Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Toshiba Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Convert and archive your favorite home movies to DVD is a simple task with Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder. You can also watch your favorite DVD and movie collection in near HD quality with the DR430's 1080p Upconversion via HDMI. The single disc DVD player playbacks and records in various formats like DVD+/-R/RW, CD-R/RW, VCD and SVCD which provides versatile compatibility. The single disc DVD player has 3D virtual surround sound Dolby digital output and MP3 decoding feature. A universal remote control with infrared technology comes along the DVD player. With one touch recording capability, the DVD player with USB port offers the perfect entertainment solution. It features a search speed of 5x, 2x, 20x, 40x and slow motion speed of 1/8, 1/4, 1/16, 1/3. The player supports digital audio standards like MP3 and LPCM while the recording modes are XP, SP, LP, EP and SLP.
Average Customer Rating:
3.964 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(225 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
64
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation81%181 out of 224reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
190 Questions | 328 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
64
3 stars
12
2 stars
11
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Meets expectations

09/05/2013
By ,
Upstate NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using it with DVD -R media and it records TV programs easily and, at faster record speeds, the video quality is very good. The disc finalize process seems to go reasonably quickly. After discs are finalized they play on other DVD players and computers without difficulty. The instruction manual appears to be well-written and it does a good job of explaining how to connect and operate the DVD recorder.
This unit does have a slightly annoying problem. Each time I turn on the DVD recorder a message appears on the screen that says Unknown USB Device/File and to remove it. There is no device in the USB port so there's nothing to remove. The message goes away after about ten seconds and the unit works fine. I haven't tried using using the USB port to see if it works OK after that. I'm sure the warranty is a big hassle so I'm going to live with it.
Other than the USB problem, I've been happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

A very good product for home recording

12/04/2013
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is a very good for home recording. My only complaint is the clock gains several seconds a day. Although this is not much, over several weeks, your start and end times will be off enough that you may miss part of the program you are recording. I have been setting the clock each time I record a program. This is a bother. Other than this issue, the deck is perfect. I would recommend it with this one caveat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Love the features and ease of use

01/15/2014
By ,
Portsmouth, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read a number of reviews for this DVD recorder and for the most part they sounded okay. The price that Walmart offered this for was too good to pass up. The convenience of ordering it on line and picking it up at my local Walmart store to save on shipping charges was the icing on the cake. After about two weeks of using and enjoying this's DVD player to both play and record DVDs I am totally convinced I might the right decision all the way around. Even enjoy having the clock feature when the DVD is not in use. I knew ahead that I would not need an external tuner so that was really the only feature that could have been a concern but not for me. The ease of use allowed me to record quickly from my camcorder and create wonderful DVDs of my grand children. These will be wonderful gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very happy camper

06/07/2012
By ,
Panama City, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for my 6 year old Sunaii (nuff said!) which was constantly popping up "error-disc not recordable" messages despite using the recommended discs. Please use only discs recommended for this recorder, such as sony, jvc, verbatim, etc. DO NOT USE THE MEMOREX brand discs-you are just asking for problems. The player was very reasonably priced and looks good with my other electronics. The remote and menu are easy to use, and the recorder writes and finalizes very quickly. Discs take about 15 seconds to load but i believe this is normal with all dvd recorders. It came with a/v cords but my tv only accepts component and hdmi. I usually use hdmi anyway so no biggie there. My only real problem is with the recording mode timer lengths which are 1, 2, 4, 6, and 8 hours but you can always manually stop recording and finalize yourself. I am just lazy and always automatically finalize at the end of timer recording. I only burn one movie per disc just to ensure i get the best possible quality. Also, the 3-year warranty is only 17 dollars. Get it! I hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Won.t work with over the air antenna

02/19/2014
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
That is, unless you buy an external tuner. And you still can.t watch one channel and record another. Am going to take it back tomorrow and get the magnavox dvr with internal tuner and hard drive. According to the reviews it should do the job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great value

12/25/2013
By ,
Southern region
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This seems to be a good deal. Have only had it just over a weeK. Easy to operate. Been recording movies to DVD disc for the last two days and haven't even needed to read the manual yet. DVD recorded resolutions are not as crisp as the original HDMI images, but it's okay. If you're wanting to hook this DVD to a Direct TV Genie/cable box, you'll have to buy a special 10-pin adapter that allows you to tape the programs/movies you save on Direct TV to DVD discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Good price,Product works well.

04/08/2014
By ,
nj
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this for my Birthday almost a year ago and I've made over 120 DVDs movies ,So whenever i travel I got my shows for the kids and myself,its works great no problem so far .nice
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very good value and quality, easy to use.

11/11/2013
By ,
Vancouver, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good option for transferring taped videos to DVD format. Easy to use, but has lots of features to enable more complex operations such as video editing. Would recommend to anyone having a collection of camcorder tapes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great Recorder

04/13/2014
By ,
Neosho, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD recorder and player was easy to hook up and operate. Several higher priced ones were listed but this one was well worth the cost and works wonderful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great DVD recordercorder with the right features.

