Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Generic 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Ideal for home or office use, the 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle delivers a neat, foolproof performance. It can shred up to six 20-lb bond papers simultaneously or one credit card at a time. Equipped with the advanced ShredSafe feature, the auto start paper shredder shuts off power in the event of a "forced entry". The shredder comes with a cover plate that closes the entry when not in use. To ease paper jams, you can use the manual reverse option. Equipped with thermal protection, the shredder keeps the unit from overheating thereby ensuring its durability. Also, the electric paper shredder features an easy-lift, single-hand handle for quick and hassle-free waste removal. The papers are shredded into 7/32" x 1-27/32" pieces in a crosscut fashion, ensuring your sensitive data doesn't fall into the wrong hands. Furthermore, the machine can effortlessly handle small paper clips as well as staples.
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(1403 Reviews) 1153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
823
4 stars
407
3 stars
83
2 stars
22
1 star
68
Customer Recommendation93%1,300 out of 1,400reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions | 572 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
823
4 stars
407
3 stars
83
2 stars
22
1 star
68
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Terrific shredder at any price.

01/22/2014
By ,
Frankfort, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This shredder blew me away. I am a first-time shredder owner, and I now appreciate the convenience of easily disposing of no longer needed checking account, credit account, and tax records. No more accumulating huge mounds of the stuff; just periodically dispose of them as required without worry of identity theft or invasion of privacy. This shredder does the job efficiently and safely. Accepts full size paper sheets (up to six sheets at a time) and credit cards (one at a time). It also handles stapled sheets (small staples). A viewing window lets you know when the shredder bucket is full. I put this shredder through the paces with a huge backlog of old records and it handled them all with aplomb. It never overheated (it has a thermal overload shutoff), although I was careful not to overdo it. Normally, I feed an average of three sheets at a time, which this shredder easily handles. At a price of $25, it is a totally unbelievable value for the home office.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great Household Paper Shredder

08/16/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this paper shredder for about a week but so far I have shredded about 3 shopping bags full of old papers and statements that I wanted to dispose of safely. My old shredder died and it took a while to find a decent shredder at a good price. I would only put a few pages of thin paper at a time or one thick. Do not try to overload the shredder, it is not meant for that. If you just load a few pages at a time it will do a great job. If you do it that way it will run so smooth that the basket will fill up quickly. You may want to make sure you turn off or unplug the shredder before you empty and make sure you have something to put the shredded paper in and maybe do it over some newspaper, drop cloth or trashbag because if the basket is too full when you pull the shredder off the basket you will have paper all over. Have not had any paper jams or any problems with shredder and have done about 3 shopping bags full of shredded paper so far. It is a great shredder for household use for the price. So far, so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+128points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

I Highly Recommend This Shredder.

09/09/2014
By ,
Seacoast, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I cleaned out my files and had 2 grocery bags Full of papers that needed to be shredded. I saw the wonderful reviews for this machine and thought I would try it. I was able to shred one whole grocery bag in less than an hour. I rested the machine for a few minutes a few times over the hour but mostly it was constantly running. It Does shred 6 sheets at a time. It Never once stopped to cool itself down and it Never once clogged. I had to empty the bin 3 times over the course of the hour. It is easy to remove the top to empty the bin and it is also 85 dollars less expensive than the one I was going to buy that had wheels and the bin opened from the front. Now that I am using this machine I realize that I would not want it to have wheels and that the bin weighs about a pound when you empty it so opening from the front does not matter to me either. This was a Wonderful purchase! I will be able to shred my daily junk mail using it. It also has a top "closing" button that is Great since I have 2 cats. I think all home shredders should have that safety feature. I Love this Shredder! I Highly Recommend It!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Amazing bargain

08/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just shredded 10 years of old bills. It took me all day. I was dismayed because the shredder stopped working after using it for 15 minutes. I then realized that it is designed to stop working when the motor gets too hot. This prevents the motor from burning out. I like this feature. I shred for 15 minutes, then let it cool for 30 minutes, then repeat. I am very impressed with the durability of this shredder.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

great for household use

08/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am really impressed. It shredded a pile of old tax info that was 12 inches high in one evening. I fed it two sheets at a time not the 6 that it said it would do. As it stated, I fed sheets for about 10 minutes and let it cool down for 10-15 minutes. I am very happy and would certainly recommend this to anyone. I feel it is a really wonderful household unit especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Pretty good buy

