Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

The Samsung 404 P4 with Straight Talk lets you use mobile web, MP3 player functions and more on a pre-paid phone. Take photos with the 2MP camera and record videos that you can share with friends. A microSD card slot lets you expand the Samsung cell phone's storage space, so you can keep all your multimedia and information on board. A hands-free speakerphone, voice recorder and voicemail abd call waiting mean the Samsung 404 P4 with Straight Talk is a great choice for professionals on the go. With four hours of talk time and an incredible 21 days of standby time on a single charge, this mobile phone is a dependable choice as well. Includes charger and services guide.
Average Customer Rating:
3.13 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation57%13 out of 23reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Not a bad phone for the price

06/26/2011
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone for my wife which was on a prepaid T-mobile account. I didn't have bad service with T-mobile but, for $45 unlimited everything really is too good to pass up. The phone itself is just a basic slider phone and voice calls sound pretty good. I had no issues activating/signing up on the straight talk website. Once you sign up you can get auto-refill charged to a debit card once a month for continued service. But, if you like you can still pick up a refill card from Walmart. You have the option to purchase 1,3,6,12 month cards online and I believe 1, 3 and 6 month cards in store. I did get charged a $0.50 E-911 fee for both the phone and servcie card ($1 total) when I purchased it. Surfing the web on this thing is "possible" but, don't expect a whole "iphone" experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+223points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mo
internet beeping
Posted 07/01/2011
If anyone could answer these Qs for me I'd REALLY appreciate it!
I currently have a straighttalk phone andit works GREAT, buti've 2 problems with it.
1: it wont let me assign ringtones to different ppl
2: whenever i get on the internet and i don't have it set to silent, it will beep loudly every 6 seconds THE ENTIRE TIME!!
I use the internet more than any other feature onthe phone, so i always have to set it to silent and it's really hard to find my phone when i lose it.
I was just wondering...does this phone do that? which phones for sure do not do that?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Great for texters and non-techies

11/27/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a good phone for the average person. If you want something high tech and fancy then you're not gonna want this. Web browsing works well enough depending on what your using it for, like I said, not high tech. It's really good for texting with the full keyboard, but limited space in the inbox. Talking is fine and you can text while doing it, as well as conference calls. Camera works good, especially for a cell phone camera but no flash, video's aren't as great for some reason. Sometimes has problems with randomly shutting off but not enough to be a bother, only once in a while, maybe 4-5 times total. It's great if you want something simple for talking and texting but if you want something with super fast web browsing and apps, your outta luck.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 3 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Nice, simple phone

01/07/2012
By ,
Washington state
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I first bought a $200.00 phone from staighttalk, hoping it would be good enough for the money--it wasn't. So I returned it and got this one. It's a very simple phone, call clarity is fine, although I really wish the speakerphone was louder! It's great for texting, which is nice since that's what I use it for most. Mobile web isn't very easy to use, though it is fast. Overall I love my phone, and am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maine
texting
Posted 04/20/2012
can you lock your text messages? and how long can you store them? Does the phone erase old txts when NEW txts messages come in? How long can you save the txts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

This phone is driving me crazy!

04/02/2012
By ,
Jasper, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
As soon as I can afford another phone, this one is in the garbage. I wouldnt even give it away! Everytime you try to type anything it types the letters/numbers 3-4 times. HHEEELLLLLOOOO! The screen is small and I have to wear reading glasses to read anything on the internet. It takes me 10 min to sign in on facebook! Im typing away and look up and there are 2 t's, 3 e's... GRRRRR! I hate it!
The only thing this phone is good for is making calls. I pay for unlimited EVERYTHING... all I can do is call.. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYC
Posted 07/09/2012
I have the same problem with this phone. I purchased because I'm a texter and like the qwerty keyboard, but I literally cannot send my usual texts because the functionality is so poor. The keys will either type double the letters you type or will not enter the letters at all. I have small hands and was a rapid-fire texter prior to this phone. I mean, I was ridiculously fast. I'd planned on upgrading to a smart phone when I purchased this phone (was just trying out the service), and so I've suffered through it knowing something else is around the corner, but man, it's awful!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Excellent Phone! Great for work and communication

