Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lifetime Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Lifetime Lifetime Lotus Kayak

The eight-foot Lifetime Calypso Kayak is the perfect adult length, providing convenient transportation and storage options. The Calypso Kayak features a sit on top design for easy going paddling. Its compact design easily fits inside of the average apartment or home closet, and the flat back end allows the kayak to stand upright. It's also conveniently lightweight under 40 lbs. We have included a paddle and backrest to make you shopping easy and convenient. This Lifetime Kayak also features ditty trays and shock cord straps to secure loose items while you're on the water. When the product arrives at your home it will be ready to hit the water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation95%36 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Pretty good kayak at this price point

07/14/2013
By ,
Coppell, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Can Withstand Use, Versatile, Fun, Easy To Use, CustomizableBest Uses: Flat RiversBottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Very stable, not likely to tip. Not super quick, but it does move along. Tracks reasonably well on a quiet river. Only complaint is the strap seat that comes with the kayak. Kept slipping down my back, so it never really provides the support I need. My back hurt!So... my solution was to order a high back seat with cushion. Still awaiting delivery, but I anticipate this seat will hopefully make the ride much more comfortable.
I do like that it is only 8 foot long and the back end is flat so I was able to easily stack it up against the wall in my garage for storage. I love how the designers put a handle on the side of the kayak to carry. Makes is much easier to get from my truck to the river by myself, even if I have to walk across a parking lot.
Has cup hold between legs. Just be aware that an open cup will get water splashed into it from the paddles.
Nice blue color.
I recommend get a short piece of rope, say 6 feet long and attach to the front of the boat. Use it to hold onto the boat when climbing back onto land. This will keep the boat from floating away!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Very stable kayak for leisurely fun.

07/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live close to a lake and just wanted something for a relaxing time on the water. This certainly filled the bill. It is easy to transport. It fits in my Chevy Blazer, I just keep the hatch window open. It has a nice cargo space where you can put a small cooler, and the included back support has a nice storage pocket. I liked it so much I bought another one for my son. It's a really fun way to get some upper arm exercise. It paddles really nicely. You wouldn't win a race in it, but that's not what I was looking for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak
07/31/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kayak to replace a 9'6" sit-in I sold last year. I wanted something I could stand up inside the house to save space (check), fit in the back of my explorer without leaving the tailgate open (check), had good storage (check), was easy to carry (check), and was stable (check) and didn't cost a ton (double check). I actually use this as a fishing kayak. I added an anchor in front and milk crate with rod holders on back. Thanks to all the pre-installed deck loops I didn't have to drill into the kayak at all (HUGE plus)! Now with the milk crate, I can carry two rods, tackle box, life jacket, dry bag, and 12 quart cooler.
The kayak performed exactly as I expected. It was very stable and quite comfortable with the back rest. The free paddle was also of good quality. It is not fast (and I did not expect it to be) but it gets the job done.
This was the absolute perfect kayak for me. The layout with the deck loops, built in handle and storage trays, etc. worked out perfectly. Couldn't be happier!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mahomet, IL
Great Review/Info!
Posted 06/11/2013
This Review was very helpful... I was just looking for info about the kayak but I also drive an Explorer so it was very helpful to know that it won't be an issue to transport.
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Very fun

09/28/2011
By ,
Westwood Hills, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am writing virtually the same review for this kayak and the dragonfly moorea as they are identical except for the seat and color. This has been a perfect starter kayak for our family and it is an exceptional value. The kayak is on the slow side and it does not track perfectly. Both of those are no big deal for use. What is important is stability. It is almost impossible to tip this over, and if you do fall/jump out it is easy to pull yourself back on as the rear of the kayak is specifically designed for that. We like the included paddle, but as new kayakers we do not have much comparison. This thing can handle an average adult and a kid no problem, which is great for us. My eight year old and even my five year old can handle this kayak on their own. Another benefit of the sit on top style of this kayak is that they are designed to stack for easy transportation. It really could not be much easier to stack them on the car and strap them down. It does, though take a little strength. I will say that I like the seat of the dragonfly moorea a little better. I can make this seat comfortable, but it takes some adjustment. Also the moorea seat has a watertight storage area built into the seat. This is an awesome kayak at a great price and is perfect for family recreational use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Great lake kayak for beginners and families

