Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Generic Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

The Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf is built sturdily using a durable, rust-resistant steel frame with ground stakes to anchor. Hooks are provided along the periphery and on the inside to hang decorative or functional items. At night, a lantern suspended from the inside hook will provide excellent illumination within the gazebo. A vent at the top provides extra air flow. During the day, mesh walls can be tied back to let in the breeze, while at night, it can be zippered on all sides to keep mosquitoes at bay. The canopy is made from water-repellant and weather-resistant fabric. The glass shelf is a convenient spot for storing essentials. Spacious dimensions make this gazebo with glass shelf an ideal choice to complement your patio or garden. Fashionable hosting comes easy with this contemporary-styled gazebo.
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation91%52 out of 57reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 74 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Temporary Gazebo Only

08/17/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This Gazebo is quite large and easily fit my patio furniture set with 6 chairs and a long table. It is a great value for a TEMPORARY Gazebo. I stress temporary because it has now been thrown away due to the weather completely destroying it. It flipped over 3 times during my short time owning it. The last time I had it staked down, plus over 100lbs of sand bags, plus about 100lbs of iron weights and it still would not stay down during a storm. Unfortunately when the instructions say this should not be left up they are right. It just cannot stand up to moderate-severe thunderstorms.
It is a bit too much work to put up and take down every time you want to use it so I would not suggest this product to a friend unless you're in an area that doesn't have storms or you don't mind putting it up and taking it down every single time you want to use it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Terre Haute IN
Not Temporary if Used Correctly
Posted 07/25/2013
I had purchased this gazebo and found that it was easy to put together and that it is large for a table of 6. I understand the instructions on taking it apart when weather is disruptive and we have that a lot here in Terre Haute IN. Unpredictable weather. So I mounted mine securely not only with the stakes but also tie downs as used for tents. When the weather seems like it is going to be bad I take only the canopy and the screening off and found with the additional ties it stays perfectly in place. I think it was well worth the money and I get to use it again next year.
0points
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Gazebo
Posted 04/06/2012
I agree. I absolutely loved the gazebo but lost ours when a gust of wind sent it flying through the air and demolished the frame and all the screens. We had it staked down and big cement cinder blocks holding it down in all the corners.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"
04/06/2012
By ,
Sussex County, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gazebo is well made and directions were easy to follow. Looks great, enjoying it daily. Good buy for the price. If it came with a solid curtain as well as a mosquito net, it would be a 5 star rating.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Sturdy and attractive, great price.

08/13/2011
By ,
San Marcos, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When we saw this gazebo on display in a local Walmart we were impressed with the sturdiness of the frame. For other gazebos of this quality that we looked at, this one was by far the better priced.
The instructions were fairly easy to follow and even came with extra accessories (screws, nuts) just in case some get lost. We were able to assemble it with 2 people (4 recommended) without too much difficulty with the use of a cordless drill and a ladder.
There are decorative loops along the outside of the gazebo for hanging plants, wind chimes, etc., and a hook in the inside middle for a hanging lantern or decoration. The fold-down bar is our favorite feature and is very sturdy as well, although we'll probably take that down for the winter months so that it doesn't get broken. We will probably need to replace the rings that hold the netting up-the rings included are of a very cheap material. A couple sets of regular plastic shower curtain rings will do the trick.
There is information included on how to order replacement parts that are very reasonably priced (the canopy and netting will eventually need to be replaced).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terre Haute IN
Replacing the Cheap Plastic Rings
Posted 07/25/2013
I replaced my rings with the wire shower curtain rings which were 12 for a $1.59 at Walmart. They also come in handy for helping to hang flowers, wind chimes and other décor on the round outer hooks of the gazebo and they will last you. You can also buy the spray paint to paint them to match your gazebo color in the paint section of Walmart. Walmart had everything I needed to redecorate my entire yard. I have a very big yard too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

DH.DE

03/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gazebo is beautiful! I bought it off of the previous recommendations, and it exceeded my expectations. It is six-sided and each side measures 6.5 ft with two wide openings for entering and exiting. The glass shelf is actually at bar height, so I put bar stools up and they fit perfectly! The assembly instructions were much to be desired, so they were put aside and common sense was used to assemble it. It took about 2 hours for two adults to put it together. We have it on a deck so did not use the spikes. We have it screwed down, so even in wind, it does not budge. The center height is quite high - I'd estimate it at approx 9 ft. There is a 2 ft overhang of the gazebo cover, so that may need to be taken into consideration for those putting it in tight spaces. Overall, I am very pleased with this product and would highly recommend it! For the price, you just can't beat it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Contacting the manufacturer