06/13/2012
By ,
Coeur d'Alene, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have for the last 2 months been using Androids & Touchscreens. They are awful. The Androids & iPhones are more for games and browsing the internet. When you need to use a phone this is the best I've seen. Great for sending/recv pics, texting, and of course making calls. If you've had to use an android to talk with companies through a switchboard, or check your vm's multiple times a day like I do then you want one thing: (Hard Keys).
If you're shopping for a phone for talk & text/mms pic messaging, this is the one to get..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 6 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET
02/05/2012
By ,
new york
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The straight Talk Samsung phone is horrible!!! i have only had it for a couple couple months and the soun goes off when it feels like it and the phone turns off all the time by its self like when i try to get on the internet or send txt messages or ever make calls!! i was having a family emergency and needed to contact my family and couldn't because it kept turning off when i called!! i DO NOT RECOMMEND this phone AT ALL!!!! not to mention when to txt it will write the letter 3 or 4 times so u have to go back and erase them.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Augusta, GA
Phone turning off
Posted 07/07/2012
I have had this issue with a few phones myself and I was shown a trick (not to justify nor excuse the poor quality of the product). Try removing the battery and using a toothpic to gently lift the leads that contact the battery.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

I'm just learning this stuff and...

07/05/2012
By ,
Bend OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this confuses the heck out of me, as they all do... I just need to get used to it...
has all kinds of cool features, feels solidly built, battery lasts several days!
camera is good, video OK in daylight. I have short, mechanic's thumbs so the qwerty keyboard is tough to use. AND don't even try to use the web on this- it is difficult and disappointing. UPSIDE: you can buy the $30.month plan if you don't use much internet.
I can't hear the teeny speaker so must use the hands-free speaker all the time= annoying since I have to manually turn it on every time. OH- the instruction manual STINKS- best find a teenager who has a similar model to teach you!
Next time I will step up to an android model of some type with a larger keyboard and louder speaker- this was all I could afford at the time. I see more teenagers with the android phones so they must be the 'thing to have'. more tutors that way too hehehe
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET
05/15/2012
By ,
Red Lake Indian Reservation, Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The WalMart OnLine Information states this phone will work in my zip code - we purchased - when trying to activate, the Straight Talk Rep said that this phone will not work in your zip code. We had to return it. The WalMart OnLine Information is incorrect. Wasted time and Wasted trip to drive to the nearest (70 miles away) Walmart to return this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 9 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Great phone for the price

06/03/2012
By ,
Sunny NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love, love, love this phone! Purchased it just to have something simple for calls and texts, but I'm so thoroughly satisfied with it that I use the other features as well. For starters, the camera on this phone takes GREAT pictures. I used it to take pictures for my certification portfolio, and they came out excellent. You can't zoom while you're taking the picture, but you can zoom in once it's taken and saved, which worked just fine for me. Because of the picture quality of this phone, my portfolio had clear, sharp, colorful pictures. The voice recorder works great, too. Haven't figured out just yet how to record calls (not sure if it's a feature on this phone or not) while they're in process, but other than that, all I can say is positive things about this phone. So glad I made this purchase. Absolutely well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

not a qreat phone

09/23/2011
By ,
mississppi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i purchased this fone n july. was lovinq it, but den it started to fail. there are alot of thinqs that i dnt like about this fone and its super whack. wen someone leave me a voicemail, i cnt listen to it. sometimes i can. i dnt know if its the fone or straight talk. everytiime i put n my password dey would say that its wrong. but sometimes it go thru.
this phone freezes up and shuts off wen i go to the internet. i deleted all my songs, and pictures thinking its alot of memory but come to the conclusion that its the fone.
the camera is whack it has no flash, and the pictures come out blurry.! (at times)
whenever u want to listen to the music u have to stay on that main screen u cant exit the menu like any other fone.!
u cant put a signature on this phone, which is super lame.! i would prefer to not purchase this fone becuz its boring and its complicated.!! freezes up, shuts off, and the keys make loud irritating noises.!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-120points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Northern Indiana
bethtopaz
Posted 02/17/2012
I bought this phone about a month ago. I had spent about $185 on another straight talk phone and it fell in the toilet while I was doing some repair work in my bathroom. I'm so glad it did because I love this phone and it was 1/2 the price. It's so much easier to use! I can actually read the keyboard without my drugstore glasses (okay, I'm over 50 :).
Anyway, I just wish I had bought this one first. Live and learn.
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Great Phone!

