Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Toshiba Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Have both VCR and DVD recording and playback options without the clutter with this Toshiba DVD recorder/VCR combo. This versatile DVD/VHS recorder takes the fuss out of saving your videotapes to DVD and enhances DVD picture quality to near HD with 1080p upconversion via HDMI.
Average Customer Rating:
3.634 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(202 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
44
Customer Recommendation73%147 out of 202reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
230 Questions | 387 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
44
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

DVD recorder fills the bill

02/10/2014
By ,
Longview WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I owned a Magnavox DVD/VCR recorder before buying this new one made by Toshiba. I am very happy with the new one so far. It is very easy to copy VHS tapes onto DVD's. It takes just one push of the dubbing butting and it goes. Mind you these are tapes that either I or someone else recorded movies on VHS tapes. To my knowledge you cannot copy a copy protected commercially made VHS tape. At least I haven't found a way to do that yet. I wish I could. I have a bunch of old Walt Disney movies on VHS and as most people know the picture is not as good with tape and the quality of the picture gets degraded with age. It would be a lot cheaper for me to copy these movies for my private library rather than to go buy DVD's or purchase each on instant streaming. All blank DVD's seem to work just fine in this one too where as the Magnavox didn't always work with DVD's that were not Magnavox brand. Also had to be certain type for each brand. Don't seem to be having that problem at all with my new Toshiba.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tampa, Fl
VHS to DVD with copy protection
Posted 03/15/2014
You might want to go to this link. (http://www.vhs2dvdconverter.com/vhs-to-dvd.php?tid=ADW10Vhs%20To%20Dvd%20Converter)
From what I read this attachment copies all VHS (with copy protection) to DVD.
Just letting you know.
0points
Customer Avatar
FL
Magnvox DVD/VCR
Posted 03/13/2014
Try with a Digital Video Stabilizer can found it in e-Bay.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Not user-friendly

11/16/2013
By ,
Shamokin Dam, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed that I had to return this DVR. It was exactly what I wanted because of the features, however it was not compatible with my flat screen TV no matter what I tried. I used the colored cables that came with the DVR but I could not access all the menu options so I connected an HDM1 cable which did not work either. The manual was very complicated to follow especially because when I followed the instructions, what was written should happen just didn't happen and I spent four days trying to figure everything out. Nothing worked so I packed it up and sent it back. Perhaps it did not work because I receive the signal through cable rather than a dish and I have high definition digital TV. Usually I am very good at hooking up any technology that I've had in the past but this one was a total mystery to me. At one point I managed to play a disk and a tape but at no time was I successful in recording anything from on air TV programs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Longview WA
Dissapointed-not user friendly
Posted 01/29/2014
I had a Magnovox DVD/VCR recorder. The VCR isn't usable anymore because all it wants to do is eat tapes. Hooking up one of these is really easy. You have the one set of cables that you hook up from your cable box. The other set is hooked up between the tv and the dvd/vcr recorder. The HDMI cable hook-up is only for play back of DVD's to get the up-convert to HD quality picture. I sense that many people that get frustrated with these machines and wind up returning them have not previously owned a DVD/VCR recorder. I recently bought a Toshiba dvd recorder from Best Buy and was disappointed because I was really looking for a combination of dvd recorder and vcr and wound up with just the DVD recorder. After re-checking their website it looks like I will be buying another unit from Wal-Mart which is where I bought my original Magnavox brand. Wal-Mart seems to have a variety of these combination machines and I have some VHS tapes of movies that I bought on EBay years ago, movies that you can't find anywhere...they are non commercial tapes which I should be able to copy just fine. If there is a unit out there that will copy commercial VHS tapes that would be cool. I honestly don't understand why something isn't available for that purpose. I mean who is selling VHS anymore other than really old stock like at Amazon and EBay? I don't see the harm these days. I just can't stand the picture quality of VHS compared to digital DVD's. I also found you can't really record from the HD Digital channels since the hook-up for the recorder is analog or it would also hook up via the HDMI cable, which it doesn't.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Works well for recording from VCR or DVR

