Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Ideal for home or office use, the 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle delivers a neat, foolproof performance. It can shred up to six 20-lb bond papers simultaneously or one credit card at a time. Equipped with the advanced ShredSafe feature, this paper shredder machine shuts off power in the event of a "forced entry". It comes with a cover plate that closes the entry when not in use. To ease paper jams, you can use the manual reverse option. Equipped with thermal protection, this 6-sheet paper shredder keeps the unit from overheating thereby ensuring its durability. Also, it features an easy-lift, single-hand handle for quick and hassle-free waste removal. The papers are shredded into 7/32" x 1-27/32" pieces in a crosscut fashion, ensuring your sensitive data doesn't fall into the wrong hands. Furthermore, the machine can effortlessly handle small paper clips as well as staples.
Average Customer Rating:
4.352 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1552 Reviews) 1302
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
913
4 stars
450
3 stars
86
2 stars
28
1 star
75
Customer Recommendation93%1,437 out of 1,549reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 599 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
913
4 stars
450
3 stars
86
2 stars
28
1 star
75
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

may work for shredding an occasional receipt

12/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't do lots of shredding except once a year when I shred my unneeded receipts from the year prior. But every couple of months all have about 5 minutes worth of shredding to do. I've had a variety of shredders over the years. When my Fellowes shredder died, I bought this one as it was cheap and had good reviews. Admittedly, it turned on and shredded a few things. But within 5 minutes it had jammed twice, necessitating that I pull off the top and pull out the small pieces of paper that had lodged inside. And after I finished cleaning out the second jam, the shredder had over-heated and was worthless for the next hour until it cooled sufficiently to try again. I didn't try again. I recycled the 20 papers/envelopes I had shredded, emptied everything out, and repackaged the shredder, then returned it to Walmart.
If you shred one receipt every few days and that is it, this will probably work for you. If you prefer to do your shredding in batches, forget it. Get a real shredder.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great household shredder!

10/06/2014
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best quality for the dollar for a household shredder around! I wouldn't say this is quiet and I wouldn't call it loud either. It does does a perfect job on 6 or less sheets of regular paper and a great job shredding credit cards. I like that it has a clear viewer into the can so you can see if it is getting full and I love that it has a top handle to help lift off the heavy top to empty the basket and that once the top lifts off the basket the motor is disabled from turning on. I don't like that if I want to slip something into the can that i don't need to shred that I have to lift off the top to put it directly in the basket. I am happy there is a kind of cover over the the entry to the shredding blades so something falling onto the top of the can is not at all likely to be inadvertently shredded. For my household this is just what I wanted and after shopping around for it I am thrilled with the price for all these features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

I'm not a fan.

10/14/2014
By ,
St Paul. MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are concerned with protecting your privacy, this isn't the best shredder. I can't really say I was super disappointed, I mean afterall it cost less than $30. However I am disappointed that the shredder had such high ratings. This thing shreds so big, I could still read very important details and my name on the documents I shredded. It got stuck while I was shredding 4 sheets and I had to pour cooking oil in it, to get it going again because after attempts to reverse, it wouldn't work. This all happened on the first day of owning it, by the way. Not only that but this thing is super loud. If you are a considerate neighbor, you won't be able to shred anything after 10pm with this. I ordered a Dynex microcut shredder from Best Buy for about $65 (that's with tax) and it is awesome. It cuts in much smaller bits and it's much quieter. Granted this cheap one shreds credit cards better than my new shredder but I can live with that. I just want my document securely destroyed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Compact low-cost cross-cut shredder for home use

10/25/2014
By ,
Pennsauken, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to agree with the majority of reviews on this one. It is a great little cross-cut shredder with sufficient indicator lights and smart safety features. The design and build quality is very good. To have it priced at about $25 makes it an exceptional value in my mind.
As far as noise output when shredding, I was pleasantly surprised as I found it to be a bit quieter and less annoying than previous home shredders I have used.
You should browse through the instruction manual to understand how the safety features operate and the typical design limitations such as the 6-sheet max, avoid adhesives and plastics (credit cards in the designated slot are OK), etc.
Also don't forget to lubricate once in awhile as the instruction manual recommends. I use just a teaspoon (if that) of cooking oil spread across one of my "to be shredded" documents (financial junk mail for instance) and feed it to my shredder once a month. No need to buy those expensive lubricating sheets. : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Terrific shredder at any price.

