Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Have both VCR and DVD recording and playback options without the clutter with this Toshiba DVD recorder/VCR combo. This versatile DVD/VHS recorder takes the fuss out of saving your videotapes to DVD and enhances DVD picture quality to near HD with 1080p upconversion via HDMI.
Average Customer Rating:
3.645 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
67
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
55
Customer Recommendation73%190 out of 259reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
67
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 star
55
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Great unit

10/29/2014
By ,
Vineland NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice unit. Very easy to use. Very best price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Toshiba dvr 620 dvd recorder/vcr combo

10/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well a bit difficult to learn how to record.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Worth the $$$...Is Getting The Job Done

10/24/2014
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this to convert my old family videos onto DVDs. So far, it has been pretty simple and working very well. You should read about the different options of recording you have based on the type of DVD (DVD-R, DVD+R, DVD-RW) that you use. They allow for different options.
Other than that, I am able to put a VHS in one side, start and pause the VHS tape, then insert a blank DVD in the other side and press dubbing. Works like a charm.
I would suggest you break the recording tabs on your VHS tapes so in case you reverse the dubbing you don't lose your VHS recording.
Lastly, this will take some time. Mostly because as you begin watching the old videos, you will get stuck watching them for hours. :)
Good Luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

All ratings are poor.

10/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't copy from my external DVD player to Toshiba DVD player/recorder. Can't connect to my tuner, i.e., TV cable box.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

It works like a charm!

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a while to get it all hooked up, but I'm finally operating, transferring a couple hundred video cassette tapes to DVD's. Thank you, Toshiba for making this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

malfunctioned 5 days took it back

10/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Very good unit.

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't tried all the features yet but so far the unit is performing very well. The user manual is very clear and is well written. The unit is easy to set up and operate if the instructions are followed exactly. Good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Really nice!

10/11/2014
By ,
Stuart Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very glad that I bought this machine. Not having a VCR for many years, but having many many tapes, it was nice to see them again. The machine works great. If you get one you will be happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Not sure.

10/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Impossible to set up. Still trying to figure out the "Greek" instructions. Will have to hire someone to set it up for me. I'm sure it will meet my needs once hooked u.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Good combo for the price

10/10/2014
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old DVD recorder/VCR combo broke on me so I decided to look into another one. I did some looking around online and came across this one. It was easy to hook up I just followed the wires from my old one. I have a lot of old VHS movies and I'm in the process of transferring them over to DVD. This combo does the job for me plus the price wasn't bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

got exactly what I needed

10/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed to transfer many tapes from over 20 years. Unit did exactly what I expected and am now almost done transferring all my tapes. Anyone who can follow instructions should have no trouble with this unit
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

satisfactory

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Label visibility if remote buttons not very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

I am very pleased with the initial performance

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am somewhat familiar with video equipment, wiring, etc and I found it a bit difficult to set up probably because of the pages of instructions you must read and absorb in order to make the unit work properly. After some preliminary bumps, I was successful in making my first recording and I am thrilled with the performance considering the price point of the unit.
My only suggestion to the manufacturer would be to have an HDMI input on the unit so that direct digital recordings could be achieved. I am still trying to find a DVI cable to fit the unit and that may be a possible digital recording solution.
Other than that, based on my initial experience, I would recommend this unit highly as it opens up a world of possibilities.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Not much

10/03/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Difficult
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Worst dvd player

09/29/2014
By ,
Alexander, ARKANSAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have one and the remote quit working 3 mo. after I bought it and when I called Toshiba they sold me a replacement that had to be programed before I could use it then a year later it messed up so as I could not even turn on the dvd player. Magnavox makes a better dvd recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

VCR will not work, will not play to TV or DVD

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Toshiba DVR620KU
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Easy to use and set up!

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! I was able to copy over 8 VHS tapes to DVD with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Best deal on the internet!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was truly the best deal on the internet. Identical units were selling for over $200.00 on other sites. Easy to install because the one I was replacing looked exactly like this one from the back, even though it was a different brand. Made my life so much easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

amazingly great

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AAA+
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Excellent equipment

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Toshiba DVR620 is a great machine. I bought it for the purpose of converting my VHS home movies into DVDs. It has performed flawlessly.
I purchased the machine from Wal-Mart. I ordered it online on Thursday evening and picked it up at the nearest store the following Tuesday after being notified it was in by email. When I brought the machine home, I unpacked the Owners Manual and remote control and left the rest of the machine packed. I took the remote control with me to find and get familiar with where the different buttons were. I read the owners manual TWICE before I was ready to hook it up. As I read the manual I marked the pages pertaining to the functions I wanted to perform and made notes on the front cover -- my memory is not the greatest. After I hooked it up, it used a commercial DVD and a recorded VHS tape to be sure the playback parts were working properly.
On page 9 of the manual is a list of the suitable DVD disc types. On page 108 is a glossary of unfamiliar terms. I use the DVD-R type of disc because they make the operation a bit simpler. On pages 103-106 are troubleshooting instructions in case of problems. I had no problems.
On pages 50-51 are the directions telling how to do the VHS-to-DVD dubbing and also how to do DVD-to-VHS dubbing. The directions are laid out in check-list style and are very easy to follow. After dubbing the tape, pages 76 and 77 tell how to edit the default title to something you can follow - again easy to do but a bit tedious -- don't get impatient. When you are satisfied with the titling of the segments you put on the disk, page 32 of the manual tells how to finalize the disc so that it will play on any DVD player. You must put the segments you want on the disc before finalizing the disc. Finalizing is the easiest step of all. But you must finalize if you want the disc to play back on a different DVD player.
I have seen some negative reviews because this unit will not record directly from an antenna connection. Written on the box it comes in, in 14 point type, is "External Tuner required for recording broadcast TV Channels." That is very explicit. The lack of a cable connection on the back panel as shown on the picture on the exterior of the box makes it plain the unit does not have a tuner. Toshiba did not hide the lack of tuner.
I have seen comments that the instructions are difficult for old people. I will be 80 in five months and I had no trouble with the instructions.
Read the owners manual and follow the instructions and you should have no problems. Patience is your greatest need. The dubbing operation is not intuitive and the total process is spread over three sets of pages. But the information is there if you will use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next