02/23/2013
By ,
34654
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My gazebo lasted one season outside...we set it up and never used it waited for tax return to buy furniture..looked great for 3 months then the mesh ripped just from wind,tie down strings ripped in wind...no trees overhanging,nothing but wind...in florida..wind and rain...not worth the money I spent.Now calling manufacturer for replacement netting..lets see how mainstays treats their customers..will be back to finish my review...If you keep this indoors that is the only hope of maintaining its beauty.This gazebo is not weather resistant.Huge disappointment for the money.It is pricy but worth it if it endured.Taking mine down and will return to store if manufacturer doesn't work with us.But walmart and their 90 day guarentee..it is good for shoes and other products but this item is not meant for a year...i could see 3-5 years replacing the netting..5 seasons hopefully but not 1 season.If it cant withstand florida weather I assure you northerners...DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM>>>
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"
05/19/2012
By ,
Scituate, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice Gazebo with several nice features. Have read other reviews and just wanted to comment that there are no structures of a temporary nature that will withstand stronger winds. It helps immensely to open all screens and tie back, release the roof and tie and to release the extra top portion, gather together and tie to one of the cross beams. Not a lot of work and well worth doing. If you don't do this, the Gazebo acts as a wind tunnel (or balloon) and will be carried away. We have purchased several of these structures from other retailers and the same applys to all of them. The only problem we had with one was with Tropical Storm Irene, but just releasing the top kept damage to a mnimum and the structure was still useable. Hope this helps. Have a great summer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

I put the gazebo up ALL BY MYSELF! and love it!

08/15/2011
By ,
New Port Richey, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 53 yr old female, and found myself putting the Gazebo together all by myself. Wouldn't recomend it to everyone, but it can be done! Everyone who sees it loves it, and I tell them I Did it ALL BY MYSELF! Directions were clear and simple to understand. The only hard part was the very top, but I conquered my fear of heights, and enjoy the cool breeze thru the screened sides and shade on these HOT August days, believe me. Simply love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
PLEASE HELP ME!!
Posted 10/26/2012
I too purchased this gazebo and I'm really excited about it. The problem now is that I've purchased the floor model and there's no instructions. I cannot seem to find them online like I thougt, is there any way you could scan yours and email them to me?
Thank you in advance for anything you can help with.
0points
Customer Avatar
gloucester
directions!!!!
Posted 06/16/2012
We purchases this product last year & disassembled it & cannot locate directions???? Can you suggest where we could find the directions.......Please help!!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Very Nice Gazebo

05/04/2012
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Gazebo to place on our rear deck that gets sun most of the day. All of the pieces were tightly packed in one large box. After unpacking and making sure I had all the parts I began assembly. The directions are not the greatest but I was able to figure out the basics of how to put it together. I put this together by myself in about 4 hours. I would recommend having at least 2 people to assemble as it is a little tough putting the top roof rails on by yourself. I would also recommend having a cordless drill with phillips head bit as it makes it a lot easier to put the screws in. This Gazebo looks wonderful & will make a nice place to relax. I would recommend this Gazebo to anyone who needs extra shade and a nice place to relax.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

1 design flaw... reason for missing 'star'..

08/08/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, this is a really nice Gazebo, it was bigger than I thought. The circumference is about 39', each angle is 6'5" in length. I would say the middle is about 9'-10' in height. I like the folding glass shelf, bonus feature if you ask me. Over all, a sturdy Gazebo(with spikes anchoring it down).
Reason for the 1 star(disign flaw, for me anyways), is the mosquito net is installed from inside.. unless I'm doing it wrong(maybe I am.. haha)... I would figure you wrapped it from the ouside.. but guess not..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yuma az
netting
Posted 06/20/2013
the netting installs on the outside, just remove it and start over on outside, but under top flap.
GOOD LUCK, it will work
jay
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Good basic Gazebo

05/14/2012
By ,
N California (Bay Area)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rec'd unit at local Walmart store about 10 days after ordering. 140 lb box that fit in the back of our van (with seats removed). Unit was nicely packed and was easy to lay out for assembly. We were settng this up on a wood deck, so it we just laid out all the parts in about the position they would be used, and went about assembly. After a quick review of the directions, it took about 4 hours to assemble by one person. Two people could do it in 2 -3 hours. After assembly, the unit was bolted down to the deck.
Overall quality of the unit is very good. The final coat of paint (over the primer) could be better, and I suspect there will be some corrosion down the line. We live in N CA with mild weather, moderate winds, and no snow - so other than removing the fabric cover druing the winter rains, we expect to leave the unit up year round. We would not recommend this unit for a high wind environment.
End of the day, we got what was expected, and for $300 - we would rate this unit as an excellent value. Along with the table and 6 chairs we got on sale at Home Depot, we were able to get a complete set-up for our deck for $500. Not too bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"
04/17/2012
By ,
House Springs, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gazebo. Easy to assemble and looks more expensive than it is. We have it bolted to the deck on a high ridge in Missouri. Did very well in the high wind and does not collect water on top. I am very satified.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