01/22/2014
By ,
Frankfort, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shredder blew me away. I am a first-time shredder owner, and I now appreciate the convenience of easily disposing of no longer needed checking account, credit account, and tax records. No more accumulating huge mounds of the stuff; just periodically dispose of them as required without worry of identity theft or invasion of privacy. This shredder does the job efficiently and safely. Accepts full size paper sheets (up to six sheets at a time) and credit cards (one at a time). It also handles stapled sheets (small staples). A viewing window lets you know when the shredder bucket is full. I put this shredder through the paces with a huge backlog of old records and it handled them all with aplomb. It never overheated (it has a thermal overload shutoff), although I was careful not to overdo it. Normally, I feed an average of three sheets at a time, which this shredder easily handles. At a price of $25, it is a totally unbelievable value for the home office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great Household Paper Shredder

08/16/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this paper shredder for about a week but so far I have shredded about 3 shopping bags full of old papers and statements that I wanted to dispose of safely. My old shredder died and it took a while to find a decent shredder at a good price. I would only put a few pages of thin paper at a time or one thick. Do not try to overload the shredder, it is not meant for that. If you just load a few pages at a time it will do a great job. If you do it that way it will run so smooth that the basket will fill up quickly. You may want to make sure you turn off or unplug the shredder before you empty and make sure you have something to put the shredded paper in and maybe do it over some newspaper, drop cloth or trashbag because if the basket is too full when you pull the shredder off the basket you will have paper all over. Have not had any paper jams or any problems with shredder and have done about 3 shopping bags full of shredded paper so far. It is a great shredder for household use for the price. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+150points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

I Highly Recommend This Shredder.

09/09/2014
By ,
Seacoast, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cleaned out my files and had 2 grocery bags Full of papers that needed to be shredded. I saw the wonderful reviews for this machine and thought I would try it. I was able to shred one whole grocery bag in less than an hour. I rested the machine for a few minutes a few times over the hour but mostly it was constantly running. It Does shred 6 sheets at a time. It Never once stopped to cool itself down and it Never once clogged. I had to empty the bin 3 times over the course of the hour. It is easy to remove the top to empty the bin and it is also 85 dollars less expensive than the one I was going to buy that had wheels and the bin opened from the front. Now that I am using this machine I realize that I would not want it to have wheels and that the bin weighs about a pound when you empty it so opening from the front does not matter to me either. This was a Wonderful purchase! I will be able to shred my daily junk mail using it. It also has a top "closing" button that is Great since I have 2 cats. I think all home shredders should have that safety feature. I Love this Shredder! I Highly Recommend It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Council Bluffs, IA
Cats and shredders
Posted 10/06/2014
Thank you OneHappyGirl1 for your review. I also have cats! I studied the pictures of the top of the shredder carefully, but could not tell from the pictures whether my kitties would be safe if they cliimbed on top of it, and as you know they most certainly will! They have to check out and lay on everything. The shredder I currently own is NOT kitty-proof and I constantly worry whether or not I unplugged it. I appreciate you including your tidbit of information about your cats in your review. Thank You! :)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Inexpensive but functional

09/02/2013
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This shredder works OK. It has cautions about envelopes especially window envelopes which I didn't understand. When they say 6 sheets the unit struggles at that number. Better to use a maximum of 4 sheets. The opening through which to plce the paper is very small as is the unit itself. You have to be accurate to get paper into the slot. The noise is for me normal which is to say loud. If you live in an apartment or condo be careful about the time of day or evening. It will take on staples but I recycle my paperclips so I have not tried them. As I mentioned earlier the unit is very small thus the basket is small and you will find yourself frequently emptying it often. There is a small window to tell you when you are near capacity.
The unit is very short but too tall to put on a table or desk to be used comfortably. On the floor you will find yourself bending over often. Maybe that could be a kind of situp!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder

