Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

TomTom TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Travel throughout the US, Canada & Mexico with ease & style with the TomTom VIA 1435TM GPS. With TomTom IQ Routes, this portable Bluetooth GPS recommends the fastest route for the time of the day by estimating routes based on actual traffic speeds rather than posted speed limits. It won't allow you to miss your turn with Advanced Lane Guidance and direct more fuel-efficient routes that help save your money. Integrated with Intuitive Voice Recognition, you can concentrate on the road. This GPS with lifetime traffic and maps boasts a slim design and can be easily mounted on your vehicle. It features a 4.3-inch touchscreen for easy and effortless navigation. It even announces directions like street and place names so that you never miss out on your routes and stay on the right track making your journey even more memorable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.54 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation62%23 out of 37reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Go with Garmin, TomTom is not reliable

06/27/2012
By ,
Bucks County, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 2 of these GPS units - I already had a Garmin. There are 4 of us in our family and 3 were relocating to different states, so I gave the Garmin away to one, a TomTom to another and kept a TomTom for me. It made me long for my Garmin. This GPS got us lost over and over with misdirections, alerting to turns 3 to 5 miles before reaching that point (distracts you when driving bec you are looking for that street name!) and it is not as user friendly as my Garmin. Now that we are all relocated, I am keeping my Garmin and the 2 TomToms are going for yard sale. Never again will I listen to people recommend a GPS unit when it is the ONLY GPS they have ever owned. Once you have a Garmin, you will never want a TomTom. Although lifetime maps was the only good feature, the constant alerting of gas stations was annoying (like every 3 miles or so). I was led to more dead ends and roads that were no longer there that it is a wonder this GPS is still being purchased. Save your money and curiosity - buy a Garmin!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

TomTom 1435TM GPS

06/15/2011
By ,
Amory,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By far the best gps unit I have ever owned tomtom done its homework on these new Via models I love all the new features and the lifetime maps and traffic updates that come with all TM models could not ask for anything else from this one to do because it does everything to do with navigation and for what I paid for the new unit it would have costed me that just to update my old tomtom 2 times I am glad tomtom stepped up to the plate with the new lifetime map updates and traffic updates also this should put them on top on the GPS market...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Compact easy to use GPS

04/10/2012
By ,
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a previous Tom Tom gps owner, so wanted to keep with that brand because my last one gave me no problems in the 5 years that i owned it.
The main reason i wanted this model was because of the lifetime map updates and trafic.
Also was looking for a bluetooth capable unit for my cell phone when driving, this one works very well and is compatible with my Samsung GT5500.
I see a lot of negative reports about this GPS unit (even on TomTom's web site) all i can say is that some people are not using it right, because i have had sucess with it even when doing the first map update (some people say it takes 3 or more hours to update) it took me 22 mins.
the only thing i have not had success with yet is entering an address with the voice command.
The voice command otherwise works very well with POI entry and my cell phone calling which is the main reason i wanted this.
Directions and spoken street names are very clear and understandable, this unit is very accurate and even tells you which side of the road your destination is on when you get there (my old one did not)
It is a nice big easy to read screen, and easy to operate.
Just remember that when using the voice command option that you can not have the radio on too loud otherwise it will not pick up your voice.
All said i would recomend this unit to anyone wanting the features that this offers.
Very good value for $150
The intergrated mount is also a good plus with this unit, as the screen automaticaly turns around to whatever way up you have this weather it be on your dash or up on the windscreen.
I even was able to transfer all my voices, favourites and POI from my old TomTom one into this new unit using a programe from TomTom's web site.
I use this in my 2011 Camaro because i stopped the onstar service (hands free calling is to costly with onstar)
hence the bluetooth hands free option of this GPS with my phone.
Another thing i like about this as opposed to my old unit is the way it shows you the lane guidence when comming to a junction on the highway, in which lane to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Disappointing! Felt like a down-grade!

07/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed with this Tom-tom. I loved my last one. Right away, as mentioned in other reviews, the design seemed clunky and slow. Then, I noticed the touch screen was not very responsive compared to my previous Tom-tom. I couldn't believe the voice quality. It sounded so poor, I thought it was 5 years older than my previous old model. I immediately investigated online, thinking I mistakenly ordered an older model. No, to my astonishment, this is a recent release! Compared to my 3 year old tom-tom, the function is clunkier, the voice quality is much worse, and the touch screen is terrible. Sadly, I'm returning this today.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates
07/05/2012
By ,
Langley British Columbia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned several Tom Toms which worked for me, I especially like this one, enough to get one for my Grandson. The life time maps and traffic are great. It was a little hard at first to pair with my cell phone but with a little help from the Tom Tom support online it was solved. I like the visable road speed limit and warnings when driving too fast. Voice reconition program has a lot to be desired. It understands basic commands. I have not been on any long trips with it but looking forward to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Frustrating

01/01/2013
By ,
Clayton, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Got this for my wife because you could say the place you wanted to go rather than touchscreen input. It doesn't work well. You have to have the exact address for it to work. You can't just say "Walmart in x city".
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates
06/25/2012
By ,
Portsmouth Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very disappointing. Tom Tom told me that I couldn't update it on my computer network so I went to another network, still couldn't update. Then it would not turn on and we were leaving for Florida in about 2 hours. I returned it and bought a garmin. It was wonderful!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Nice if it would have worked!

12/19/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great features...good price
It did not work right out of the box. Tech support is an email extravaganza. Several days of emails and no closer to a fix...Returned and biought a Garmin, my fourth.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Awesome GPS for the money,

12/26/2013
By ,
Greenville, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
and got it so quick it surprised me
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Very Good Product

07/02/2012
By ,
Franklinton, LA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very good product.I travel to a location that you would call no man land. I could't believe that it new every road and even when I went the wrong way it still brought me back to my destination. I am very satisfly with this product and love the bluetooth capabilites. It's very easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Overall higly recommended!!!

02/20/2013
By ,
Massapequa / NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect GPS unit i have ever, Quick response, fast processor, life time update option,real traffic update,
On the negative side speaker its not power enoght to hear especially bluetooth connect to i phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Good Product

07/05/2012
By ,
Jamestown, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TOM TOM Corp does have a very good Blue tooth compatibility with Verizon phones.
There are NONE on their list that will work. The Verizon Rep.Called them without any success.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TomTom VIA 1435TM 4.3" GPS w/Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates
Based on the average of (25) ratings-only reviews
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5