Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Ideal for home or office use, the 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle delivers a neat, foolproof performance. It can shred up to six 20-lb bond papers simultaneously or one credit card at a time. Equipped with the advanced ShredSafe feature, the auto start paper shredder shuts off power in the event of a "forced entry". The shredder comes with a cover plate that closes the entry when not in use. To ease paper jams, you can use the manual reverse option. Equipped with thermal protection, the shredder keeps the unit from overheating thereby ensuring its durability. Also, the electric paper shredder features an easy-lift, single-hand handle for quick and hassle-free waste removal. The papers are shredded into 7/32" x 1-27/32" pieces in a crosscut fashion, ensuring your sensitive data doesn't fall into the wrong hands. Furthermore, the machine can effortlessly handle small paper clips as well as staples.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1304 Reviews) 1054
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
770
4 stars
372
3 stars
76
2 stars
22
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation93%1,205 out of 1,301reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 535 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
770
4 stars
372
3 stars
76
2 stars
22
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Terrific shredder at any price.

01/22/2014
By ,
Frankfort, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shredder blew me away. I am a first-time shredder owner, and I now appreciate the convenience of easily disposing of no longer needed checking account, credit account, and tax records. No more accumulating huge mounds of the stuff; just periodically dispose of them as required without worry of identity theft or invasion of privacy. This shredder does the job efficiently and safely. Accepts full size paper sheets (up to six sheets at a time) and credit cards (one at a time). It also handles stapled sheets (small staples). A viewing window lets you know when the shredder bucket is full. I put this shredder through the paces with a huge backlog of old records and it handled them all with aplomb. It never overheated (it has a thermal overload shutoff), although I was careful not to overdo it. Normally, I feed an average of three sheets at a time, which this shredder easily handles. At a price of $25, it is a totally unbelievable value for the home office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great Household Paper Shredder

08/16/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this paper shredder for about a week but so far I have shredded about 3 shopping bags full of old papers and statements that I wanted to dispose of safely. My old shredder died and it took a while to find a decent shredder at a good price. I would only put a few pages of thin paper at a time or one thick. Do not try to overload the shredder, it is not meant for that. If you just load a few pages at a time it will do a great job. If you do it that way it will run so smooth that the basket will fill up quickly. You may want to make sure you turn off or unplug the shredder before you empty and make sure you have something to put the shredded paper in and maybe do it over some newspaper, drop cloth or trashbag because if the basket is too full when you pull the shredder off the basket you will have paper all over. Have not had any paper jams or any problems with shredder and have done about 3 shopping bags full of shredded paper so far. It is a great shredder for household use for the price. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder

09/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to purchase another pricey shredder when mine died. I read the reviews on this one and couldn't believe the good reviews for such a reasonably priced shredder.
When this was delivered, I was blown away. It was smaller than I expected, but believe me it works fantastically. I love the way the opening is, much easier to push papers into machine. This shredder works faster and cleaner than my expensive one that I have upstairs. I have an office in the garage and this shredder now sits on a short TV stand and is right there to shred all the junk mail and envelopes. I also love that you can snap down the cover over the opening.
I really love this machine and am so glad I decided to save a lot of money. Even though the basket is not large, it is very easy to empty.....especially if you use a grocery bag to line it. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Inexpensive but functional

09/02/2013
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This shredder works OK. It has cautions about envelopes especially window envelopes which I didn't understand. When they say 6 sheets the unit struggles at that number. Better to use a maximum of 4 sheets. The opening through which to plce the paper is very small as is the unit itself. You have to be accurate to get paper into the slot. The noise is for me normal which is to say loud. If you live in an apartment or condo be careful about the time of day or evening. It will take on staples but I recycle my paperclips so I have not tried them. As I mentioned earlier the unit is very small thus the basket is small and you will find yourself frequently emptying it often. There is a small window to tell you when you are near capacity.
The unit is very short but too tall to put on a table or desk to be used comfortably. On the floor you will find yourself bending over often. Maybe that could be a kind of situp!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good Home Office Schredder

01/06/2014
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this shredder to replace my old Aurora brand shredder which provided excellent service for over nine years. It would have probably lasted longer if I had not tried to shred all three years of old tax documents in one afternoon... We have owned this new Aurora shredder for less than a month and basically use it almost daily to shred documents and bill statements. I have noticed with this new shredder that it does not shred the paper as fine as my older model, in addition, it does not have the nice 'swing lift handle' on top to easily remove the shredding mechanism off the bin in order to dump the contents. This is definitely an item for low to moderate usage. Overall, I am pleased with its service; just be sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines of shredding no more than six sheets at a time or one credit card!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Maximum Value for minimum investment!

