Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Targus Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Targus Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Transferring files is easy with the Targus TGR-MSD500 USB 2.0 SD Card Reader. This card reader features lightning-fast data-transfer speeds and high levels of encrypted security. It works fast to transfer data in just a few minutes. It is quick to install and very simple to use. This USB card reader is flat and compact and can be carried in your pocket wherever you go. The cap on the USB protects it when it is not in use. It is compatible with Windows Me/2000/XP/Vista and Mac Osx V10.1.2 Plus. It supports SD/SDHC/MMC/Micro SD/T-F. This micro SD card reader is a functional product that makes data transfer a lot easier.
Average Customer Rating:
3.186 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation57%39 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 40 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

I Wish I Would've Found This Sooner!!!

06/21/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this thing! Seriously, it rocks. I bought a very nice used professional digital camera. The USB cord port was broken and I couldn't connect to the computer to download the TONS of pictures I had already taken. Not realizing they even made a product like this, I attempted to fix it myself, resulting in even more brokeness. I thought the pictures were doomed to be stuck on this broken piece of equipment. After hearing about card readers, this was the one that was picked because it was available in the store. Couldn't be better, especially for the price! Works for SD AND Micro SD cards, so I also use it for my cell phone! Just wish I would've known about it sooner!
Only thing is the covers on each end are pretty flimsy, the reason for only 4 stars. One of them broke when I tried pulling it off. However the cover is still useable and I found that if you pull it off from the sides and not the middle of the cover, it works just fine.
Ultimately, I love this product!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Does what it's suppose to do

07/30/2011
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this device. Like many people I carry a flash drive to transport files and downloads. So I have a digital camera and a cell phone that both use micro sd cards and this card adapter let's me use them in place of the flash drive. Bye-bye flash drives. With Windows 7 the install was quick. To use, slip the micro sd card in and put the end-cap on to secure it, then plug the USB connector into your computer/ notebook/ tablet's usb port, very simple, straightforward. The cap on USB connector protects it when it's not in use. The device is flat, not round, not bulky, easily stores in your pocket. One negative is, end-caps are detachable and you have to keep up with them when they come loose. Another negative is, the unit is so wide that it interferes with the second horizontal USB port on my notebook, can't plug in anything else. If you're going to need other USB devices you should probably get a USB hub. $8 seems like a huge price for this tiny device but it performs and it's a good brand, that's what you're paying for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Straight Talk Samsung R355C Prepaid Full QWERTY Keyboard Cell Phone
4.1 out of 5(384)
 
 
 
Straight Talk Prepaid LG 100C
4 out of 5(101)
 
 
 
 
 
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Works like it is supposed to do.

05/15/2014
By ,
Danville, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why people have so many problems. I am operating on Windows 7 with a HP Pavillion and the card reader works great. Just plug it in and there it is. I do get an error message but when I click on the play icon it reads the card. Easy and simple. As far as the covers breaking, just squeeze slightly on the slim sides and they pull off. Great product for such a small price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

sd card reader

06/20/2014
By ,
Bangor Maine
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think this is a great reader. I use it on an apple computer. Just attach it to your usb port insert your sd card and the computer does the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

does the job

06/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
kinda cheap feeling but it does the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Life saver!

06/27/2011
By ,
TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was available AT the store, GREAT price and worked perfectly for transfering my files from the micro sd from my cell phone onto my computer then over to a blank micro sd card. Very happy with this product! I was worried when I read the first review on this product, but I think that person might have gotten a broken one because I gave it a try and I am so glad that I did it worked great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Best money I ever spent!

11/27/2011
By ,
Milford DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reader worked really fast and recovered all my pictures from my camera & cell phone in just a few seconds! Worked when my USB cables wouldn't. Thought my pics would be lost forever! Very happy. Couldn't beat the price either. It reads SD cards and Micro cards as well. Very simple to use. Nothing to set up. I'm thinking of getting a bunch of these to give out for Christmas gifts!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

did not work on my windows 7

09/15/2013
By ,
sylmar,ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
seemed to work on an older computer at work w/ XP. I could not locate any driver for it for my windows 7. Do not know why.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Targus Card Reader

11/04/2013
By ,
Yorkville TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The USB port I used on my camera to hook to my computer to download my pictures malfunctioned. So I bought this so I could take my sd card out of my camera and put in this card reader. All I have to do is hook it to my computer and put my sd card from my camera in the reader and download my pictures. It was a great solution to the problem! I love it. It saved me from buying another camera.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Works, but not on Win98

