Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Deep Silver Dead Island (PS3)

Deep Silver Dead Island (PS3)

Dead Island combines first-person action with a heavy focus on melee combat, character development and customisation of a vast array of weapons. Set in an open world tropical island, hordes of different festering zombies await players around every corner while they embark on a variety of thrilling missions through the holiday resort. Dead Island also features role-playing elements which allow the player to develop one of the games unique character classes according to their preferences, all the while learning new skills and fresh tactics during their journey through the perilous environments of the island. Up to four players can seamlessly join together and experience the intense combat and immersive story with cooperative gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation67%10 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dead Island (PS3)

Finally a game worth buying on release date

10/29/2011
By ,
Oswego, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is all about creating weapons and bashing zombies heads in.
The storyline is ok, the cut scenes with the main characters are poor at best and often make you wish they were zombies so you could bash them. The game has a fair amount of guns but you don’t really get your hands on any until halfway through the game and ammo is very limited. The game levels up like Fallout: New Vegas just not as quick. You are able to pick a skill with each level up, some are rewarding and some are useless. Each playable character has their own set of skills. The game is a lot of fun and has a lot of reply value, just skip on by the cut scenes. The sewer and prison areas are the least fun areas of the game. Well worth $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dead Island (PS3)

Fun game, does not deserve it's low rating!

10/03/2011
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This game is exactly what I anticipated. Lots of zombies, some harder to kill than others, fun location, good graphics, unique weapons..plot is exactly what you would expect. You are on an island and zombies are taking over. You and a group of survivors try to survive and find your way off the island. If you expect anything else from a game called Dead Island, you aren't very bright. The game saves flawlessly when you complete a mission. If you turn the game off before completing your current mission, it will not save that data and you will have to replay that mission. This is true with most games. Overall, this game is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dead Island (PS3)

pretty good zombie game

02/19/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
have been playing this game since I got it lol pretty good game
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dead Island (PS3)
09/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first glance I and many others have thought this game was going to be great! Another survival Zombie game that wasn't and repetitive as Dead Rising and its not. The Story line and game play is great but with fatal flaws that deep silver claims to have fixed and haven't. For instance its the weekend your up all night playing you finally get tired and turn the game off as there is no manual way to save progress. Only to wake up the next day to find that your progress didn't save and your back to where you started from. The save feature in this game is hit and miss at best if you feel like wasting your time on a game that may or may not save then by all means this is the game for you. Deep silver claims that the co-op experience is seamless it to is flawed as some users can not join your game because of patching issues. Some peoples games wont even update and with all the screams and complaints of customers around the world all deep silver can say is "There's no ETA on when the fixes for these issues will be out." However if you can stomach the fatal flaws of this game then buy it smash zombies with out abandon but if you are like me and many others. Save your money until the game is fixed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Birmingham, AL
Completely Agree With Myth1026
Posted 09/18/2011
After being burned by other games of this magnitude and scope, I resisted the urge to buy Dead Island, even though I REALLY wanted it. Instead, I rented it for a weekend. So glad I rented instead of bought it, because I experienced the same save issues as Myth1026. It was enough to turn me off of the game and the developer. I'm willing to give it another shot when a patch is issued, but until then I'm warning people away from Dead Island. Yeah, the trailer was really pretty. But it's WAY too buggy. Stay away.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dead Island (PS3)

