Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Toshiba Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

The Toshiba DVD player/VCR combo combines the picture and sound advantages of a progressive scan DVD player with the convenient recording and playback options of a videocassette recorder — all in one slim chassis. One-touch recording for the VCR provides a simple and convenient way to make videotapes. Simply connect your DVD/VCR to your cable or satellite box and then to your monitor/TV and you are set to record a tape with the push of one button on the videocassette recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
3.886 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(298 Reviews) 247
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
67
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
46
Customer Recommendation77%230 out of 298reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
184 Questions | 318 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
152
4 stars
67
3 stars
18
2 stars
15
1 star
46
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Best VCR for the price

08/01/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research to find an affordable VCR to view old movies and family videos that are on tape. This unit is a fantastic bargain for $88. It is a Toshiba, a name brand. The sound is "HI FI" very loud and sharp. It has a clock on the display. It comes with a remote and the batteries. My son hooked it up in 5 minutes. It comes with the red, white and yellow cables that are needed to connect the VCR to the TV. Next plug the VCR into the wall outlet, and you're ready to go. For another $12, I purchased the Walmart extended warranty covering the VCR for another 2 years. Since I started buying all of my electronics at Walmart about 10 years ago, I only had to use this warrantly once and the process was quick, courteous and easy. Within 7 days the unit was replaced. The price for this particular VCR was higher everywhere else. And neither vendor offered the service and security from purchasing at Walmart. I'm buying a second one for the living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

A good Combo DVD/VCR, so far

01/03/2012
By ,
IOWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know technology is moving on, away from VHS, but there are many of us with a large collection of VHS movies, we like to watch. I have had trouble with several combos, all different brands, & always with the DVD player part of the unit. I don't understand it with all the electronic advances why they don't last longer, but apparently there are a lot of bad units out there. I know, because I have several now with the VCR working perfectly and the DVD kerplunk! Sure they all worked in the beginning, but in short time, the problems started. The last combo player I had was a Sony, which would take 20 minutes to read only to tell you the disc could not be played, when there was nothing wrong with the disc. I am not ready to give up on combo players yet, that is why I will try this one, another different brand, and hope for the best. Wal-Mart shipped it out promptly, and it was a quick & easy set up. It played both tapes and discs, as it should, straight out of the box. Now, only time will tell if it can perform long past the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

A good product for a Plugger

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like many Pluggers, I have many VHS tapes (which I am converting to DVDs - slowly) and need a player that can multi-task for VHS and DVD. Very easy to set up and use. Thanks for continuing to have products that can be used easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Excellent in all respects

07/27/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had it set up within 5 minutes of receiving it. The clarity of the VCR tapes is outstanding on it. It is also extremely easy to switch from VCR to DVD in order to play them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

No Customer Service

11/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I was unable to get it to work, I called the toll-free number that was listed and a recording let me know that the number was no longer in service; that I should call another number that they gave. When I called that second number, I was unable to speak to a human but was told, via a recording told me to go online for help. When I went online, there was no help available for DVD/VCRs...only computers. So, I called the computer help line, hoping to get in touch with a human who could put me in touch with someone to help me. She said there was no one who did that but she would try. After her unsuccessful attempt, she said, "If I were you, I'd just take it back." ...which is exactly what I did.
The Walmart process, in ordering and returning, was excellent. The Toshiba experience was terrible.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Didn't work for playing VHS tapes

12/22/2011
By ,
W. Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this DVD/VCR combo player so we could play our old VHS movies and kid's programs. After making all the proper connections we found that the DVD worked great both with sound quality and picture quality. But when playing the VCR there was a constant hum or buzz which seemed to be coupled to the picture brightness. The buzz became intolerable when the volume was turned up loud enough to hear the soundtrack. The manual suggested to adjust the tracking which did reduce the buzzing somewhat. But the buzzing could not be eliminated which I find totally unacceptable. I returned the unit for a refund. I will not buy another one of that brand because the Quality Control of a product should not be the final customer, which unfortunately seems to be the case so frequently these days.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Nice unit, really sharp picture quality

10/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a great unit except for a couple of things. One, there is no threaded coax connection and two, I was hoping to be able to transfer vcr taped material to disc but that is not possible without having additional equipment. The unit I am replacing had one touch vcr to dvd and dvd to vcr copying.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Misleading information on box