07/05/2011
By ,
New Hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works effortlessly on several different WinXP systems and should work on newer Windows. Both ends have a dust cover.
But the packaging suggests it will work on Win98 Second Edition, on which any USB device requires a driver. The Targus web site (targusdigital.com) mentions this product by model number and directs you to a third-party web site that has a driver, but the driver failed to install on two different Win98 systems (in one case taking out of service a USB card reader installed previously). On examining the ZIP file, the Setup file inside is dated 2004--before the SDHC spec came out. Can't believe the driver is for this product!
To address a previous review, USB cables don't just "fall out"--if it is the USB socket you're plugging it into. And I've had this unit for 3 months and can't imagine it cracking when you insert the chip. Devices that allow different memory chips in the same slot, I've found to be fragile, but this one has different slots for the regular and the micro.
I haven't experimented with filling both slots at the same time, but I wouldn't expect that to work, as Windows gives it ONE drive letter when you plug in the cable, not waiting until you insert the memory card.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Reads only certain SD cards

07/11/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am a professional photographer and I needed a new card reader. I bought this at my local wal-mart as it was the only one available. It worked great at first but over time it started to only read certain sized cards (or brands?). I have a lot of cards ranging from 2GB to 32GB SDHC. It reads the 4GB and 8GB cards just fine but now refuses to read my 32GB SDHC at all. I knew it wasn't my card since my camera can see the pictures just fine.
So today (just 15-20 mins ago) I bought another card reader by Kodak and it reads my 32 GB SDHC card just fine.
I do NOT recommend this product, most assuredly choose another card reader.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Does the job.

05/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use, ccovers are a tad tough to remove at times, might be my hands and not the product.
Is compact, easy to carry. $ well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

does not work as advertised

05/04/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The package says it will work with Windows 7 but it does not. When it tries to load the drivers, a message comes up telling me I need to load windows 98 service pack 1 for it to work. That is a stupid response. Tracing the manufacturer's web site as Targus.com will take you someplace that looks like it should be the correct place but you need to go to Targusdigital.com. They do not acknowledge the unit sold at Walmart by the any of the product codes, but if you look long enough you will find a place where the product code will give you a driver that covers all of Windows, but that doesn't work either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

check your memory speed

05/11/2012
By ,
Laredo Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item today but don't worked with my PNY professional 8GB sdhc memory that i use with my camera it say "Please insert disk", this only works with normal SD, i use my laptop with windows xp and usb 2.0 port
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Targus 2.0 SD Card Reader

12/23/2012
By ,
Winter Haven, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a SimpleTech 512 mb USB flash drive years ago when 512 mb was the highest capasity FlasDrive at the time and I still use it every day as i do this Targus SD card reader.
I didn't do any research on this Targus SD card reader when I saw it at WalMart and I needed something that I could switch my SD cards around from my TOSHIBA Netbook, Desktop, Dell Laptop and Digital Camera and took a chance on it.
It has a cap on both ends that snap off and on easy to change cards and to plug it into a USB port or cable.
It has been a perfect little reader for what I payed for it.
I know some don't like USB card readers that have cover caps because they can get lost if you don't have a place to put then when not in use.
I will buy another and will recomend it if you need a low cost SD card reader.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Not the one I bought

09/04/2013
By ,
Kansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product at the store, Walmart, and it (how should I put it) rattled in the USB slot. The plug was too small for the slot. When I plugged it into the back of my iMac it worked for a bit, that is it appeared. I unplugged it and plugged it in again, it didn't even appear. I tried it on my PC laptop and it didn't work. I don't know why the sales associate said that it was they best seller. I guess none of the other models even sold one. I would give this a big goose egg, but at least it appeared once.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Wish this worked!

03/19/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted something like this to transfer data more easily, but when I plugged it in, nothing happened. I use a Mac, but the instructions told me I did NOT need a driver to use this product and should "skip the step" that included downloading a driver. As per the directions, it told me that a removable disk icon would show up on my desktop, but it never did, so I cannot drag and drop anything at all. I went to their website just to make sure, and they have no Macintosh drivers at all listed there. This product is completely useless to me and will be returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Worked Great Until it Melted

09/23/2013
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this card reader maybe two or three years ago and it worked great until today when it melted when the reader was attached to my computer. I'm not sure if my computer gets too hot or if it's the reader that gets too hot when plugged into a usb port for a long period of time but I suspect that it's the reader. Anyway, I think I'll be searching for a better card reader this time...one that has much better reviews.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader
10/02/2013
By ,
Boones Mill, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this the SAME DAY that I ordered it! It's great if you have Windows 8 and your Kodak EasyShare camera will not download to your computer (!) which was our problem. Now instead of having to buy another camera, I bought this card reader and can still use my camera to take pictures w/and download to my computer! It was half the price of what the cost was in the store too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Targus USB 2.0 SD Card Reader

Great price but doesnt last long (breaks easy)

05/10/2013
By ,
Saint Johnsbury, VT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Usually I like products from Targus because they're products are really cheap and work but this SD Card Reader does not last long at all. The structure is poorly made. The plastic breaks very easily. A child could crush it just by pressing down on the middle of it. Also some SD cards it won't read and some SD cards you have to format for it to be able to read it and lastly the problems I had with it is you can only have either an SD card or micro SDHC card in it for it to work. You can't have both otherwise Nothing with happen when you plug it in..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 64 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next