the shipping box. We left the frig set in an upright position for a few days before putting in service and have not had any problems after a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Danby 4.4-cu ft Refrigerator, Spotless Steel

Bought this about 2 weeks ago and we love it...

05/21/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently renovated out outdoor kitchen space and put this fridge next to our Danby kegarator. Has a sleek look, nice durable finish, and was worth the $200.00 plus tax we paid. Has some small drink spaces located on the door for easy access along with a small drawer inside. So for we love this purchase and ship to store saved us some money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kegarator
Posted 06/18/2012
You mentioned a kegarator....could THIS one be converted to a kegarator? 2 5-gal soda kegs with co2?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next