Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Nerf NERF Vortex Nitron

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nerf NERF Vortex Nitron

The Vortex Nitron disc blaster is the ultimate in Vortex innovation and technology! The Nitron blaster's cutting-edge acceleration trigger propels a full-auto storm of discs toward targets at extreme range for an all-out assault. Its Centerfire Tech electronic scope features pulsing targeting lights to help you center your aim. The included 20-disc magazine and onboard magazine storage keep reloading time as short as possible (additional magazines and discs sold separately). In addition to being fully automatic, the Nitron is also fully customizable with the Tactical Rail System that is compatible with most Vortex and N-STRIKE Mission Kit accessories for a fully awesome battlefield experience!
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation81%35 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Be armed and mostly harmless

12/28/2011
By ,
Dublin, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All of my workers have some kind of Nerf gun at their desks for afternoon dart fights. Rather than get the typical, smaller gun, I decided to go all out with the Vortex. Even if the gun didn't work, it impresses everyone who sees it.
You need to get 6C batteries before the gun will do anything, and 2AAA batteries if you want to use the scope. I clipped it on to the gun for looks, but haven't bothered to try and use it since other reviewers said it wasn't very helpful.
The first time I shot it I couldn't believe how far the discs flew. The range is amazing, although a bit of a pain when it comes to running around and picking all the discs up again to reload. Even if you aren't shooting at someone, it's fun to see how far you can send the discs, and my coworkers took turns trying it out.
The only downside I could see is that it's pretty noisy, and would be lousy if you were trying to sneak up on someone. Otherwise, have a blast!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Great fun for a safe gun experience

09/16/2011
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beyond exciting for 8-10 year olds...until the discs are lost or the batteries die, and there are lots of batteries. The gun comes with one 20-disc clip but you can buy another clip of 20, which I highly recommend for when the child really gets into shooting things (cans not birds) the supply runs out quickly. The gun also has a great scope to really focus on the target. I was surprised how far the gun was able to shoot a disc and the speed the discs can be launched.
I would highly recommend an adult should go over all the instructions, expectations (don’t shoot at animals, people or things near them that might bounce), safety precautions and do a few test rounds of shooting to judge the power and distance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
 
My Product Recommendations
Star Wars Force FX Lightsaber - Obi-Wan Kenobi
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 3 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Best NERF gun evar!

09/24/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've played with a lot of NERF guns in my day, and although it's been awhile since I've picked one up, this is the sweetest NERF piece I've seen. It fully automatic, so you just hold down the trigger and watch the discs fly. It's not very stealthy because it's battery powered and kinda loud, but still a solid weapon for your NERF battles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Review 4 for NERF Vortex Nitron
09/29/2011
By ,
calif
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gun was one of the newest nerf guns, the vortex series. Me and my friends liked to play around with it. The discs kind of hurt more than darts though. The aiming is a little off, and it shoots to the right. Still, we liked how the ammo wasn't the same darts. The scope was hard to attach too. If you would buy this, I would buy one of the bonus ammunition packs. The discs bounce around and are hard to find.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Review 5 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Shoots far? Check... Accurate? Check... Fun? Yes!