08/04/2014
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only things I don't like about this shredder are: 1. I can't take the actual shredder part out and put it on a larger bin. 2. I can't line the bin with a plastic bag which would make emptying it much easier and neater. And finally, 3. It is extremely difficult to clean out the blades after using it. They are obviously very sharp, but I have to get in there with a pair of small tweezers and pluck out tiny pieces of paper. And the book simply tells you to clean it after use, it doesn't say anywhere HOW to clean it.
Other than those things, I really like it. It does a good job of shredding my papers and cards to a point that it would really take a lot of time and patience for a thief to put them back together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder

09/26/2013
By ,
Henderson, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was going to purchase another pricey shredder when mine died. I read the reviews on this one and couldn't believe the good reviews for such a reasonably priced shredder.
When this was delivered, I was blown away. It was smaller than I expected, but believe me it works fantastically. I love the way the opening is, much easier to push papers into machine. This shredder works faster and cleaner than my expensive one that I have upstairs. I have an office in the garage and this shredder now sits on a short TV stand and is right there to shred all the junk mail and envelopes. I also love that you can snap down the cover over the opening.
I really love this machine and am so glad I decided to save a lot of money. Even though the basket is not large, it is very easy to empty.....especially if you use a grocery bag to line it. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone, you won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Inexpensive but functional

09/02/2013
By ,
Southern California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This shredder works OK. It has cautions about envelopes especially window envelopes which I didn't understand. When they say 6 sheets the unit struggles at that number. Better to use a maximum of 4 sheets. The opening through which to plce the paper is very small as is the unit itself. You have to be accurate to get paper into the slot. The noise is for me normal which is to say loud. If you live in an apartment or condo be careful about the time of day or evening. It will take on staples but I recycle my paperclips so I have not tried them. As I mentioned earlier the unit is very small thus the basket is small and you will find yourself frequently emptying it often. There is a small window to tell you when you are near capacity.
The unit is very short but too tall to put on a table or desk to be used comfortably. On the floor you will find yourself bending over often. Maybe that could be a kind of situp!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good Home Office Schredder

01/06/2014
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this shredder to replace my old Aurora brand shredder which provided excellent service for over nine years. It would have probably lasted longer if I had not tried to shred all three years of old tax documents in one afternoon... We have owned this new Aurora shredder for less than a month and basically use it almost daily to shred documents and bill statements. I have noticed with this new shredder that it does not shred the paper as fine as my older model, in addition, it does not have the nice 'swing lift handle' on top to easily remove the shredding mechanism off the bin in order to dump the contents. This is definitely an item for low to moderate usage. Overall, I am pleased with its service; just be sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines of shredding no more than six sheets at a time or one credit card!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Maximum Value for minimum investment!

02/17/2014
By ,
Sunny Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my 5 year old light duty home shredder stopped working, I found this online. The price was so low I was a little hesitant, but after reading through the description and user reviews, I took a chance and got it. No disappointments here! It does exactly as it is supposed to. I cleaned out my file drawers of old paid bills, etc. and it performed flawlessly. It never jammed or overheated, It will handle up to 6 sheets at once. It shreds the papers into small unreadable strips, not confetti. The ONLY downside was the low capacity of the waste basket...I had to stop and empty it more frequently, but that provided a break for me and the shredder! I would definitely recommend this shredder to any one looking for an inexpensive light duty home shredder!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Great shredder for the price!

