Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Toshiba Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

The Toshiba DVD player/VCR combo combines the picture and sound advantages of a progressive scan DVD player with the convenient recording and playback options of a videocassette recorder — all in one slim chassis. One-touch recording for the VCR provides a simple and convenient way to make videotapes. Simply connect your DVD/VCR to your cable or satellite box and then to your monitor/TV and you are set to record a tape with the push of one button on the videocassette recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
3.944 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(250 Reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
56
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation79%197 out of 250reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
159 Questions | 297 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
131
4 stars
56
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

A good Combo DVD/VCR, so far

01/03/2012
By ,
IOWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I know technology is moving on, away from VHS, but there are many of us with a large collection of VHS movies, we like to watch. I have had trouble with several combos, all different brands, & always with the DVD player part of the unit. I don't understand it with all the electronic advances why they don't last longer, but apparently there are a lot of bad units out there. I know, because I have several now with the VCR working perfectly and the DVD kerplunk! Sure they all worked in the beginning, but in short time, the problems started. The last combo player I had was a Sony, which would take 20 minutes to read only to tell you the disc could not be played, when there was nothing wrong with the disc. I am not ready to give up on combo players yet, that is why I will try this one, another different brand, and hope for the best. Wal-Mart shipped it out promptly, and it was a quick & easy set up. It played both tapes and discs, as it should, straight out of the box. Now, only time will tell if it can perform long past the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Didn't work for playing VHS tapes

12/22/2011
By ,
W. Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this DVD/VCR combo player so we could play our old VHS movies and kid's programs. After making all the proper connections we found that the DVD worked great both with sound quality and picture quality. But when playing the VCR there was a constant hum or buzz which seemed to be coupled to the picture brightness. The buzz became intolerable when the volume was turned up loud enough to hear the soundtrack. The manual suggested to adjust the tracking which did reduce the buzzing somewhat. But the buzzing could not be eliminated which I find totally unacceptable. I returned the unit for a refund. I will not buy another one of that brand because the Quality Control of a product should not be the final customer, which unfortunately seems to be the case so frequently these days.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Does not include necessary parts

11/26/2013
By ,
Middletown, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was not hook up ready. Must go out and purchase more wires. App did not give suggestions for additional equipment needed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Not a great buy

01/15/2012
By ,
Wylie, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 1 of these on Jan 5. It worked really great, for a few days and then it started to eat up tapes. After it ate 2 in 15 minutes, I decided it needed to go. But I'm a glutton for punishment, so I ordered another one and got in on the 13th. Hooked it up, set it up to record and it worked beautifully!!! Got up the next morning to watch the tape and the machine wouldn't do anything but kick the tape out. That tape and every other one I put in. Tried unplugging it to let it 'reset' but to no avail. Took it back on the 14th. Even tried to contact Toshiba, but when I put in the serial #, they couldn't even find it. Not Good! I give up on Toshiba!! Now I'm trying the Magnavox DVD Rec/VCR. So far... so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Avoid this troubled Toshiba SD-V296

02/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit failed within 6 weeks --- it is poorly designed with a thin plastic case, coupled with inconsistent and overly complex operation for time recording. The remote control lacks standard button layout consistent with other remotes found on other units from Comcast, Charter Cable, and DirecTV, making it very difficult to use.
It made a clunk sound when pressing the stop button when rewinding. When the VHS tape was halfway in use, pressing the fast forward button made it squeal and the picture tracking failed.
Another problem, because the VCR lacks a tuner, the setup is to connect via RCA composite cables. The output only works when the unit is turned on. With the unit is off, you have to manually change the TV input selector to receive a picture from the other video source. What a hassle!
However, Walmart's return process was excellent and painless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Great Combo

10/18/2013
By ,
Poplar Bluff MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being old school I still have VHS and enjoy recording and playing them. This combo allows me to enjoy the past and move into the future. The unit is easy to set up and use and is a great product with value for the price. I highly recommend this for those who need a good VCR/DVD player/VHS recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Worked great for VCR and DVD.

07/13/2012
By ,
Woodland Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a hard to find combo because I had VCR tapes I still wanted to watch. I was happy with the performance of this model and have already watched an old Sherlock Holmes tape! It comes with two cables. I found these instructions on the internet and it made it easy to set up.
Plug one end of the yellow cable into the yellow video-out jack on the DVD player. Plug the other end into the yellow video-in on the TV. On the DVD player, plug the red/white cables into the red white audio out jacks NEAREST to the yellow cable you used for video. Then plug the other end into the audio in red/white jacks on the TV. I have Time Warner cable and it runs on Video I and my cable runs on Component, which is something you choose from a menu when you hit video source or TV/DVD on the remote. I bought the three year warranty for $17 since it was reasonable and I can never tell the life of electronics. It says to keep the receipt and they e-mail information about the warranty. I put it all in a file folder since they said it's required if you need to put in a claim. Try this if you are looking for a simple way to watch DVD's and VCR tapes.On the player's remote it has you choose DVD or VCR and that is all you have to do to choose between both.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Only plays, doesn't record.

