Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Save wall space with the Mainstays Over the Door Mirror. It is great for any room, including dorms, bedrooms, offices, and more. This long mirror can be hung over the door in minutes, for quick easy installation. The Mainstays mirror comes with the required hardware to hang on the door, and requires no additional tools. This door hanging mirror is available in black or white to meet your decorating needs. The Mainstays Over the Door Mirror will make an excellent gift for anyone looking to maximize existing space, and loves to couple functionality with style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.562 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation62%20 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Overall: Great concept; Poor craftsmanship

03/06/2012
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered/purchased two white mirrors because I desired to "hang over-the-door" mirrors to prevent boring holes in the doors. The over-the-door concept of the mirrors is spot on; the price was very reasonable; and the mirrors blend well hanging over the white doors. However, the quality of craftsmanship was poor, as some of the mitered corners of the frames did not fit together flushly; and the mirror's reflected images are "warped...somewhat distorted." It lacks a crisp reflection. Also, tape/velcro had to be used on the back of the mirror, at the bottom, to keep it from "flapping" against the door when opening and closing it; otherwise the constant impact could easily break the mirror, if not secured. Since the mirrors were so inexpensive, and the quality is commensurate with the price, I did not find it worth the time or effort to return them. They are "functional" and just "okay" at best... they look great from a distance.
If the same concept with good quality craftsmanship is used in making the mirror, it would probably become a "big hit" and sell very well because the convenient over-the-door, no tools needed, quick and easy hanging features are desirable and sure sellers. However, the overall quality of the mirror lacks a lot to be desired...ugh...unless it just doesn't matter to the buyer/user.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Perfect for a small space!

08/18/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed an over the door because in my small space I had nowhere else to hang a long mirror. This fit the bill perfectly. It arrived in perfect condition and was easy to put together. My only complaint is that where you hook the mirror onto the over the door rods, one side bumps into the screw on the mirror making it a bit unstable. But it hasnt fallen off or anything. I do wish there were a 3rd rung to hang the mirror slightly lower, but I can make do with where it is. Overall, for the price and what I needed, fits the bill well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Looks like a Fun House mirror

09/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For the price, I thought this was going to be a great deal. It looked great in the store but when I took it home the reflections was so distorted it was like looking in a fun house mirror. Retuning this today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+14points
Review 4 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

this is one of those 'circus mirrors'

09/01/2011
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
this is one of those 'circus mirrors' - as you stand back more than a a foot or two, your image becomes distorted. i think it is because it is an acrylic mirror as opposed to a glass mirror. i like the look that mirrors create in my home but this does not reflect clearly unless you are very close to it. if you are looking for something cheap for a kid or to use once in a while in a closet, this might do. i kept one but will not be purchasing more and i would not give these as gifts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Review 5 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

It's a full length mirror for $12! In a good way!

09/08/2011
By ,
Anza Borego State Park California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is exactly what you expect for 12 bucks! Even Better!
It is an over the door mirror, so it has brackets for hanging over the door, nothing to hang on the wall with, but a couple drywall screws and it is up in about two minutes. Nothing wrong with the quality unless your expecting a two hundred dollar wall mirror. It is even flattering!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror
07/31/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very disappointed. Arrived damaged. Cheap and flimsy. Not worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 7 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror
08/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value, good for college students!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Review 8 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Excellent Mirror!

10/16/2011
By ,
Bassett, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent mirror. Had it bought for me as a gift and it arrived at my home the next day with standard shipping! The mirror was in flawless shape and assembled in a minute. I have this hanging over the bathroom door because I don't have the space for a large bathroom mirror over the bathroom sink. This mirror works perfectly for its purpose. Definitely a good buy for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Perfect

07/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my mother in white - and she was delighted. She said it fit her decor perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 10 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

It works for me

10/05/2011
By ,
Riverside, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mirror was damaged during shipping, so before it even reached me, the box was rerouted while @FedEx to be replaced by vendor. Walmart's customer service was very helpful over the phone, they even put a rush out on the new mirror to be delivered within 2 days. Product was recv'd in good shape and instead of hanging it over my door, I put it on the wall in the bedroom. Within about 2 min, mirror was up! Can't beat the price. If you're looking for a more classy look then yes you may want to spend a few more dollars on another mirror=-).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

distorts your figure

10/07/2011
By ,
New Haven, CT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mirror is probably an okay buy for the price. It hangs easily over the door. However, it makes you look much thinner than you really are. It's not a grotesque distortion, which is part of the problem - you don't realize that you're not actually as thin as the mirror makes you look until you look in a different mirror. I guess if you want to have the delusion of being skinny, this is the right mirror for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror
08/09/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I got this item it was broken. I had to return it to the store and get an replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 13 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Broken :(

09/18/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've ordered this mirror twice. Each time it showed up broken. :( I was really disappointed because the framing on the mirror is beautiful.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

love it

09/29/2011
By ,
brooklyn, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to install, no screws and just hangs. i love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Good mirror - if your expectations are low

02/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So, having read other customer reviews, my expectations for this mirror were low. That's why I could say that it "meets my expectations". It arrived broken - which I expected, but the process of getting a new one shipped out was fast and easy. I haven't noticed yet the "fun house mirror effect" that other reviews talked about, but that would also be something I would expect. It's a cheap mirror and you get what you pay for. But it looks alright and it serves my purpose. I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 16 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

So-so

03/05/2012
By ,
New York, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Arrived broken first time. But that might or might not have been a problem with the local delivery company. The second time it arrived in one piece. It has a nice wooden frame. The problem is that the mirror surface is not flat; there is a "wave" running vertically across the mirror that is visible and makes it look rather cheap; if you are fat, however, it makes you look thinner (could be considered "a feature, not a bug".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

You get what you pay for...

02/11/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good price, if you need a funhouse mirror. I received the mirror and it had large diagonal curves and ripples across of it. I kept it because it makes me look slightly thiner so I forgave it for being so flattering haha. after a while I stoped noticing (as long as I dont look at any other mirrors that day)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 18 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Very Nice...

02/29/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets expectations. I have no complaints other than the mirror showed up absolutely FILTHY, but that was no big deal. Hangs on the back of the door just fine, no weird distorted reflections, and it's just the right height for my thirteen year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Awesome...love it.

02/05/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this mirror because it is inexpensive and comes with the over the door hooks that get inserted into the back of the mirror. This works way better than using adhesive on a door and never being able to remove the sticky stuff later on. A+++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Mainstays Over the Door Mirror

Bad deal

03/03/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It's uneven image reflexion and some non removable spots may be on the back of the glass. I've not returned it for the same reason I bought online, it's heavy and large. Worthless to do that, only more trouble....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next