09/05/2011
By ,
Clayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this shredder online for my 84 year old mother who moved into my home and has twenty years of files to dispose of. It was in stock at my local super store for $24.97. By ordering online, I picked it up later the same day and saved more than $5.00!
If you're looking for a small home shredder, this one can't be beat. Don't be fooled by the small size. Because it cross cuts, it can hold twice as much as a strip cut shredder. If you want to shred more than six pages at a time, you need to look at a larger version. I haven't used it so continuously that it needed to reset, like a couple of reviewers have, but I think it's a great safety feature. If you will be shredding on a continuous basis, a commercial model is really required. The easy lift handle is great for emptying the bin. The cover plate is not only great to protect fingers on little ones, but it also protects seniors who don't remember that there is a safety cover! Last but not least, the manufacturer is Aurora, a leading maker of paper shredders. You really can't beat the quality or the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Value Shredder

03/09/2014
By ,
Ruston, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This shredder does everything it is supposed to do. It is small-- something to be used in a small office or at home. It is noisy no matter how many sheets you are shredding, so be prepared. (You might not want to shred at your home when everyone is asleep or while you are on the phone!) I love the small viewing window, which is used to see how full the basket is to know when to empty it.
I typically shred one or two days a week, shredding no more than fifty sheets during a session and no more than three sheets at a time. You do not have to purchase oil for this, as you can use regular vegetable oil once a month or so, depending on how often you shred.
This is a must-have to destroy documents containing personal information!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

great for household use.

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shredder was competitively priced, speedily delivered and works well. I would recommend to anyone for home shredding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Product works very well!

09/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It shreds the basic things I want: junk mail with my address on it. It also shreds staples so I don't have to pull them out. It works great! It's loud but gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

small but good

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The shredder is much smaller then it looksin the picture other then that it is a good buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Not bad for $23.

08/23/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's noisy but maybe all of them are. The switch is flimsy & loose, may not last. Small, thin container. For light use it should be OK. The instructions warn it's not for envelopes with windows!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

great product at a great price

08/29/2014
By ,
Westfield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My shredder finally died, so I started looking for a new one. Found this one online at Wal-Mart for 20 dollars. Read the reviews as I always do and they were pretty good. I ordered it. It arrived earlier than they said it would, which was nice. I wasn't sure about the size of the wastebasket, but it really can hold quite a lot. It made quick work of a 15 gallon trash bag of stuff I needed to shred. And it really does shred a credit card. Overall I'm happy with this shredder. I would definitely recommend it and also would buy it for myself again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Piece of GARBAGE, the negative reviews are true!!

01/31/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this shredder from Walmart online back in September 2012 and it just took a dump on me 2 days ago. All of the reviews that said that this jammed on them are TRUE!!
I only used this thing once a week and it worked fine for 4 months. An envelope, the size of 4 sheets of paper, jammed in it and the reverse button would NOT work. I had been very careful to only feed this shredder between 2- 4 sheets per shredding and I NEVER put in plastic, credit cards, or thicker paper like oak tag or file folders. Once the paper jams, it is extremely difficult to clear because the "easy lift" handle only opens so far but still my fingers could not fit in to clear the jam. After I unplugged it and cleared the jam the best I could, I turned it back on and now it no longer works. (btw - It took me a good 20 minutes to clear it.)
As most of the negative reviewers have said, "Go spend the extra $20 to $30 on a much better shredder". Avoid this one at all costs!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Good little machine

01/09/2014
By ,
Friendswood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was a little doubtful when I bought it but have been very pleased. I work from home and shred a lot of confidential information. This works well and doesn't require a lot of space. By the way, you do NOT have to buy the oil for a shredder; directions included say a couple of drops of vegetable oil or even an oil spray will work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 6-Sheet Crosscut Shredder with Easy Lift Handle

Appears to be more heavy-duty than expected...

07/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a small, personal, occasional use machine and this turned out to be all of those things. It seems very strong so far and it doesn't strain to chop up four or five sheets at a time (I had to test it). I was not too concerned about the safety features that prevent you (or children or pets) from getting sucked into the top but it's only a minor inconvenience for the sake of safety. It is not shaped to fit another container and there is an interlock switch to prevent it from turning on if it's not sitting properly in it's own basket. The small basket is not a problem for me but if you want to turn it into an industrial shredder it's probably not worth the effort. It's doing great for what it is... a small inexpensive personal shredder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  58 Next