03/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this a week or two and haven't used it much, but so far I'm very happy with my tests. Despite the complicated manual, using it is very easy. Just press "record ready" (to set the length/quality) and then press "record" to start. I've only used it on the 2-hour setting, but so far the video quality of the recorded DVD is near identical to the original, even when playing the DVD on a separate BluRay player. If you use the machine to dub from VHS to DVD, you cannot pause, but, if you use another VCR or your DVR connected to the various external inputs, you CAN "pause" while skipping commercials or even switching inputs. You can edit out (or "hide") chapters after an internal VCR-DVD dub if you are using a DVD/RW. I was also able to record successfully using +R/-R discs. Once you finalize a DVD/RW you could then use your computer to copy that to DVD/+R/-R. I found the video sharpness of the built in VCR isn't quite as good as my older VCR (which I use instead) but that is my only minor complaint so far. I suppose it would also have been nice if it had a HDMI input for the DVR output. Not sure about copy protected tapes. I had no trouble copying a store bought Lord of The Rings VHS tape.
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Does the Job

11/15/2013
By ,
Hendersonville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this a couple of weeks ago and so far it works great. This was purchased to replace an older Toshiba VCR/DVD Recorder that had begun to no longer record DVDs. Our previous Toshiba had worked excellently for many years, so I decided to purchase another Toshiba. This new combo took a little bit of time to hook up. The back setup of the new one is different from my previous recorder, so I wasn't able to just unhook it & plug all the cords into the new one since the setup is a little different. After a few times of changing some cords around, I was finally able to get it going successfully. There have been no issues and I've already used it to record DVDs as well as play DVDs. I'm still learning where all the buttons are on the remote, but I'm happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

great machine, eassy to use

12/23/2011
By ,
buffalo, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to use, one button for copy of VCR tapes to DVD, saved hundreds of dollars copying the
family videos to DVD myself. DVD's play on TV and on Computer, Picture Quality with Up-Convert
is impressive considering coming from a VCR tape 20yrs old. have not tried Cable/Tv to DVD Recording but expect the Quality to be exceptional. Use an HDMI cable for you Connection.
Smart Device stops the VCR if you Fill Up the DVD and then all you need to do is load another
DVD and continue again. Menus and titles can be added, Automatic "chapter" is real nice
allows you to use the "skip" button to jump ahead on the DVD in 10min increments. You can even control the increment time size. Plays all of my Comerical VCR Tapes with an impressive picture
on a High Def Plasma TV. Reasonable Price for a Product to Help Preserve Those Family Movies that cant be replaced.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

No telephone technical support

11/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After I purchased the Toshiba DVR620KU, I found the manual confusing. I consider myself tech savvy. So I found some YouTube videos that helped. But I still had questions. Accompanying the DVD recorder was a reference paper with a big red STOP that listed various phone numbers to call for technical support. Unfortunately, each phone number ultimately directed me to a website, and not a person. (Why not be transparent and list only the website if the phone numbers go nowhere?) I went to the website, did not find answers to my questions, and called another number, where I did reach a human being. The Toshiba representative said that he was not "trained" in this hardware. Also, he noted that unless it was a laptop, Toshiba does not offer telephone technical support for any of its products. This would have been helpful to have known prior to the purchase.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+77points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo
12/20/2012
By ,
Jackson County, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have all of my VHS home movies from the 1990's transferred all to DVD now, thanks to this unit. It is what I have been looking for now for several years, but the price has been out of my budget. I bought this unit at a price I could afford, thanks to Walmart. I saw this unit in the past at Best Buy, but it was $80 more. So I decided I would wait, and I am glad I did. This unit works great!! The only grip I have (and not just this product) is these units today are really complex on what they can do. I wish the manufacturers would make an instructional DVD on how to use the products of today. Watching how-tos is a much better way for customers to get a more hands on experience beside just reading it from a book. Overall I am very happy with this unit, and would reccommend it to anyone. It has an affordable price tag too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

DVD/VCR Combo, recorder.