09/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So, my son (6 yrs old) and I saw this toy about a month ago, and we were dying to give it a try. What's not to like? Looks cool, shoots projectiles, and has a 30 round clip.
1st off, you'll need 6x C batteries for the gun, and 2x AAA for the "scope." More on the "scope" later. You'll also need a smaller Phillips screwdriver to open up the battery compartment. The box is very well packaged. Everything is secure and in place in case you plan on shipping it off as a gift. Directions are clear and concise. Package includes the gun, scope, 30 discs, and the clip to hold them.
So the gun itself looks way cool. The stock is a little long, so younger kids might have trouble holding it. It's rated for 8 years and older, but if your kid is small, he might have a hard time holding the trigger with the stock on their shoulder. My son wasn't able to, so he put the stock over his shoulder, which worked out perfect (Think bazooka.) It's a bit wider than it seems in the picture. And after adding 6 C batteries, it's a little heavy towards the back. It's got holes on top on the front and back for, what I presume would be, a shoulder strap. It's also got a slot on the back of the stock that allows you to put an extra clip. The scope is part of their "rail" system and can be slid on and off easily. The disc itself are made of plastic and foam. It's got a harder plastic center with a soft foam ring.
The discs are loaded like a typical gun. You slide the disc into the clip. Press it down and slide in the next. Once you're loaded them, you push the clip into place. After that, there is a "safety" on the top of the stock. I think of it as more of an on/off switch more than anything. To fire, you have 2 triggers. 1st, there is a lower one on the grip that you must hold. This activates the motors that propel the disc. First off, it's loud. If you're going on a "stealth" mission, leave this baby at home. Have 10 baddies bearing down on you? Then you have chosen wisely. A quick pull of the trigger launches out a disc. Need to fire quickly? Hold down the trigger and it lets loose. I would say it fires off discs at about 1/second. It's not terribly quick, but it's okay. At least it's 30 seconds of pure fun.
Range is good. I would say about up to 60 ft'. Accuracy is semi decent up until about 30-40. The disc have a tendency to arc left or right. It's maybe a 1-2' spread at that distance. The problem is that the arc is never consistent. One time it'll go left, the next right. Good thing you get 30 shots, huh?
So, the one thing that wasn't that cool is the scope. Simply put, it's pretty useless. Looking through it, it has 3 pieces of "glass" with hexagon shapes getting progressively smaller. With the batteries installed, you can set up the "scope" to have the lights inside stay on, or flash in different patterns. Does it make the gun look cool? Yes. Does the scope really do anything? No. In addition, the scope seems to be a little loose on the rail. So when you're running around taking down the baddies, the poor scope is hanging on for dear life.
As a whole though, the gun is pretty cool. The disc fly a lot further that the dart guns I'm used to. The clip concept and loading concept is fun, and the gun looks great. I personally removed the scope since I don't find any use for it. The only downside I see (at the time of this review) is that you can't buy an additional clip for a big "war." Expect lots of downtime hunting down disc and reloading the clip. But once you're all loaded up, expect tons of fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+114points
Review 6 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Where was this when I was a kid?!

11/25/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is amazing. It's nothing like the NERF guns I had as a kid. This shoots faster, further, and more accurately. I had a blast chasing my nephews around this house with this gun and you will too! A must buy if you like NERF guns!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for NERF Vortex Nitron
09/15/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son LOVES this nerf gun and he has many. It’s very easy to use, looks great and shoots quickly. The only downside is that it doesn’t consistently shoot straight. It was a bit challenging for my 6 year old but my 10 year old had no problem. I would not suggest that you shoot someone at a close range. It is very powerful and hurts!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Review 8 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Full-auto fun of the Stampede without the weight

11/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, so i bought this despite being aware of the bonus variant which contains the extra magazine and the 20 discs for the magazine. and despite this, i was surprised at how this Nerf Vortex blaster is both good, yet light. I did have my doubts when it came out in september when i saw the "priming" trigger which activates the flywheels (yes, it runs in a similar fashion to the Barricade), but when i saw that it was indeed fully automatic, i was convinced. The funny thing about is that despite coming in a large box, it's not as heavy as the ECS Stampede which can be held in one hand if the the user has enough strength. I even held the Nitron in both hands like if i was using a hand blaster such as the N-Strike Barricade or the Vigilon without any weight issues (since the Nitron's battery compartment is close to the middle of the blaster instead of the back like the Stampede). The scope is ok, but i wouldn't get too used to using it too much since the view tends to be a bit warped when looking through it.
To conclude, if you want a good experience with the Vortex line, which provides good efficiency while avoiding getting tired out from carrying the Nitron.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Review 9 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Worth the money...but...