A nice addition to my backyard

05/28/2013
By ,
Kennewick, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked at this model on display at our local store and ended up buying it online because it was out of stock. The box weighs 119lbs and is probably 7'x2.5'x8". It's big. So even though it took 2 weeks to arrive, it made it about a day before the scheduled delivery date, so I'm happy about that.
The instructions say you need 4 adults to assemble it, but I'm not sure what the other three would do. I needed help with one thing, holding the glass table while bolting it in. (Glass table is very cool, btw.)
The screw kit has at least one extra for each screw, washer, etc. so that's nice. They're not high grade screws so you'll likely smoke one during assembly. (I did, but I was using a 1/4" impact driver)
Once I got it all together, I was very pleased. It was reasonably easy to assemble and has a very finished look to it. It's not a top of the line product, but it's easily the nicest one I've seen for the price. We zip-tied rope lights inside around the top of the walls(?). It lights it well and looks amazing at night.
As I said, for the money, you can't beat it. My family and I are incredibly pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"
03/31/2012
By ,
staten island ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The gazebo was not to hard to put together it took me about 4 hours to build by myself. the only reason it doest get 5 stars is the fact that the bar can only be opened with the insect sreen in the open position
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

survived high winds

06/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had my gazebo for 3 + years. We bolted it to the deck and it was able to withstand very high winds without any damage. I do remove the canopy if the forecast includes hail, but very heavy rain has not been a problem. Only problem is that the elastic bands which tie back the screens lose their elasticity after a year or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Very Nice Summer/Early Fall Gazebo

03/13/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had our gazebo since the summer of 2010. This past fall we had to basically trash the canopy because it was destroyed during winter weather elements. I bought a replacement canopy on www.sunjoydirect.com (Model # L-GZ076PST-1A-4) The canopy was $128 total with shipping. Much cheaper than replacing the gazebo itself. We have learned our lesson and are going to take the canopy down during the winter time so it lasts longer. We also lead anchored the gazebo to our patio so it didn't get blown over with wind/rain. Very satisfied with the product. Very spacious. We have a long table with 6 chairs in our gazebo and there is still plenty of room to move about. Also we strung lights around the inside on the clips that hold up the mosquito netting. Makes for some fun summer parties :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"
04/16/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY!
Set this Gazebo up for party, had a bit of wind a few days later, and it was destroyed!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Terre Haute IN
Read Instuctions
Posted 07/25/2013
It says that you do not leave it up in windy, hard rain and hard weather. If you attempted to added extra ties to it in the event that you do not want to reassemble every time there is bad weather, that would have helped but you do need to remove the canopy and the netting. I know it seems like a lot to do but what isn't in life. We have unpredicted weather all the time and those little bits of efforts have made mine last longer into the next summer.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Amazing value! Looks great.

06/12/2012
By ,
Princeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 15 year old son and I put this up together (although it states that 4 adults are needed, you just need something to lean things on from time to time or a sister to pass by and hold things occasionally.) It took us a few hours on a Saturday and a Sunday - teenager gave up and mom finished patiently putting up the canopy and bug netting using a step stool. You definitely need a ladder and someone not afraid of heights to put the canopy on the top.
But pretty straightforward and reward is huge - it looks great and feels cozy once you are inside. It may not keep out ALL the bugs but you get great shade during the day and the gazebo does a good job of keeping out bugs. We've already had a lot of rain since we put it up and it stays dry inside!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Sturdy and easy to put together!

05/06/2013
By ,
White Plains, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our third style gazebo in the last five years (Hurricane Sandy took the last one!) and I have to say I am impressed. First off, it was by far the easiest to assemble. There were three of us and it was a breeze- even putting the fabric cover on the top was easy. We had an electric drill out (from past experiences), but didnt even need it. It also has extra reinforcements for the bottoms that make it very sturdy. I also love that the table folds down (on our last one there was a table, but it did not fold). I do worry that when open it might rip the fabric, so I guess we will see about that. My only gripe so far is that when we were putting the side netting up, one of the loops already came undone, so I had to pull out my sewing kit and stich it back together. Other than that I would recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Very Lovely...Nice and Roomy

05/20/2013
By ,
Bridgewater, N.J.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just put this Gazebo together this weekend. It went up rather easily with just my husband and I although the instructions leave some details out. I gave this Gazebo only 4 starts rather than 5 because the Bug Netting is very cheap and...... the velcro straps are sewn on inside out, you have to place the netting on the outside of the poles so that you can fasten the tie strings and velcro straps but that leaves the UNFINISHED SEAMS showing on the outside!! :( I put that net up and took it down 2x because it just wasnt right! The hanger hooks are a very cheesy plastic and expect them to last season to season and you must remember to fasten the inside upper skirt over the netting hooks (to cover them). BUT ....it is quite LOVELY and ROOMY aside from the exposed seams. Personally I dont like 2 functional openings (front and back) I would like the option of having them side by side for my patio layout.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Vineyard Gazebo with Glass Shelf, 176" x 114"

Nice Product, takes 4 Hours to put up

05/29/2012
By ,
South Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Most of the work can be done by one person but two required to put top ribs. Two parts damged in box and trying to get them replace but no phone number with instructs.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1 2 3 Next