Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Igloo Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Igloo Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

The Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill cools without ice: just plug into your vehicle cigarette lighter or other 12V outlet. This popular size thermoelectric cooler is ideal for use in the car or truck while traveling, or dorm rooms or offices when used with a compatible AC converter (converter not included). The convection cooling of this Igloo Cool Chill includes a fan that circulates cold air, allowing plastic bottles to cool as quickly as cans. The thermoelectric cooler includes an adjustable food shelf. The Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill has a quiet brush-less motor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%13 out of 14reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 15 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Great adjunct for a small RV fridge

09/29/2011
By ,
Hudson valley, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This cooler is sure a big improvement over the non-powered coolers we used to have to use to transport food for camping trips (the RV's fridge being basically unusable in transit). It reaches fridge temperature in about 2 hours (faster than the manual claims), and holds the temperature well. Capacity is about the same as our RV fridge, so this cooler--which we keep on while camping, not just while getting there--doubles the amount of food we can store.
The reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that during a recent camping trip (ambient temp was about 70), the cooler reached 50 degrees. Turns out the reason was ice that had formed at the bottom of the interior of the cooling module. I have no idea why ice formed there, as conditions were not especially humid.
I still like this cooler, and will keep an eye on that problem in future outings. Once that problem (not referred to in the manual) is solved. I'll be totally happy with the cooler.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Awesome! Well worth the price.

12/03/2011
By ,
Rockport, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for my husband to use for carrying food back and forth to deer camp, a six hour drive. Even the milk stayed cold. When we first tried it out, it chilled canned drinks in no time. For in the house use, it was a little loud but we got use to that. Were able to load up through the week instead of waiting until the last second, a great convenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill
08/20/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent igloo option that plugs into the car or house outlet. The description did not but should have mentioned that the adapter/converter to plug the igloo into a house outlet was included. Because of this we ordered one, paid shipping, and had to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Exceptional machine.

10/03/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had absolutely no problems with the unit. It's extremely convenient and holds our perishables for a whole weekend with no effort. We just plug it into the 12 volt socket in our SUV, and go for the weekend. Everything stays cold and the machine is extremely quiet for the work that it's doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

So far, so good

10/20/2012
By ,
Cascadia, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've had our new Igloo just a couple of weeks. We mounted it into our camper, and have yet to get out with it, but we did run the cooler on both 12 volts and 110, and it dropped to 28 degrees, about 40 degrees below ambient. We think it will be okay. It arrived an a hurry and was in perfect condition, so we have nothing but good things to say about Igloo and Walmart.com.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Works great!

07/19/2012
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This cooler is great for travel. Do read the manual! If you stop for over a couple hours it has to be unplugged or it will run your battery down. Take it in the motel room and plug it in overnight. The wires do warm up a bit suggesting that they could be heavier. We are totally happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill
02/01/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for car and home with adapters for both. Looks good, Cools quickly and very quiet. Do not leave it plugged into your vehicle overnight as it will dead your battery but it is fine during the day if your in and out of your vehicle traveling like I do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill

Great product

10/24/2012
By ,
Newburgh, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using this for extra storage in our travel trailer. It fits in the back of our pick up truck so we have drinks and snacks easily available while on the road.
It holds quite a bit and keeps everything nice and cold.
We are very, very pleased with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill
01/25/2013
By ,
Illinois, orland park
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The cord didn't stay in place on the cooler it self
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill
10/22/2012
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great for our trip. Very convenient. Came with the additional cord to plug into our hotel room. Will be buying another as a gift for a family member who tailgates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Igloo 40-Quart Cool Chill
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5