Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Enhance your HD sound experience with the Sony STR-DH810 Home Theater A/V Receiver. It features seven HD inputs and enables users to get versatile HD connections including Blu-ray player, PS3 system, DVD player and more. This home theater receiver lets you transmit wireless audio in up to 10 additional rooms through an optional S-AIR as this receiver features wireless 2nd zone audio capabilities. This Sony 7.1 channel receiver enables you to control the multiple BRAVIA sync devices with a single remote. You can also pair this home theater receiver with a 24p playback device via HDMI cable to watch movies in their native frame rate. The Audio Return Channel in this Sony 7.1 channel receiver which avoids the need for any extra cables connected to your TV. It can upscale the DVDs to near HD and has various other such features that make it efficient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.598 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%101 out of 111reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
84
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Killer Audio/Vidio Control System

07/25/2011
By ,
Newport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony put a high end system in the STR-DH 810 And Wal-Mart is selling it at a low end price! It has every type of cable hook up you could imagine. Of course HDMI all the way is best. But for older model units such as DVD,CD and so on with no HDMI, you have component,optical,coax,RCA and so on. You can hook up every thing you have. It has every decoder Digta, Digital HD,DTX,DTX HD
Several pro logic and the list goes on. TV has 5.1 but you can even make them sound like 7.1 using the enhancement sound fields which turns on all 7 speakers and sub. Sony exceeded all I would expect in this unit and Wal-Mart exceeded in lowering the price. If your looking for a high end system at an affordable price this is the one. Movie theaters can't even do any better and most won't do as awsome in sound and vidio. I would recommend to anyone I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 2 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
12/03/2011
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I can't understand the criticism of this a/v receiver by audiojunkies. Quite frankly if you're in the market for a high power receiver with full capabilites then Sony wouldn't be your first bet...brands of top units for Marantz, Yamaha and Pioneer come to mind. So why critique this receiver's output if it does not meet one's highest standards? This receiver is a good home theater unit with respectable sound and some of the many popular features wanted by the consumer...priced reasonably well. If you are of a "sound" mind then this receiver will do well for the rest of the 99 percent or more of the listening population. If you demand the most of your speakers, receiver, and audio/video equipment then buy over-the-top as you will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 3 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
01/06/2012
By ,
florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the unit does not make it easy to get the other equipment hooked up so all can be put to use. Audio from HDMI is not put out to all other outputs. The unit does not hold memory of the settings, I have to keep going in and reset output to tv and amp, it change back to just the amp each time it is turned off. Will not play the audio from tv when on Netflix by way of HDMI cable. I am the guy people call to set up their units, so I have done a few, but I spent over three hour the first day and a couple more the next day getting this to do most of what I wanted. I have not tried to record to my dvd recorder yet, I had to quit for a while just setting it up to watch every thing, ( cable box - blue ray - dvd recorder - and a cheap dvd player that plays anything I put in it ) I will try recording maybe next week. I would not recommend this to most people because of how hard it is to get all equipment to work right, and it don't remember settings
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
07/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could have paid alot more $$ for the capabilities, abilities, and the versitality that tis receiver offers. A great piece.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 5 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Needs better manual

02/12/2012
By ,
Emmett, Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At first I could not get this unit to do everything, and called Sony, who put a real person on-line with me, then on the phone. The problem may have just been me, but the instruction manual doesn't make sense to me, and I litterally had to just push buttons, and try everything.
Everything does work, but this unit does not display itself on my television screen. I do have a 2006 1080p monitor, and it may not respond to this more modern unit, but the picture does seem sharper.
The automatic speaker settings work well, but I had to really hunt to find out how to use them the first time. Thereafter, I knew the way. The sound is slightly improved over my old 2005 7.1 Sony STR 997. The HDMI in, and out is a great improvement. Music sounds great, and fewer wires are great as well.
I plan to upgrade to a 3-D television eventually, and this unit will support that upgrade, so for the price I would advise anyone to experiment with this unit, unless you understand the manual better than I do, but it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
07/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With this receiver, the possibilieties of enjoying different components attached to it is limitless. Add the good looks and and the value, and I am a happy guy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 7 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
02/15/2012
By ,
Akron, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sony is a Brand Name that I trust. This receiver was a replacement for the same Brand (Sony Receiver) just a model that was 15 years older. It died. I needed a receiver that was HDMI capable. I have a Sony DVD Player (I bought on WalMart.com) that was HDMI capable and a HDTV from LG (which I also purchased from WalMart.com) that was HDMI capable. I got a Cable Box that is HDTV and HDMI capable. So I knew I needed a receiver that had at least 2 HDMI ports. (This one has 4 input) and 1 output to the TV. Gives me room for expansion if I ever buy a X-Box or a Wii or both. Anyway took me a while to understand all this new technology (new technology vs over 50 guy) but once I understood it. The sound is clear. The picture is clear. It gives me options as far as speakers. I don't have surround sound but this receiver gives me the options on what is set up. I love this and for the price (I think I stole it). Will be buying more electronics from WalMart,com.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Decent options for the price

