Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9AMP Electric Tiller/Cultivator boasts the power found in a gas tiller, but with the convenience of an electrically-powered tiller. Weighing less than 19 lbs, the Tiller Joe Max will suit all of your gardening or landscaping needs. Interested in starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn? This electric tiller/cultivator will handle everything. Six powerful steel tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the even the toughest ground. It makes any planting or dirt removal easier and less of a hassle than using hand tools.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%13 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great Warranty

11/09/2012
By ,
Canton, Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BE SURE YOU HAVE THE RIGHT AMP RATED ELECTRIC EXTENTION CORD. THIS IS A 9 AMP
ELECTRIC MOTOR. YOU SHOULD HAVE A 85 TO 100 FT. LONG CORD. Always till in a staight line, never till in a sideway manner, forward and reverse directions are OK.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

This Sun Joe Tiller exceeds my expectations!

03/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's the beginning of spring and time to till the soil in my garden. I had previously rototilled the soil last autumn with a heavy duty rototiller, so I made certain that my soil was well worked prior to using this Sun Joe Tiller. This spring was the first time I had ever used an electric tiller, and I was a little skeptical about the performance of an electric rototiller. First, I loosened the soil with a sharp shovel by turning it over; it really worked in my favor to do this. Then I began tilling with my new Sun Joe Tiller, and I must say right off that it exceeded my expectations! It really worked the soil beautifully! I went over the garden twice length wise, and then cross ways. My soil is beautiful, it looks as nice as potting soil, I am so proud of it. I took the rear wheels off to till the soil. The Sun Joe easily went through my "normal" soil, and it sunk down and dug 7 or 8 " deep. It really helps if you just let the tiller do the work, and using a back and forth motion it digs further down into the soil.
If you have normal, or sandy soil conditions this Sun Joe Tiller is a must have item! I also like that it is easy to store. I like the fact that it is electric because it will always start. I won't keep having to haul it to a mechanic every season because it won't start. This tiller will make an awesome cultivator too! Another plus is that it is semi-quiet while tilling, and doesn't require gasoline; it is easy on the environment that way!
I would definitely recommend this Sun Joe Tiller to a good friend!
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tearing up the back yard

04/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that Spring has arrived tried it for the first time. Excellent tiller for the money. Glad I purchased it and hope I can use it for many years. Perhaps it will out last a 75 year old man.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

I like it.

06/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a large and a small gas rototiller and they work really well but I can't pull the cord and get them started. My neighbor will start them for me but he is rarely home. I ordered the electric tiller and I really like it, no cord to pull, just squeeze the handle and it takes off. It is very easy to use. The biggest problem with it is you have to hold a button down with your thumb as a safety feature. After a few minutes my thumb hurts a lot and I have to quit for a while. I think I'm going to glue a large button or something similar to that button so it is easier to hold down and puts less stress on my thumb. Sometimes I think a second speed that is a little slower might be a good option. It is a good product and I like using it despite my sore thumb. I don't know about durability because I've only had it for about 2 weeks. My garden is 25' wide and I can weed a row in about 3 minutes. I still have to do around the plants by hand but that is a lot less than having to do the whole thing. I think it is a great product and I would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

My Valentine Gift ....Not your typical girly girl.

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just recently received my Sun Joe Tiller/Cultivator 9 amp in the mail, quick delivery and unscathed and so far it has works great. I have a pretty easy garden and landscape to prepare as it has some dirt and lots of sand. The SJ digs right into the ground with ease and has done an excellent job.
Highly recommended purchase.
CONS: I would have preferred rubber wheels to plastic and a height adjustment for the handle as least a couple of options would have been nice. As I am only 5' tall, I do not have the same leverage as my son who is 6'2" therefore If I need to dig really deep he has to take over the job ( NOT NECESSARILY A BAD THING) or I will need to make multiple passes to get to the depth i desire....
All in all the tiller/cultivator works great !!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Great little tiller!!

06/18/2012
By ,
Riverview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small electric tiller (didn't want to bother with gas, pulling starter ropes, etc.) so I could mix our sandy soil here in Florida with the premium topsoil I spread over it before laying sod to create a new backyard lawn. This tiller worked just great for this purpose. We only needed to go about 4 inches deep, and it really did a fine job at that level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
10/24/2011
By ,
southern new hampshire
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product for the money. I think it could use better wheels and be able to go deeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

not for large areas , good exercise for the arms,

10/01/2011
By ,
springfield va
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i would only recommend this for small areas, less than 400sqft, cleaning is a hassle if you dont have proper tools to dissemble the tines , other wise a great workout for your arms,
assembling the handle is easy, the nut/bolts holding up the tines are a tad bit difficult to get to. recommended for small jobs
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

great product

04/18/2013
By ,
chaparral, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have very hard ground here and it takes it a few minutes but it cuts through the dirt and does a wonderful job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Nice tiller for the garden

10/07/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it for the 9-amp motor and 7 inch depth. Only took a few minutes to assemble. Easy to use and maneuver. Did a good job cultivating the garden and breaking up the grass sod. Left the wheels in the down position. Looking forward to many years of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Does the job with little effort

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job easily for my two small area wildflower beds. I live in area with very rocky soil. Only had one large rock lodge in the blades, and I was able to pull it right out with little effort. This tiller was worth every penny. Started right up and very easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Excellent Product

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the first time I have one, and does excellent job. I did my yard and it is very powerful and easy to use. I recommend it to anyone, the price is not very expensive. I give to the product five stars. Very happy with it. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sun Joe Tiller Joe Max 9-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Very easy to assemble.

03/04/2013
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weather to cold to use
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.