Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Have both VCR and DVD recording and playback options without the clutter with this Toshiba DVD recorder/VCR combo. This versatile DVD/VHS recorder takes the fuss out of saving your videotapes to DVD and enhances DVD picture quality to near HD with 1080p upconversion via HDMI.
Average Customer Rating:
3.648 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(244 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
63
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation73%179 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
63
3 stars
13
2 stars
11
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

VCR will not work, will not play to TV or DVD

09/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Toshiba DVR620KU
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Easy to use and set up!

07/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good! I was able to copy over 8 VHS tapes to DVD with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Best deal on the internet!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This item was truly the best deal on the internet. Identical units were selling for over $200.00 on other sites. Easy to install because the one I was replacing looked exactly like this one from the back, even though it was a different brand. Made my life so much easier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

amazingly great

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AAA+
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Excellent equipment

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Toshiba DVR620 is a great machine. I bought it for the purpose of converting my VHS home movies into DVDs. It has performed flawlessly.
I purchased the machine from Wal-Mart. I ordered it online on Thursday evening and picked it up at the nearest store the following Tuesday after being notified it was in by email. When I brought the machine home, I unpacked the Owners Manual and remote control and left the rest of the machine packed. I took the remote control with me to find and get familiar with where the different buttons were. I read the owners manual TWICE before I was ready to hook it up. As I read the manual I marked the pages pertaining to the functions I wanted to perform and made notes on the front cover -- my memory is not the greatest. After I hooked it up, it used a commercial DVD and a recorded VHS tape to be sure the playback parts were working properly.
On page 9 of the manual is a list of the suitable DVD disc types. On page 108 is a glossary of unfamiliar terms. I use the DVD-R type of disc because they make the operation a bit simpler. On pages 103-106 are troubleshooting instructions in case of problems. I had no problems.
On pages 50-51 are the directions telling how to do the VHS-to-DVD dubbing and also how to do DVD-to-VHS dubbing. The directions are laid out in check-list style and are very easy to follow. After dubbing the tape, pages 76 and 77 tell how to edit the default title to something you can follow - again easy to do but a bit tedious -- don't get impatient. When you are satisfied with the titling of the segments you put on the disk, page 32 of the manual tells how to finalize the disc so that it will play on any DVD player. You must put the segments you want on the disc before finalizing the disc. Finalizing is the easiest step of all. But you must finalize if you want the disc to play back on a different DVD player.
I have seen some negative reviews because this unit will not record directly from an antenna connection. Written on the box it comes in, in 14 point type, is "External Tuner required for recording broadcast TV Channels." That is very explicit. The lack of a cable connection on the back panel as shown on the picture on the exterior of the box makes it plain the unit does not have a tuner. Toshiba did not hide the lack of tuner.
I have seen comments that the instructions are difficult for old people. I will be 80 in five months and I had no trouble with the instructions.
Read the owners manual and follow the instructions and you should have no problems. Patience is your greatest need. The dubbing operation is not intuitive and the total process is spread over three sets of pages. But the information is there if you will use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Easy to follow directions

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love to be able to copy a VHS tape directly to DVD with the same machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Was not as difficult to hook up.

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unit to playback dvd's and VHS tapes. The hook up was real simple, i just needed an HDMI cable plugged in from my (smart) tv to my Toshiba unit, that's it.(Note If you don't have a smart tv then you will have to go to the section in the instruction booklet that accommodate your TV's wiring needs.) As for recording etc, the hook up may be different (i have friends who could help me if needed w that if need be.) But what made the instruction booklet rather complex, rather than complicated, is that it accounts for every way a person would hook up the Toshiba unit depending upon your TV's features and age ( for ex: by using and HDMI for a smart tv, or, By using component cables for non smart tv's etc.) Its very thorough, but you really need to sit down and focus, and know what your tv's capacity is , then start from there and ignore all the rest.
As for imperfections i noticed the dvd open/close button on the remote is slow and sometimes did not work. in all fairness, i used the batteries enclosed, so all it may need are new batteries.
I am really happy with it though. Hope this helps those of you who are on the fence.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Unable to dub VHS-to-DVD

08/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had difficulty getting technical assistance to find out why this product does not do what I bought it to do--dub VHS tapes to DVDs. It plays prerecorded tapes and disks but nothing more.
If I do not receive timely technical assistance, I am planning to pack it up and request a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Did not work

07/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was not able to view the recording or dubbing after following the instructions booklet & the customer service number was no longer available & I was required to pay for online service.
Very disappointed in the results. returned the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

So far, So Good!

08/19/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am technology challenged, but I was able to hook the machine up to play, I still have to learn how to record and dub.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

So far so good

07/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had to replace a good Panasonic unit that lasted 7 years. So far this unit has been it's equal. The instruction book included was helpful but set-up can only be rated as average. It's not horrible but not a snap either. Recording is easy and the picture quality is excellent. Very pleased after the first month. Purchased the 3 year extended plan 'just in case' but hoping for 5 solid years. With FREE shipping, the extended plan is just about the equal as a shipping charge. We'll see in 3 years if it was a waste of $$.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Great vcr/dvd/recorder unit

06/30/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit is very easy to use. Hooking it up was a little difficult, not the best of instructions. We have an older tv with a cable box, and everything works fine with this unit, no problems so far. Have only recorded vhs tapes so far, not dvds or haven't transferred tapes to dvds yet. But satisfied as of now with this unit. Price was really good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Good Deal

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this unit for a Senior Assisted Living Facility because the Residents use both VHS and DVD. No problem setting it up. The seniors understand how to use it. No problems noted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Great unit for the price

06/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far every thing works fine. Clear Picture
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Good machine at a good price.

06/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Lacks Coax input/output connections so it has a problem with our Dish Satellite setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Terrific Recorder Combo

06/26/2014
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Recorder Combo does everything, was easy to install, and works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Bought it to record family vcr movies on DVD.

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't really used it yet. Did watch a vcr movie, picture was great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Directions

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The directions were useless to me. A friend had to set-up and teach me to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Burning machine

06/22/2014
By ,
Evanston IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works efficiently and well - good machine for the cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
This review is fromToshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo.

Great DVD recorder

08/06/2014
By ,
Canoga Park, Ca 91304
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the same one, but after 7 yrs, it didn't record anymore. I used it a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 215 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next