08/13/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted 4 kayaks for a 5'4" 120 lb woman, a 6' 210 man and 2 kids ages 13 and 10 without breaking the bank. We live in the midwest, so quiet lakes in State Parks are our destination. It was great to get the paddles, and back rest included as well. We had them shipped to our local Walmart free. We were in and out faster than a normal checkout...15 minutes from parking to leaving the lot and the staff helped us load them. We got them registered with the state and life jackets and went to backcountry.com to get a carrier for 4 kayaks. I achieved my goal of getting my family all outdoors having fun. We love them. We couldn't even wait for the carrier to get here. We took out the van seats, tied all four kayaks in the back of my van, bungying the door, put the kids and dad in our second car, and drove over to christen them. I'm very happy with our purchase. My husband feels comfortable with it with his size. He does sit lower in the water, but by no means looks like he is going to sink. The weight limit seems to be right on. I am very happy with our purchase. Ours were $178 a piece in Aug of 2011. Great deal for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Awesome Kayak for a beginner, child, or anyone!

05/23/2012
By ,
Rincon, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great kayak, easy to paddle, VERY stable. I can stand up on this kayak, which should say something about the stability of it. I chose this kayak because I saw the reviews about its stability and the fact that it's pretty easy to get back on even in the water. I am a very clumsy and unbalanced person so this kayak is perfect for me. The paddle and backrest came with it which was a huge plus. For some reason the scupper plugs were not included......I like the scupper plugs because the water will splash through the drain holes without them, although it will not sink the kayak, it will allow you to get wet. The only thing I do not like about this kayak is that it is kind of slow. That doesn't matter if you are just wanting to cruise around though. It is also very easy to control. A child could easily take this kayak for a ride. Overall this is a very good kayak. I would definitly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Good product great value

06/28/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I appreciated the value of this item (the same product at amazon comes without paddle and backrest for more money). I did ship-to-store which worked well until I found the kayak had been damaged in transit. Walmart was great about the return though and I would buy it from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Great Value

08/16/2011
By ,
Toronto
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first purchase through walmart.com and I was delighted. I got the product for an exceptionally good price and when the price dropped even more before I picked it up, walmart honored the discount. If you are a pro kayaker perhaps this watercraft won't suit you, but for the novice, it's great. Sturdy, lightweight and attractive, it's a great little kayak. The backrest and paddles that walmart throws in ensure you can get started on a fun ride right away. I'm thinking of getting another one when the price goes back down to the one I bought it at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

All The Kayak I Need

09/14/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was afraid that this would be more of a toy than a real kayak, but that's not the case. I'm a woman in my early 50s & I decided to buy a recreational kayak after borrowing a friend's a few times at the beach. I wanted something relatively lightweight so I could load it into my SUV by myself & at 38 lbs. this is about as light as they come. I haven't tried loading it on the roof rack of my truck yet (I think I'll have my 6'2" husband standing by just in case). "Real" kayakers may scoff at the built in handle on the side but it makes moving this thing a lot easier. You can't beat the price here & the Ship-To-Store was great. I tracked the shipment as the delivery truck made its way across the country from the manufacturer. I was even able to order the kayak online then go to my local WalMart to pay for it in cash, so I don't load up my credit card. I'm very pleased all the way around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Great Beginners Kayak - calm or slow moving water

08/21/2011
By ,
Dayton Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great beginners kayak for flat water or slow moving river water. I weigh 245lbs and it works fine for me. It is slower than the longer and more streamline kayaks but at 1/3rd the price it works fine for my needs. It is not designed for white water so if you are looking for high adventure spend more money and get a kayak suitable for those conditions. My wife and I did a 10 mile trip on a local scenic river at low water volume and the kayak performed very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak
06/22/2012
By ,
Mtn. Home, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before we purchased 2 of these kayaks we read all of the reviews. All reviews were good and we agree with the stability, ease of use, storage, transportation, good quality of product, etc. We are in our late 60's and have no problem transporting or lifting the lightweight kayaks into our pickup truck. My husband has severe arthritis in his knees and the open kayak enables him to get in and out of the kayak without undue stress on his knees. There are several small rivers and lakes in our area that are great for canoes and kayaks and this Lifetime Lotus is just perfect for a comfortable, relaxing afternoon on the water. We are very, very pleased with this product. The free delivery to our local Wal Mart was so easy and quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Love my Kayak