01/02/2012
By ,
Connecticut
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return this product. To me a 'VCR' means Video Cassette Recorder...which means I should be able to use it to 'record' shows from TV. However, this VCR can only record if you have a cable box to connect it through. We get our cable TV without a cable box...so we had no way to record shows. I think Toshiba should rename this product a VCP (video cassette player)...or come up with some name other than VCR.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Montana
Posted 07/01/2013
I will still keep this VCR but it was very helpful to know about the cable box. I was disappointed that it doesnt have a coaxial cable port but I will make it work with a little creative thinking. The price is too good to not figure out a solution to the coaxial cable disappointment.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Easy to use Combo player

11/22/2013
By ,
Dixon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice looking, easy to hook up, works well, shipping was extremely fast and the price was right. Doesn't get any better than this. Thanks Walmart!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Great price for a two n one

11/01/2011
By ,
White Pine, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have several Disney movies that are VHS. My Grandchildren still love to watch them. VHS will be gone soon , so I purchased this so we could still watch our old movies and be able to watch the new ones which are DVD. Great price, neat and compact. Uses smaller space. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

unpacked and running in minutes

12/17/2013
By ,
Boston
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for people who still have video tapes
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Ok. Could have been better

11/30/2013
By ,
long island, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Look, for the price, I guess I can't complain. The hand-held remote is very difficult to read. The lettering is extremely small and in gray ( instead of white ) on a black background.
The VCR timer recording is pretty weird. You have to hit the T-Set before you leave every single time if you are going to be away when the show comes on. Just having the time and date programmed in is not enough ( which I found out the hard way ). Seems like that should have been an unnecessary step. Weird. But, I guess since they don't make many VCR/DVD combos anymore, especially for $ 100, I'll live.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Exactly what I was looking for (Toshiba CD/VHS)

10/15/2013
By ,
Security, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having a number of the old VHS tapes I not only wanted to be able to watch movies and tapes from the past but I also wanted to start converting the tapes to CD. The Toshiba CD/VHS player allows me to watch both my CD's, as well as the VHS tapes. Those VHS tapes that are still in good shape, I'll be able to have professionally converted to CD. I'm very happy with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Great VHS/DVD player!

10/01/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not had any problems with this VHS/DVD player since my purchase. I would recommend this to friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Even Grandma could use this

11/22/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a unit that had both DVD and VCR capabilities as well as remote control. I had a very limited space to put it. This unit was easy to hook up and fit easily into the space I had available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player
02/16/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had great results with a Toshiba VCR/DVD combo I had purchased a few years back for a TV in one of my rooms, so I decided to purchase a new Toshiba VCR/DVD combo to replace a non working DVD player, and what acts like a soon-to-not-be working VCR player in another room (seeing that VCR's are becoming a thing of the past I thought I could kill two birds with one stone for both rooms). My old Toshiba combo was so easy to connect even when I connected it with my stereo receiver (which is also older) for stereo/surround sound. But not so with this new one. It's a non-tuner model. It has no antenna input/output connection like the older one. Maybe these non-tuner model's were made for newer TV's; mine are older. My goal was to replace the older one in room one with the newer one but I could only get the stereo to play through the DVD player and not the VCR. Could not get the radio receiver to even play seperately. So after literally hours of connecting and reconnecting I had had it. I reconnected the older combo back in the first room, easily I might add, and returned the new unit to the store. I then purchased a single DVD player for the TV in the other room that has the older VCR.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

Excellent product set up easy, just what I was loo

11/01/2011
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product, set up was easy. Researched other stores, however, Walmart had the best price. Thinking about purchasing another one as a gift.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

The DVD/VCR combo is perfect.

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a reasonable priced unit to replace our old VCRs. This unit allows teachers to continue to use their video tapes as well as any new DVDs they purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+169points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player

A good DVD/VCR player

10/11/2011
By ,
El Paso, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a little trouble getting started but when I figured out what each of the buttons on the remote did I found it easy to use. Both the VCR and DVD players produce a nice picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Combo Player
03/29/2012
By ,
Oneida, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am giving this such a poor review becuase you have to have an external tuner, dish box, or cable box in order to record anything. They are apparently making all of the new models this way now. So if you don't have the boxes and don't want to have to purchase an external tuner (which are relatively high), do not buy this product. I returned mine. Why would they make something that you have to buy additional parts in order for it to work properly???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 200 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next