Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Shimano Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

The Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel is a lightweight reel that features Quick Fire II, a one-stop rachet system for one-handed casting that centers the trigger and rear drag. The die-cast aluminum spool is strong and lightweight. Change the way your fishing setup feels using the variable tension dial. The Shimano IX spinning reel uses graphite in the frame, sideplate and rotor for added durability. Enjoy the added flexibility offered by this reel. It comes in multiple sizes and the standard black styling of this product blends with most poles easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation88%23 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Awesome Reel

02/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This little reel works wonderfully. I own the Syncopate and the Spirex models as well, which essentially are the same style reel just more bells and whistles and this IX model, in my opinion, is going to be just as reliable as the other 2. I love that it was only $10! The Syncopate was $30 and the Spirex was $60, so $10 for a reel that competes with them is impressive. It is smooth casting and the reels in nicely. The Quickfire is my favorite, which is why I own all three models, it works just as good on this IX model as it does on the other two. The only reason for the 4 stars is the drag. It could use some work but it is functional and really isn't that big of a deal if you are a guy (or gal) like me and does the ol' "set it and forget it" thing. Overall I would recommend this reel to anyone looking for a budget reel that gets the job done. The 1000 model is a great way to go for a kids starter reel or for backpacking. Good luck.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

great!

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these rods are amazingly smooth for the price. I use the ultra lights for crappie and panfish. I would definitely order more.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Shimano rear drag spinning reel

05/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
you can't find a better reel for the price . I wade a lot in the rivers and creeks in Western N.C. while fishing. The hilly terrain , slick rocks and sandy soils and my clumsiness are reasons I leave my more expensive reels at home . This reel performs great and your only out 12 bucks if you bum it up. Also the drag is true and the black finish matches any rod
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

One tough reel for the money

02/23/2014
By ,
Deep South
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned 5 of these reels over the past 25 years. I used the first ones I bought in Alaska for reeling in all species of salmon with no failures to the reels whatsoever. I still fish with the original reels, but for big cats now. Its hard to believe you can buy a reel like this for less than $10, no joke! Go get you one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PISMO BEACH,CA
Posted 03/14/2014
THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY I HAVE EVER USED!!!!
I SURF FISH IN AND AROUND PISMO BEACH AND HAVE FOR 27 YEARS , I HATE TO SAY THIS BUT I NEVER WASH THE REELS AFTER SALT WATER USE, HOWEVER THEY STILL LAST ABOUT A YEAR.... I FISH WEEKLY, SO I WOULD SAY BUY IT!
OCEANO DAVE
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

THE BEST REEL FOR THE MONEY HANDS DOWN!!!

03/24/2014
By ,
PISMO BEACH,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USE THIS REEL ABOUT TWICE A WEEK IN AND AROUND THE PISMO BEACH CA AREA FOR SURF FISHING AND HAVE FOR YEARS.
I CAN TELL YOU THIS, FOR THE MONEY, YOU WILL NOT FIND A BETTER DEAL AS THIS REEL WILL NOT RUST AND AS I HATE TO ADMIT IT I DO NOT RINSE IT WITH FRESH WATER LIKE I SHOULD AND IT LAST FOR MONTHS!! SO FOR ME IT IS THE BEST !
DAVE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Best reel for the dollar! A++++++

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is excellent! dollar for dollar you can't do any better. Rugged, quick fire action is excellent! One handed casting possible. You have 2 settings, reel backwards as needed, or reel backwards to stop at one position, which aligns for the next quick fire cast! perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Excellent Reel for the Money!

08/25/2014
By ,
Lebanon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own several of these reels for various purposes. They work great, cast smooth and have good wide-ranging drags. For the price I do not believe they can be beat, and they are even rated for saltwater use.
Now, if you are looking for that ultra smooth spinning reel to cast and retrieve lures all day - this ain't it. For bait fishing, jigging for Walleyes or a variety of other purposes it is an all around great reel. But, understand for the price you are not getting a top-shelf reel with 8, 10 or 12 bearings. So long as you get the limitations of what this reel can and can't do well you will be more than happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Exceptional value in a low cost reel!

06/22/2014
By ,
Milford, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceeded my expectations considerably. Bought one at Walmart.com because I like the rear drag setup. This is a pretty heavy duty reel (lx 4000) and I will use it for heavy freshwater and up to medium salt water use (fish up to 20-25 pounds). I paired mine with a 7 foot Ugly Stick rod and works well. For normal freshwater use I would recommend the lx 2000 due to lower weight as the 4000 is a beefy and strong reel. Reel is smooth as I expected based on other reviews I had read. Very happy with this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

just what I wanted

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love rear drag spinning reels. Not very many places to get them anymore. I was happy to find this online at Walmart Shimano and diawa are about the only ones still producing these kind of reels.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

oldman reeluse

02/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this reel meets my present neds and is replacing a reel that broke.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Good reel, reasonable price

02/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this reel does the job well. I use it for spider-rigging crappie. work great and i love the rear drag adjustment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Good bang for the buck

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
These little reels work great, and are a real value. Use them on my spider-rigging poles for Crappie.
I wish they had instant anti-reverse, but what the hey, for $10.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

great deal!

02/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good reel for a great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

nice little reel for the money.

02/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
greet little ice fishing reel love the rear drag.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

RETURNED YESTERDAY

01/31/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shimano is a name you can trust and if I were them I would delete this eel from there line up.
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Great value

01/22/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I always buy Shimano reels because I believe they have the best reel for the money. I love the trigger bail
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

GREAT REEL for a REAL GREAT PRICE

07/10/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a Shimano AX2000 that I bought 15 years ago that I really loved. The quickfire trigger system works great and make the whole thing easy to operate with one hand.
I am going on a Canada Fly In trip in about 2 weeks and needed a backup pole to take along. I had a decent pole, but needed a good reel for it....enter the Shimano IX4000. This thing is identical to the AX series reel that I have. I picked this up for around $14...guaranteed you will not find a better reel for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Good reel

05/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it, Long time user.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Sandy Reel WT-Heck

11/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When i got this reel i was exited as iv had one before. But when i tested the drag it sounded like someone put a bunch of sand in the reel and it didn't work rite! Plus you have to twist off the spool top What a cheaply made reel :<
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano IX Rear Drag Spinning Reel

Can't be beat

10/14/2014
By ,
Zebulon, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These reels may take a few minutes to get used to but...they work really great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next