09/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to purchase another pricey shredder when mine died. I read the reviews on this one and couldn't believe the good reviews for such a reasonably priced shredder.
When this was delivered, I was blown away. It was smaller than I expected, but believe me it works fantastically. I love the way the opening is, much easier to push papers into machine. This shredder works faster and cleaner than my expensive one that I have upstairs. I have an office in the garage and this shredder now sits on a short TV stand and is right there to shred all the junk mail and envelopes. I also love that you can snap down the cover over the opening.
I really love this machine and am so glad I decided to save a lot of money. Even though the basket is not large, it is very easy to empty.....especially if you use a grocery bag to line it. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Reliable and efficient

10/16/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really happy with this shredder. In fact, I liked it so well, my husband went out and bought another one for his home office. I've been able to shred loads of documents without any problem. To keep it running smoothly, I occasionally oil it. I put the oil in a plastic squeeze bottle, pour it into a used envelope, and run it through the shredder. Make sure that you've shredded some papers before doing this so the oil doesn't cause a mess on the container's bottom. The instructions say to use a vegetable based oil. The regular paper shredder oil is quite expensive, so by using vegetable oil from my pantry, I've saved money. The shredder has never jammed and has been very reliable. I would recommend it as the price is very reasonable. The only thing I would change is having the basket larger as the one that comes with it fills up very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Amazing bargain

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just shredded 10 years of old bills. It took me all day. I was dismayed because the shredder stopped working after using it for 15 minutes. I then realized that it is designed to stop working when the motor gets too hot. This prevents the motor from burning out. I like this feature. I shred for 15 minutes, then let it cool for 30 minutes, then repeat. I am very impressed with the durability of this shredder.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good Home Office Schredder

01/06/2014
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this shredder to replace my old Aurora brand shredder which provided excellent service for over nine years. It would have probably lasted longer if I had not tried to shred all three years of old tax documents in one afternoon... We have owned this new Aurora shredder for less than a month and basically use it almost daily to shred documents and bill statements. I have noticed with this new shredder that it does not shred the paper as fine as my older model, in addition, it does not have the nice 'swing lift handle' on top to easily remove the shredding mechanism off the bin in order to dump the contents. This is definitely an item for low to moderate usage. Overall, I am pleased with its service; just be sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines of shredding no more than six sheets at a time or one credit card!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder for the price!

09/05/2011
By ,
Clayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this shredder online for my 84 year old mother who moved into my home and has twenty years of files to dispose of. It was in stock at my local super store for $24.97. By ordering online, I picked it up later the same day and saved more than $5.00!
If you're looking for a small home shredder, this one can't be beat. Don't be fooled by the small size. Because it cross cuts, it can hold twice as much as a strip cut shredder. If you want to shred more than six pages at a time, you need to look at a larger version. I haven't used it so continuously that it needed to reset, like a couple of reviewers have, but I think it's a great safety feature. If you will be shredding on a continuous basis, a commercial model is really required. The easy lift handle is great for emptying the bin. The cover plate is not only great to protect fingers on little ones, but it also protects seniors who don't remember that there is a safety cover! Last but not least, the manufacturer is Aurora, a leading maker of paper shredders. You really can't beat the quality or the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Maximum Value for minimum investment!