08/22/2011
By ,
Milford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this kayak about two weeks ago. I have enjoyed using the kayak several times already! I am 6' 2" and 259 pounds and the boat holds me fine! I didn't sink! This is not a speed burner but it works very well! I feel very comfortable on it and I do not feel like I will tip over. The boat sits high enough out of water so I am pretty dry. This is my first kayak and I am very happy to have it. I live near Long Island sound and I am able to go pretty much everyday if i want. I have hit light waves so far with no issues. I am very happy with my purchase. I did ship to store and the kayak had a few scrapes but nothing deal breaking. Walmart is very good and will take it back if you are not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Kayak had a leak.

02/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had to return this kayak to the store. It had a leak.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

I Love This Kayak!!

09/05/2012
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks to all the reviews that everyone else wrote, I knew exactly what I was getting and what I was in for. I talked to people who paid almost 200.00 for a used kayak yet could not keep their eyes off of mine! And then I told them what I paid and that it included paddle and back support. I agree that it should be shipped in a box, but I put some scratches on it anyway traveling with it etc. This was the first kayak I ever owned and I truly love it. I would choose it again in a heartbeat. I can sit in a number of positions while cruising along on the lake. It has room for everything I need to bring with me.( Including my little dog.) And the paddle is good quality. Not cheap plastic. Beginner or pro it rocks and it's comfy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

This is a great great kayak for adults and kids!

06/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are thinking of getting this do so, It is really stable and rides great. Thanks to Walmart, this was sent to the store for pick up. That was a selling point for me, and it made it possible to me to buy it. You can put a sail in this kayak, which is a really cool thing too. Now my family wants to kayak all the time rather than me trying to talk everyone into to kayaking. The kayak arrived at the store in excellent condition and it arrived really fast which was a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Great Family Kayak

08/13/2011
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Kayak for our family of 4 and a dog- We got two and they have enough room for an adult and kid in each and space for our dog plus space for our bags and cooler. Took Kayaks to the lake today and had a blast with the family- nice and easy to paddle down the lake. Light to place on top of my Xterra SUV and thanks to the pre-set holes- I can tie-down the Kayaks to my rack without no issues. Price was at $178- Great price for a Kayak with back rest and paddle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

You'll like this!

06/13/2012
By ,
Mt. Shasta, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really nice, very easy for me to handle. I am 66 year old woman and I can load and unload this kayak and get it safely in and out of the water. Easy for me to get on and off. Not at all tippy. Not real good in the wind with rough water, but otherwise just what I wanted. Tracks well in calmer conditions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

second kayak

09/13/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a similar model at Sam's Club and a couple months later wanted another because so many people were interested and didn't want to keep borrowing my friend's, who also purchased one at Sam's. They fixed all the flaws in the one we bought, and added a handle and a comfy back rest. The cooler holder (beer hold) is bigger and nicer.
The first model we purchased was the Monterey and very happy with both :) I have recommended to others to purchase this. It is well worth it. I live in SW Florida and have seen lots of things our boat can't get to. Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

NICE KAYAK, GREAT PRICE

08/23/2011
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked around quite a bit before deciding to order a kayak online. The kayak itself is nice, exactly as pictured and a good bargain. I do take exception to the way it was packaged for shipment. It was basically in a big plastic bag which offered no protection to the rigors of shipping. My kayaks (2) both arrived scratched and dinged up, which I why I gave it a "3" for meeting expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lifetime Lotus Kayak

Great value Kayak

03/13/2012
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It fits in my Pontiac Vibe, how cool is that. Nice back rest
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next