11/05/2013
By ,
Phx, Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really llike my new combo set. It was very easy for me to set up cause i owned one very close to it before. Had the other one for 10 yrs and just stopped working. So had to get another. I record off TV, tape video to DVDs and easy to finalize your recored DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Toshiba DVD Recorder/VCR combo

04/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
it was easy to set up and easy to follow instructions. All the instructions were straight forward and the picture of the remote with highlighted parts helped me to become familiar with the remote without having to find the arrows or buttons I needed to press by looking at everything on the remote. My DVD's worked and when I tried recording from VCR to DVD it worked not bad. The loading was taking a long time, (maybe 5 minutes). When I went to record the next DVD, the machine started making a clicking sound, loaded slowly and then showed that it could not accept the DVD. I tried playing a DVD that I knew worked, and it would not load. A lot of clicking from the machine. The phone numbers that were provided were not helpful. I didn't get to talk to anyone, just a machine that directed me to a website. I went to the website and in order to chat with someone regarding getting an answer to my problem, I was asked to provide my credit card information and pay a fee before the person would answer my question. I clicked off the website and called the store where I picked up the machine and they are taking it back. Customer service assistance for this product could be improved. It is for this reason, I will not purchase this product again because I shouldn't have to pay to get help for a product that isn't working right that I just purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

It's Worth it.

04/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great machine. I was able to convert all my VHS tapes to DVD. The machine is big but necessary.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

works good

04/17/2014
By ,
Sebring, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had trouble setting this up. I followed the set up instructions to a tee and it would not do anything I called directv and they couldn't help me and told me to contact the manufacture whom also could not help me they told me to return the item. before I did that I hooked it up to a different tv and it worked so I hooked it back up to my second tv the same way I had it hooked to my first and it worked so I get a great picture vcr/dvd both work great but not hooked up as the manual said.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

It works and works well

10/08/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought one from ebay and returned it because it didn't work and bought one from Amazon that also didn't work. This one from Wal-Mart works extremely well, and I've been able to record my family VHS tapes onto DVD. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Product will not work with my TV.

01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After trying several times to get this recorder to work, I find that because I do not have an HD tv it will not work. While setting up the recorder, the DVD drawer will not open. You can hear it trying to do something but will not open. The instructions ask you to click on your source of video on the tv's menu but there is no such option on my tv. There should be a disclaimer in the product write-ups that cover this situation. The Toshiba 800 number was far too busy to answer my call because of the Christmas rush on their products. My information came from a product forum. I have returned the recorder to Walmart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Apple Valley, CA
Posted 09/15/2013
I found when I got my first dvd recorder which is a sony - it had a child lock on it - took it back to the store and they showed me how to turn it off - ck and see if there is any info in the manuel about a childlock - if so call and see if you have to turn it off - the recorder should work regardless of what kind of tv you have - mine is hooked up to my dvr box from fios - I do not have it hooked directly to tv except I use the game program on tv remote to watch what I am recording from dvr to dvd recorder - you need a separate cable to hook it to tv
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

It does everything I hoped it would do.

09/07/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it primarily to be able to transfer my VCR tapes to DVD. It does a beautiful job. Some companies offer this service for $7 or so each, and this will pay for itself in a few weeks. I have over a hundred tapes to convert.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

An advanced recorder at a resonable price.

10/27/2012
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The unit has a variety of inputs and outputs which makes it simple to interface with TV's, tuners, VR's, etc. It has many more features than the average user will use, such as editing titles, playlists, chapter marks, etc. Just ignore the advanced features in the user manual and pick out what is needed for your application. Most of the basic functions can be programmed with the buttons on the box without using the remote. Be sure to 1. record, 2. edit title, 3. finalize in that order. DVD's cannot be played in another player without the finalize step.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Two recorders in one!!

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could not ask for more, got what I needed. the VHS for my old tapes and newer tech of DVD for current movies. I'm very pleased with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Great VHS to DVD copier.

04/17/2014
By ,
Clermont, FL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like the easy one button copy feature when copying VHS tapes onto a DVD disc.!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Exellent recorder/vcr combo

04/16/2014
By ,
Astoria, OR.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thanks. This is what I was looking for. The old one I had Go-Video the DVD drive went bad, so I needed a new one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Excellent product!

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent recorder.
The only improvement I would recommend is to add a hdmi inputt port to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba DVR620 DVD Recorder/VCR Combo

Toshiba dvr620 Be smart read reviews online FIRST

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD drawer does not open correctly, opens about 1/2 inch and stops. Looked up reviews of this machine online (wish i would have done it BEFORE purchasing) and this seems to be a common problem. Will be taking back to store for REFUND not exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next