Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

The Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel is a lightweight reel. It features Quick Fire II, which is a one-stop rachet system for on-handed casting that centers the trigger and rear drag. The rear drag is a convenient feature you will appreciate most at the height of the fight.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation86%6 out of 7reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

One tough reel for the money

02/23/2014
By ,
Deep South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 5 of these reels over the past 25 years. I used the first ones I bought in Alaska for reeling in all species of salmon with no failures to the reels whatsoever. I still fish with the original reels, but for big cats now. Its hard to believe you can buy a reel like this for less than $10, no joke! Go get you one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PISMO BEACH,CA
Posted 03/14/2014
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY I HAVE EVER USED!!!!
I SURF FISH IN AND AROUND PISMO BEACH AND HAVE FOR 27 YEARS , I HATE TO SAY THIS BUT I NEVER WASH THE REELS AFTER SALT WATER USE, HOWEVER THEY STILL LAST ABOUT A YEAR.... I FISH WEEKLY, SO I WOULD SAY BUY IT!
OCEANO DAVE
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Exceptional value in a low cost reel!

06/22/2014
By ,
Milford, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations considerably. Bought one at Walmart.com because I like the rear drag setup. This is a pretty heavy duty reel (lx 4000) and I will use it for heavy freshwater and up to medium salt water use (fish up to 20-25 pounds). I paired mine with a 7 foot Ugly Stick rod and works well. For normal freshwater use I would recommend the lx 2000 due to lower weight as the 4000 is a beefy and strong reel. Reel is smooth as I expected based on other reviews I had read. Very happy with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Best reel for the dollar! A++++++

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is excellent! dollar for dollar you can't do any better. Rugged, quick fire action is excellent! One handed casting possible. You have 2 settings, reel backwards as needed, or reel backwards to stop at one position, which aligns for the next quick fire cast! perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

GREAT REEL for a REAL GREAT PRICE

07/10/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Shimano AX2000 that I bought 15 years ago that I really loved. The quickfire trigger system works great and make the whole thing easy to operate with one hand.
I am going on a Canada Fly In trip in about 2 weeks and needed a backup pole to take along. I had a decent pole, but needed a good reel for it....enter the Shimano IX4000. This thing is identical to the AX series reel that I have. I picked this up for around $14...guaranteed you will not find a better reel for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY HANDS DOWN!!!

03/24/2014
By ,
PISMO BEACH,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USE THIS REEL ABOUT TWICE A WEEK IN AND AROUND THE PISMO BEACH CA AREA FOR SURF FISHING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.
I CAN TELL YOU THIS, FOR THE MONEY, YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER DEAL AS THIS REEL WILL NOT RUST AND AS I HATE TO ADMIT IT I DO NOT RINSE IT WITH FRESH WATER LIKE I SHOULD AND IT LAST FOR MONTHS!! SO FOR ME IT IS THE BEST !
DAVE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Good reel

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, Long time user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

The rod is broken, i need to return it.

05/29/2014
By ,
BKLYN N.Y
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I really do not have a review, because it came broken.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.