01/28/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second Vortex purchase, the first being the single shot Proton. I was very excited by it when I first got it, as it looked rather impressive and it has a nice overall feel to it. However, I find that the Proton has a slightly longer range, and the discs seem to hit harder from the Proton than they do from the Nitron. The rapid fire is nice, but you can easily wind up paying half the cost of the product just on batteries alone, and the rapid fire means more discs to get lost. However, the sheer cool factor of this toy outweighs all the cons.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for NERF Vortex Nitron

poorly made, poor value

12/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have to admit, "full automatic" sounds very cool and the Nitron's appearance further builds expectations that this toy is going to be over the top. Too bad looks is about all it has going for it. For the few hours that it worked, it proved noisy, slow-firing and inaccurate. The screws that have to be removed and replaced to insert or change batteries are cheap metal, quick to strip - and awkwardly placed, making the likelihood that you'll strip them very high. In finest Christmas tradition, it stopped working the next day for no apparent reason. My son, gift recipient, was disappointed and I, gift-giver, was really frustrated that a $40 toy would be worth so little. We are returning it; the next model "down" is a pump-action for half the price #linked below#. That certainly seems to be a better value for a Nerf gun - if you get one at all. I think we'll pick out a nice Lego set!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
 
My Product Recommendations
 
-3points
Review 11 for NERF Vortex Nitron
01/17/2012
By ,
muscle shoals,al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the vortex is a hard hitting and long distance reaching nerf gun but it is the worst jamming nerf gun ever i only get like 2 shots before it jams word of advice if u do go int nerf battle with this have a back up partner
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 12 for NERF Vortex Nitron

AWESOME toy!!!

12/29/2011
By ,
Columbus OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are all BIG NERF fans in our family, and this is one of the best yet!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for NERF Vortex Nitron

My son.

01/07/2012
By ,
Bruceton Mills, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son collects Nerf guns and was excited when he saw the advertisements for this one. He received it as one of his Christmas gifts and absolutely LOVES it! It shoots far with great power. The discs fly great and it is very easy to handle. The gun is also very light but you can feel that it quality material and won't fall apart. I am very satisfied with this purchase. Just like a boy, he plays rough and these guns take it all!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Pretty cool...

01/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...but the 6 C batteries it takes is a bit much, which adds unnecessary weight and size. The flimsy, battery-filled "scope" is useless as well, as you can't even see through it. Overall, though, it shoots long and hard and fairly straight making it a fun addition to any Nerf battle, especially when you add the 10 disk extra clip!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 15 for NERF Vortex Nitron

Nice Gun

04/26/2012
By ,
Independence, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great and loaded play gun. My son loved it, with the scope and all. The only thing is the cost. This is over priced I think, its $50.00 in the store, but Walmart online is the cheapest I could find. They do sale extra disc for it also separately.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for NERF Vortex Nitron

FUN FOR AWHILE

02/28/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great Nerf gun, well constructed, no problems with it, but it didn't hold my 8 year old grandson's interest for long. He had fun shooting the Nerf darts a couple of times, but the excitement faded quickly. He has 3 Nerf guns and doesn't play with them. I'm not too disapppointed, since guns are not my favorite toy to purchase, but it is expensive, especially if played with only a couple of times.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Review 17 for NERF Vortex Nitron

My boys love these nerf guns!

12/29/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All my kids' friends and my boys absolutely love these guns they got for Christmas they are 5 and 7. I love the green discs they shoot and that they don't have to be cocked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for NERF Vortex Nitron
08/26/2012
By ,
phila., ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
received and wrapped for grandson's birthday----he was so excited when opened and so disappointed ten minutes later when product failed???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 19 for NERF Vortex Nitron

not so good

12/26/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gun will not shoot single fire and when fully automatic it shoots 2 discs each second. It has poor aim and is heavy. Its flashing sights aren't the best by do work well. It also only shoots with the batteries in. It takes 2 AAAs and 6 Cs.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for NERF Vortex Nitron
11/11/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My grandson's eyes lit up when I walked thru the door with this requested Birthday gift. The fact that he was so excited, and knew instinctively how to use it, made it the best gift ever!
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next