01/20/2012
By ,
Uehling, Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the DR410 an earlier model to this one and loved it. I use it to to record TV shows and movies that I have on my DVR. It's an obsession I started a long time ago with VHS tapes. I loan the DVDs I've recorded to my parents to get them interested in a TV series that I tell them to watch because I know they're interested but always forget the time, day, or channel. Inevitably they like the show but are clueless on the back-story so then I loan them DVDs that include the whole season from the 1st episode and in some cases the entire series that spans several seasons. The quality is very good and I really like the HDMI output and up-conversion the unit provides. My only complaint or wish is that it included a HDMI input.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very good DVD Recorder

03/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Toshiba DR430 DVD recorder is an excellent product that is easy to use and operate. Many users that have problems with the Toshiba simply use imcompatible DVD's; the type for your computer will not work in a DVD recorder. Also remember that this unit does not have a turner so you can only record the channel that is selected on your cable box, Direct TV, ect.
Pro's:
1. Easy setup and use
2. Makes excellent recording at all speeds and can be set to "auto" to ensure the best recording
Con's:
1. Remote is small and the buttons are not backlit
2. The remote is not universal
Overall this is an excellent unit for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Iowa
Not according to description.
Posted 06/25/2013
Re: "...Many users that have problems with the Toshiba simply use imcompatible DVD's; the type for your computer will not work in a DVD recorder."
According to the Walmart description it records ALL formats.
"Recordable Media: DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, DVD+R"
So what are you talking about? Are you saying it DOES NOT record those formats? Those are what a computer would use too.
0points
Customer Avatar
Doubt in DVD Recorder World!
Posted 04/04/2013
I want to purchase this product in order to record my favorite shows from my DVR to a dvd to watch when I feel like it. However, I do not know if this is the right product to buy for what I want. I like to to go into the store and touch and see what it looks like. I don't think I will be purchasing this until I am absolutely satisfied it is guaranteed.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

RE: All DVD Recorders -Warranty

01/24/2012
By ,
Jax., Fla
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is my 4 th machine in 5 yrs. 3 other brands failed after 1 yr m.o.l. one was a JVC $300. I record 2 hrs/wk avg. I suggest you buy the Walmart 3 yr + mfg warranty, it's only about $25 on any machine up to $149 price. I expect to get a repair or the purchase price back in that time frame. So my cost per yr will be around $37 yr. This Toshiba has only been in-svc for a month (Jan 2012), it's no better or worse than any of the others. So 3 stars because I don't know how long I'll get out of it. AH! but I have 3yr warranty. I never buy extended Warranty, but my experience w/recorders vs $25 says this is way to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

DVD toshiba

12/30/2013
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The instructions are very difficult, so it makes setting up the DVD very frustrating and when I cal led toshiba support they were rude. So I haven't been able to set it up to use it. My best bet is to return the DVD.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Toshiba DVD Recorder

04/08/2014
By ,
Western NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to setup; slim; lightweight. Good quality picture.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Falls short of expectations

02/03/2014
By ,
North Las Vegas,NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had to return these items. Our system uses the S-Video input from our cable box. On our call to Toshiba, we were told the S-Video does not work on this model, and we needed to return the item(s) and purchase their more expensive model that utilizes this feature. Other than that, our purchase from Walmart was expedient, easy to use, and very well managed. Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Reasonably priced recorder, works great.

12/31/2013
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to setup with great picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Very Minimal Complaints

12/24/2011
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for something simple to replace our dying VCR that would also be compatible with an older TV that doesn't have HDMI. We have satellite service and don't subscribe to DVR, so this was an excellent option for us. So far this recorder has served us well, and as long as you set it to a lower recording length (higher quality) just like you would a VCR, the picture is excellent. I really only have two complaints: for one, it's kind of noisy while recording, but not horribly distracting. And for two, we have to run it through both the old VCR and satellite box to use it, and we have to leave it on in order to be able to watch something on TV as it's shown. That wouldn't be a problem if it weren't for the fact that in order to get a timed program to start up, we have to turn off the recorder until it's time to start recording and it will turn itself on for that. This means that you can't just leave it on and have the timer set and know that it will start recording when it's time. Not sure why it has to be off in order to register the timer. This was kind of a surprise to us just because it seems unnecessary and the old way of recording on any machine has never seemed to necessitate that the unit be turned off in order to activate a timed recording. I mean, we can live with it to save the money on DVR, but it is a little bit of a nuisance. Overall though, if you're looking for something uncomplicated to just record your shows, this is a good recorder that's easy to figure out as long as you look at your manual, and I'm only moderately tech saavy...I figure most electronics out pretty quickly, but I'm not always completely informed about the most current technological advancements out there, if that gives you an idea of where I'm coming from saying it's easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Good quality product

03/28/2014
By ,
Gastonia, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Toshiba product. It works great. Quality and dependability are exceptional. Great buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

Great replacement for DVR membership fees!

01/20/2013
By ,
Waterloo, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this! It beats paying a membership for DVR and I still can catch all my shows. My only complaint would be that when you set it to record, you need to make sure that your disk has enough room for what you have set to record. If not, it won't record any of it at all. When it is time to turn on to record for preset recording it auto-checks for room on the disk for the length of time set to record and if there is not enough room, it shuts itself off and gives you no indication why your show didn't record. You have to figure that part out on your own. As long as you monitor the space available on your disk vs how much time you set to record, you should have no problems. One thing to remember... this does not have a tuner so if you don't have a dish service provider (dish network or direct tv) or an external cable tuner box you will need to get one or it won't work. I have dish service so not a problem for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder

more than expected

03/24/2014
By ,
columbia TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 183 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next