12/18/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to replace an old all-in-one shelf system. Using it with a 5.1 Yamaha surround set.
The good:
The auto-calibration feature is VERY helpful to set up room levels
The input options are excellent for everything from an old turntable to a top of the line Bluray player
4 HDMI inputs is more than enough for most entertainment systems
3D passthrough IS possible with certain models. Check Sony support for more details.
The bad:
This unit has lots of options. It might seem too complicated for some. If you're looking for something streamlined, find an all-in-one shelf system. If you're looking for a cost-effective, versatile powerhouse for your entertainment system, this is the option for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. The unit has features not available on higher priced units. The hookup was a little challenging but issues were addressed in the instuction booklet. I am pleased with the sound quality and the features that this unit offers. My old unit was a 6.1 panasonic but the sony adapted to accomodate my speakers as well as my DVD player, DVD recorder and VCR.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
08/28/2011
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After weeks of research I bought the Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver and was skeptical of bad reviews I found on other sites (TigerDirect, Amazon, etc...), but I totally disagree with the negative comments that were written on those sites. I was up and running within 2hrs of getting it home. I found it to be everything everything I'd hoped it would be... and more! I think the owner's manual is concise and very easy to understand, at least for me it was. I would recommend this av receiver in a heartbeat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 11 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Pleasantly surprised by price pt. and quality

07/05/2011
By ,
Canton,Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I hooked it up the quality of the amplifier is wonderful and I like the HDMI only set up.It makes it quite easy.I think for the price I bought it for $200, it was a steal of a deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 12 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Difficult setup, but powerful product

12/22/2011
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched receivers for a LONG time before finally breaking down and purchasing one. This Sony receive was the only receive to offer so much versatility and power for the very low price. Overall I'm happy with the receiver, but it doesn't come without its problems.
Setup is a real problem with this receiver. I'm a smart person who is good with electronics and everyday items. However, this receiver's setup is NOT intuitive. The manual is perhaps the most poorly-written manual I've ever seen. If you buy this receiver, be prepared to figure out the setup on your own. That said, you can figure it out, it will just be very frustrating and time consuming.
Now that I've finally configured the receiver, I can say that I'm pretty happy with it. The sound is fantastic, and the price can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Not for real audio lovers

10/09/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this device to replace an old great amp that finally fried. During the summer I had built some amazing speakers that are audiophile quality. I added to my 56-inch plasma tv in order to create a nice home theatre system. I bought the Sony because I was hoping the name would mean something. I hooked up that device and was pleased to find all the nice hdmi hookups. The remote is way too big with too many buttons, and it would only run the amp and the tv, but not my Samung Blu-ray player. The problem I had with this amp was it's genuine lack of power. Even though it says 110 watts, in reality the class ab poor quality chip only puts out a realistic 30-35 watts, nowhere near enough to drive my 12-inch woofers. The sound was horrible with no bass at all, and a real lack in the midrange. Also, there is no EQ and you can only make some minor changes to the treble and bass. I don't mean to talk badly of a device, but if you want something that rocks and makes your sound system sound realistic and awesome, then this amp is not for you. If you want something to run the cheap little surround sound speakers, then buy it, but if you want power, then stay far away because you will take it back. I have since purchased a real audiophile-grade
class d amp with clean 350-watts per channel that makes the speakers I have come alive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

price and Quality

09/05/2011
By ,
Duncansville, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one great receiver and for the price you can't beat it. The HDMI inputs and the output HDMI to the TV really simplifies everything. The pass thru works great and it handles my 3D from my satelite(Direct TV)and my sony 3D blue ray player. The sound is fantastic,just what home theater should sound like, it brings the movie to life. The reviews I've read before I purchased this A/VR helped me to decide on the Sony Sony STR-DH810. I'm glad I read the reviews and you won't be disappointed if you purchase this A/VR
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
+2points
Review 15 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Good value for basic AV Receiver

