Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9AMP Electric Tiller/Cultivator boasts the power found in a gas tiller, but with the convenience of an electrically-powered tiller. Weighing less than 19 lbs, the Tiller Joe Max will suit all of your gardening or landscaping needs. Interested in starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn? This electric tiller/cultivator will handle everything. Six powerful steel tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the even the toughest ground. It makes any planting or dirt removal easier and less of a hassle than using hand tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%25 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great Warranty

11/09/2012
By ,
Canton, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT AMP RATED ELECTRIC EXTENTION CORD. THIS IS A 9 AMP
ELECTRIC MOTOR. YOU SHOULD HAVE A 85 TO 100 FT. LONG CORD. Always till in a staight line, never till in a sideway manner, forward and reverse directions are OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

This Sun Joe Tiller exceeds my expectations!

03/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the beginning of spring and time to till the soil in my garden. I had previously rototilled the soil last autumn with a heavy duty rototiller, so I made certain that my soil was well worked prior to using this Sun Joe Tiller. This spring was the first time I had ever used an electric tiller, and I was a little skeptical about the performance of an electric rototiller. First, I loosened the soil with a sharp shovel by turning it over; it really worked in my favor to do this. Then I began tilling with my new Sun Joe Tiller, and I must say right off that it exceeded my expectations! It really worked the soil beautifully! I went over the garden twice length wise, and then cross ways. My soil is beautiful, it looks as nice as potting soil, I am so proud of it. I took the rear wheels off to till the soil. The Sun Joe easily went through my "normal" soil, and it sunk down and dug 7 or 8 " deep. It really helps if you just let the tiller do the work, and using a back and forth motion it digs further down into the soil.
If you have normal, or sandy soil conditions this Sun Joe Tiller is a must have item! I also like that it is easy to store. I like the fact that it is electric because it will always start. I won't keep having to haul it to a mechanic every season because it won't start. This tiller will make an awesome cultivator too! Another plus is that it is semi-quiet while tilling, and doesn't require gasoline; it is easy on the environment that way!
I would definitely recommend this Sun Joe Tiller to a good friend!
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

I like it.

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a large and a small gas rototiller and they work really well but I can't pull the cord and get them started. My neighbor will start them for me but he is rarely home. I ordered the electric tiller and I really like it, no cord to pull, just squeeze the handle and it takes off. It is very easy to use. The biggest problem with it is you have to hold a button down with your thumb as a safety feature. After a few minutes my thumb hurts a lot and I have to quit for a while. I think I'm going to glue a large button or something similar to that button so it is easier to hold down and puts less stress on my thumb. Sometimes I think a second speed that is a little slower might be a good option. It is a good product and I like using it despite my sore thumb. I don't know about durability because I've only had it for about 2 weeks. My garden is 25' wide and I can weed a row in about 3 minutes. I still have to do around the plants by hand but that is a lot less than having to do the whole thing. I think it is a great product and I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great little tiller!!

06/18/2012
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small electric tiller (didn't want to bother with gas, pulling starter ropes, etc.) so I could mix our sandy soil here in Florida with the premium topsoil I spread over it before laying sod to create a new backyard lawn. This tiller worked just great for this purpose. We only needed to go about 4 inches deep, and it really did a fine job at that level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great Lil garden tiller

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a surprisingly powerful Lil tiller. Had had for about a month and to date have tilled about 100 square feet of rock embedded soil with no problems. I live in Hill Country, TX and there are rocks everywhere and this Lil tiller has no problems with rocks up to about 2 inches. Highly recommend this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Electric Tiller

06/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only used it once, but was a real work-horse. Almost as good as it's big-brother gas models. And you can't beat the price. The drawback was that most gardens are further away than the usual 50 - 100 foot cords.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
10/24/2011
By ,
southern new hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product for the money. I think it could use better wheels and be able to go deeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

awesome small tiller

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy I purchased this tiller. Easy to use. Took a long time to work up the new area we put the garden in. But it worked great. I am also using it to work ground to remove small weeds.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Tiller

05/30/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only used it two times, less than a half hour combined on soil that was previously tilled and the motor burnt up.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

tiller

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
what a good job it does. works like a charm
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great tiller/Cultivator

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Do not let the fact that this is an electric tiller scare you away from this machine. If you are doing a small garden say 6' x 20' it can handle the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Garden Tiller

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tiller works fine. Doesn't dig very deep, only a few inches. But if you work it well you can dig further down. Easy to use, no need to mix gasoline if you only use it once a year like I do.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great Tool

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked up soil very well, weight is great no to heavy to move and store.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Joe Tiller

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is the best investment I have made for my garden work. It has the durability and power of the gas models yet is lighter with no upkeep.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tearing up the back yard

04/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that Spring has arrived tried it for the first time. Excellent tiller for the money. Glad I purchased it and hope I can use it for many years. Perhaps it will out last a 75 year old man.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

not for large areas , good exercise for the arms,

10/01/2011
By ,
springfield va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i would only recommend this for small areas, less than 400sqft, cleaning is a hassle if you dont have proper tools to dissemble the tines , other wise a great workout for your arms,
assembling the handle is easy, the nut/bolts holding up the tines are a tad bit difficult to get to. recommended for small jobs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Very Pleased!

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as promised in Florida soil!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

great product

04/18/2013
By ,
chaparral, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have very hard ground here and it takes it a few minutes but it cuts through the dirt and does a wonderful job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe electric tiller. (9 amp)

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Great thats all I can say. It is absolutely great. I gave the gas on away.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Tiller

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy using this tiller, its easy for me to handle, and Ido not have to worry about running out of gas. GREAT LITTLE MACHINE.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next