03/03/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone after 2 previous Straight Talk phones and I loved it! Unfortunatly I had to return this phone because the keyboard was loose from the front of the phone, and it kept shutting off. Other than that it was the BEST Straight Talk phone I've ever had! (I've had quite a few phones from Straight Talk.) The typing on this is great, the web is very fast, the applications are fast, and you get very good service everywhere! I love this phone an I'm thinking of buying it again! I would recommend this phone to everyone! Very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/16/2012
is the text messaging inbox/outbox or is it categorized by a person & their conversation?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Terrible customer and internet service

06/08/2012
By ,
baltimore md
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
their customer service is just awful. nobody can speak a word of english and they constantly put the customer on hold. i called 5 times for a simple problem with my sim card and received 5 different answers from each "represenative". i then asked to talk to a supervisor and the girl reluctanly said she was the supervisor and still couldn't get any help. i was on the phone for over 1 hour for nothing. i would never recommend straight talk to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET
05/09/2012
By ,
Niles,Mich
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone has done a good job for me,takes good pictures ,yes the web is a little slow,but shoot i have a computer for that,battery last time is great,i talked for more than a hour on just one power line,it only takes a minute and your full charged and ready to go, my boyfriends house has poor service,but this phone sure fights to help me stay in contact with my caller,lol,its a simple phone,but it does a good job
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 14 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

If you like picture messaging DO NOT BUY THIS!

03/29/2012
By ,
Tri Cities
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased two of these a couple of months ago and recently activated the first one so we could try this out and test. The screen is very small, hard to read the text if you are trying to email and enter your address. The qwerty however is fantastic on this phone. Now regular letter text messaging works great, however if you like to send picture messages forget it. I tried for several hours to send/recieve picture messages and it just will not work. Also when bluetoothing it will allow you to send only very very small amounts of data. I tried out the internet on this and during the month I have had it hooked up was only able to reach the net once. It times out or errors out. I have a 15 second ringtone that I bluetooth to each new phone and while the phone actually accepts it, it goes out somewhere in space where you can not get at it or it is just not there. I am a very techy person and have been operating and selling cell phones for years so it is not a problem with the user, it is a phone thing. Something else I ran into was trying to pose a question to Smart Talk, they WILL NOT ANSWER. I was hoping to get away from the contract with ATT but not with this phone. For every pic and voice message I TRIED to send the deductions were made but the messages were not sent.
If all you are after is a basic talk phone or basic text this will work, if you like ringtones, pics, internet or being able to read the fonts, forget it.
Pros: Qwerty keyboard and basic calls
Cons: Picture text, Bluetooth, Internet DO NOT WORK on this phone. Small letters when trying to
enter email address, need a magnifying glass.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Not really good for the price tag...

03/14/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Okay, this phone isn't horrible, but it isn't good.. I would say it's at best a less than average phone. I've heard of more than one person having a problem with this phone. The camera is pretty good, the buttons feel kind of awkward though. My main problem is with the keyboard (AMAZING set up). Although, many of the keys either do not work unless you press them 10~15 times, and other times, they'll act like they've been pressed 2 or 3 times, I would not recommend this phone to anyone, unless I hated them.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Phone has issues

07/03/2012
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Like everything else you can get something good or lemons. I think I got a lemon. The phone shuts down and restarts by itself, usually in the middle of texting someone. When using the keyboard there is a delay in the text appearing on the screen. Also for some reason it wants to update the time about 3x's a day. I like slider phones, but this one is going back tomorrow for something different
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Great phone for someone not good with touch screen

03/08/2012
By ,
madisonville, kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my mother, she is 50 and not good at the touch screen thing. It took her a while to adjust to the new phone but it is a very nice phone I was very satisfied with the quality of the phone and esp. the camera. The unlimited $45.00 monthly pre-paid card, makes my momma happy and my wallet happy too!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
T-Mobile Samsung T679 Exhibit II 4G Prepaid Android Smartphone
4.1 out of 5(329)
 
 
 
Zenith 8-Device Universal Learning Remote Control
3.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 18 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

try another phone

03/27/2012
By ,
Crofton, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted this phone because it had a higher grade camera and video but was still able to maintain the $30 plan. My mom told me she had a difficult time hearing me on this phone. I had a hard time hearing callers. I found it to be awkward and the qwerty was difficult to navigate. The service was much more limited than the Verizon coverage of the other straight talk phones. I switched to the Straight Talk Samsung R355C: which I would rate a five star- the sound it great and it is on Verizon so the service it much better.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Phone did not work

05/12/2012
By ,
GTown VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this phone directly from Straighttalk.com. It would not work at home, at work or at my parents house. All places my previous phone worked. I spent well over 2 hours with their customer service to find that they would ship me a new phone if i sent back this phone and paid shipping for both. Or i could send the phone back (at my expense ofcourse) and then wait 30days for a refund . If you want a brick this is for you! if you want a useable phone try something else these phones are trash!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for STRAIGHT TALK SAMSUNG 404 PREPAID GSM HANDSET

Love this phone!

06/20/2012
By ,
amanda ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this phone get out great where we live....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next