11/19/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned many VCR/DVD units through the years and consider myself good at hooking them up.
I wanted a unit that I could hook a coaxial cable directly to.... the box indicates it has a coaxial outlet... This is NOT true.... you need to buy a RF Modulator to convert your cable coaxial to an RCA THEN it will plug into the jack on the VCR/DVD unit.
Also when you get to using the recording timer it does not ask you for what channel you want to record ?????
I returned it ---
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Avoid this troubled Toshiba SD-V296

02/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit failed within 6 weeks --- it is poorly designed with a thin plastic case, coupled with inconsistent and overly complex operation for time recording. The remote control lacks standard button layout consistent with other remotes found on other units from Comcast, Charter Cable, and DirecTV, making it very difficult to use.
It made a clunk sound when pressing the stop button when rewinding. When the VHS tape was halfway in use, pressing the fast forward button made it squeal and the picture tracking failed.
Another problem, because the VCR lacks a tuner, the setup is to connect via RCA composite cables. The output only works when the unit is turned on. With the unit is off, you have to manually change the TV input selector to receive a picture from the other video source. What a hassle!
However, Walmart's return process was excellent and painless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Just what I wanted, a VCR to add to my HD TV,

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was simple and quick for me to hook up with the cables included (I'm an 87 year old woman). The picture quality is excellent, the design is beautiful. I did not need the DVD player but it also works easily.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Does not include necessary parts

11/26/2013
By ,
Middletown, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was not hook up ready. Must go out and purchase more wires. App did not give suggestions for additional equipment needed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Not a great buy

01/15/2012
By ,
Wylie, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 1 of these on Jan 5. It worked really great, for a few days and then it started to eat up tapes. After it ate 2 in 15 minutes, I decided it needed to go. But I'm a glutton for punishment, so I ordered another one and got in on the 13th. Hooked it up, set it up to record and it worked beautifully!!! Got up the next morning to watch the tape and the machine wouldn't do anything but kick the tape out. That tape and every other one I put in. Tried unplugging it to let it 'reset' but to no avail. Took it back on the 14th. Even tried to contact Toshiba, but when I put in the serial #, they couldn't even find it. Not Good! I give up on Toshiba!! Now I'm trying the Magnavox DVD Rec/VCR. So far... so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Worked great for VCR and DVD.

07/13/2012
By ,
Woodland Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a hard to find combo because I had VCR tapes I still wanted to watch. I was happy with the performance of this model and have already watched an old Sherlock Holmes tape! It comes with two cables. I found these instructions on the internet and it made it easy to set up.
Plug one end of the yellow cable into the yellow video-out jack on the DVD player. Plug the other end into the yellow video-in on the TV. On the DVD player, plug the red/white cables into the red white audio out jacks NEAREST to the yellow cable you used for video. Then plug the other end into the audio in red/white jacks on the TV. I have Time Warner cable and it runs on Video I and my cable runs on Component, which is something you choose from a menu when you hit video source or TV/DVD on the remote. I bought the three year warranty for $17 since it was reasonable and I can never tell the life of electronics. It says to keep the receipt and they e-mail information about the warranty. I put it all in a file folder since they said it's required if you need to put in a claim. Try this if you are looking for a simple way to watch DVD's and VCR tapes.On the player's remote it has you choose DVD or VCR and that is all you have to do to choose between both.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Not what I was looking for

11/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It is hard for me to give this product a rating since I never hooked it up. I opened it up thinking it had more features like our old DVD recorder in which it didn't.
It just wasn't what I wanted.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

great vcr and dvd player

11/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great now I can watch old vhs and new dvd
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Only plays, doesn't record.

01/02/2012
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return this product. To me a 'VCR' means Video Cassette Recorder...which means I should be able to use it to 'record' shows from TV. However, this VCR can only record if you have a cable box to connect it through. We get our cable TV without a cable box...so we had no way to record shows. I think Toshiba should rename this product a VCP (video cassette player)...or come up with some name other than VCR.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Montana
Posted 07/01/2013
I will still keep this VCR but it was very helpful to know about the cable box. I was disappointed that it doesnt have a coaxial cable port but I will make it work with a little creative thinking. The price is too good to not figure out a solution to the coaxial cable disappointment.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

VHS/Dvd

11/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
for the price, I am happy with it. I just needed something to watch my old family videos
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Needed extra cables,. Other tan that, wors perfect

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to buy "S" cable and reroute to coax cable. Otherwise product perfect.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

It works

11/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works well. Have used is consistently since I got it and I am satisfied.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

works GREAT

10/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the DVD and VHS player. Good price and plays VHS tapes great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 248 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next