10/11/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worked as advertised. The manual’s graphics are fairly easy to follow. The manual’s text instructions are lengthy and require some degree of electronic knowledge to understand what you are being told. I’ll temper that by saying that the receiver has a lot of features to explain.
The sound mode is a bit limited. My previous receiver allowed for six different modes, but this one only has three. The screw type speaker connections are difficult to use. It would be best to put banana plugs on the speaker wires to make connections simple.
There are four HDMI plugs for components and one for the TV. But there is an irritating issue with the one for the TV. If you use it, the TV speakers are muted which means that you always have to have the receiver on.
FM receiver section a bit weak. I could only pick up 4 FM stations. It might be the cheap wire antenna provided.
Remote is 10 inches long and has enough buttons to control the space shuttle. It is designed to control all of the components. Even if I were successful in setting that up, the learning curve to use it isn’t worth the effort.
I’m not that much into having high performance surround system so this receiver works well for me and it is a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 16 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Great product

11/05/2011
By ,
Visalia, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I knew absolutely nothing about receivers. Did alot of reading and reviews of products. Everything I read on this one seemed to be fine. I even down loaded manuel to study set-up. It seemed a little difficult but actually was quite easy and the sound is great. I have 4 speakers in the ceiling and 2 beside the TV. No sub wolfer yet, so I'm only useing 6 out of the 7.1. Love the HDMI connections as I was able to use just 3 HDMI to hook up my cable, DVD, and the receiver using the ARC into the TV. Lots of stuff to do on the remote I don't quite understand but will get there as needed. Love the auto calibration of the speakers. Took maybe an hour to be up and running. Great bargain!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Unbelievable Value!

01/01/2012
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked everywhere for a 3D receiver that had decent specs for a reasonable price. I could not believe the price walmart had on this receiver. 110watts per channel!? Assignable HDMI? ARC?!The sound is incredible as is the appearance.
The setup was brutal on this, however, after reading many (and I do mean many) reviews I found that they are all very difficult to set up, every brand and price range. So, I did not dock stars for this. Sony was extremely helpful and pleasant to work with when I called for some help. Honestly, I don't know why you would pay more. I have a 3d tv, cable box and Blu-Ray hooked up to it. Buy with confidence, I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
LG BD670 3D-Ready Blu-ray Player
4.2 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 18 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Excellent reciever, but set-up can be confusing

08/27/2011
By ,
Hanover, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first A/V Receiver I bought for a surround sound system. I bought this A/V Receiver while it was on sale for $200, which was half of its retail value. This receiver produces excellent sound from my speakers, which are a mix of Panasonics and Sonys. Hooking up the speakers and placing them is quite easy, due to clearly labeled inputs and the auto-calibration microphone which comes with the system. I also like that this system has many options for speaker placement, e.g. you can have front high speakers or a back center speaker, or you can bi-amp your front speakers etc. depending on the number and size/type of speakers you have available. This receiver has plenty of inputs and input options for all your audio needs; cd players, video-games, blue-ray players etc.
Issues:
--Hooking up video-game systems or other devices with component cables can be confusing, due to the fact that you have to program where the audio and video inputs are coming from before playing. I also think that this receiver's "up-conversion" process only allows certain resolution inputs to be accepted through component cables (480i vs. 480p etc.). In the manual, it suggests connecting video-game systems via composite cables only. This is an easy fix though, just use an HDMI cable (you can get them cheap from walmart.com!!) Xbox 360 and PS3 both have HDMI outputs, I'm not sure about the Wii though...
--For a novice, going through the menus and reading the display can be confusing at first (if you didn't understand what I meant by "bi-amp" in the first paragraph, you're a novice; it's OK, I was too...Google It). Also, the manual is 100 pages long and you really REALLY should read it all before hooking stuff up.
--I have a Sony Bravia TV, and from time to time the remote controllers can be confusing as they will both control the other device to certain points. I'm sure there's a way to make one controller do it all... but I don't really feel like reading about it in the manual now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
6' HDMI Cable
4.3 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 19 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver
07/02/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best example of superb audio unit engineering and workmanship.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 20 for Sony STR-DH810 7.1 Channel HDMI Home Theater A/V Receiver

Top of the Line for My Needs

12/14/2011
By ,
HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up is easy once you have all the needed cables. I wanted a receiver that would allow me to coordinate my home theater system and my components (DVD Player, VCR, Blu-Ray, CD Player and Ipod). Took some figuring out and reading the manual but I managed to get them all working AND controlled by the Receivers remote control. It's a fancy bit of equipment, probably much more than I needed but for the price, I believe I got a heck of a deal and look forward to many years of service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next