02/17/2014
By ,
Sunny Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my 5 year old light duty home shredder stopped working, I found this online. The price was so low I was a little hesitant, but after reading through the description and user reviews, I took a chance and got it. No disappointments here! It does exactly as it is supposed to. I cleaned out my file drawers of old paid bills, etc. and it performed flawlessly. It never jammed or overheated, It will handle up to 6 sheets at once. It shreds the papers into small unreadable strips, not confetti. The ONLY downside was the low capacity of the waste basket...I had to stop and empty it more frequently, but that provided a break for me and the shredder! I would definitely recommend this shredder to any one looking for an inexpensive light duty home shredder!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Value Shredder

03/09/2014
By ,
Ruston, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shredder does everything it is supposed to do. It is small-- something to be used in a small office or at home. It is noisy no matter how many sheets you are shredding, so be prepared. (You might not want to shred at your home when everyone is asleep or while you are on the phone!) I love the small viewing window, which is used to see how full the basket is to know when to empty it.
I typically shred one or two days a week, shredding no more than fifty sheets during a session and no more than three sheets at a time. You do not have to purchase oil for this, as you can use regular vegetable oil once a month or so, depending on how often you shred.
This is a must-have to destroy documents containing personal information!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder for the price!

09/05/2011
By ,
Clayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this shredder online for my 84 year old mother who moved into my home and has twenty years of files to dispose of. It was in stock at my local super store for $24.97. By ordering online, I picked it up later the same day and saved more than $5.00!
If you're looking for a small home shredder, this one can't be beat. Don't be fooled by the small size. Because it cross cuts, it can hold twice as much as a strip cut shredder. If you want to shred more than six pages at a time, you need to look at a larger version. I haven't used it so continuously that it needed to reset, like a couple of reviewers have, but I think it's a great safety feature. If you will be shredding on a continuous basis, a commercial model is really required. The easy lift handle is great for emptying the bin. The cover plate is not only great to protect fingers on little ones, but it also protects seniors who don't remember that there is a safety cover! Last but not least, the manufacturer is Aurora, a leading maker of paper shredders. You really can't beat the quality or the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great value, does the job, and does it well.

06/22/2014
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have run the shredder almost nonstop for several hours each day, and it has performed really well. I wouldn't try 6 sheets at once, because it labors and makes funny noises when you do more than 3 at a time. That's fine with me, because for that price, you can't beat it. It has not jammed even once in the two weeks I've been using it constantly, but has to be emptied quickly because it's small. It's not too noisy at all, and has been just what I was looking for. No problem with staples, either. Can't beat that price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Ok if on a budget!

07/29/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is an average paper shredder. Don't get me wrong it works, but there is some problems. First it can't really shred 6 pieces of paper, I mean it can but there is kind of a struggle to do so if you try. If you shred 6 pieces of paper be aware of over heating and jams. I had to constantly clean out paper jams to get it to work again. Credit cards go through smoothly without any problems at all which is great. The shredder box is a little small but just remember to empty and check if it is filled because if you don't check in a timely manner it can make paper jams much worse. I say good on a budget, but try to find a paper a shredder that can do and handle more. If you are on a budget this is a pretty good shredder for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good little machine

01/09/2014
By ,
Friendswood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little doubtful when I bought it but have been very pleased. I work from home and shred a lot of confidential information. This works well and doesn't require a lot of space. By the way, you do NOT have to buy the oil for a shredder; directions included say a couple of drops of vegetable oil or even an oil spray will work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

great for the price

06/27/2014
By ,
New York, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was wary of purchasing because most inexpensive shredders are terrible. This one handled an entire bankers box of papers no problem!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Piece of GARBAGE, the negative reviews are true!!