02/17/2014
By ,
Sunny Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my 5 year old light duty home shredder stopped working, I found this online. The price was so low I was a little hesitant, but after reading through the description and user reviews, I took a chance and got it. No disappointments here! It does exactly as it is supposed to. I cleaned out my file drawers of old paid bills, etc. and it performed flawlessly. It never jammed or overheated, It will handle up to 6 sheets at once. It shreds the papers into small unreadable strips, not confetti. The ONLY downside was the low capacity of the waste basket...I had to stop and empty it more frequently, but that provided a break for me and the shredder! I would definitely recommend this shredder to any one looking for an inexpensive light duty home shredder!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Pretty good buy

08/04/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only things I don't like about this shredder are: 1. I can't take the actual shredder part out and put it on a larger bin. 2. I can't line the bin with a plastic bag which would make emptying it much easier and neater. And finally, 3. It is extremely difficult to clean out the blades after using it. They are obviously very sharp, but I have to get in there with a pair of small tweezers and pluck out tiny pieces of paper. And the book simply tells you to clean it after use, it doesn't say anywhere HOW to clean it.
Other than those things, I really like it. It does a good job of shredding my papers and cards to a point that it would really take a lot of time and patience for a thief to put them back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ozark, AL
cleaning the shredder
Posted 10/01/2014
I know from reading a lot of reviews they tell you to oil the shredder to keep it from jamming and it should clean the blades also. You can buy oiled sheets of paper or buy the oil and apply it to paper to run it through.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good little machine

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well, after reading most of the great responses to this machine, I decided to get one because my other one I had after ten years of beating the heck out of it finally gave up. So, I don't have that much now to shred, mostly important papers and junk mail. For the price, this little machine works! Yes, it's loud, but it works! It's small and it can hide just about anywhere. If you don't want to toss out over 80 bucks on something, get this. So far, it's awesome!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

The Unbelievable Performing Shredder!

11/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having used the shredder, it did perform well. Since it was an economical purchase, I was skeptical about its performance. Usually, they say if you pay more, you get better performance. However, in this case, I received better performance at a cheaper price.
Initially, I dreaded using the credit card feature on this machine, but I overcame this fear; I followed the instructions and hesitantly placed a credit card in the slot and it was a "Bingo." The card shredded with ease and of course, there was no problem with shredding sheets of paper. This was very satisfying experience.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Value Shredder

03/09/2014
By ,
Ruston, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shredder does everything it is supposed to do. It is small-- something to be used in a small office or at home. It is noisy no matter how many sheets you are shredding, so be prepared. (You might not want to shred at your home when everyone is asleep or while you are on the phone!) I love the small viewing window, which is used to see how full the basket is to know when to empty it.
I typically shred one or two days a week, shredding no more than fifty sheets during a session and no more than three sheets at a time. You do not have to purchase oil for this, as you can use regular vegetable oil once a month or so, depending on how often you shred.
This is a must-have to destroy documents containing personal information!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Piece of GARBAGE, the negative reviews are true!!

01/31/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this shredder from Walmart online back in September 2012 and it just took a dump on me 2 days ago. All of the reviews that said that this jammed on them are TRUE!!
I only used this thing once a week and it worked fine for 4 months. An envelope, the size of 4 sheets of paper, jammed in it and the reverse button would NOT work. I had been very careful to only feed this shredder between 2- 4 sheets per shredding and I NEVER put in plastic, credit cards, or thicker paper like oak tag or file folders. Once the paper jams, it is extremely difficult to clear because the "easy lift" handle only opens so far but still my fingers could not fit in to clear the jam. After I unplugged it and cleared the jam the best I could, I turned it back on and now it no longer works. (btw - It took me a good 20 minutes to clear it.)
As most of the negative reviewers have said, "Go spend the extra $20 to $30 on a much better shredder". Avoid this one at all costs!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Appears to be more heavy-duty than expected...

07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small, personal, occasional use machine and this turned out to be all of those things. It seems very strong so far and it doesn't strain to chop up four or five sheets at a time (I had to test it). I was not too concerned about the safety features that prevent you (or children or pets) from getting sucked into the top but it's only a minor inconvenience for the sake of safety. It is not shaped to fit another container and there is an interlock switch to prevent it from turning on if it's not sitting properly in it's own basket. The small basket is not a problem for me but if you want to turn it into an industrial shredder it's probably not worth the effort. It's doing great for what it is... a small inexpensive personal shredder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,303 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  66 Next