Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

The Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel is a lightweight reel. It features Quick Fire II, which is a one-stop rachet system for on-handed casting that centers the trigger and rear drag. The rear drag is a convenient feature you will appreciate most at the height of the fight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%9 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

One tough reel for the money

02/23/2014
By ,
Deep South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 5 of these reels over the past 25 years. I used the first ones I bought in Alaska for reeling in all species of salmon with no failures to the reels whatsoever. I still fish with the original reels, but for big cats now. Its hard to believe you can buy a reel like this for less than $10, no joke! Go get you one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PISMO BEACH,CA
Posted 03/14/2014
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY I HAVE EVER USED!!!!
I SURF FISH IN AND AROUND PISMO BEACH AND HAVE FOR 27 YEARS , I HATE TO SAY THIS BUT I NEVER WASH THE REELS AFTER SALT WATER USE, HOWEVER THEY STILL LAST ABOUT A YEAR.... I FISH WEEKLY, SO I WOULD SAY BUY IT!
OCEANO DAVE
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Best reel for the dollar! A++++++

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is excellent! dollar for dollar you can't do any better. Rugged, quick fire action is excellent! One handed casting possible. You have 2 settings, reel backwards as needed, or reel backwards to stop at one position, which aligns for the next quick fire cast! perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

GREAT REEL--GREAT PRICE

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KAREKATS
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Exceptional value in a low cost reel!

06/22/2014
By ,
Milford, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations considerably. Bought one at Walmart.com because I like the rear drag setup. This is a pretty heavy duty reel (lx 4000) and I will use it for heavy freshwater and up to medium salt water use (fish up to 20-25 pounds). I paired mine with a 7 foot Ugly Stick rod and works well. For normal freshwater use I would recommend the lx 2000 due to lower weight as the 4000 is a beefy and strong reel. Reel is smooth as I expected based on other reviews I had read. Very happy with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Shimano IX Rear Drag

08/06/2014
By ,
texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great with 40 lbs power pro
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

this is a very good buy

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent reel
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

GREAT REEL for a REAL GREAT PRICE

07/10/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Shimano AX2000 that I bought 15 years ago that I really loved. The quickfire trigger system works great and make the whole thing easy to operate with one hand.
I am going on a Canada Fly In trip in about 2 weeks and needed a backup pole to take along. I had a decent pole, but needed a good reel for it....enter the Shimano IX4000. This thing is identical to the AX series reel that I have. I picked this up for around $14...guaranteed you will not find a better reel for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY HANDS DOWN!!!

03/24/2014
By ,
PISMO BEACH,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USE THIS REEL ABOUT TWICE A WEEK IN AND AROUND THE PISMO BEACH CA AREA FOR SURF FISHING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.
I CAN TELL YOU THIS, FOR THE MONEY, YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER DEAL AS THIS REEL WILL NOT RUST AND AS I HATE TO ADMIT IT I DO NOT RINSE IT WITH FRESH WATER LIKE I SHOULD AND IT LAST FOR MONTHS!! SO FOR ME IT IS THE BEST !
DAVE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Good reel

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, Long time user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

The rod is broken, i need to return it.

05/29/2014
By ,
BKLYN N.Y
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really do not have a review, because it came broken.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.