01/31/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this shredder from Walmart online back in September 2012 and it just took a dump on me 2 days ago. All of the reviews that said that this jammed on them are TRUE!!
I only used this thing once a week and it worked fine for 4 months. An envelope, the size of 4 sheets of paper, jammed in it and the reverse button would NOT work. I had been very careful to only feed this shredder between 2- 4 sheets per shredding and I NEVER put in plastic, credit cards, or thicker paper like oak tag or file folders. Once the paper jams, it is extremely difficult to clear because the "easy lift" handle only opens so far but still my fingers could not fit in to clear the jam. After I unplugged it and cleared the jam the best I could, I turned it back on and now it no longer works. (btw - It took me a good 20 minutes to clear it.)
As most of the negative reviewers have said, "Go spend the extra $20 to $30 on a much better shredder". Avoid this one at all costs!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Appears to be more heavy-duty than expected...

07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small, personal, occasional use machine and this turned out to be all of those things. It seems very strong so far and it doesn't strain to chop up four or five sheets at a time (I had to test it). I was not too concerned about the safety features that prevent you (or children or pets) from getting sucked into the top but it's only a minor inconvenience for the sake of safety. It is not shaped to fit another container and there is an interlock switch to prevent it from turning on if it's not sitting properly in it's own basket. The small basket is not a problem for me but if you want to turn it into an industrial shredder it's probably not worth the effort. It's doing great for what it is... a small inexpensive personal shredder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Excellent value

10/29/2013
By ,
Decatur,Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently purchased the shredder and I used it and was amazed at how well it functioned. The only down side was the safety mechanism that when the shredder had been used for thirty min. it would automatically shut off, until it cools off. During the shut off time I would arrange my papers for future shredding. I also did not like the fact that you could not shred envelopes with windows. I do love my shredder for the price and the outstanding job that it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good for Light Use

07/01/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I was tired of remembering to take my documents into the office to shred. It arrived within a week and was surprisingly smaller than I expected. I don't mind though, it fits perfectly in a corner near my desk and the power cord is long enough to reach my central power strip.
Don't let its size fool you-this shredder is a regular work horse. It shreds very efficiently and though I haven't used the credit card feature, I'm sure that would work well. Don't feed it more than 6 sheets at a time though-when they say 6 sheets, they mean it.
The only con I can think of is that it's very loud and since I'm a night owl, this can be a problem for my neighbours.
All in all a good shredder that perfectly meets my needs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Once per week
+386points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
florida
great product
Posted 07/06/2011
i just got this shredder today i started using it with no problem..i like the way it just shreds paper so easy...and some of my credit cards that i had that i never wanted to cut up or just throw away because i was afraid someone might put it together .with this shredder i was not worried it does the job.i recommend this product to anyone..
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good for the occasional use

07/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am moving, so I want to shred a lot of old, outdated papers. I didn't want to spend a lot, because I will not use this a lot. Just don't try to do everything all in one day, because this shredder can and did overheat. I thought that I overdid it, but no worries, because the next morning it was cooled off and ready to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

So far so good

06/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it for the first time today so I cant comment on the durability of the product. First off, even though it says "6" sheet I would never use 6 papers at a time. It struggles with 4, 3 works but it still feels like its having trouble with that as well. The one problem I had with the shredder was when it got jammed on a 3 sheet shred which took me 15ish minutes to unjam with a hook shaped screwdriver I luckily had on hand. From then on I only did 2 papers at a time, but overall I had in the area of 100 papers to shred which took around hour-hour and a half to finish. For $23 it definetly was worth it and as long as you are patient and don't shred too much at once it will work fine.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Excellent price for great value

07/02/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use and empty. Already have two 39-gallon bags of shredded documents. Fast and efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Didn't work out for me.

07/28/2014
By ,
Williamstown, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had to return it after a day it would not feed paper thru the shredder.
literally only shredded a couple of sheets at a time. Hopefully it was just the machine
that I purchased that had a problem. I read all the good reviews before I purchased it.
I will look for a sturdier machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,055 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  53 Next