Zombielands

10/04/2011
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My review in short is that Dead Island is essentially a melee-focused Borderlands with a touch of Condemned: Criminal Origins. The quests, the big open areas, the variety in weapons, and the skill trees are all there for anyone already familiar with the four heroes of Pandora. While this game lacks the tongue-in-cheek element (which is honestly a bit disappointing), the gameplay is solid. Splatting a zombie's head is oh-so-satisfying (particularly the screaming infected), and jump-kicking a zombie never gets old.
Much like condemned, the melee combat has a very visceral feel to it; when you hit a zombie with a sledgehammer or a boat paddle, it has a lot of impact. You can also slice of parts with sharper weapons, or throw whatever you're holding with ease. You can upgrade weapons with various bits and bobs you'll find around the island. Saints Row taught us that a baseball bat = fun, but a baseball bat with nails or bolts or fire is even more so. Since you can repair most weapons (anything beyond basic paddles and pipes), Dead Island allows you to tailor your arsenal to your own preferences.
There is a fair bit of repetition (much as in Borderlands), and only a handful of enemy types. There is also a lengthy sewer section that is ... well, what most gamers would expect from a sewer level. Still, I found myself enthralled with the vibrant colors of the resort, a fair relief from the deluge of brown and grey that seems to infect most FPS games in this day and age.
It's not all swinging in the sun, however. The story is the usual b-movie tripe; the four heroes aren't very compelling, and certianly aren't relatable, and the attempts at Drama are laughable at best. Dead Island also has some of the worst accents I've seen in modern games ... but anyone familiar with zombie games (and survival horror as a whole) is probably used to a fair amount of cheese, and won't be bothered by it. The enemies increase in level as you do, which I must admit I didn't care for, but did always keep even the lowliest walker a threat. In addition, the gunplay is a bit lacking; you can't hold many bullets, making the decision to carry a gun a tactical one. On the other hand, bullets are considerably more effective against human enemies, who usually carry plenty of extra ammo to replenish your stores. (I should note that I've yet to find a shotgun). Still, I find myself selling off handguns in favor of better melee weapons.
All in all, Dead Island is a good game. Not great, not bad, but good. Shooter fanatics will feel it wanting, but a balanced gamer will enjoy this, particularly with friends ... again, much like Borderlands. If you're looking for a game that lets you bust some zombie heads, Dead Island will give you your fix. Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go sharpen my machete.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Borderlands: Game of the Year (Xbox 360)
5 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dead Island (PS3)

Good show but not good tell

12/04/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Now I didnt buy this game due to price of $60.00. so i went to a red box an rent it. First played the game I like the work they did an the idea zombie all around. I beleave this whoud beat other zombie game.. till you get deeper into the game. it a very very hard game. now I was more hoping it was like borderland feel of the game like it go normal then hard but no it put you on hard more an you will die alot in this game. Yes I knew i whoud die in the game at least 10 to 15 time per area but when you get into Act II you will die alot an im not joking. when i manage to beat act II an I return it.
for people who love Very Hard game go for it but for the price they ask for. Wait till it lower it will drop to $20.00 bucks or less.
now for the music, acting, an the look of a game. It more of a Show than a Game an it more to sell for it look than for it gameplay
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dead Island (PS3)

The Game is being Fix

10/06/2011
By ,
Panama,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes this game have some problem, and yes it is some times game breaking, but I still enjoy it. The story is not good, but its not bad either. This game fun and the developers is trying hard to fix all the glitches so that it can be the game that everybody expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dead Island (PS3)

I traded it in for Resistance 3

09/29/2011
By ,
Marietta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It looked alright just not too into zombie games.Heard lots about it so I pre-ordered it.Nothing too horriable other than tons of flesh rippers without ammo.I did however trade it in for resistance 3 .I don't really know much about dead island other than it appears to be as good as resident evil's saga.Forgive my lack of input on this paticular subject.Evidently too much is not enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dead Island (PS3)
09/16/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
got this game because of all the hype saying it was good, IMO the game was not good, really boring story, the side quests are wierd, example: one side quest you have to do is a girl that looks like shes 30 and wants her teddy bear back..... from her room... across the island. the game is good as far as the wepons, you dont get guns when you start off. but the game is crazy glitchy and slow moving. 1 star for me
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dead Island (PS3)

just an RPG with zombies

10/10/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its not a bad game. has some multiplayer problems at times (lagging, freezing, losing items when giving) but theyre not too common. if you like zombies, customizing weapons, and an rpg style level system its for you. i dont get the big hype over it, but its a decent game
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dead Island (PS3)

There goes my social life.

03/21/2012
By ,
Everett, Wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always been obsessed with pretty much all things zombie, but had no idea how much this game was going to take over my life. It looks amazing and is very addictive. The attention to detail blew my mind. I have forced some friends to get it so that they can play with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dead Island (PS3)

Best game ever.

05/24/2012
By ,
orange county, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If u watch zombie movies, this game is more intense than anything with zombies.
Great graphics and setting, plenty to do and see.
I can't stress this enough, the game is amazing and will have u on the edge of your seat every second.
Buy this game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dead Island (PS3)
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5